Microsoft Project reviews

4,4 (1.364) Schrijf een review!

Over Microsoft Project

Microsoft Project is een eenvoudige maar krachtige tool om werk te beheren, van snelle projecten tot complexere initiatieven.

Meer informatie over Microsoft Project

Pluspunten:

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Minpunten:

Simple error in typing the dates or days of activities can lead to complications if not caught immediately.

Beoordelingen van Microsoft Project

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,0
Klantenservice
4,1
Functies
4,4
Waar voor je geld
4,0

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

8,2/10

Microsoft Project heeft een totaalscore van 4,4 van 5 sterren op basis van 1.364 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Microsoft Project eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (1.364)

Alejandro S.
Alejandro S.
Engineer in Ecuador
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Olie en energie, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

How MS Project has helped me with daily activity logging

5,0 vorige week Nieuw

Opmerkingen: My experience with MS Project has been in the daily record of activities in projects in the Oil area, when the file in which you work is correctly done, it is only a matter of entering the data day by day to have all the information pertinent to the project, but in most cases the file has been prepared by personnel without proper training, which has made it difficult for me to obtain the correct data in the field, which is why I have had to modify the files in order to work correctly.

Pluspunten:

MS Project is the most widely used project control software in the industry where I work, so it has been of great help in managing any project. It also complements very well with MS Office, especially with MS Excel, which allows export the records in MS Excel format so that it can be filled out by people with no MS Project experience.

Minpunten:

What I like least about this software is that it requires advanced knowledge to be able to implement it correctly in large-scale projects, it is not such an intuitive software, so prior training is necessary.

Anurup M.
Senior Engineer Cost Control in Jordanië
Bouw, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

best tool for design work schedules, monitor project % completion, and maintain control.

5,0 3 weken geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Project helped us develop and approve a base schedule, and link it to later versions to compare the actual and expected progress of all project work, and it protects the team, especially when preparing claims and calculating delays.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft Project has the capabilities to create an integrated project schedule so we can track project expenses, manage human resources, calculate delays, and manage time claims. The development of Microsoft Project and the addition of cloud storage capabilities set it apart from similar applications, simplified the process of sharing updates and engaging additional members to collaborate on setting and tracking schedules. I like the fact how powerful the calculations that Microsoft Project does, especially with regard to Total Float and Free Float, which are great tools to help understand the behavior of different activities, as well as calculations of actual progress against planned progress and other tools that always help in decision-making the appropriate. Because it is integrated with MS Excel, it saves a lot of time and enables us to export and import data easily. I enjoy how easy it is to present resources, costs, and activities, and how the most recent dates appear automatically.

Minpunten:

With proper training and practice, I believe users will be able to easily develop and update software and extract achievement percentages. It's worth noting, that sometimes when you make updates in Microsoft Project with tampering with base table activities, it can be difficult to notice these changes due to the limited capabilities that Microsoft Project provides. To unravel that process, which produces biased analyzes. Microsoft Project reports are, in my opinion, too simplistic and require more improvements to be added.

Chris G.
Director of Communications in VS
Management non-profit organisaties, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

I want to like this product as it has potential, but...

2,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Opmerkingen: This product has so much potential if they could resolve the bugs, interface, and integration with other Microsoft software. It truly could be a one-stop product if they could dial this in.

Pluspunten:

This product is incredibly affordable, especially when it comes with the entire Microsoft Suite. It also is familiar when compared to other Microsoft products.

Minpunten:

Unfortunately, this product feels dated and clunky. It's visually not as appealing as other project management software and is the least intuitive in design. This product also is riddled with bugs that prevent tasks/projects from updating or saving properly, which can be devastating to an entire team. Additionally, this product is very clunky when integrating with other products, especially with other Microsoft software, which is genuinely disappointing.

Eduardo B.
Director in Mexico
Afdrukken en drukwerk, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

Great Software for project and task management....

5,0 3 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Great use, easy and practical for everything we do to work, prioritize and to have a good weekly follow up

Pluspunten:

Great use, easy and practical for everything we do to work and solve

Minpunten:

Some things are extras that we don´t need and use

David S.
David S.
Marketing Director in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Automotive, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great app for project management.

