Simple Storage Service for everyone

Beoordeeld op 17-4-2019
Esra K.
Research and Development Director
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Before S3 we stored our sensitive files on hard drives where also our web application resides. One day it crashed and the files were gone. We started to use S3 and now our application does not depend on where is resides. We don't worry whether our storage is enough. I also use S3 to store my personal files. It is very cheap.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is an object storage service for the cloud. You can store any amount of data and access it anywhere in the world. You may stop depending on hard drives for your web applications and start using Amazon S3 to store your media files, log files etc. It provides 99.999999999% durability which means you may lose just one file in 10,000 years. S3 has versioning option which helps you to prevent accidential deletions. Lifecycle policies help you manage and automate the life of your objects in S3, keeping you from leaving your data unnecessarily available. For example, you can set a lifecycle for your log files to be automatically deleted after 30 days. You can host a static website easily and in a cost effective way without worrying about the underlying hardware.

Minpunten: S3 has buckets to store objects and these buckets have universal names. So for example, you probably won't be able to open a bucket named "photos". Configuring security is a bit tricky. You have to be careful which buckets will be public and which will be private.

A Simple Cloud Object Storage

Beoordeeld op 26-5-2019
Ridhi D.
IT Specialist
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 helps to setup the industry level infrastructure with no big investment and do not require the long term commitment as we can buy the storage space on hourly wages. The different storage classes help us to remain within the budget.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is a simple cloud based object storage. The different storage classes are designed to manage the data as per the requirements of the objects. The Intelligent S3 Tiering upgrade or downgrade the storage class based on the access patterns of the object to enhance the availability and durability. The S3 cross region replication helps in replication of the S3 objects in other regions. The multi-factor authentication delete on S3 bucket is really a life saver feature to protect from accidental deletion of objects.

Minpunten: Amazon S3 is not as simple as its name, the objects locks and versioning features are amazing but not easy as the learning curves sharp. The Storage monitoring provides limited number of notifications under the free tier.

a simple but fairly expensive cloud based data storage solution for your enterprise

Beoordeeld op 6-5-2019
Data Analysis
Burgerlijke en maatschappelijke organisatie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall experience is very good, and aws cli interface which nicely works with python and the linux terminal enables one to smoothen the overall aws s3 experiences. Because there are no restrictions on filesizes or file types, any company can host its data on aws s3 and be sure to have reliable service. The caveat with aws s3 is that one must understand that it is not a traditional database storage system, therefore will not behave like one. also ensure the admin of the software must be well versed with the various concepts surrounding aws s3 to enable the best bang for buck.
I would recommend this without reservations.

Pluspunten: Literally anything and every type of file can be saved to s3 buckets without any limitations. Images,csvs and what not can be easily and safely stored to s3 buckets.
One can provision users to have specific permissions regarding bucket access.
Literally 99.999% availability at most times.

Minpunten: it is only as good as the user/admin who knows how to make the most out of this software. there is a deep learning process involved without which one could be flying blind and exposing otherwise sensitive data to the public.
the search functionality is practically absent.
So there is no easy way of choosing or searching for files.
the date columns on the UI seldom work

Amazon Simple Storage Service for objective storage.

Beoordeeld op 27-4-2019
Vandana G.
Business Analyst
Managementconsulting, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: AWS S3 is the most efficient way to store the objects in cloud. Monitoring on objects can be also possible with the cloud watch. The backup of EBS can be also stored on S3. Under Free Tier user get the five gigabyte of S3 storage of standard class with fifteen gigabyte data transfer for twelve months. Region for S3 objects must be selected based on the speed and budget.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is an industry-leading cloud solution for storing the objects. Managing and monitoring the object storage with Amazon S3 is simple and easy. S3 object tags help in managing the objects. S3 batch operation help in moving the objects from one bucket or object class to other. Features like cross-region replication help to replicate the data into the other aws region and reduce the objects latency. S3 Intelligent-Tiering storage class is really efficient as it moves the data as per the patterns and frequent access which helps to reduce the cost.

Minpunten: The latency of deep archive data is so high that it needs to be reduced. The One Zone-Infrequent Access is the least recommended for production environment as it provides the least data availability across all other storage classes.

Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Service

Beoordeeld op 16-4-2019
Nidhi S.
Co-Founder & CTO
Computergames, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 pricing is designed so well that we can limit our monthly bill for S3 using the bill alerts. Different storage classes from S3 Standard to S3 Glacier Deep Archive can be set as per the objects needs. Big Data analytics help to manage and analyse the data lakes.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 provides the object storage with amazing web interface and a lot of features like scalability with great availability designed for 99.999999999 % on data durability. We can move our bucket's object to cost -effective storage class and the newly designed storage class 'S3 Intelligent -Tiering' move the objects based on access patterns. We can manage and monitor the objects with using tags and create the lifecycle of the objects according to tags. Multi-Factor Authentication can be enabled on delete operation which help in accidental delete operation. Versioning of objects can be enabled from bucket. The Cross-Region Replication helps in instant access.

Minpunten: Objects in the cloud are always vulnerable if firewall is not setup well. AWS snowball and snowmobile are either less availability or no-availability on geographical location.

Market leader in what is becoming a crowded space

Beoordeeld op 9-2-2019
Frank R.
Co-Founder, CTO and Product Lead
Horeca, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, AWS is the safest bet in the cloud business. You can safely assume that it will be reliable, cost-effective, and cover basically any service that a cloud provider can offer. It's UI/UX is middle of the road and gets the job done. Having said that, there are other challengers that are providing compelling alternatives, making the decision not as much of a no-brainer as it used to be.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is probably the first solution that comes to mind for a company looking for cloud services. It's basically created the space and as such has incredible depth and breadth of services offered. AWS likely covers any type of scenario your company might need and with data centers all over the world, data latency is at a minimum. Its uptime is similarly among the best in class. There are also many options for server loads and speeds that can help keep costs low for fledgling companies.

Minpunten: As with most companies that come to define a space, they always have a target on their back. In practice that means that there are more and more solutions that compete with AWS. They may not compete 1 to 1 with it, but for many companies, there may be another provider that has better UX and ease of use along with cheaper prices for their setup. AWS suffers from bloat which leads to a UX that can be a bit intimidating and cumbersome. They offer so many different types of services that it can be daunting to peruse through the menus and submenus. Their UI is fairly utilitarian and while not ugly per se, it's not as pleasant to use and look at.

Best Storage Space with very low operational cost and ideal file storage for other AWS services

Beoordeeld op 4-7-2018
Jugraj S.
Software Engineer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 as short for simple storage service.
It is a secure object storage ideal for keeping files that are used be aws services like Athena, Elastic Map Reduce, etc. We can perform ETL Jobs written HIVE queries on the data stored in Amazon Athena supported formats on S3 directly. Which provide great performance on huge amount of data.
Amazon EMR is another service that treat S3 as a type of local storage means cost and time of read-write operations in same region is as low as possible resulting in faster Job execution.
S3 is another place where all other services store there logs. Having a negligible cost makes it ideal place to store a huge amount of files logs and other.

Minpunten: Amazon S3 is a object storage.
We can update a file/object stored in it only way to update a file is to download it make the changes and upload it by deleting the old one in other words overwriting it. Which generate unnecessary read-write network bandwidth when we have to update small change in a large file.
Another drawback is its maintaining versions of same file. we can do it but not as easy as other file storage systems.
Also i find no way to integrating it with my local system like OneDrive is integrated into windows making hard to transfer file in and out of the system.

Amazon S3 - Amazing Simple Storage Service

Beoordeeld op 20-10-2018
Sanchita A.
Software Engineer
Telecommunicatie, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 service is helping us in expending object storage on the go. It's helping us to save the money as Amazon S3 is very cost efficient. With the help of this we are also provide the security level that our customer need at the time joining or working with us.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is a Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Services to store the objects. Best thing in it is that it is highly scalable and no latency (except Glacier). It's extremely low cost service. You don't have to worry about security, durability and flexibility once you jump to Amazon S3 service. Best part in it that you don't have to end-up buying your own hardware storage space which need professional IT support. In Amazon S3 we should be paying for that service only that you are using it.

Minpunten: As it's a object storage space you can not install the OS or some dynamic site on it. managing the firewall is also a challenging part. We can not handle the file system of Amazom S3 service. You should be intelligent enough while selecting the S3 options or you should be getting extra load in your billing dashboard.

An Object Storage Solution by Amazon

Beoordeeld op 4-11-2018
Abhinav K.
Sr Software Integrator
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 scalability is the best thing helping for our business. It's also very cost effective as you don't have to pay what you don't want to use. In the today era AWS is a big giant and everyone want to host it services one best infrastructure.

