A practical, good value, enterprise report server tool

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2016
Patrick S.
Systems Development Manager
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Have been using it for 5 years, and now purchased another licence again for a new system.
Features we use:
Designer on server=yes
Designer by users =no
Data grids=yes
Pivot grids=yes
Reports (ie using designer)=yes
Scheduled server=once
Dashboard=no
It doesn't do _everything_ but in terms of basic data grid, reports, pivot it's very good. This is because it's built on DevExpress report designer which is as solid reporting tool.
Essentially the core requirements for reporting, ie user-based variables, parameter customisation, user group security, good web based reporting interface are very good.
It is excellent value for money when compared to other reporting tools on the market, which can easily span into the $10k upwards.
For me, the primary reason is the ease of use for creating and deploying reports. Once I have my SQL query created, just paste it into the designer, save the report, set permissions and you're done. For simple reports I can create them in 5-10 minutes, so that's extremely helpful when managmenet is on your tail to get something sorted. :-)

Pluspunten: Good value, ease of use, practical.

Minpunten: Some quirks in the how the software auto-configures queries for parameters. Need more options for configuring parameters as its easy to void the use of indexes if you're not careful.

Generally a good and inexpensive product but it has a lot of issues

Beoordeeld op 26-3-2015
Dan G.
VP IT
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: Pros:
Inexpensive
Powerful and feature rich
Web deployment capability
Tech support
Cons:
Memory and processing hog. Make sure you have a powerful computer when developing or it will crash far too often.
Doesn't have many bugs but the ones it does are very annoying and impede the use of some features
Very slow to fix bugs
Poor documentation (really poor - you have to contact technical support to learn how to do anything sophisticated)
Last release was extremely poorly conceived, delivered, and poorly communicated. They eliminated some good features and the upgrade wreaked havoc on our installation. We had to downgrade (which is not easy) and rebuild everything. Consequently we are very gun shy about upgrading and are still waiting months later for them to repair the damage form this release.
Examples:
The parameters window no longer displays by default
The output display is limited a window that is too small for some of our wider reports so now there are 2 sets of scroll bars
The moved the function buttons from top right to top left so our logo is crowded between the buttons and the report and looks terrible.
Product management needs a serious overhaul. Both because of the above bumbling and a number of features in the UI that are just plain bad design and need to be removed or fixed. For example:
Displaying the report parameters in a cryptic string in the report header without the option to hide them. Users don't need to see this and if you have a lot of parameters the result is a very long string which detracts from the report aesthetics.
You cannot have report parameters that are strings with commas, such as a company name as it does not work. You have to work around it in a non-elegant way to get it to work. This bug has been outstanding for more than a year. There is a similar problem with strings that contain single quotes (given that this is a SQL based report system you'd think the programmers would have had a clue about this).
If you customize the display of parameters in the report (so you don't get the non-user-friendly cryptic string) every time you edit the report your customizations are overwritten with that ridiculous string. You have to save your customization in a hidden field and copy and paste it back every time.
Note: All of the above has already been communicated to DBXtra. We are still awaiting a resolution.

Best Report Writer and Best Support Available

Beoordeeld op 12-5-2015
Martyn A.
Partner
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We did a substantial amount of market testing before deciding on which product to settle on. We needed to improve the quality of our reports, make data easier to understand for our end users and reduce the development time associated with report generation. We evaluated a number of other competitors. We found the service to be reasonable with most of the companies we evaluated. In some products, we found very advanced features, but the development cycle would require lots of coding. We were looking for a solution that would steamline the report creation process and offer a powerful set of tools for visualising and presenting data back. After we became disillusioned with the 4th product we tried, we moved over to testing DBxtra. With DBxtra we had created and deployed our first report in less than 3 days (compared to over 7 with the other products) DBxtra works like this: You build an underlying query using a visual query builder - from this you effectively have 4 separate methods of manipulating the data: - Data Grids - Pivot Tables - Reports - Dashboards Go the website to see these. But why am I actually writing this review? During our testing of this product, the service and support we received was literally the best we've experienced. The friendly and experienced team at DBxtra never made us wait long for an answer to a support email and on a number of occasions they screen shared with us to provide advice. In about 5 situations, our requirements needed code changes in asp pages. Each time, they went away, researched our problem and came back and implemented it for us. As part of our purchase we agreed on some customization work that needed to be done at short notice. We were a little worried about whether the quality of the service would drop off after we paid. When our customisation was not completed we sent an email to ask what was going on at 23:00 - only to get an instant reply to say that it had taken longer than planned due to a major storm, but they were staying with it until it was done. It was completed at around 02:00 - and was done so because the DBxtra team understood we needed it for showcase to a client the next morning and they delivered on their promise. That's all there is to say really.