5,0 4 weken geleden Nieuw

Pluspunten:

What I like about this application is that, it is very good when planning and executing my project in which we collaborate as a team, it allows me to share the tasks among all and we are all responsible for a task to avoid confusing when executing the project , the table is really useful to plan the termination time of the project.

Minpunten:

What I do not like about this application is that, it is not very useful when doing large and complex projects, and what the integration and collaboration of Sti is very limited to applications based on Microsoft 365, the communication must be limited, by that does not admit any third -party communication tool.

Paolo T.
Engineer in Filipijnen
Civiele techniek, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Making project plans like how they taught it in school

4,0 2 maanden geleden Nieuw

Pluspunten:

The real-time updating of data is great. It shows you critical tasks that need the resources and how it might affect the entire project. This can also be integrated with other apps across multiple disciplines. Pretty much a requirement for BIM.

Minpunten:

It takes a bit of a learning curve to understand how the app functions and where all the features are. But then again, that's how it is with all these specialized apps.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Maintenance Supervisor in Canada
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Voedselproductie, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amongst the Best Project Management Tool

5,0 2 maanden geleden Nieuw

Pluspunten:

The ease of scheduling and the flexibility of editing is amazing. The calculations and speculations of leading and lagging are accurate to the fullest.

Minpunten:

The awesome features are hidden and need explorations. Could be more obvious.

Girish P.
Girish P.
Key Account Manager in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Financiële dienstverlening, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best in Class for Quick development and process setting

5,0 2 maanden geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: The project is easy to use and fast saves alot of time.

Pluspunten:

Easy to use the software and time to learn is less

Minpunten:

Cost is high as compared to other in the class

Geverifieerde reviewer
Design Engineer in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Automotive, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The most common and reliable way to get your projects done.

4,0 4 weken geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Excellent and popular software for project managing, considering that you can use it in almost every company and everyone will understand your schedule.

Pluspunten:

The way you can create a project planning template to follow your progress everytime you need it, also you can export it to PDF so anyone can see the schedule, if you need to customize every resource over time you can also do the task.

Minpunten:

The price is quite expensive, taking on account that this software is the most popular.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Solutions Manager in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Religieuze instellingen, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

It's really the gold standard for waterfall project management

4,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Pluspunten:

It's relatively easy to get a nice Gantt chart going. The best thing I've noticed as compared to other web-based project management options is the ability to quickly run different 'what if' scenarios.

Minpunten:

It's still a complicated bit of software to manage a complicated task, and sometimes I wish there was a simple mode. Sometimes I know I will only ever have one type of dependency or that I don't need the resource planning aspect for a scenario I'm running, but the interface must remain busy for those simpler scenarios. Hard to complain too much, it does what I've needed it to do.

Fahed A.
Electrical Engineer in Jordanië
Bouw, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Tracking Your Work

5,0 3 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: With this amazing program you can create milestones for your projects to plan and determine phases and requirements of each phase of project lifetime. MS Project can give you a clear view to track your project and how it is going off track or doing well, so you well be able to evaluate works and make a good actions due to milestones changes to give an assessment in proper way. It is need a time to do a good plan with MS Project, then you will feel ease to track your project and it will be smooth especially if everyone involved in this work plan know about it.

Pluspunten:

MS Project is one of the simplest programs for project management. To plan, monitor, and evaluate projects in the correct way, which decrease risks and waste of time in work that includes milestones of the project lifetime. We can link Microsoft programs with each other that ease the process of data entry especially with Microsoft Excel tables while we build our plan, we can move these data to Microsoft Project. Create activities are very easy in addition to arrange it according to priorities, and determine resources. You can find the vital path of the program, and choose filters, as needed, among the Microsoft Project things. It is easy to update data, also the percentage of each milestone can be view simply and you can filter activities to know which one is delayed and which one is going in track by using Microsoft Project.

Minpunten:

Nothing important to talk about Microsoft Project unless sometimes the program hang for a while after making an update for some data then it will move on. I have used Microsoft Project for many years and I did not find any problems unless this one.

Gayan D.
Gayan D.
Senior Project Manager in Sri Lanka
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

Project and Timeline Management done right

5,0 7 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: MS Project has been an absolute lifesaver when it comes to planning out projects with clear requirements.
The timelines and task tracking features give you a clearer picture of how your project is doing and if the project is going off track, allowing you to assess corrective actions you take according to the timeline changes.
It will take some time to create a perfect project plan through MS Project, but once done it will paint a clearer picture of the timelines/deadlines and what needs to be done to achieve those deadlines to everyone involved.

