Helpt Nederlandse bedrijven al 15 jaar
bij het vinden van de juiste software

Over Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) is een platform voor het opslaan van objecten in de cloud dat is gebouwd voor veilige en eenvoudige gegevensverzameling, opslag en analyse.

Meer informatie over Amazon S3

Pluspunten:

I like the most that they have integrations and documentation for almost every technology availlable, its fast and easy to use, what more could you ask for.

Minpunten:

The only limitation is this can not be used as a block storage and it do not support formatting and can used for object purpose.

Beoordelingen van Amazon S3

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,3
Klantenservice
4,4
Functies
4,6
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,5

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

8,7/10

Amazon S3 heeft een totaalscore van 4,7 van 5 sterren op basis van 1.085 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Amazon S3 eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (1.085)

Proinsias
Proinsias
Owner Manager Digital Specialist in Ierland
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Online media, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Difficult to setup, but when you do, you will be delighted

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I work on websites with many photographs and useing Amazon S3 has greatly imporoved my page loading speeds. Its has save me money as I do not have to pay extra for Web Service Space. Also Amazon S3 on its own is like a CDN or Content Delivery Network. On one of my projects, I am storing PDF files on S3.

Pluspunten:

Great Value for money when it comes to Cloud Storage Great for Photographers to help boost there page speed loading and Google Ranking Reduces costs on te Web Host Server as Pictures, PDF Files and Video are not on the main server

Minpunten:

Difficult to setup and get all your credentials Can be cumbersome if you have a lot of photographs or files. You may need to invest in a plugin to automatically upload the content to S3 automatically.

Brandon R
Brandon R
Software Engineer in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Draadloos, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Low-cost and reliable object storage

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Since it can temporarily store all kinds of data as a data lake, it was adopted as a storage destination for data generated by IoT devices that are difficult to predict and voice data for cloud services. With limited resources, such as local ones, it is difficult to estimate the initial investment and scale up, but using S3, there are no upfront costs and you only pay for the amount used.

Pluspunten:

The ultimate in cloud storage with the highest levels of availability and durability. Attractively, you can use storage at a low cost per TB. Data sent from IoT devices, logs from all AWS services, backups of AWS services, and so on. They can be stored in any format without worrying about running out of capacity resources, which gives us a great sense of reliability and security.

Minpunten:

The fee schedule is confusing, making it challenging to estimate total costs. I want a more accurate cost simulation function. I also want a safety warning function because incorrect configuration increases safety risks.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

AWS S3: The Ultimate Storage Solution with file versioning, integration with multiple AWS services

5,0 2 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: I am happy with AWS s3 with handling large static data with one write and many read purpose, good experince with s3

Pluspunten:

Its support multiple AWS services, we can easily integrate s3 with other aws services, we can add media images, videos, zip files, log files in s3 and access anywhere in internet with permission. we can also use s3 for storing and hosting static website and low cost. offering different storage classes for cost optimization and uses.

Minpunten:

1. Permission Handling 2. Access data anywhere in internet 3. Support CDN 4. Integration with multiple AWS services 5. storing archive data files 6. versioning control 7. transfering speed

Tonia
IT Administrator in VS
Management non-profit organisaties, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon S3 review

3,0 10 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 did exactly what I wanted it to do once I got past the setup obstacles. It is a bit difficult to navagate. Amazon does offer free training for their products which is a plus.

Pluspunten:

With Amazon being such a large company, we can use multiple technologies with only one bill. Amazon is well known and does a good job at storing and retaining my data. Amazon has many more features than their competitors which is great if you know how to set them up and run them. Amazon S3 does offer free training for their products which is helpful.

Minpunten:

Amazon S3 platform is hard to navigate, I feel it is ment for an advanced user rather than someone who is trying out new technology. Amazon is a bit higher priced than many competitors.

