Free Open-Source Video Editor thats pretty good

Beoordeeld op 23-7-2019
Sean U.
Office Manager
Religieuze instellingen, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: its been nice. Trying to dive in head first without tutorials or learning any tips and tricks was difficult. It's not as intuitive as many editors are but its a free open source software so...it is what it is.

Pluspunten: For someone who doesn't have an unending flow of cash. A free reliable video editor is a tough thing to find. Couple that with the fact that its open source, and ever improving. OpenShot is a great option for those on a strict budget. Other than the fact that its free, it does most everything you'd expect out of a video editor. Also with online tutorials, learning is easy and free as well!

Minpunten: obviously not as comprehensive as say Adobe Premiere. But unless you have an extra arm and a leg, that can break the bank easily. Especially with the way children these days are mesmerized by the thought of being a YouTuber, if you're a parent, OpenShot is a great alternative. Not as intuitive either...big turn off for video editing.

Opensource video editor with cloud and api capability.

Beoordeeld op 28-11-2018
Debjit B.
Freelancer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: If you are experimenting and want a completely free/ open-source solution for your video editing solution this software is for you. I just update it to my KVM VPS and I have a cloud editor all by myself. The feature is simple, effects are not that impressive but it workes.

Pluspunten: This is the most awesome piece of software for videos editing. I just install it to a VM and use the app to convert/create/edit video using its api. Just awesome. I have also tried the desktop version with GT710 my entry level card and its output was smooth. Playback for 1080/30fps is just smooth and doesn't take many resources. As it is an Opensource and community-driven software I can use it for free and for anything. Some transactions effects and sound channels. It is still its first stage and evolving rapidly.

Minpunten: As it is an Open-source software I have to wait if got any problem or find my own solutions for it. The effects are limited due to no team is developing them.

Very video editor that doesn't cost an arm and a leg

Beoordeeld op 9-4-2018
Michael T.
Network Administrator II
Telecommunicatie, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use to use Openshot to edit my drone footage, and I still do from time to time. I have never had any issues with it, and it has always done the job excellently.

Pluspunten: Openshot is a free and open source software. It is maintained by a community of programmers that are very helpful in keeping it working and up to date. It has a wide range of transitions, and even has an add on for Firefox.

Minpunten: As with a lot of open source software Openshot can be buggy at times, and occasionally some of the features do not work as well as they do in paid software, but if you do run into any issues, there is a huge community of users to assist you with any issues.

A useful tool for linux

Beoordeeld op 6-11-2019
Emanuele B.
Mr
Marketing en reclame, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It's free and it provides basic useful functions to simple edit your videos, but don't push your requests too far...

Pluspunten: This software is free and is available for linux. You can learn quickly how to use it, as it's very intuitive. There are basic functions that let you edit your videos, merge, cut, and many other available operations

Minpunten: Beware, use only with short videos!
Every time I use this software with long videos (in my experience 5+ minutes) get ready for a frustrating experience with the timeline... it seems that the displayed time doesn't always correspond to the same frame...

Good free video editor

Beoordeeld op 15-4-2018
Tyler T.
Youtuber
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: I can create videos in several different formats with very complex and intense audio added in. Openshot is perfect for a Youtuber on a budget.

Pluspunten: While Openshot is a good video editor in general my favorite feature is its powerful audio editing. When I need to create a video with an intense soundtrack Openshot is my go to editor.

Minpunten: While Openshot is a good editor it has a tendency to lag and can even get so bad while lagging that it will freeze and crash. This has cause me to move to other video editors, but I still use Openshot for the audio editor.

OpenShot Video Editor - An open source video editor with powerful functions

Beoordeeld op 20-9-2018
Tajammal H.
Web Owner
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I have been edited many videos with OpenShot software very easily. I like it.

Pluspunten: OpenShot is a free, easy to use and open source software for video editing. It has a user frinedly interface. The main window lets you access all video editing features, preview your work and access the timeline. It is available for Linux, Windows, and Mac. It also provide free built in effects and animations for your clips to make beautiful. It also have great 3D title generating support.

Minpunten: 3D animation generating feature is not a built-in feature. You must have to install "Blender" software to generate 3D animation titles.