Pluspunten:

The absolute best way of setting and managing timelines of projects, and defining what resources/personnel will be utilized when so that they are also aware of what needs to be done to achieve a given deadline. The tracking aspect of MS Project also helps in identifying delays and how these delays will impact the overall timelines and in turn the final delivery deadlins.

Minpunten:

Could be challenging for a first-time user to grasp all the features provided by MS project, so it would be wise for to watch a few crash courses/tutorials before jumping head first into using it. Some elements I feel could be more user-friendly without users having to go through obscure menu structures to find them.

Ahmed A.
Planning and project control engineer in Jordanië
Bouw, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The ideal solution for project management and calculating completion rates

5,0 7 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Project Help in the proper planning of projects, as after adopting the plan, you will be able to use Microsoft Project to follow it in a correct way, as it will work permanently when updates are made by giving you a comparison between the actual and planned implementation, and through it you will be able to find activities that are not being implemented according to the plan , so that you keep it under surveillance permanently, which increases the chances of the success of your projects and finish them on time.

Pluspunten:

It is one of the best programs for project management, and to complete the scheduling and planning processes in the correct contractual ways, which allows the preparation of an integrated work program that includes all activities within the scope of the project. The integration of Microsoft Project with other Microsoft programs, especially Excel, facilitates the processes of entering activities directly from Excel tables, which facilitates the process of building work programs. Linking activities to each other according to priorities is very easy, and also allocating resources. Microsoft Project enables you to find the critical path of the program, and also filters that can be customized as needed, among the distinctive things that benefit from Microsoft Project. The update processes are easy, and also the calculations of completion rates for the activities and for the project in general are very simple, and you can also filter the delayed activities and know the exact amount of delay by using Microsoft Project.

Minpunten:

There is nothing worth mentioning, I have used Microsoft Project daily for many years, and I did not find any technical problems in it, and all the results that I get by using it, are considered accurate and reflect the reality of the work in the project.

Norma C.
Network Engineer in VS
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

The Ultimate Project Management Software

5,0 10 maanden geleden

Pluspunten:

MS Project has many powerful features for project management like gantt charts, budget tracking and task management that give users a ton of detailed options for managing resources. It's fairly easy to integrate with an existing microsoft environment and requires little to no maintenance once your custom templates are set up.

Minpunten:

It does have a steep learning curve that can seem intimidating to new users and the overwhelming amount of feature capabilities can seem daunting. MS Project also does not integrate well with other project management software so that can definitely be improved.

Abraham C.
Active Directory Administrator in Fiji
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Microsoft PowerPoint - By Abraham Chongkit

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would probably prefer more clarification on its compatibility and uses from Microsoft and their retail agents around the world before purchasing. The installation was pretty straight forward and I have not had any issue in regards to the application functionalities, and features. However, it did take me long to learn how to use MS Project and I would probably suggest that the help and instructional features could be adjusted to accommodate other users similar to my situation.

Pluspunten:

The great thing I like most about MS Project is that it's interface is quiet similar to that of other MS Office products, such as MS Excel. This familiarity gives me the confidence that the product I am about to use, is very similar to other MS Office products that I use on a daily basis. MS Project integrates well with Office 365 which allows me the space that I need to work remotely from anywhere when I'm outside the office, at home or sitting at a cafe having coffee while working on a task. Even when there is no internet connection, MS Project still works perfectly offline because it is a desktop application after all and your files are stored locally which allows ease of access when you need them. In addition to the user friendly interface of MS Project and its well designed features, I also love the built in templates that come with MS Project which is ready for use when I need it. The various templates have different themes and natures which gives you the flexibility to chose from according to the task you are trying to accomplish.

Minpunten:

The least thing I liked about MS Project is that it took me a while to get used to the menus, and features such as the interface when i first started. It took a lot of practice and further research on how to use the product faster and efficiently because my first impression is that MS Project was not really user-friendly at the beginning. I think MS Project is a bit expensive and you need to plan and make an effective decision before you purchase the full license, and the reason I say this is because if you're a small business with a small budget then you can only afford a handful of user licenses, which means if your business will scale up in the future, then you have to purchase more user licenses to accommodate growth. Another con with MS Project that I found out is that it is only compatible with computers installed with the Windows operating system and you need to install the full licensed version to start using the full features of the application. I normally work remotely and I need an application that is compatible with other mobile devices such as android, apple iOS and Linux. I am unsure if MS Project can accommodate under these circumstances according to the application prerequisites and requirements of use for MS Project.

