e-commerce platforms have made it very easy to open up online stores

Beoordeeld op 20-1-2019
Graphic Designer
Afdrukken en drukwerk, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Final verdict Overall, Magento is the best online store building software for mid to large retailers. It can handle tons of traffic and deal with thousands of products. It offers flexibility and you can customize your site according to your preference and need. Magento has a great track record, so there is very less risk involved. It may not be very appropriate for small businesses, but if you have mid-sized or large retail and you are thinking of moving online, you should choose Magento.

Pluspunten: Magento Review Shopify, Bigcommerce and other e-commerce platforms have made it very easy to open up online stores. But Magento tops them all with 20% of all e-commerce sites using it. Magenta will not only give you a shopping cart; it will provide advertising solutions, analytics, content creation, and more. Giant retailers like Samsung are using Magento for their business. Here we are going to look at the pros and cons of using Magento for your online business.
Magento is suitable for everyone, including non-programmers and programmers. It works very well for medium to large e-commerce sites. Magento provides both free and paid memberships. There are lots of benefits of using Magento. User experience Magento is very user-friendly. You can easily change your site according to the trend and your needs. The users enjoy a seamless shopping experience. The main dashboard of Magento is very well-organized. You will be able to find the things you need very conveniently. Adding new products is easy. There is a detailed user guide that can help you learn the basic functions. Features Payment is one of the major concerns for e-commerce sites. With Magento you can integrate your site with PayPal. You can have multiple payment options for the users. With analytics you can track the inventory, sales, etc. You can automate the reorder process. So, once the inventory reaches a minimum level, the software will automatically create a new order for you. With Magento you will be able

Minpunten: The setup and customization process of Magento is not very simple. If you don’t have any idea about web development, you will find it difficult to customize. The enterprise version of Magento is expensive. The free version is also not entirely free. You need to pay for the domain names, web hosting, SSL certificate, and add-ons. It takes a long time to learn all the features of Magento. So, if any change needs to be made on the site, it takes a long time. As Magento is self-hosted, you should be concerned about the site’s security. It’s your responsibility to install the SSL certificate. Magento doesn’t have many features to attract the small businesses.

Flexible and Administration Ease

Beoordeeld op 21-8-2018
Stephanie G.
CFO
Sport, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Enterprise and dealing with the development company that supported us was terrible but community and a local developer has been great. We didn't have the budget for the big version but were sold into it by the developer when the community version was more appropriate.

Pluspunten: We are a small family business and reliant (for many things) on our ability to manage the back end of our site. Neither of us have a background in building sites, managing integration, etc. but we have been able to get very comfortable with the back end of the site. For a novice or inexperienced person, I was surprised that I could pick it up quickly. We use the community version which has been critical to controlling costs. At that same time, we haven't sacrificed functionality in that there are some incredible plug-ins that ultimately replaced the Enterprise functionality (which we moved away from because of the annual price tag). We also work with a small development company locally who manage the set up of the plug-ins (but quite honestly it seems fairly straightforward). As the site "breaks" (for lack of a better word), we have our developer do it.

Minpunten: It's possible that it is far more plug and play than I realize for plug-ins but would love to see something user friendly created. There used to be some version of Magento that I think was discontinued but you almost need something for smaller companies that gives them the sophistication of the community edition but potentially managed by Magento. In the next few years, we need to make a decision to stay on Magento or move and Shopify has a managed version that is very intriguing. Our computers are using it and Big Commerce and they look every bit as sophisticated on the front end as we do but we are reliant on a separate developer who could move on or go out of business. A stable subscription based product for larger small businesses would be great.

Magento makes your investments very worthwhile

Beoordeeld op 21-3-2019
Chamath N.
Chief Technology Officer
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Magento solves your eCommerce solutions even if you have an online business which requires scaling. Magento helps you to be hosted by eCommerce solutions like Volusion and Shopify that gives the flexibility you need.