Pluspunten: Amazon Simple Storage Service also know as Amazon S3 is the one of the best service under the cloud solution with the most trusted name Amazon Web Service. Scalability is the one of the best feature we get under the hood of the Amazon S3 as you will never get out of space one the main time when you actually need the space and scale it back when we don't need it. Billing cycle is also very flexible and only charge you what you use. Operation Team can handle it and work under this is also infrastructure is more transparent.

Minpunten: Amazon S3 provide the object storage we can not run website all on it. It need helping hand from it's sister services like CloudFront, EC2 and RDS or Dynamo DB to make it really work. Managing firewall for it also one of the challenging part as you do not want the loophole in your storage solution.

S3 is where the Internet stores its stuff

Beoordeeld op 17-4-2019
Ramindu D.
Software Technical Lead
Computersoftware, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 has proven to be the best tool to use when storing application-related artifacts, with great programmatic integration through its powerful SDKs.

Pluspunten: S3 has become the go-to standard for online artifact storage. It provides a great deal of options, from simply storing and receiving files, to hosting websites to programmatically maintaining application storage. Through effective and highly advanced security policies, S3 allows you to ensure no one else gets access to your data. The amazing integrations with different programming languages and frameworks via client SDKs allows programmatic integration with practically any software application that you may build.

Minpunten: The various options and configuration settings associated with setting up a simple S3 bucket can sometimes be overwhelming, and it may be hard to find the best fit for each situation unless you're an AWS expert.

A Simple Storage Service for OBJECT STORAGE.

Beoordeeld op 6-1-2019
Gurleen K.
Software Engineer
Informatiediensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Amazon S3 is the one the best and cost effective storage solution in the market. Storage management and monitoring is also easy can monitor using the Amazon CloudWatch. The Different storage class like S3 Standard-IA, S3 One Zone-IA, S3 Glacier Glacier Deep Archive help to reduce the cost of the storage if used effectively.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is an object storage service. It is highly scalable and data availability is also very good of all the different availability zones. Amazon S3 provide the 99.999999999 % (11 times 9) durability. It is the cost-effective storage as we can storage the objects in different Amazon S3 storage class. Best part in it is the old data move automatically move to the low cost storage class based on the access frequency. The cross-Region replication is helpful in to move the data into the local region to reduce the latency.

Minpunten: Amazon S3 should come up with the auto sync with the local drive option. Managing firewall for Amazon S3 is one important part and should be setup carefully AWS also help and provide suggestion on it but we should not follow it always. Buckets on Amazon S3 also helpful in running the low cost storage. We can not run a complete dynamic website on it.

S3, like all of AWS, is a big sprawling powerful product

Beoordeeld op 1-5-2018
Founder
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: S3 is absolutely an expert tool, and as such is incredibly powerful. We use S3 throughout our workflow in a bunch of different places, and it solves a number of problems for us wherever we need to put files online (whether temporarily or permanently). For certain types of hosting and usage, the pricing is so low you can essentially forget that it costs anything and throw whatever you want at it.

Minpunten: The level of complexity in S3 is quite high, so even a process like setting permissions on a bucket feels like passing through some sort of inscrutable bureaucracy to some degree. While many AWS users are likely domain experts, for the rest of us who lack the time (or inclination) to dedicate as much time to learning the system, S3 can have an extremely steep learning curve and some byzantine ways of doing things.

High available and durable storage services

Beoordeeld op 8-7-2019
Hung V.
AWS Cloud Solution Archite
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use S3 as our primary storage to store data for our applications which deploy on AWS. S3 is used to store application logs, application input, and output data with large size which work together with AWS dynamoDB to store S3 object key, Application initial data

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 provides highly scalable, reliable, fast, inexpensive data storage. You could store an almost unlimited amount of data in the cloud with object size up to 5TB, the object is replicate stored on the cloud to keep your data very durable and reliable.
S3 provides multiple store option from Glacier to Infrequency access with different prices so you could choose which storage option you need to reduce the cost or increase your data access speed.
S3 API and the UI is simple and easy to learn with a very good document and well support from AWS.
S3 is well integrated with other AWS services such as IAM, EC2, SQS to provide a storage solution for application deploy in AWS cloud

Minpunten: The namespace is unique cause some difficulties when we create an object, bucket from the application. Also, it does not have much support real folder so we unable to define security or policy for folder level

Amazon S3 Review

Beoordeeld op 24-1-2019
Sujee K.
Founder & CEO
Schoolleiding, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: For my purposes, it has been great. I am lucky to be familiar with website building and domain registrations that I was able to use this service quickly. They have a great plugin for WordPress you can save photos directly into your S3 bucket, although you will need to do some reading to learn technical side of it. All in all, if you need a service that is cheap, secure and very fast to host your static website, I recommend this in a heartbeat!