Hani V.
project management in Nederland
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

enterprise project management (EPM) system

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Microsoft project is a famous and old tool for planning and controlling projects. I’ve used MSP in different IT and construction projects. It has almost all the necessary features for a project team. Project scheduling, cost management, resource management, risk management and portfolio management are some of its features. Also Earned value management (EVM) provide different Indicators for project evaluation. You could add custom field and formula to project based on your requirements.
For a year we implement this Microsoft solution on SharePoint site and we use it as an enterprise project management (EPM) software. It use SQL Server as database. Network project management was a great new experiment. In project web app (WPA) you could define different access level for project team and assign task to them. We also use Microsoft power BI and power view for designing charts and diagram to control the project status. It is also possible to use Microsoft Nintex as a workflow engine to implement simple processes on your team.

Pluspunten:

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Minpunten:

MSP is a classic project management tools that support different standard for project management, like PMBoK. But it’s not a tool for agile project management such as Scrum and Kanban.

Joshua M.
Process Optimization Analyst in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Afdrukken en drukwerk, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pluspunten:

The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Minpunten:

Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Cesar C.
Cesar C.
Docente asociado in Venezuela
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pluspunten:

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Minpunten:

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Stever jose G.
Stever jose G.
PMO in Argentinië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.

Pluspunten:

Since we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution. in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure and make correct decisions to be applied in each case the collaborative work increased to have a better follow-up of the tasks and be able to finalize or inform some deviation in time of each project The support of the provider was very specialized for when we had to resort in some cases to the implementation and uses of the platform. a great functionality was to be able to create project templates without having to go through the process of creating formulas within each file, something that is optional for each use but in ours we had formulas applied to be able to measure specific calculations that we needed. Roi's early measurements were accurate in a high percentage which helped to clarify the landscape of the project area.

Minpunten:

It is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution. Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind. It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.

Israel jose A.
Israel jose A.
Hydraulic Engineer, MSc Geological Engineering (Oil and Gas prospecting) in Venezuela
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.

Pluspunten:

For any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and costs to complete the daily project managing tasks, provide baselines, and formulate all the necessary estimations. The Gantt Chart provides a graphical overview of the whole project and combined with the reports and striking graphics make it easier to understand and present the planning and evaluation strategy. If not the time to start a project from the scratch MPP comes with a very powerful set of templates. Indisputably MPP becomes an ideal first choice for any project manager.

Minpunten:

The first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it by yourself by dedicating hours and discipline. In the other hand, you need to consider the size of your project and company, and considering that it is a monthly subscription (including access to the cloud) that you should pay for every user, it can end up being relatively expensive at the end of the month. The integration with externals apps is null so you need to do it manually. And well, there are some formatting issues, is really complicated sometimes and printed results are not always what is expected.

Hessel F.
PMO in Israël
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common resources

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: The benefits to the organization have been phenomenal! Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked. Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level. We found it easy to use although there was a bit of a learning curve. We had a challenge on implementing as, for some reason, there was a bug in MS Project. It took about six months to stabilize the site but once it was stable, the problem didn't return. For those who are interested, in our case it was due to not having service pack 2 installed. The challenge once we started using it, was to get management to appreciate the fact that accurate, real time reports could be generated and that they would be of immense benefit to them. It took a while until they realized it but once they did, the idea took off and requests flowed in for more views (reports) showing different aspects of the data. We use the product to track tasks of resources located outside the IT division which was also an innovation that needed time to be absorbed. The philosophy had always been that the team leader was assigned the task and that he/she would delegate it to the team members. With the browser version, resources could see their tasks, update % complete and the project manager could instantly see what was happening. This turned team meetings into shorter, more focused events as there was no need to review tasks.

Pluspunten:

I like the way you can use it for managing resources. It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity. I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project. I also use this resource assignment ability to slice and dice data so that I can see slipped tasks, tasks that have not started, tasks with no deadlines, grouped tasks per release etc. The sky is the limit! The web-based facility means that resources can see their tasks without needing to have MS project installed on their computers and they also don't need to have any knowledge of MS Project. This makes it easy to deploy in a big organization where there may be budget constraints.