Shola
Shola
Internship in Nigeria
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Financiële dienstverlening, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Innovation at its best

5,0 4 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: When you are talking of a proper modern file storage and sharing, Amazon S3 is the first software that comes to mind.

Pluspunten:

I am someone that works with a lot of distant clients. I am happy that Amazon web service have come to the fore of managing data and I can easily transfer completed projects to clients using the Amazon S3.

Minpunten:

It is a little bit complex for beginners.

Daniel
Daniel
Founder in Argentinië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Amazon S3 is a solid brand, but not for amateurs

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I started using S3 as a off-site backup tool, and then I scaled up to use other services. It's serves it purpose rather well, but tends to be a little cumbersome, with many changes along the way and somehow a strict business model.

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 defined the cloud in the begining. It's services were disruptive and much needed. I think that S3 it's a very solid option for backup and file retention.

Minpunten:

However, it's not for the casual user. There are other, new and easy to use services aimed to the small business, wich offers a better way to deploy, are more cost-effective and have a more down-to-earth approach.

Rocky
Rocky
Course Building Technologist and Business Coach on the Education Team in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cheap Reliable storage in the cloud

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 solved our storage needs. Prior, the company was storing everything on their own servers. If the site went down, so did our files. Amazon's reliability is why we use the S3.

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 is like Dropbox/Google Drive, but on Amazon's cloud server. That means, it's fast with a 99.9% uptime. All of our public-facing course material is secured on Amazon S3, and I don't have to worry about the server being down.

Minpunten:

There's a learning curve. It's kind of ugly - I'm not expecting someone to use it right out of the box. There's lots of options to choose from, and you could accidentally expose all of your sensitive data if you didn't set it up correctly.

Adeyeye
Adeyeye
Founder in Nigeria
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer

Adeyeye George Review

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We are working on file manager design for health services and S3 has been our best pick to make this happen. Without S3, we might not have been able to do this. Thanks to Amazon.

Pluspunten:

My first love point is the documentations and easy integrations. Using the PHP SDK with the robust documentation had made our project fast and easy. Secondly, the cost... Using S3 for file storage is more cheaper than Dropbox. Thirdly: Ability to generate links and time of expiry is really great. I love this feature like cake.

Minpunten:

We are expecting S3 to have a streaming feature. It should be possible to stream huge files directly without downloading it. Well, this feature does not affect us currently but we will definitely need this in the future.

Gordon
Head of Data in VK
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon S3 - great product

4,0 4 weken geleden Nieuw

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 is a really flexible product that easy to use, its really easy to share the files with others but mostly great for uploading data from S3 into Redshift

Minpunten:

The thing i dislike the most is the changes sometimes introduced means changing several processes.

Riccardo
Marketing Director in Italië
Machine- en installatiebouw, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

The perfect cloud solution

5,0 4 weken geleden Nieuw

Pluspunten:

Fast, worldwide, and with tons of functionalities

Minpunten:

Not easy to set up, you would definitely need a technician

Sushank
DevOps Engineer in India
Vastgoed, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A Simple and affordable storage in cloud

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: AWS S3 is Simple Storage Service by AWS which allows you to store data on the cloud at an affordable price.
You can use s3 to store large data like static data, documents, images, videos, etc on cloud and access it anywhere.
We can host static websites on it if you owning a business and want a simple solution to host a static website you can use this option.

Pluspunten:

In this growing world, data is the most important so storage of the huge data is very important, Amazon's Simple Storage Service (s3) is the best and affordable cloud storage service available in the market. We can store huge and any kind of data on S3 like Documents, Text Files, PDF, Audio, Video, etc. There are multiple storage options available with S3 like frequent data and infrequently used data can be stored on AWS Glacier low-cost storage. The data is secured on AWS s3 with multi-level access protocols eg public, private, etc

Minpunten:

AWS S3 is not compatible with system-level like desktops, it should have something with which it can use used that will be very easy. We can not store more files more than 5 GB in size

MANAS
Senior Software Engineer in VS
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Highly available distributed storage system with additional features and settings

