Pentaho Business Analytics reviews

door Hitachi Vantara

Average Ratings

  • In totaal
    4.2/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4.1/5
  • Klantenservice
    3.8/5

About Pentaho Business Analytics

Access, blend and analyze all types and sizes of data, empower users to visualize data across multiple dimensions.

Meer informatie over Pentaho Business Analytics

Showing 39 reviews

Geverifieerde reviewer
Analista financiero
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 19-4-2018

"It is definitely the solution to carry out all the projects successfully!"

Opmerkingen: Everything is organized better using this software. It is quite efficient and easy to use...

Pluspunten: This software is wonderful, with it you can obtain performance and scalability. As well as manage and schedule reports. It is very efficient which means that you save a lot in daily reports...

Minpunten: This software is potentially amazing. Has it all! Your free trial is as complete as the paid version. It's very complete.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 19-4-2018
Enrico P.
CPQ Solution Delivery Manager
Landbouw, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-1-2020

"Nice surprise"

Opmerkingen: The tool allows the creation of complex ETL projects in a quick way and save time to produce valuable solution for the company.

Pluspunten: Data Integration allows the build of such a complex ETL projects in a quick way, it's very powerful. Being an open source software allows the user to always find hints over the web

Minpunten: Issue log reports not really clear the error/s occurring and the troubleshooting results sometimes difficult.
Scheduling

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-1-2020
Felix F.
Project Leader
Managementconsulting, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 22-5-2018

"Once you understand the basics of this program it is very, but very easy to use"

Pluspunten: "higher visual interface to processes, has a good number of functions (and very easy to understand) for data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL.. very simple but effective Big data transform You can build many dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop any report whit low margin of error through a dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop specialized reports , low margin of error-Automate the steps for execution"

Minpunten: Its a great tool to use, nothing to dislike about the product. Nothing to dislike, everything is good. All the features are really good.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 22-5-2018
Dalton S.
Data Scientist
Vervoer/over de weg/per spoor, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 18-4-2017

"Riding a Wild Horse - Community Edition"

Pluspunten: Many features.
I like to use the reporting PRD, I think that it is the best.
I use Spoon/Kettle that is a ETL tool to process data.

Minpunten: Many bugs. Maybe is because of Community Edition.
We have many difficult to install in cloud.
The layout of some report that run in developing, don't run in production.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 18-4-2017
Kavan D.
Software Engineer
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 16-6-2017

"Pentaho, a great open source BI suit with strong community support"

Opmerkingen: One of the best opensource BI tool, also well integrated with existing platforms. It will be interesting to see how will it get integrated with fast evolving Big data technologies. Pentaho 7.1 is step in right direction.

Pluspunten: - We mature DI (Data integration) module
- Easy to learn design console (Spoon)
- wide community support
- Very well integrated with different platforms
- Innovating fast in Big data world specially Pentaho 7.1

Minpunten: - Not very well documented for latest releases one of the reasons is many innovation are happening very fast

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 16-6-2017
Senando B.
MIS/I. T.
Fabricage van elektrische/elektronische producten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 15-1-2019

"Great partner of IT business analyst"

Opmerkingen: Using this kind of software brings ease and accurate data reports that helps the company on decision making

Pluspunten: Easy to use, compatible in many database such as mysql, ms sql server, different type of output to choose such as excel, html, richtext, etc.

Minpunten: Some version are slow on initializing and fetching data such as Pentaho report designer version 5 and above. Unlike version 3 which has smooth process, that was base on my experience.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 15-1-2019
Riyaadh K.
Solutions Architect
Telecommunicatie, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 31-10-2018

"ETL on the fly"

Pluspunten: Drag and drop functionality makes it easy to create transformations. Able to analyse data from multiple sources quickly and efficiently. Jobs can be scheduled in order to run specific tasks and transformations at a certain time.

