Spotfire is perhaps the best big data and data visualization software to work with R

Beoordeeld op 26-4-2018
Thomas Y.
Owner, previous CEO
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I find that this software is the easiest to work with R, and the visualization/analytical capabilities make it generally worth the cost.

Pluspunten: Spotfire has a nice user interface that is easy to figure out and set up automated tasks. Perhaps the biggest advantage of Spotfire over other data visualization tools is its connection with R and the ease in which one can connect R scripts with Spotfire visualizations. The beginning process of visualizing data and the suggested visualizations that Spotfire offers is nice, although it does require a few more clicks if you don't like the suggestions Spotfire suggests.

Minpunten: Spotfire is more expensive than other data visualization software, although I can see why. Spotfire has a host of additional graphical capabilities and analytical capabilities that I think justify the extra cost. It took me a little while to figure out how to set up the analytical models, but once set up, things run smoothly.

Tibco Spotfire - An Analytical Tool- Get Actionable Insights

Beoordeeld op 18-12-2015
Prafulla K.
Consultant
Computersoftware
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: I personally work on Tibco Spotfire for more than 4 Years.
Best things are:
1) Ease of use for all category of users (End user, Developers, Statisticians)
2) Intuitive, Drag Drop
3) Continuous New enhancement in new version so it always remains uptodate with latest trend in technology. Recent example is a "Recommendation" feature which is excellent and enable one as analyst even though you don't know about technology.

Minpunten: They should come with some cheaper version so that small scale industry and small budget people can take advantage of this product which is so immense powerful.

A good analytics tool

Beoordeeld op 18-11-2016
Andrea O.
Office Manager
Financiële dienstverlening, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've used the demo version for a few days, feeding it with some use cases that I normally process with another top-brand tool

Pluspunten: If you are used to BI tools, setup and learning curve are very straightforward.
It is very easy to connect to the usual relational data sources, I would say easier than many other rival products.
The off-the shelf visualizations are very attracting and some of them can pinpoint data patterns that would otherwise go unnoticed. Even better, the visualization wizard actually analyzes your data before suggesting a default visual.
Machine learning is built on the tool, by following a simple tutorial you can start training ML models on your data.

Minpunten: When accessing a data source, you can only join tables, but you cannot - for instance - specify custom SQL instructions.
The desktop tool cannot JOIN data sources coming from separate DBs. (a feature that I often use, in a competing product)
As I said, there are some very good visualizations, but they are hard or impossible to customize.
I found some situations where compiling a dialog box (perhaps with illegal Machine Learning parameters, given my inexperience with the tool) and pressing "OK" did nothing and did not show any error or warning message. Without some informative feedback, these dialogs are unhelpful for the novices.

Tibco Spotfire Review

Beoordeeld op 28-9-2018
Jonathan S.
System Analyst
Consumentenelektronica, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very nice to use Business Intelligence tool, have user friendly interface and the basic functionality is easy to self-study. At a low cost and not so customized Dashboarding requirements Tibco Spotfire is very efficient.

Pluspunten: * User friendly interface and ease of access.
* Good design and functionality for graphs.
* Low cost.
* Ability to embed Python, HTML, and JavaScript.
* Plenty of data source options.

Minpunten: * Hard to customize some visualization objects.
* Few default functionality for computations especially on cross tables
* Sometimes the text editor is auto changing the code layout once saved.

Good Visualization Product

Beoordeeld op 19-7-2019
Olaoluwa A.
Reservoir Engineer
Olie en energie, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Having a background in R or Python programming is beneficial to fully using Spotfire's capabilities.

Pluspunten: TIBCO Spotfire can be used to create quick and clean visualization plots. It is not difficult to use and can be easily learned.

Minpunten: There have been significant changes in the recent versions. Joining data tables could be confusing if not properly paid attention to.

Spotfire is good dashboarding tool

Beoordeeld op 13-7-2018
Anthony E.
Business Analyst for Data Analytics
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It enable us to deliver useful and competitive dashboards.

Pluspunten: can use javascript for integrating charts not existing on spotfire. best export tool to pdf and powerpoint. far away better than other tool.