Pluspunten: The very low cost to host static website and photos. I was blown away how cheap this is! It's secure and I've helped host entire static websites on S3 platforms. I've spend less than $5 each month to host an entire website to promote products.

Minpunten: Limited use. If you have a website that is dynamic and requires a database, you cannot use the S3 platform. You will need to purchase their AWS instances and learn how to do that. On that note, the tutorials are very long - I recommend watching a video tutorial on YouTube. Technical support is not provided unless you pay for it.

Best Object based storage solution

Beoordeeld op 21-2-2019
Systems Support Engineer - Managed Services
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: AWS S3 is the most cost-effective and the most reliable storage service, we have ever used. We have implemented this solution for an industry-leading software development company in APAC. Their primary concern was the security of the data object and the high availability. They also expected versioning enabled product from us. Finally, we decided to choose AWS-s3 after considering and comparing other verdicts solutions from different vendors. Finally, we were able to implement a highly secure, highly available and cost-effective storage solution for the client for less than one month.

Pluspunten: The best things I like about this product is ;
* Security.
* User Friendliness
* Customer Support
* Comprehensive Documentation

Minpunten: Downloading data is bit expensive. Mostly for the Glacier archived data retrieval . The worst thing is we are being charged the same amount for transferring data between AWS resources. If they introduce a different and fair payment scheme for this, it would be beneficial for most of their customers.

Once you get past the learning curve, S3 is great

Beoordeeld op 27-7-2018
Analyst - Financial Services Analytics
1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: I love the flexibility of S3. At my company, sometimes my team needs to store small amounts of data, and sometimes we need to store huge amounts of data (multiple terabytes) depending on what type of client project we are working on. With S3 we can easily ramp up our storage capacity when necessary, but then scale it back down when we don't need it. It is way more cost effective than purchasing our own in-house storage that would sit near empty most of the time. I also like how the data can be accessed programatically or through the user interface, so that both the technical and non-technical members of my team can access it.

Minpunten: S3 was a pain to initially set up. It might be because I am new to cloud storage, but when I was tasked with setting up some buckets on S3 for my team I had to spend lots of time trying to figure everything out. Luckily though, with the help of Google I got the hang of things and was able to figure everything out. The documentation for S3 can definitely be improved.

Amazong storage solution

Beoordeeld op 12-3-2019
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunicatie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: From cold storage to frequently accessed data S3 is all we use now in replacement of our legacy SAN ans NAS appliances, and everything is so much better.

Pluspunten: Amazon ticks all the right boxes with S3. It's security and encryption options are second to none, it's speed is as fast as your connection can handle, it's price is fair and reasonable within the 3 storage tiers, the lifecycle management is great, access control policies are very flexible and efficient, auditing and versioning are amazing.

Minpunten: The management console has been getting better over the years, but there's still room for improvements. A desktop client would be great too so we wouldn't have to rely on 3rd party tools for synchronizing data.

Amazon Web Services S3 is unbeatable and secure

Beoordeeld op 1-7-2019
Jesse B.
AVP Technical Solutions
Marketing en reclame, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: S3 offers nearly infinite customization to optimize storage for security, longevity, speed, and durability. CloudFront can be used as a directly connected CDN or S3 can be used as a web host all by itself. Archives to Glacier can be performed automatically as well as restores.

Minpunten: S3 has been dragged into controversy over nothing more than user ignorance/recklessness over bucket/object permissions and security. AWS has added UI tools to make it harder to ignore errors with security policy creation, but they didn't need to do this in my opinion. This is a powerful, enterprise-level, storage solution. Implementers need to possess a minimum education to utilize it properly.

Could not run my business without Amazon S3

Beoordeeld op 19-12-2018
Larry P.
Sole Proprietor
Fotografie, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use S3 to send images to my photography clients via zipped files. S3 sets me apart from my competitors, most of whom are still burning CDs or DVDs and snail-mailing them to their customers. S3 enables me to provide same-day delivery of my work, and wow, they love it.