Minpunten: Can take some time to figure out how to use it as there are lots of components involved. Can be a bit slow or run into out of memory issues for bigger queries but upping the virtual memory in the configuration can fix this issue.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 31-10-2018
Michelle W.
Accountant
Burgerlijke en maatschappelijke organisatie, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 4-4-2018

"Pentaho Review"

Pluspunten: Once you understand the basics of this program it is easy to use. The bonus with this program is that if someone write a report, they can share the script with you. The updated 6.1 version is definitely an improvement.

Minpunten: If you are not at all familiar with writing script, this program can be very challenging. No real user manuals are included.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 4-4-2018
Sara natalie A.
Analista
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10-4-2018

"I love this tool, because it has minimized data preparation time by filtering the most interesting d"

Opmerkingen: Represents the solution to meet the needs of extraction, manipulation, validation and data loading from multiple sources of origin and in different environments can solve many problems. For the creation of the Dimensions Tables. Transformation of these data and Upload of that data in another site.

Pluspunten: It allows to extract the information from an OLTP database, transform the information through a dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop specialized reports which Pentaho also has. It includes tools to perform queries, generate reports and reports, interactive analysis, dashboards, extraction, transformation and data loading, data integration.

Minpunten: It requires a large investment, because its correct implementation is not an easy task and these systems consume many resources.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10-4-2018
Stewart F.
VP of Data, Technology and Innovation
Marketing en reclame, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 20-3-2018

"PDI Community Edition is amazing.....the rest is mud"

Pluspunten: - Free PDI tool....its free so no discussions with finance
- PDI is actually very effective ETL application with a easy to understand flow
- Community is actually helpful

Minpunten: - Free BI tool is just slightly easier than building a website from scratch but a lot harder than using any other BI tool.
- You need to know how to hack java to use.
- The paid version does not have competitive pricing for the incremental value.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 20-3-2018
James W.
Developer
Juridische dienstverlening, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 23-2-2017

"Saves me not only hours, but DAYS"

Pluspunten: Pentaho has nice schema browsing features whereby one not need know anything about the underlying schema in order to design a transformation. Automatic multi-threading by default.

Minpunten: When outputting to a table, Talend has an option to Drop if exists, and create. Pentaho has a Truncate [prior to load], but no option create the table as part of the data flow nor an option to drop an existing table.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 23-2-2017
Ritchea A.
Sr.Software Engineer
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 29-5-2018

"Best Data integration and business analytics tool"

Opmerkingen: Best product for reporting and analyzing.

Pluspunten: Best reporting tool.Features like data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL.
Provides easy and good insights of business.
Provides intuitive interface for most advanced users

Minpunten: Sometimes Pentaho Spoon(GUI) crashes.sharing and collaboration capabilities need to be enhanced Other all features are really good.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 29-5-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Especialista de información
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-3-2018

"Practical, versatile and objective"

Opmerkingen: Fast execution of ETL processes in the case of massive data migration with a very low margin of error

Pluspunten: -Automate the steps for execution
- It has a friendly graphic environment
- Easy to use
- Wide range of tools

Minpunten: -High basic requirements for execution.
- lack of detailed comments in error messages.
-It does not have documentation in Spanish language.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-3-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Big Data/Hadoop Engineer
201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5-10-2017

"The best tool for data integration"

Pluspunten: Ease of use and abundant features to get things done. Helps a lot in filling the various gaps in data sources.

Minpunten: Not so user friendly, takes sometime for new user to get around the application and figure out the various tricks and tools available

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5-10-2017
Geverifieerde reviewer
Senior Business System Analyst
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2018

"One of the best Business Analytics tool out there"

Pluspunten: This tool can be installed on any operating system. It has a simple interface, so it takes less time to learn.

Minpunten: The design of the software is pretty old! Needs lot of improvement when compared to its competitors.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2018
Hasin A.
CEO
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    3/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 15-12-2018

"I love the out of the box visualization templates!"

Opmerkingen: I really like using it but chose to use other apps like tableau due to lack of features.

Pluspunten: Pentaho makes it really easy to generate some complex data driven visualizations.