Pluspunten: Are you looking for a solution in eCommerce? Magento provides you the solution of eCommerce. Magento makes your investments very worthwhile even if it is your main business. It has been recommended as one of the best solutions to eCommerce since it is flexible and scalable. It has also become so much popular for the fact many companies bear its name. Pros - 1. It is user-friendly.
Magento’s administration is has a very simple back end which is easy to navigate and has very perfectly arranged store management features.
2. It is affordable for anyone.
The community version Magento doesn’t require any money to afford since it is free.
3. It is flexible. You have the chance to create anything in Magento because it has been designed in a way that you can customize anything you want. 4. It also gives the ability to fully control the code thereby developing the type of functionality you require. 5. It is easy to scale.
Magento designed in a scalable way on any amount of products you are selling.

Minpunten: Cons- 1. Only the community version of Magento is cheap. The other versions of Magento including support and enterprise and the premium enterprise versions aren’t freely available. Their prices are very high for every person to afford. 2. Magento can only be hosted on dedicated servers.
Since it is large, it can’t be hosted in small servers that aren’t dedicated because it needs to be configured.
3. It requires a lot of time to customize using magneto.
The architecture who have designed it have made it complicated and hence it takes a lot of time to learn the learning curve and make customizations as compared to other eCommerce solutions.

Robust, but SO Much Work to Use

Beoordeeld op 22-2-2018
Samuel N.
Web Designer
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
1 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
2 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Honestly, very few. I suppose it's good to have gained a little experience with Magento to add to my repertoire, but that's about it.

Pluspunten: There are a plethora of installed features: search term synonyms, built-in marketing tools, detailed shipping/packaging settings, separate catalog and cart price rules, etc. It's a monster of a platform, one that serves many companies very well. Not having to install a hundred plugins (like on WP) to do what Magento does out of the box is a plus, for sure, not to mention having to worry about the compatibility, support, and updates on WP plugins.

Minpunten: Go away for 5 minutes, you're signed out. Also, literally every website I download Magento to has to have everything reindexed. I get this message immediately after installing Magento: "One or more indexers are invalid. Make sure your Magento cron job is running." Very little info out there on how to fix this, so the first go around was a bit tricky. Not impossible or difficult now, but it's not a good feeling when you install software and immediately it appears broken. It is simply not easy to make a site look good with Magento. You can, for sure, but it requires SO much more work than other platforms, and there's not an easy way to view the front end without going live. The idea of not having plugins seemed appealing, but after using Magento, I only use WP with WooCommerce unless a client near-demands that I use Magento. It just takes way to long to create anything. The time I would have spent installing, updating, or researching plugins in WP, I wasted just trying to find my way around Magento. There should be a way to create a quick menu or admin favorites bar or something, so it doesn't take 3 clicks/pages just to get to where you want to be.

With Magento, developer training is important

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2018
Programmer
Marketing en reclame, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: My introduction to Magento was very bad. I was a developer that got handed a Magento website that had been built by someone who had never used Magento before. I broke many things. I fixed other things. I would find about 5 articles describing how to fix something and none of them said the same thing and sometimes none of it would work.
I took an introduction to Magento course and things started making a lot more sense.
Please, for the sanity of whoever builds your site, make sure they get training if they need it.

Pluspunten: Magento lets you do so much right out of the box even with the free community edition. It has great product management, comprehensive discounting options, multilingual functionality and more. Customization can also be done to hook Magento into your CRM software, simplifying inventory management.
Since Magento is so popular there's a good chance that if you have a problem to solve someone else has already tried, and possibly succeeded, at solving it. There is a large plugin marketplace.

Minpunten: Magento is a beast. You will not be able to make template or other programmatic changes to a Magento without a developer. Even then, the developer you have may struggle because the code can be complicated and confusing and online resources are often out of date or for the wrong version. If you are going to use Magento I strongly recommend that you get a developer that has worked on at least one Magento in the past. If you have the money and time to get your developer trained, Magento offers courses and I found them quite helpful.

Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform

Beoordeeld op 13-11-2018
Oshan M.
Mobile Apllication Developer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: More than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .

Pluspunten: Magento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.

Minpunten: I'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.