Minpunten: bad text editor for javascript. iF the javascript errors, you need to restart the whole IDE. small community support.

More a visualization tool (interactive), decent BI tool

Beoordeeld op 15-11-2017
Geverifieerde reviewer
Marketing Manager
Nutsbedrijven
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We were able to help the client visualize their complicated data in an easy to understand format using pie charts, heat map, etc. that they were able to update easily to run different potential scenarios.

Pluspunten: It's a great visualization tool when itegrated with a more robust BI (Business Intelligence) tool. The filtering capibility of this tool are impressive! On a side panel, as you keep applying filters, on the other side, you can easily visualize the results. I remember taking all the training online which was easily available and we were also able to contact a representative for questions. They also help with professional installation.

Minpunten: I selected and implemented this tool at a cilent site. Where the visualization features were pretty robust, we needed to integrate this with a stronger BI tool to be able to do complicated analytics. It can a bit pricey but it's meant for bigger organizations, hence not that big of a concern.

Best reporting tool

Beoordeeld op 4-6-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Student Reporter
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: The ease of use, the way you can set up reporting to show exactly what you want to see, along with the UX.

Minpunten: The reports aren't the easiest to set up, although they do show incredible amounts of data in great visualizations.

Visualization Dashboards and Reporting

Beoordeeld op 21-11-2018
Anna A.
Process Data Engineer
Olie en energie, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Making dashboards for top management so that they can drive growth by making decisions by looking at the data.

Pluspunten: Dashboards are used to make business decisions which are data driven and are very powerful , intuitive in nature. Data can extracted from any format almost.

Minpunten: You got to spend years to fully utilize the tool. It is such a powerful tool.

Great Analytics Tool for Visualization Reports

Beoordeeld op 18-9-2018
Ailene M.
Business Analyst
Logistiek en toeleveringsketen, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.

Minpunten: Need more manuals training for the advance features.

Spotfire is solid visualization software.

Beoordeeld op 21-1-2015
Wendy G.
Managementconsulting
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4.5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: This product is easy to use. The start up is fast, and the visuals are great to work with. I like the front end design elements. Everyone I have demoed Spotfire for has been impressed by the visuals, details on demand, filters, highlighting functions etc. I enjoy developing in Spotfire and learning more and more about it.

Minpunten: Modifying custom SQL is very finicky in the information services library. For example, after optimizing the SQL in SQL Server, Teradata, etc, you still have to fix the individual elements and joins, which is frustrating because, in my opinion, getting the code correct should be more difficult than jamming it back into the Information Services.

Spotfire is Indispensable for Data Visualization

Beoordeeld op 4-11-2016
Reece H.
Technical Fellow
Medische apparatuur, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use Spotfire to explore and visualize data from clinical trial, economic and financial databases. It is my go to method when exploring new datasets to get the quickest and best insights.

Pluspunten: It is blazingly fast. I work with datasets that have hundreds of thousands of entries, each with dozens of fields. Spotfire makes analyzing this data real time a snap.

Minpunten: The learning curve is a bit steep, it takes a while to learn how to use it well. But the investment is well worth it.

I have worked with Spotfire since version 3.0 as a developer and BI PM

Beoordeeld op 22-12-2015
Jason B.
Consultant
Nutsbedrijven
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: The product continues to be developed and offer business a user enabling and powerful tool for visually analyzing data.

Minpunten: Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak. Implementation as companies is done with little or no training making support a vital feature to organizations.

Data Analytics and Data Manipulation

Beoordeeld op 20-2-2019
Monel K.
Chief Project Manager
Olie en energie, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Helps to generate value for the business and report out the data.

Pluspunten: Graphs and charts available helps to analyze the data. Integration with Python also helps to analyze and manipulate the data as per the requirement. Documentation is very detailed. User community very supportive.

Minpunten: Integration with R is also required for statistical analysis and prediction using the data.

Tool for Data Visualisation

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Consultant
Managementconsulting, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The analyst version of Tibco Spotfire is quite handly to identify patterns and draw insight from the data visualisation tool.