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I am having a great experience with Amazon S3, it really dose the things required in a really great way

Pluspunten:

This is a core part in most of our use cases , be it big-data computations , databases like redshift, aurora and snowflakes, be it for building a static or redirecting website and what not , it is i think the cheapest cloud distributed storage system and can be integrated with almost everything, integrate it with AWS Athena to analyse on file data, or run copy commands on snowflake or redshift databases to move the data around from or to db etc, or use it on hadoop hive tables by creating the external tables, it supports integration with java, python, or command line interface , so that you can automate the processes without any issues, and the s3 buckets can have security group attached, and lots of settings available in part of security, and can publicly expose some files , can create static web pages & redirecting web pages for both http and https (need some help from cloud front)

Minpunten:

the file naming we is a problem if we have a starting sub string as a file name, example if i had 2 files namely aaabbb and aaa , when i like to select the data of aaa, the data of aaabbb is also selected , because the s3 always treats the file name as filename* and one more thing is the static web support is good and easy to setup for http but for https its difficult need the help of aws cloud-front

Bernard
IT Administrator in VK
E-learning, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Amazon S3 Review

5,0 12 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Flawless and worth every penny

Pluspunten:

The ease of use. As simple as drag and drop on to the cloud. Very useful for large cloud data storage.

Minpunten:

There is nothing no not like about S3 truly

Maha
Assistant Professor in VS
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon S3: A Needed Object-Oriented Storage Platform for the AWS Cloud

4,0 8 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Great experience testing the S3 storage capabilities and features. High compatibility with OOP constructs.

Pluspunten:

I really like the free-tier offer by Amazon which provides a 12-months free S3 storage with a capacity of 5 GB and over 20000 access requests. This is really generous and allows a developer to test the full AWS features mainly the interaction between the VM processing in EC2 and the storage in S3 to stand on the actual performance and throughput of different application classes. I used Amazon S3 in testing the storage of sensor data from a test-bed home automation application. The object-oriented bucket architecture in S3 made it very easy to store sensor data using probabilistic sketching data structures such as Bloom filters and Quotient filters. Very efficient even with large data streams which gives an indication on the sophisticated algorithms supporting the S3 storage architecture.

Minpunten:

No major drawback in S3. Would definitely be happy to see more free-tier support especially for educational purposes.

Ankush
Engineer in VS
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

S3 cloud storage review

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall S3 is economic and reliable cloud storage which I'm using everyday. Introducing some more features like mentioned in Cons above could make it outstanding and it would be a win win over other products.

Pluspunten:

- It's fast and probably has cheap options available for you based on your need, like if you just want cloud storage but with less feature you can chose accordingly (Glacier or S3 bucket). - aws cli client/commands are really helpful which makes life easy and fast to list/analyze objects recursively. - you can easily set permissions to your buckets/prefixes/paths using cloud formation templates which is great to grant specific user specific permissions. - easy to set up versioning/auto deletion policies on your data so you don't have to worry about storage cost.

Minpunten:

- The UI is not as helpful as it needed to be sometime. like the filtering/listing of object within your S3 bucket is sometimes weird, it only shows 300 objects per page and you can't control them to list more or less. - you can only visualize an object/file within the UI using sql if it's < 128 MB. If it exceeds 128MB there is no way to visualize this object within the UI and you've to create external table to visualize it or you download it local.

Vandana
Vandana
Business Analyst in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Managementconsulting, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon Simple Storage Service for objective storage.

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: AWS S3 is the most efficient way to store the objects in cloud. Monitoring on objects can be also possible with the cloud watch. The backup of EBS can be also stored on S3. Under Free Tier user get the five gigabyte of S3 storage of standard class with fifteen gigabyte data transfer for twelve months. Region for S3 objects must be selected based on the speed and budget.

