Once you understand the basics of this program it is very, but very easy to use

Beoordeeld op 22-5-2018
Felix F.
Project Leader
Managementconsulting, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: "higher visual interface to processes, has a good number of functions (and very easy to understand) for data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL.. very simple but effective Big data transform You can build many dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop any report whit low margin of error through a dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop specialized reports , low margin of error-Automate the steps for execution"

Minpunten: Its a great tool to use, nothing to dislike about the product. Nothing to dislike, everything is good. All the features are really good.

Pentaho, a great open source BI suit with strong community support

Beoordeeld op 16-6-2017
Kavan D.
Software Engineer
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: One of the best opensource BI tool, also well integrated with existing platforms. It will be interesting to see how will it get integrated with fast evolving Big data technologies. Pentaho 7.1 is step in right direction.

Pluspunten: - We mature DI (Data integration) module
- Easy to learn design console (Spoon)
- wide community support
- Very well integrated with different platforms
- Innovating fast in Big data world specially Pentaho 7.1

Minpunten: - Not very well documented for latest releases one of the reasons is many innovation are happening very fast

Great partner of IT business analyst

Beoordeeld op 15-1-2019
Senando B.
MIS/I. T.
Fabricage van elektrische/elektronische producten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Using this kind of software brings ease and accurate data reports that helps the company on decision making

Pluspunten: Easy to use, compatible in many database such as mysql, ms sql server, different type of output to choose such as excel, html, richtext, etc.

Minpunten: Some version are slow on initializing and fetching data such as Pentaho report designer version 5 and above. Unlike version 3 which has smooth process, that was base on my experience.

ETL on the fly

Beoordeeld op 31-10-2018
Riyaadh K.
Solutions Architect
Telecommunicatie, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Drag and drop functionality makes it easy to create transformations. Able to analyse data from multiple sources quickly and efficiently. Jobs can be scheduled in order to run specific tasks and transformations at a certain time.

Minpunten: Can take some time to figure out how to use it as there are lots of components involved. Can be a bit slow or run into out of memory issues for bigger queries but upping the virtual memory in the configuration can fix this issue.

Saves me not only hours, but DAYS

Beoordeeld op 23-2-2017
James W.
Developer
Juridische dienstverlening, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Pentaho has nice schema browsing features whereby one not need know anything about the underlying schema in order to design a transformation. Automatic multi-threading by default.

Minpunten: When outputting to a table, Talend has an option to Drop if exists, and create. Pentaho has a Truncate [prior to load], but no option create the table as part of the data flow nor an option to drop an existing table.

Pentaho Review

Beoordeeld op 4-4-2018
Michelle W.
Accountant
Burgerlijke en maatschappelijke organisatie, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Once you understand the basics of this program it is easy to use. The bonus with this program is that if someone write a report, they can share the script with you. The updated 6.1 version is definitely an improvement.

Minpunten: If you are not at all familiar with writing script, this program can be very challenging. No real user manuals are included.

Best Data integration and business analytics tool

Beoordeeld op 29-5-2018
Ritchea A.
Sr.Software Engineer
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Best product for reporting and analyzing.

Pluspunten: Best reporting tool.Features like data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL.
Provides easy and good insights of business.
Provides intuitive interface for most advanced users

Minpunten: Sometimes Pentaho Spoon(GUI) crashes.sharing and collaboration capabilities need to be enhanced Other all features are really good.

Practical, versatile and objective

Beoordeeld op 11-3-2018
Especialista de información
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Fast execution of ETL processes in the case of massive data migration with a very low margin of error

Pluspunten: -Automate the steps for execution
- It has a friendly graphic environment
- Easy to use
- Wide range of tools

Minpunten: -High basic requirements for execution.
- lack of detailed comments in error messages.
-It does not have documentation in Spanish language.

The best tool for data integration

Beoordeeld op 5-10-2017
Big Data/Hadoop Engineer
201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Ease of use and abundant features to get things done. Helps a lot in filling the various gaps in data sources.

Minpunten: Not so user friendly, takes sometime for new user to get around the application and figure out the various tricks and tools available

One of the best Business Analytics tool out there

Beoordeeld op 3-11-2018
Senior Business System Analyst
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: This tool can be installed on any operating system. It has a simple interface, so it takes less time to learn.

Minpunten: The design of the software is pretty old! Needs lot of improvement when compared to its competitors.

I love the out of the box visualization templates!

Beoordeeld op 15-12-2018
Hasin A.
CEO
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I really like using it but chose to use other apps like tableau due to lack of features.

Pluspunten: Pentaho makes it really easy to generate some complex data driven visualizations.

Minpunten: Pentaho doesn't have a lot of options for pulling data from public APIs.

Gives me the ability to use clicks instead of code.

Beoordeeld op 2-2-2018
Business Analyst
Financiële dienstverlening, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: Penatho brings a visual interface to processes which would traditionally only be accomplished by many, many lines of code (which it can also do). Many powerful inputs from servers, software, and CRM systems. It also has very detailed error handling, which makes it easy to troubleshoot.

Minpunten: Support is mostly wiki/community based, with instructions for particular steps being lacking, outdated, or missing completely. Outputs could be simplified as well, with even a basic CSV output being slightly more complex than it should be, compared to other steps.

Riding a Wild Horse - Community Edition

Beoordeeld op 18-4-2017
Dalton S.
Data Scientist
Vervoer/over de weg/per spoor, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
2 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Many features.
I like to use the reporting PRD, I think that it is the best.
I use Spoon/Kettle that is a ETL tool to process data.