Magento a Good Starting Place for an Online Store

Beoordeeld op 14-2-2017
Stella N.
Website Developer and Commercial Assistant
Detailhandel, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Initially Magento was implemented by a website design company to create a website to sell a bespoke service and products for us. Set up as a website that we can maintain and develop in house, which we have done for the past 4 years. We do not use the shop and buy basket element of Magento. But I can see it would be a beneficial website use for companies selling off the shelf products. It is fairly easy to use but basic HTML5 knowledge is beneficial. Multiple users is helpful, that has required training in house. Magento role out security patches that need to be applied; we have these applied by an external company. As a B2C company, we do not actually use payments online so I unable to comment on that element of Magento. For the version of Magento that we use, we do not have access to their customer support however on the occasion I contacted them and they informed me this; they were helpful and at least put me in the right direction. The entire set up is good for a ecommerce; it is especially good for maintaining SEO well and updating it regularly.

Pluspunten: Multiple users and ease to update website data and information.

Minpunten: Some elements can not be updated in house and require a developer/programmer.

Magento Community V.1.9.3.6

Beoordeeld op 20-1-2018
Kristine B.
Executive Director
Filantropie, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Both our website consultant and one of the third-party module developers have recommended against upgrading to the newer Magento platform, advising that it wouldn't reduce any of the problems we have experienced.

Pluspunten: As a small nonprofit, we couldn't afford most ecommerce platforms, and Magento has worked reasonably well for us over the past 3-1/2 years. Our website looks nice, and is relatively straightforward to update after a moderately steep learning curve for people with very limited prior website management experience.

Minpunten: It isn't set up for membership organizations, which we are in addition to selling products. Third-party modules have significant limitations. We have a membership module that our local web consultant has been able to reprogram to work better for us as problems became apparent (at extra expense, of course). Another module connecting Magento to Square POS sends only the total amount paid to Square, requiring us to do a lot of record-keeping in a separate spreadsheet for sales tax, member dues and donations, etc.

Industrial performance on an open source platform

Beoordeeld op 2-7-2018
Hytek Group Marketing Manager
Olie en energie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Incredible way to leverage the power of e-commerce on the internet.

Pluspunten: Magento proves time and time again to be scalable beyond any other e-commerce platform that I've tried. With millions of plugins and plenty of developers working freelance worldwide, we've never hit a problem that can't be solved with an inexpensive plugin or a few hours of third-party development costs. We've put through tens of millions of pounds of transactions throughout the years and the ability of the websites to handle peaks and troughs of traffic are unparalleled.

Minpunten: The software needs a true developer to customise it's functionality. If you wish to do something that is not handled by a plugin, the process of specifying and developing a custom function takes more involvement than on other platforms. Magento provides a bulletproof solution for enterprises where a member of staff can be tasked with the daily running of the site, it's not a "fire and Forget" solution by any stretch of the imagination.

Still the best scalable e-commerce platform i've used

Beoordeeld op 9-4-2019
Kevin W.
Web Developer
Consumentengoederen, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Am surprised that Magento sort of ranks below Joomla, drupal and shopify in current market shares but I would definitely be comfortable with only relying on Magento

Pluspunten: Magento has been around a long time and has many stable patches released, community of forums and help along with long list of extensions/plugins. Magento structure is nice for keeping up and learning MVC. The free community edition is already enough to run full fledge e-commerce site as well as given the option to do multi-stores in the same account. As a developer i did not want a out of the block low-coding to start off with (wordpress/shopify) so its a great tool to keep up with.

Minpunten: Magento initially always tends to be pretty slow. The admin procedures such as exports, updating, backup, etc all seem a little unstable at times. Understanding your current state and limit of scalability(before improving it some other way) always seems questionable or hard to gauge at first.

Super powerful, but can be cumbersome

Beoordeeld op 11-4-2019
Technical Manager
Detailhandel, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Magento is clearly one of the most powerful and robust ecommerce tools out there. The Shopify approach, while great, takes a lot of the tools out your hands—tools you may need to make important technical changes to your store. Magento is very flexible, fast, and able to suit stores from small level to enterprise billion dollar retailers.