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 is an industry-leading cloud solution for storing the objects. Managing and monitoring the object storage with Amazon S3 is simple and easy. S3 object tags help in managing the objects. S3 batch operation help in moving the objects from one bucket or object class to other. Features like cross-region replication help to replicate the data into the other aws region and reduce the objects latency. S3 Intelligent-Tiering storage class is really efficient as it moves the data as per the patterns and frequent access which helps to reduce the cost.

Minpunten:

The latency of deep archive data is so high that it needs to be reduced. The One Zone-Infrequent Access is the least recommended for production environment as it provides the least data availability across all other storage classes.

Frank
Frank
Co-Founder, CTO and Product Lead in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Horeca, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Market leader in what is becoming a crowded space

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, AWS is the safest bet in the cloud business. You can safely assume that it will be reliable, cost-effective, and cover basically any service that a cloud provider can offer. It's UI/UX is middle of the road and gets the job done. Having said that, there are other challengers that are providing compelling alternatives, making the decision not as much of a no-brainer as it used to be.

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 is probably the first solution that comes to mind for a company looking for cloud services. It's basically created the space and as such has incredible depth and breadth of services offered. AWS likely covers any type of scenario your company might need and with data centers all over the world, data latency is at a minimum. Its uptime is similarly among the best in class. There are also many options for server loads and speeds that can help keep costs low for fledgling companies.

Minpunten:

As with most companies that come to define a space, they always have a target on their back. In practice that means that there are more and more solutions that compete with AWS. They may not compete 1 to 1 with it, but for many companies, there may be another provider that has better UX and ease of use along with cheaper prices for their setup. AWS suffers from bloat which leads to a UX that can be a bit intimidating and cumbersome. They offer so many different types of services that it can be daunting to peruse through the menus and submenus. Their UI is fairly utilitarian and while not ugly per se, it's not as pleasant to use and look at.

Giovanni
Giovanni
Analyst Programmer in Panama
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Bankwezen, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

A very useful storage service for your website

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: This host allows me to store several websites in one place, since many of my clients have more than one website this is a perfect solution to have everything in one place, so you have greater control of the sites and you always know where they are.

Pluspunten:

It is a very reliable and stable service, your website will always be available to everyone who accesses it, its costs are relatively low, very useful for medium and large companies. You have a wide variety of customization that perfectly fit your day-to-day needs. You can go from a very basic service, which because it is basic does not mean that you will not have a wide variety of services, on the contrary you will have a wide variety at your disposal.

Minpunten:

If you do not have experience interacting with amazon environments, you can lose a bit, as was my case at the beginning, but when you get the hang of it, everything looks easier. You can always find online course for this service that won't be expensive and you will learn a lot from them, then you will realize how easy is to use this service.

Bruno
Bruno
Ingeniero electromecanico in Peru
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Industriële automatisering, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The best cloud data storage service.

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Now we are organizing all our data and documents in Amazon S3, to facilitate its location and quick access. Its benefits that it offers us are stability when uploading our documents, speed, security.

Pluspunten:

This service helped us a lot in the company, since we can access our data and documents quickly from anywhere we are. This service offers us a lot of security, confidence and, above all, performance to upload and download our data. The service is very easy to use, it has a very simple interface that makes it easy to learn quickly. Its integration in the company has been very easy since now we can upload our documents and show them to our clients quickly and easily.

Minpunten:

This service is very good, at the moment we are doing it excellently and it is helping us with our data and documents. The product is easy to use, since our collaborators have learned to use it in a single training. Its integration was easy to be able to develop our commercial activities.

Jugraj
Software Engineer in India
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Best Storage Space with very low operational cost and ideal file storage for other AWS services

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 as short for simple storage service. It is a secure object storage ideal for keeping files that are used be aws services like Athena, Elastic Map Reduce, etc. We can perform ETL Jobs written HIVE queries on the data stored in Amazon Athena supported formats on S3 directly. Which provide great performance on huge amount of data. Amazon EMR is another service that treat S3 as a type of local storage means cost and time of read-write operations in same region is as low as possible resulting in faster Job execution. S3 is another place where all other services store there logs. Having a negligible cost makes it ideal place to store a huge amount of files logs and other.