Pluspunten: - A convenient platform to organising and arranging large volume of data to identify patterns and trends

Minpunten: -This platform is not convenient for small set of data.
- Convenient only for quantitative data analysis.

Sporfire on the go!

Beoordeeld op 9-10-2017
John kenneth M.
Process Specialist
Horeca, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: GetApp
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: You need to fully understand each function to appreciate this software. But once grasp, I assure you that you will never regret that you use this software,

Pluspunten: This tool is too great specially for us who are analyzing large data. I really really recommend this application.

Works great for creating analytical charts

Beoordeeld op 30-8-2019
Greg A.
President
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Spotfire turned out to be a great investment to increate out analytical reporting capabilities, especially automatic to daily reports. Being able to use multiple types of data sources to get the data into a central repository has helped a lot.

Pluspunten: I like being able to combine multiple data sources to create data analysis and charts that reflect complexities that would be difficult to other explain. Using spotfire and automating the reports makes reporting so much easier

Minpunten: There is a learning curve to setting up and using Spotfire and sometimes it seems as though there is a lot of manual setup that could probably be more easily accomplished with wizards.

Happy with Spotfire as consulting and training company

Beoordeeld op 18-12-2015
Louis D.
CEO
Managementconsulting
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4.5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Scientific, data exploration, high performance, statistical integration and SDK.

Minpunten: Fewer connectivity options versus some other product
Less training available although the product is easy to use

Easy to use viz tool, make your colleagues think you're some kind of wizard

Beoordeeld op 7-4-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Director of Fraud Analytics (Director II)
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: Intuitive data viz software that allows you to build interactive dashboards which tend to dazzle non-technical colleagues. You can build products and share it with your team or leadership and let them explore the data in a controlled, safe environment.

Minpunten: Not the best software for true statistical analysis but that's probably a given. Also if you have messy datasets you may want to invest in a software to help you transform the data and prep it before integrating into Spotfire.

Just another BI tool

Beoordeeld op 26-3-2019
Juan N.
Product Owner
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: It was not hard to get stared and create some visualizations and analysis which is the main purpose of a BI interface.

Minpunten: Maybe is because I'm comparing it with another BI tools like Qlik or Tableau and that is why I think is an inferior product and just don't quite like it.

Great BI tool for analysts and data scientists

Beoordeeld op 30-12-2015
Xavier R.
Owner
Managementconsulting
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
3.5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Spotfire is one of the best BI tool made for real analysts, not only analysis designers. The cross analysis functions are amongst the best with few scripting requirements.Spotfire is definetely a tool for analysing and discovering features: "Searching for something you do not know", instead of mere reporting.

Minpunten: A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick reports. Spotfire is not the best BI tool for analytics reporting.

Nice way to visualize data

Beoordeeld op 26-5-2019
Joey T.
Upstream Process Development Engineer II
Biotechnologie, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Using Spotfire to visualize complex data

Pluspunten: Allows you to group and visualize data in many different ways.

Minpunten: Requires some trainings to use the software.

Spotfire for Life Science

Beoordeeld op 18-12-2015
Margot G.
IT Manager
Farmaceutica
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
3.5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4.5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2.5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: ability to quickly identify outliers in the datasets

Minpunten: support documentation for external domain authentication is lacking for advanced infrastructure

Spotfire is a strong provider of data visualization, allowing for easy creation of data stories

Beoordeeld op 19-4-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Software Quality Assurance Specialist
Overheidsadministratie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: strong stat based data stories

Pluspunten: Multiple data formats supported, strong analytical background heavy duty statistical chops, ability to produce strong data visualizations

Minpunten: Less than stellar customer support, price higher than most competitors (offset somewhat by evaluation capabilities)

IT Senior Section Manager

Beoordeeld op 8-11-2017
Koay T.
Sr Section Manager
Fabricage van elektrische/elektronische producten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Spotfire is an excellent solution for empowering business users to make confident, evidence-based decisions, however it's not a perfect solution for everyone.

Pluspunten: Very user friendly and user can manage without IT assistance
Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization

Minpunten: Lacking embedded BI and production reporting. A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick report. Spotfire is not the best BI Tool for analytics reporting.