Open Shot is a fantastic free video editor

Beoordeeld op 3-6-2019
Jason H.
Writer/developer
Online media, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As someone who was used to using Microsoft's Movie Maker, I was initially reluctant to start using a more complex video editor. At first, the interface was overwhelming, but in no time I knew my way around and was editing videos. Now that I know how to use it, I find it to be an excellent, powerful, and feature-rich editor. The fact that it's free is a bonus, and the fact that it runs on Linux and Windows makes it easy for me to switch between my many workstations.

Pluspunten: The interface, while initially daunting, is functional and useful once you know your way around. Everything is laid out in a logical way to make it as easy as possible for new users.

Minpunten: The version that comes with Linux Mint does not include support for WMA files. A manual upgrade is necessary if you use that format.

Fast, fully customizable, but with a slightly steep learning curve

Beoordeeld op 8-1-2019
Linos S.
Academic
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've used OpenShot Video Editor in the past. At first, I preferred simpler applications, but once I had to make a half-hour project from more than 5 hours of audio and multi-cam video footage, I had to go for something more serious. Because I had to customize OpenShot Video Editor to my needs for said project, now I only use this, even for the simplest task.

Pluspunten: OpenShot Video Editor is probably the most powerful video editor and exported one can use on Fedora Linux. Anything and everything can be added to it's collection, from basic color correction to fully custom transitions, and there is a big community that shares their own. Rendering can be done in virtually every format and file type. Do not let the zero price fool you; this is a tool for professionals.

Minpunten: Although it is really ease to use once its fully customized, customization itself can be somewhat hard. But otherwise, it wouldn't be possible to be that powerful. For a more simple experience, one can use other applications which are made for that purpose, but don't dwell into professional video editing.

The Application for Beginners

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2019
Tomas G.
Enterprise Technical Support Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: i usually record my trips and sport events, now with this tool i have a better product.

Pluspunten: i have ZERO previous experiencie with video editors, using this tool i feel like a master! now i feel proud of my skills

Minpunten: should has any kind of material, maybe some videos or documents so wen can expand our knowledge in the tool.

A Free Video Editor Which Beginners Can Start With

Beoordeeld op 23-7-2019
Joysurjya H.
Content Manager
Vrije tijd, reizen en toerisme, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: This was the first the first video editor I ever used when I started work on presentations in college. It was free so really didn't have many options to begin with. The learning curve was almost non-existent hence I really got used to OpenShot for almost till the end of college. Overtime though as I gained knowledge and shifted to better sophisticated software, I started using it less and less. Overall as a starter software for budding video editors and content creators, it is a recommended choice.

Pluspunten: 1. A very easygoing user interface. The learning curve is not steep at all.
2. For a free tool, handles a variety of features quite well such as trimming, cutting, filters etc.
3. Is not very taxing on the system, so even a machine of decent specs can run this software.

Minpunten: 1. A high quality video edit can sometimes crash the software.
2. Adding too many filters also slows down the software.

Easy and efficient video editor for home users and micro/small business

Beoordeeld op 22-7-2018
Ana M.
Administrator
Groothandel, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It is good enough for our professional and personal youtube channels and simple not so demanding professional video presentations.

Pluspunten: OpenShot is free and open source video editor. It has a lot of features and the best one, by my humble opinion, is audio editing and audio options that are available to anyone that is interested to learn and make something more.

Minpunten: It knows sometimes to lag, or to freeze for few minutes and then just crash. Fortunately, it's not so often.

Great Video Editing and its Free

Beoordeeld op 4-3-2019
Jermaine l P.
Business Owner
Detailhandel, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was working on creating some online business videos and the software is very capable of doing that

Pluspunten: I like the variety of effect and transitions that were provided with the software. I have used other programs in the past and they did not nowhere near as many effects and transistions.

Minpunten: I could not read the descriptions at the bottom of the screen, it could be placed better. I could not see the clips button to see the additional features

Simple to edit video....

Beoordeeld op 12-2-2019
Santhosh R.
Test Engineer
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: OpenShot is an easy way to edit own Videos & with a simple UI.
OpenShot is good features like crop, Slow Motion, 3D Animations & Good animation effects for videos

Minpunten: Some time I observed that hanged while editing.

Laggy Beyond Use

Beoordeeld op 12-2-2019
Isaac D.
Youtuber
Computergames, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
2/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
1 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
1 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
1 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I hate this thing so much that I would highly recommend to NEVER use it. Ive wasted way too much of my time on this just for it to come out as crap or don't come out at all.