Minpunten:

Amazon S3 is a object storage. We can update a file/object stored in it only way to update a file is to download it make the changes and upload it by deleting the old one in other words overwriting it. Which generate unnecessary read-write network bandwidth when we have to update small change in a large file. Another drawback is its maintaining versions of same file. we can do it but not as easy as other file storage systems. Also i find no way to integrating it with my local system like OneDrive is integrated into windows making hard to transfer file in and out of the system.

Manjunath
Product Specialist in Canada
Computersoftware, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon AWS S3 Review

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: The IaaS layer of AWS, S3 is a fast, secure & simple cloud storage. We use it to support our technical business and workshops. Use the webservice for application integration needs through API's

Pluspunten:

1. Very flexible and cost effective. Easy to use UI and learn S3 services 2. API first and as such integration is a breeze, so is orchestration 3. Identity & Access Management is also good 4. Backup & archival strategies can be implemented with ease 5. integrated with Amazon products by default 6. Versioning, Lifecycle policies and Replication is also pretty helpful asset

Minpunten:

1. No feature for replication in a region and versioning of buckets for a region is expensive 2. Permissions can tend to become a complex nightmare 3. They can improve the service 4. No replacement for a file system..can become slow if you need to copy big files or for request like Post, Put as these are not free and can tend to be expensive for large storage of 1TB

Sanchita
Sanchita
Software Engineer in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Telecommunicatie, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon S3 - Amazing Simple Storage Service

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 service is helping us in expending object storage on the go. It's helping us to save the money as Amazon S3 is very cost efficient. With the help of this we are also provide the security level that our customer need at the time joining or working with us.

Pluspunten:

Amazon S3 is a Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Services to store the objects. Best thing in it is that it is highly scalable and no latency (except Glacier). It's extremely low cost service. You don't have to worry about security, durability and flexibility once you jump to Amazon S3 service. Best part in it that you don't have to end-up buying your own hardware storage space which need professional IT support. In Amazon S3 we should be paying for that service only that you are using it.

Minpunten:

As it's a object storage space you can not install the OS or some dynamic site on it. managing the firewall is also a challenging part. We can not handle the file system of Amazom S3 service. You should be intelligent enough while selecting the S3 options or you should be getting extra load in your billing dashboard.

Abdellatif
Abdellatif
Freelancer in Frankrijk
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Amazon’s best

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We are chipping away at record chief plan for wellbeing administrations and S3 has been our best pick to get this going. Without S3, we probably won't have had the option to do this. On account of Amazon.

Pluspunten:

My most memorable love point is the documentations and simple incorporations. Utilizing the PHP SDK with the hearty documentation had made our venture quick and simple. Besides, the expense... Involving S3 for record capacity is more less expensive than Dropbox. Thirdly: Ability to produce connections and season of expiry is truly perfect. I love this component like cake.

Minpunten:

We are anticipating that S3 should have a streaming component. It ought to be feasible to stream colossal documents straightforwardly without downloading it. Indeed, this element doesn't influence us presently however we will require this later on.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Scalable storage for scalable apps

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

In these days for AI, Big Data, machine learning you need data storage which is reliable in terms of your data always be available when you need it, when amazon launched Africa region servers in Cape Town it even made sense for us to use AWS for storage services and its very affordable prices as you only pay for what you use.

Minpunten:

You really need to know what you are doing specially when comes to using S3 for machine learning some data sets might just increase your data storage you will need to optimise your data so as to reduce cost in storage.

Anna
Developer in VS
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great tool for hosting websites and images

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

It is easy to upload photos to be able to use the url in applications and other projects.

Minpunten:

Set up and pre-requisites can be a little burdensome. However, enough individuals use this tool that you can easily find a solution by googling.