Minpunten:

It hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones. Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges. * You can't send messages to resources from within tasks * There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note. * You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file. * After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions. * the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.

Jose de jesus R.
Jose de jesus R.
Gerencia de Área Plataforma Tecnológica in Venezuela
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

My experience in Microsoft PPM, a tool for the control of Projects in an efficient way

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I would recommend it extensively because it is useful to the final user, to be able to know the tool before it can be acquired and to know the opinion of a true user who takes advantage of each component every day, I am very pleased to participate in this program and thus contribute my experience.

Pluspunten:

Generally within the environment where I perform this tool is very useful, because your way of organizing work is excellent, to me as a professional in the area of technology adds incredible benefits, allows me to see tasks in a single presentation, resources, project execution times, remaining time, as well as progress, at the management level it has the advantage of making the most accurate decisions regarding reallocation of resources, time and other elements that intervene in the projects that I control from my area. It is great as all the work team that is under my charge is integrated to the use of this tool and we can be synchronized under the same objectives of the institution.

Minpunten:

Despite being a great tool for project control, there is no way to measure the productivity of the work team or individually, this would help a lot or a lot to give the incentives to achieve jointly, departmentally or individually, even more when you want to highlight the merits of the team. Likewise, the cost of this tool for a medium or small company would be difficult to acquire or would be underused since in small environments the management of the projects would not have as many elements. However, I am very pleased with the kindnesses I have found in it.

Majid S.
Majid S.
Freelancer in VS
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

General porous Project Management tool

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: General porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects

Pluspunten:

Windows application is really user-friendly. I love the recurring task facility for creating repetitive tasks without the need of creating each task separately. Supporting the different relationship between tasks including FS. SS, SF, and FF

Minpunten:

I wished it supports backward resource-leveling. It doesn't support the whole areas of the project management body of knowledge including Quality management and risk management in the best way.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Administrative officer in Nigeria
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Overheidsadministratie, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The best project management app so far

5,0 9 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Being an experienced user, I have gotten hold of all technicalities involved in its operation and this app has always been highly resourceful in all my project management tasks. It has further helped my team in seamless planning and deployment of projects.

Pluspunten:

Managing a project is centered on service delivery as at when due and this software allows to keep track of all projects and schedules of all tasks. The Microsoft project is a very easy to use application even for beginners and its capacity for collaboration is seamless especially when working and viewing projects with other teams.

Minpunten:

Time allocation to projects while working with multiple teams is a setback to the app. Some of the features are sophisticated but also requires a high level of technicality to operate them, it should also be noted that the Microsoft Project doesn't perfectly integrate with other project management apps. This should be attended to by the developers.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Freelancer in Indonesië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

User Friendly Project Management Tools

5,0 5 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Since I have been utilizing Microsoft Project, permits me to rapidly adjust recommendations and thoughts into coordinated ventures. This is exceptionally useful when I want to introduce a proposition since I can give a strong outline of the undertaking's thought, gauge, at the beginning phase, and control during the execution, every one of the assets and oversee and anticipate changes. The linkages, not exclusively are not difficult to utilize yet, in addition, help me while managing complex assignments

Pluspunten:

The project incorporates amazingly flawlessly into the general Microsoft environment of work. This empowers the stage to really amplify every one of the efficiencies made by keeping your work inside one stage. The project additionally works effectively in designating and booking assets. Moreover, distinguishing basic ways for an undertaking is somewhat straightforward. Project chiefs can do explicit call-outs for key stages en route too. There is likewise plenty of extra advantages for project that helps the personal satisfaction of anybody in charge of a venture. The help of the support was extremely particular for when we needed to resort sometimes to the execution and employments of the stage. incredible usefulness was to have the option to make project layouts without going through the most common way of making recipes inside each record, something discretionary for each utilization however in our own we had equations applied to have the option to gauge explicit estimations that we really wanted. return on initial capital investment's initial estimations were precise in a high rate which assisted with explaining the scene of the undertaking region.

Minpunten:

The execution of the timetable change and functional limit is troublesome and forestalls giving the undertaking groups a refreshed guide for the execution of their assignments and consequently the conveyance of another standard to check progress and deal with the change modified by the managers.