Minpunten: Pentaho doesn't have a lot of options for pulling data from public APIs.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 15-12-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Business Analyst
Financiële dienstverlening, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    2/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 2-2-2018

"Gives me the ability to use clicks instead of code. "

Pluspunten: Penatho brings a visual interface to processes which would traditionally only be accomplished by many, many lines of code (which it can also do). Many powerful inputs from servers, software, and CRM systems. It also has very detailed error handling, which makes it easy to troubleshoot.

Minpunten: Support is mostly wiki/community based, with instructions for particular steps being lacking, outdated, or missing completely. Outputs could be simplified as well, with even a basic CSV output being slightly more complex than it should be, compared to other steps.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 2-2-2018
Yinghua H.
Financiële dienstverlening
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3.5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 5-12-2014

"Pentaho is a user-friendly open source ETL tool"

Pluspunten: I like its ease of use; it is very easy to build an ETL pipeline after the initial learning curve. I also like the variety of modules. There are a lot of powerful modules, and you will mostly find the module you want. User-defined code is very flexible; it's possible and very easy to plug in user-defined Java code. When there is no module implemented for desired function, this feature comes handy. Multithreading is also easy. The transformation can be set to run multiple copies in parallel.

Minpunten: Occasionally, Pentaho Spoon (GUI) crashes, and a restart is required.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 5-12-2014
Victor S.
Web Developer
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 9-11-2017

"Pentaho is amazing..."

Opmerkingen: It's a great platform, congratulations ...
is the only one compatible with the bank I use, only a more robust documentation is missing.

Pluspunten: The only BI software that is compatible with Firebird SQL, I have not found any other compatible BI.

Minpunten: Particularly I found it difficult to start learning, the documentation regarding the data integration (spoon) is scarce.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 9-11-2017
Naresh S.
project manager
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 13-12-2016

"cool tool for your web app"

Opmerkingen: I was impressed with the ability to integrate this into an existing web app. It allowed our users to start looking at operational data and learning from it.

Pluspunten: It provided an intuitive interface for most advanced users.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 13-12-2016
Gaurav K.
Student
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    4.5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4.5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 23-10-2015

"Good business analytics tool"

Pluspunten: Fetures like data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL capabilities

Minpunten: nothing to dislike, everything is good. All the features are really good.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 23-10-2015
Luigi S.
Business Intelligence Consutant
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 10-5-2018

"An easy BI tool with a POWERFULL ETL inside"

Pluspunten: Pentaho BI Solution is nomilly a BI Open Source solution that can compete with the most important players of this area.
Pentaho is easy to manage and has a powerfull ETL inside that can be managed itself as a product.

Minpunten: The "Open Source Philosophy" is not away true.... I mean that if you want a full support from Pentaho it will be not-so-cheap

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 10-5-2018
Ashutosh C.
Student
Computersoftware
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4.5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Unrated
  • Waar voor je geld
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2015

"Very ergonomic ETL tool"

Pluspunten: Really helps to solve complex business solutions with its cool features and like their contribution to open source.

Minpunten: Its a great tool to use, nothing to dislike about the product.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2015
Ummar H.
Student
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 17-5-2018

"Pentaho is integrated set of tools for business intelligence "

Opmerkingen: I have transformed multiple databases from different sources and formats into one single format and recognizable database set. After single database operation, I need to summarize report for that purpose i used Pentaho report designer tool to summarize and design report.

Pluspunten: Data in Pentaho can be easily import from nearly any type of source including .csv, excel etc to create single report.

Minpunten: Pentaho itself is too much resource hungry as compared to other BI softwares. Configuration after installation is required that will be difficult for non-techies.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 17-5-2018
Franz P.
Engineer
Telecommunicatie, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 13-12-2019

"My experience with pentaho"

Opmerkingen: Using pentaho has a very large growth curve, at first it is difficult but when you know how to use all the tools, you will be able to make very important corporate decisions.

Pluspunten: Pentaho is the best tool used for business intelligence, there are many tutorials on the internet on how to use the tool and it integrates very well with our internal company applications. I recommend it

Minpunten: Pentaho must modify the user interface, improve the user help system, it is very difficult to know how to handle all the tools

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: SoftwareAdvice
  • Beoordeeld op 13-12-2019