Best Value BI Platform. Excellent Support.

Beoordeeld op 26-12-2016
Richard F.
President
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We have used DBXTRA for over 5 years with a national user base accessing through IIS. Our customers love the simplicity of the UI, the rich features and we love the reliability and support. We highly recommend this product!

Pluspunten: Ease of use, quick deployment, rich features.

Minpunten: No significant cons. For secure web deployment, you need to do in-house IIS set-up but it's expected, relatively straightforward and allows you to integrate into a custom web gateway.

Faster, Better, Cheaper than anything else ...

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2016
Robert b W.
Managementconsulting, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've found DBxtra far quicker to develop, test, and roll out to end users than either MS Business Intelligence or Oracle. I also like the fact that end users can easily learn it and create their own custom queries and reports. It takes a tremendous amount of workload off of IT when users are in a "I'll know it when I see it" mode.

Pluspunten: Very Rapid development and roll out cycle. I have been able to satisfy customer needs in minutes where other tools took hours of work and testing.

Minpunten: A couple of issues, but I've already passed them along to the support/development group months ago.

DBxtra Reporting

Beoordeeld op 18-4-2012
Daniel R.
Director, IS/IT
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: The ROI for this product is incredible when compared to other database reporting tools such as, Crystal, SAP, Cognos and Business Objects, etc. I would recommend this product to anyone that may have multiple versions of a database, such as SQL, Oracle, DB2, Informix, Access, etc because of its ability to handle different versions of a database and produce professional reports quickly.

Pluspunten: Can access multiple types of databases
Can create reports across application databases provided there are ways to join the data, eg billing and collection system joined with accounting application
Query generation is Intuitive
Creating professional style reports is intuitive and easy
Installation was easy
Remote access to reports via browser
End user can manipulate data using the data grid
30 day Demo available
Existing queries can be cut and pasted into the query designer.

Minpunten: The product has exceeded our expectations after trying it for 30 days. If I was forced to identify a con it would be that email support may not be as prompt as you would like; however, if you set up a call for support to answer questions, install, or training they ensure that all questions and training issues are resolved.

DbXTra Flexible Reporting

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2016
Frank J.
CIO
Automotive, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We implemented DbXtra as visual dynamic reporting alternative, we realized that helped our organization to have valuable information across processes and areas without development constraints and best in value, the benefit/cost ratio compared with other Visual Reporting Tools is very high. Something to improve is about web client features. Still great for basic Analytics.

Pluspunten: - Ease to implement and distribute across users.
- Unlimited viewers with several filtering and drill down options.
- Designer cost is reasonable.
- Excel plug-in is a useful tool.

Minpunten: -Very limited performance on the web based version.
-Focused just in Windows version, no mac, no Linux.
-ETLs have been well built and debugged in external tools prior to considering DataSets in DbXtra.

For the Novice and the Pro...........

Beoordeeld op 30-3-2011
Chip P.
Owner
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: Overall I would and have recommended DBxtra to fellow business owners and clients.

Pluspunten: For the Novice, DBxtra is easy to use. Connect to your database and then point/click to generate your query and report design if needed. For the Pro, DBxtra allows you to create custom queries, reports and scripts for individual fields. Assigning groups and users is an excellent feature allowing full or restricted access to multiple reports in a project. For the Novice and Pro Customer Service is outstanding! You may only have e-mail access, for the most part, but their response time is very quick. Giving you direct, consise answers to solve your problem.

Minpunten: As a Novice, you may have trouble navigating the advanced features of DBxtra as they are not well described and/or defined in detail in the online manual. if your not familiar with Visual Basic coding custom scripting is not something you can use due to the learning curve thrusted upon you.

DBxtra Report Writer

Beoordeeld op 23-3-2011
Nigel B.
Managing Director
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: I would recommend DBxtra to anyone who needs an easy to use reporting package with lots of functionality but who finds other products expensive or overly complex.

Pluspunten: DBxtra is extremely user friendly, particularly for anyone with experience of other packages such as MS Access or Crystal Reports etc. Generation of reports is very quick and simple and the ability to link to a number of SQL sources at the same time is an excellent feature of the product. In one scenario which I use the product I can link a field operations MySql database on an externally-hosted server to an internal Sage SQL server and produce comprehensive reports. I have been using DBxtra exclusively for some 5 year now and have had no real problems but even when I have the response and support from DBxtra has been excellent.

Minpunten: I genuinely can't really think of any. The help files could be a little clearer in some cases but they have been much improved recently.