Minpunten: Many bugs. Maybe is because of Community Edition.
We have many difficult to install in cloud.
The layout of some report that run in developing, don't run in production.

Pentaho is a user-friendly open source ETL tool

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2014
Yinghua H.
Financiële dienstverlening
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3.5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: I like its ease of use; it is very easy to build an ETL pipeline after the initial learning curve. I also like the variety of modules. There are a lot of powerful modules, and you will mostly find the module you want. User-defined code is very flexible; it's possible and very easy to plug in user-defined Java code. When there is no module implemented for desired function, this feature comes handy. Multithreading is also easy. The transformation can be set to run multiple copies in parallel.

Minpunten: Occasionally, Pentaho Spoon (GUI) crashes, and a restart is required.

It is definitely the solution to carry out all the projects successfully!

Beoordeeld op 19-4-2018
Analista financiero
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Everything is organized better using this software. It is quite efficient and easy to use...

Pluspunten: This software is wonderful, with it you can obtain performance and scalability. As well as manage and schedule reports. It is very efficient which means that you save a lot in daily reports...

Minpunten: This software is potentially amazing. Has it all! Your free trial is as complete as the paid version. It's very complete.

Pentaho is amazing...

Beoordeeld op 9-11-2017
Victor S.
Web Developer
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It's a great platform, congratulations ...
is the only one compatible with the bank I use, only a more robust documentation is missing.

Pluspunten: The only BI software that is compatible with Firebird SQL, I have not found any other compatible BI.

Minpunten: Particularly I found it difficult to start learning, the documentation regarding the data integration (spoon) is scarce.

I love this tool, because it has minimized data preparation time by filtering the most interesting d

Beoordeeld op 10-4-2018
Sara natalie A.
Analista
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Represents the solution to meet the needs of extraction, manipulation, validation and data loading from multiple sources of origin and in different environments can solve many problems. For the creation of the Dimensions Tables. Transformation of these data and Upload of that data in another site.

Pluspunten: It allows to extract the information from an OLTP database, transform the information through a dimensional model and load the results of the transformation into a database to develop specialized reports which Pentaho also has. It includes tools to perform queries, generate reports and reports, interactive analysis, dashboards, extraction, transformation and data loading, data integration.

Minpunten: It requires a large investment, because its correct implementation is not an easy task and these systems consume many resources.

PDI Community Edition is amazing.....the rest is mud

Beoordeeld op 20-3-2018
Stewart F.
VP of Data, Technology and Innovation
Marketing en reclame, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: GetApp
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: - Free PDI tool....its free so no discussions with finance
- PDI is actually very effective ETL application with a easy to understand flow
- Community is actually helpful

Minpunten: - Free BI tool is just slightly easier than building a website from scratch but a lot harder than using any other BI tool.
- You need to know how to hack java to use.
- The paid version does not have competitive pricing for the incremental value.

cool tool for your web app

Beoordeeld op 13-12-2016
Naresh S.
project manager
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was impressed with the ability to integrate this into an existing web app. It allowed our users to start looking at operational data and learning from it.

Pluspunten: It provided an intuitive interface for most advanced users.

Good business analytics tool

Beoordeeld op 23-10-2015
Gaurav K.
Student
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4.5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Fetures like data reporting, integration, data mining and ETL capabilities

Minpunten: nothing to dislike, everything is good. All the features are really good.

An easy BI tool with a POWERFULL ETL inside

Beoordeeld op 10-5-2018
Luigi S.
Business Intelligence Consutant
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Pentaho BI Solution is nomilly a BI Open Source solution that can compete with the most important players of this area.
Pentaho is easy to manage and has a powerfull ETL inside that can be managed itself as a product.

Minpunten: The "Open Source Philosophy" is not away true.... I mean that if you want a full support from Pentaho it will be not-so-cheap

Very ergonomic ETL tool

Beoordeeld op 3-11-2015
Ashutosh C.
Student
Computersoftware
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4.5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Really helps to solve complex business solutions with its cool features and like their contribution to open source.

Minpunten: Its a great tool to use, nothing to dislike about the product.

Pentaho is integrated set of tools for business intelligence

Beoordeeld op 17-5-2018
Ummar H.
Student
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I have transformed multiple databases from different sources and formats into one single format and recognizable database set. After single database operation, I need to summarize report for that purpose i used Pentaho report designer tool to summarize and design report.

Pluspunten: Data in Pentaho can be easily import from nearly any type of source including .csv, excel etc to create single report.

Minpunten: Pentaho itself is too much resource hungry as compared to other BI softwares. Configuration after installation is required that will be difficult for non-techies.

A great data analysis tool

Beoordeeld op 26-3-2018
Juan felipe M.
Programmer
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: personally I think it is a very powerful tool, powerful, very robust and also free

Pluspunten: A very well designed platform, of great cost benefit, as well as the integration and reports, even better than when we analyze the costs,
Pentaho is a free tool, incredibly, because when you work on it, you realize the robustness by handling a lot of information in just seconds

Minpunten: In addition to its great design, the learning curve is quite high, and its platform is not very intuitive

Pentaho review

Beoordeeld op 8-12-2016
Gaurav G.
Student
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Pentaho features pixel-perfect reporting, subreports, parameterized reports, and OLAP. The OLAP tools let you perform ad-hoc views, reports, and views through MDX queries. Pentaho puts more effort into data integration, ETL, and workflow automation.

Pluspunten: · Very powerful integrated tools
· Better user interface
· Best report design wizard
· Fastest growth and improvement
· Better dashboard capabilities

Minpunten: · Doesn’t seem to have a wizard for creating charts
· Weaker support community