Minpunten: Where Shopify hides or locks certain technical settings from you, Magento gives you more access. But this can also leave your store open to being accidentally messed up by an employee that hits the wrong button. I've often said that while Magento can be fine for small start up ecommerce stores, it is best suited for bigtime enterprise level retailers with a team dedicated to fully utilize the tools Magento makes available to you. For the average employee for a small boutique, for instance, Shopify seems to make things a bit easier.

Great ecommerce tool, providing 2 different models (one free and another one paid).

Beoordeeld op 8-3-2018
Pedro G.
Senior Global eCommerce Manager
Consumentengoederen
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Not having to develop my own ecommerce platform

Pluspunten: One of the most important things is really well prepared for handling the most common ecommerce businesses requirements out of the box even in the free version (paid version provides thinks like RMA support also), especially important supports international business setups. The things that are not handled out of the box can be completed through modules, some free/ some paid.

Minpunten: That hey don't have a SaaS option (they used in the past, Magento Go) as that will be easier for startups and SMB. Also the installation of the modules should be made more plug and play without needing tech support and more stable, as some time when adding new modules they crash with each other, and that means everything requires a lot of testing, that could be time consuming. In comparison to tools like shopify, Magento is much more complex.

Customization = Best in class

Beoordeeld op 26-7-2018
Katie G.
Digital Content Specialist
Detailhandel
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: To customize the user experience and create clear brand awareness. With premium content and an intuitive UX/UI comes increase to website conversions.

Pluspunten: Customize your heart out! Magento's base functionality has thousands of custom configurations that can be combined to create an intuitive user experience no matter how you want your site/store to function. If you're setting up an eCommerce store, this is by far the most amazing option as far as CMS is goes. Their user guides and training handouts make it easy to learn. Magento U training courses are invaluable to understanding the verbiage and concepts used across the software. (Scopes and creating any type of rule)

Minpunten: Extensions requires to further customize can be a bit clunky. I wish further analytics were provided based on marketing features and rules created. Also, for a CMS that provides such a seamless user experience, the admin tool is quite clicky. The return key should work to apply filters and such- instead it requires clicks to move forward and such.

It was easy to transition from WordPress to Magento for a large e-commerce site

Beoordeeld op 12-7-2018
Digital Design Coordinator
Openbare veiligheid, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Ability to successfully handle business with various types of customers for a business that does both b2c and b2b.

Pluspunten: I used to think that WordPress was the best CMS available. However, once I started working for a company with complex e-commerce needs, I soon realized that WordPress just wouldn't do the job. What I enjoy about Magento is its ability to handle complex systems, and it's ability to integrate with various systems and plugins. Our business is both b2c and b2b, and I'm amazed at Magento's ability to handle our different types of customers.

Minpunten: At first I felt like the interface was a little clunky. It was not as clean of an interface as I was used to with WordPress. At first it can be a little overwhelming to navigate, but it doesn't take too long for the interface to become second nature. Also, there are a few work arounds that are needed here-and-there. For example, it's easier to copy and paste html code into a text editor instead of editing it within Magento. And sometimes there is a "save and continue" button that doesn't make much sense, as it redirects you to another page as soon as you save your work. But you get used to all of this pretty quickly.

Reliable CMS platform

Beoordeeld op 29-8-2018
Thamara D.
Software Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Developer skills also essential to have a perfect Magento CMS .

Pluspunten: I am using Magento platform for more than 1 year. During this time period, I have experienced following capabilities which made me think that Magento is a reliable & easy to use CMS platform. * You can customize source code and you can accomplish your desired functions for your business.
* Platform setting up is easy if you follow their documentation.
* Best e-commerce platform to startup a large online store.
* Developer friendly open source application.
* Admin dashboard will reflect your business growth.
* Can have large number of products without any disturbances.
* Can change currencies according to yours location.

Minpunten: * Have to flush the Magento cache once you have done changes using admin dashboard.
* Not easy to use without IT knowledge. (Due to complexity)
* If you have any desired functionalities you must have developer skills to accomplish the task.
* Few free extensions are available.