Pluspunten: Easy to use
Great for Beginners
Fun
Better than Others

Minpunten: Awful Compatibility
Videos come out with broken audio
Videos sometimes don't come out at all, bye bye 1 hour of work.
ONLY accepts mp4 nothing else
Glitchy as fuck
Laggy Beyond Use
Crashes 5 times per video

open source video editor with decent feature set and format support

Beoordeeld op 28-3-2019
Phaneendra A.
Senior Engineer
Computernetwerken, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Open shot is completely opensource application available for free. I have used to convert old video files to latest formats and was impressed by the quality of conversion with no loss of quality for reduced file size. There were stability issues in the early releases of the application, which were resolved later using custom developed software libraries.

Minpunten: openshot application is resource hungry while in use. Also since the application is not optimized for different hardware configurations the performance will vary on older and newer systems

FANTASTIC Free Editor

Beoordeeld op 12-10-2018
Brett R.
Specialist Computing Teacher
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It's free.
It does what I need.
It's staying installed.

Pluspunten: It does everything I (a not really advanced user) needs

Minpunten: It did crash a couple of times. I can't comment on the speed of rendering, but seems fair enough to me.

Feature full & free!

Beoordeeld op 1-7-2019
Steve E.
Teacher
Schoolleiding, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Since Microsoft is not providing Movie Maker any longer I’ve had to find a new easy video editor. OpenShot is a great alternative that will probably we even better. I am looking forward to making new YouTube videos and videos for my students.

Pluspunten: Free
Easy to use
Tons of features
Thoughtful user interface

Minpunten: Haven’t found any yet! The creator has put out several instructional videos that cover most questions a user would have.

A free option for video editing, It works but it is a litle bit unstable.

Beoordeeld op 30-6-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Editor y Camarógrafo
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I can workmy videos with a low budget

Pluspunten: It is a free and open-source video editor! I was looking for a cheap option of video editing software to work in my house with my laptop.

Minpunten: It can be laggie from time to time, the in build transitions are a bit amateur but it does the work required.

Free, does most things, great for quick videos

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Executive Producer
Computergames, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Great for throwing some clips together with transitions. Quick exports and small file sizes. I dig it

Minpunten: I wouldn't recommend this for larger scale projects or movie making or any of that. Keyframes behave oddly at times.

Excellent software

Beoordeeld op 11-3-2019
Michael S.
Caption Writer
Tekstschrijvers, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: You can upload your videos along with audio and easily edit them with just a few clicks.

Minpunten: It's very selective on what pictures you upload should you try and create a slideshow with audio and sometimes it can lag.

Can be a first video editing software for youtuber

Beoordeeld op 12-12-2018
Chandrakant K.
Lead Programmer
E-learning, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: it has good number of animation effects. You can cut, trim and mix videos very easily. You can even control the output video resolution & framerates.

Minpunten: Its not handy to use for complex video editing.

One the best free options for create, edit and share videos

Beoordeeld op 25-4-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Docente adjunto
201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: It is free and has comprehensive tutorials on the web. I know other editors and when I used the Open Shot video editor, I felt it was extremely easy.
It works on almost every platform, the window formats are friendly, and you can do everything you know: use multiple file types, organize, animate, and apply clips and music effects (including 3d effects). In addition, the video can be exported in several formats

Minpunten: I think, for a free software, there are no cons. And for problems, you can find a lot of help in the web community

Video Editor That Can Stand On Its Own

Beoordeeld op 24-11-2018
Chad C.
Small Business Owner
Juridische dienstverlening, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: It has user friendly features comparable to other high level video editors at a fraction of the cost.

Minpunten: The interface does need some work but with some time you get used to everything.

Decent, if basic option

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2019
James F.
Administrator
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
2 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I don't use it that often, but If I did video editing regularly I would probably want something a bit more powerful.

Pluspunten: Fairly easy workflow when performing simple edits.

Minpunten: Limited functionality in terms of image manipulation, transitions etc.

OpenShot is the simplest open-source video editor available

Beoordeeld op 31-7-2018
Jojo A.
Web Designer/Journalist
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: A simple editing workflow, easy to use effects templates, easy video rendering and exporting.

Pluspunten: OpenShot is incredibly simple to use. Modeled similar to the default video editor installed on Windows versions previous to Windows 8, the advantage to this program is that it is cross-platform and supports chroma key.

Minpunten: While the program is simple, it can also be very buggy. Also, the effects are very limited. They are composed of presents that make a home video look great, but certainly not professional.