Recommended reporting application with affordable cost

Beoordeeld op 1-12-2016
Agung D.
IT manager
Bouw, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Almost 6 years I using this solution for complex requirements and also limited budget.
Users really happy cause all thing related with this solution are easy.
Even for beginner developer without good basic for programming can easily setting this solution.
Thank you DBxtra!!!!!!

Pluspunten: easy for developing and understanding event for beginner.

An easy way to get data from database to web

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2016
Chris H.
IT Manager
Groothandel, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: After reviewing many alternatives, we selected DBxtra to publish our in-house data onto the web.
Implementation was straightforward, and we're publishing complex dashboards within a couple of days.
Too many features to comment on, but one we find excellent is the User / Group variables. These allow us to easily publish a single dashboard to our 60 suppliers, with the data displayed restricted to their login details
The online documentation covers the basics. For further instructions, you email support. The support team is impressive. All emails were replied to on the same day, with detailed and relevant instructions.
Overall, I am very impressed.

Pluspunten: Easy to setup, dashboard functionality and customer support

Intuitive and easy to use and yet with advanced features

Beoordeeld op 23-3-2011
Harald L.
Managing partner and owner
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: As a distributor of DBxtra in Denmark, Key2Mobility delivers DBxtra to new customers as well as our existing customer base running our Mobile Field Service Management solution PreCom.
We have found DBxtra to be very powerful and flexible. The solution is easy and intuitive to use for simple reporting requirements, at the same time offering advanced reporting and analyse facilities to more professional users.
DBxtra s structured use of projects, connections and objects including powerful export and import facilities makes it easy for Key2Mobility to professionally deliver added value on top of the reporting tool.
Especially DBxtra s ability to run on several data sources makes the solution useful in larger organizations as a central reporting tool for consolidation of data from different systems.

Pluspunten: Intuitive and easy to use
User firiendly interface
Advanced features
Multiple data sources
Web-services
Overall architecture
Licensing structure
Affordable pricing

Minpunten: We actually do not have any cons.

DBxtra - The right application, The right features at the right price.

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2014
Rex K.
CEO
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We have been using DBxtra for over a year now. It performs well and has become a standard in our organization. We researched many products and found that virtually all others were outside of our price range or too low on features to work. We wanted a tool that didn't take a developer to run and manage. A tool that created rich web reports with the usual exports. DBxtra simply does it all it even will schedule reports to be run and sent as emails (very handy).
Since any review without "cons" I will supply the few we have found.
1. Some of the components are not as intuitive as you would expect, however once learned they are fine.
2. If you are interested in graphing as I am definitely take it for a test drive first. The graphing works well but there needs to be better control of labels.
Finally DBxtra needs some polishing as does all software all the time but it is money well spent and we plan on being a customer for a very long time.

DBxtra Evaluation

Beoordeeld op 11-8-2014
Jerry L.
Sr. Data Architect
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We've been looking for a reporting tool that has the flexibility for end users to modify the query criteria, sorting, and grouping data. DBxtra's data grid just provides all these capabilities. And it is easy to use. This is a great product and I recommend it to other users. It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive. Another thing is that the web version of the dashboard doesn't look as good as the windows version.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Advisionario, S.A. de C.V. op 11-8-2014

Thanks Jerry for your review!
>>>It would be great if the free report viewer has an authentication mechanism. Currently, any user can double-click the report file on a disk drive to open it if the user can access the disk drive.
The free report viewer does not consider user security; this will require the Report Web Service which takes care of it.

Rudolf F. Vanek

Does what it says on the box

Beoordeeld op 21-3-2011
Bryan M.
Senior Consultant
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: If you need a reporting system that is powerful, flexible and easy to use at all levels of user experience, this is it.

Pluspunten: We provide consultancy and support for Computerised Maintenance Management Systems in the marine industry, including administering their database systems. As well as delivering bespoke 'permanent' reports with DBxtra we also write many hundreds of one off ad-hoc reports every year. Without DBxtra we could not provide this level of support. Our clients are very demanding but with DBxtra we can meet and often exceed these demands.

Minpunten: The only very small criticism is that with many hundreds of reports some of which are rarely used it can be difficult to locate the report you require.

Easy to use also for our c-level

Beoordeeld op 26-3-2015
Alfonso L.
IT Director
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: It is already 3 years we use DBxtra as our main reporting solution.
We were looking for a tool that could show reports like excell does with a pivot table.
SQL is somehow limited in that because you cannot really have a presentation layer for the data you collect and therefore a report is very repetitive and static.
DBxtra let you create reports that can be viewed online and let you see a summarized account of the data while letting you to go down to a detailed view if needed.
The interface is easy enough to have a secretary create the report in very few time.
I'd like also to point out that the customer service is very competent and quick to answer finding a way to help you out with any use or configuration problem that could arise.