Pluspunten: Everything. I use it daily, and it never lets me down. Honestly, I would be out of business without it. S3 is not that hard to set up, and once you've done that, wow, it's a well-oiled machine. My customers appreciate how easy it is for them to access my files, and I love the speed.

Minpunten: S3 is a little intimidating to get set up. I had my guru son show me the ropes, which weren't all that difficult in the end, I was just, well, intimidated.

Industry leader in cloud storage

Beoordeeld op 30-5-2019
Adam K.
Video Creation and Lead Generating Ninja
Marketing en reclame, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use it for secure and reliable video storage and recommend it to all of our clients too.

Pluspunten: Ideal to store any type of digital files including, but not limited to:
* video
* audio
* images
* documents
The buckets are providing an easy to locate option but it all depends on your own creativity. Very reliable and quick. I prefer to keep my video files for clients on Amazon S3 compared to YouTube to avoid ads and recommended videos at the end.

Minpunten: No search option available which makes it difficult to locate your files if you do not set a proper structure from the beginning. Technical support is not available with the free subscription.

Swiss army knife of AWS

Beoordeeld op 13-6-2018
Architekt rozwiza IT - Departament Rozwoju Infrastruktury
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Really secure, durable and elastic storage solution.

Pluspunten: It's easy to use, cost efficient (4 different cost models), secure ('11 nines' durability) and flexible. It's a building block of almost all serverless solution that you can dream of. You can store data, manage it retention using automatic lifecycle policy, inventory data (S3 Inventory) and run big data analytics directly on it (AWS Athena). You can even host your static website in Amazon S3. It's easy to integrate with almost all AWS services.

Minpunten: You can't run static web hosting using https without some additional services involved like CloudFront or Elastic Load Balancer.

Allowing us to scale our infrastructure to meet our growing storage needs.

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2019
Technical Operations Director
Telecommunicatie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 has allowed us to increase our storage capacity on demand as our operations and infrastructure have grown exponentially. We can on-board new clients and their content without having to worry about available storage or having to make heavy fixed capital investments.

Minpunten: As is with any product, there is an initial slight learning curve and if you are not command line savvy, you depend on the available GUI tools to transfer content in and out of S3 -- some of which can be clunky and not too intuitive. Luckily, there is a good amount of helpful tutorials to help you learn your way around S3.

Fast and reliable cloud storage

Beoordeeld op 20-1-2019
Eric P.
IT Manager
Machine- en installatiebouw, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use Amazon S3 for storing large amounts of data and for backup. The price and reliability of Amazon S3 means that there's improved productivity and cost savings.

Pluspunten: Amazon S3 is easy to use, fast, reliable and very affordable.
Another great thing about Amazon S3 is that it can be used to host static websites. This greatly reduces the cost of hosting compared to using a dedicated server.
I also like that Amazon S3 is tightly integrated with other Amazon solutions that we use.

Minpunten: One issue I've experienced regularly is that it's very slow when reading from Amazon S3.
I've also experienced occasional lags in the S3 browser.

Better place to upload your pictures and videos

Beoordeeld op 12-4-2019
iOS Developer
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am using s3 bucket from more than 2 years and it is user friendly or i can say programmer friendly.

Pluspunten: It will reduce the weight of your server, so api will respond in more faster way.
As Images and Videos take more data and if you use s3 bucket side by side your native server will take less load also it is easy to implement as available doc is sufficient for implementation.
You can upload, delete or fetch the file from s3 bucket in the easiest way. Code is available for both iOS and android.

Minpunten: I generally use to upload images and videos to the bucket and i have not find such a major issue.

Still the best cloud object storage service

Beoordeeld op 1-5-2019
Tech Lead, Strategic Alliances and Business Development
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very pleased with Amazon S3, excellent service!

Pluspunten: S3 just works, plan and simple. It's very easy to use with a nice UI and a myriad of clients consuming the s3 API. Bandwidth is usually very fast, of course this depends on your own connectivity. Setting up permissions for files is a matter of configuring IAM. There's an easy button option to make files public and to make them private again. S3 is definitely gold as an artifact repository for hosting as well as data backups. Most software will have an option to backup to s3 so even if you don't have an internet connection, chances are that there is some 3rd party object store which will support s3-APIs.

Minpunten: On rare occasions, AWS S3 will experience downtime. This doesn't happen to often but as a cloud SaaS offering, it's a potential risk that needs to be mitigated. S3 also can't be used for air gapped environments unless AWS decides to put out an on-prem version.