Our Trusted DBxtra

Beoordeeld op 26-3-2015
Mohd S.
MD
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We trust DBxtra so much that we let DBxtra runs LIVE reporting of our system that is fed with records every 5 seconds from our devices. We showed to our client and they were dazzled of DBxtra's features and importantly the stability of DBxtra that we achieved in our setup. We told them DBxtra did all the work unattended to produce the online LIVE reporting that could be drilled down to the last hour. Soon enough, we got the purchase order from this client as well as other projects and thanks to DBxtra for its hard work that helped us to win this client. Now we trust DBxtra even more ... to tackle our next client.

InfoMagellan, Management Reporting

Beoordeeld op 19-7-2014
Nigel B.
CEO
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We deliver mobile computing solutions on iPad and Android tablets and have been using DBxtra for nearly 10 years as our chosen reporting tool. It is easy to use and capable of connecting to multiple Database platforms. The web reporting and scheduler enable us and our clients to access valuable up to date information about their field operations activities and for us to automatically deliver scheduled management reports by email in order to provide highly pro-active information to managers. Overall DBxtra is a simple to use but powerful reporting tool without the complexity of other far more expensive solutions.

DBxtra Reporting Tool and Scheduler

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2014
Michael H.
Mgr of Tech and Web
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: Golden Corral has been using the DBxtra reporting tool for at least 6 years. For small shops such as ours, it greatly increases productivity by providing a truly non programming environment IDE for creating visually appealing reports. Our end users use the reporting server daily to access reports and pass parameter filters to custom select report data. The scheduler is also a tool we rely on daily to produce and email reports to a variety of departments within the company. As the software manager, my very first requirement of a new programmer in my department is to learn DBxtra.

Great reporting program

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2016
Todd W.
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: This is an excellent program that allows non-programmers to create reports. It has a very easy learning curve and the support is excellent. We use it to create reports that we can distribute to different users in our warehouse so that they can easily run themselves. It is very feature rich and allows you to tackle almost any reporting tasks you may have. The only negative is that in program documentation is a little sparse and some of the advanced functions are not documented but support is excellent and only an e-mail away.

DBXtra rocks

Beoordeeld op 22-3-2011
Peter C.
Exec Director
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: - I think I made the correct decision with DBXtra... It really saves us tons of heartache, headache, ..., stomachache.
- DBXtra rocks

Pluspunten: - very quick and SINCERE response. DBXtra always tries to help.
- excellent price/performance ratio. I reviewed, tested and used many different products and this is the winner.
- very easy to learn and use. DBxtra makes creating query and report fun

Minpunten: - web support: web report, scheduled report, ... but I think DBxtra already knows this and is improving this constantly

DBXTRA is great! is the perfect partner to programmers

Beoordeeld op 1-12-2016
Dennis R.
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: In my opinion, dbxtra have all elements necessary to create any type report. One special feature is that I can do anything with text files. That´s great. The text files are one easy option to complete something that in some native software we haven't. Then, with dbxtra we can take the text files and surprise everyone. Another thing very important is the customer support team, I am very pleased with them. Also, dbxtra never stop, always are doing new and smart improves to the tool. Congratulations!!

Great Product!

Beoordeeld op 15-7-2014
Bob B.
VP of Creative Services
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: We've been using DBxtra for nearly a year and have found it to be an invaluable tool. It has really allowed our project to progress rapidly by providing a fast way to write custom reports and provide access to helpful business intelligence data on the fly. We love the dashboard reports! Showing our clients interactive data visualization with real-time data has been a god-send. We reviewed several possible solutions before deciding on DBxtra. It has outperformed all them from ease of set-up, ease of use and cost. We highly recommend it.

Afforable solution With Big Benefits

Beoordeeld op 18-4-2012
Agung D.
Mr
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: Now IT is backbone for Company and expected to deliver perfect services with limited budget. Specially at reporting solution with limited budget IT should fine solutions.
DBxtra as like "hero" for IT leader with limited resources and knowledge to deliver reporting application.
For user point of view is very user friendly as they using spreadsheet application.
This application is very helpful and easy implementation with big benefits.

Pluspunten: DBxtra is one of the best solution i had.

Minpunten: Need more effort from development team to make query more faster

Many Happy Customers

Beoordeeld op 8-8-2014
Joshua W.
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: A few years ago I setup DBxtra for a consulting client of mine as it was a very nice and affordable solution. They loved it and since then I have recommended it to every client and installed and used it many more times to solve all types of reporting, dash-boarding and data delivery issues. It is simple to setup, easy to use, and full of great features. Plus their support is second to none (and I work with a lot of software vendors). I would highly recommend this product.