By FAR the best platform our company has used for E-Commerce

Beoordeeld op 13-2-2018
Rob S.
Technology Manager
Biotechnologie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Great E-Commerce platform that any small business owner should turn to when hosting their own website platform.

Pluspunten: Magento can do almost everything and anything and there are so many plugins and addon's from the Magento community that pushes it far beyond just a website platform into something else that can really be tailored to fit your websites needs. Our Company came from the Yahoo platform and that was just a 4 wall padded cell compared to Magento which is beyond anything we can fully utilize to its maximum potential for our E-Commerce business.

Minpunten: There is some learning curve to Magento; however, with a little time it is easy enough to master and ends up having much more functionality and versatility in the long run.

Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.

Beoordeeld op 6-4-2018
Lindsey S.
Assistant Operations Manager
Kleding en mode, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.

Pluspunten: There are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.

Minpunten: A lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.

As a developer this software was amazing. As a user there is a lot to cover.

Beoordeeld op 10-7-2018
Paul A.
Software Engineer III
Telecommunicatie, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It's a big awesome piece of software, but if you just want to run a simple e-commerce site, it's not for you.

Pluspunten: Magento is rich in features and functionality. As a developer I loved working on this platform, mainly because the developers who wrote it took a lot of care and did things right. If you test it and think it's cumbersome, remember this: it's not built for running a single website; it's built for running a business. I ran 15 websites off one instance of Magento, using cross-site pricing, coupons, and integration to our ERP system.

Minpunten: It's big and it's heavy. There are ways to make it faster, because you need them. It has a high-ish learning curve for a developer, so do be aware of this.

If you are looking to upgrade your e-commerce experience, Magento is the software to use

Beoordeeld op 21-6-2018
Kevin H.
Marketing Director
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: With the vast list of Magento developers out there, creating extensions and customizations, there really isn't anything you cannot do with Magento. When our website out-grew the smaller platform we were running, we migrated to Magento and didn't look back. It's a powerful system that can work for any size business, but really shows the power on larger websites.

Minpunten: There is definitely a learning curve and a cost associated with customizations. You get what you pay for in Magento developers, so it's important to find the right one. It will cost you more for doing custom work than other platforms, but once you find the right one, the possibilities are endless and it will last.

Magento is best for the Ecommerce websites ( Note : Magento is Not best if you are not technical )

Beoordeeld op 19-12-2018
Rushi B.
E-Commerce Specialist
Consumentengoederen, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Magento is Best in case you have a huge structural website like having Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency but at other end you must have good fund to maintain that. Alternative is Shopify which is easy to use but when you need functionality in shopify its all Compromise.

Pluspunten: - Open Source and Free
- Best Community Support
- Latest Version updates
- Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency and many more feature which can only Achieve by custom costly development
- Best Payment Gateways inbuilt like Paypal, Brain tree, Kalrna etc
Best Available Ecommerece Solution in the Market

Minpunten: - Speed of magento is horrible
- Theme is Expensive
- Extension are expensive
- Developers are Expensive
- Complicated Structure

Community 2.0 version is the way to go!

Beoordeeld op 27-3-2019
Sunho C.
administrator
Kunst en nijverheid, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
1 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We've been with Magento for 10 years now and we do not see a reason to go to any other platform as most are subscription based which is not so great for you.

Pluspunten: Great platform to built your Ecommerce website. If you have programming knowledge you are all set! If not, you can hire a Magento Developer to get exactly what you want out of your website. Lots of extensions to customize the user and backend experience. V2.0 has made the backend experience on par with other platforms.

Minpunten: You need to know how to code to get a well functioning website. It is not as easy as shopify to setup and get running. However there are many developers who you can hire via upwork and other freelance websites.

Good integration with Magento and excellent support Good Service

Beoordeeld op 12-6-2018
Consultor Tecnico - Java Developer
51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Excellent support and very good Service.

Pluspunten: It is compatible with both Android and Apple and does not cause conflict in any. Install and synchronize the products in the mobile application is very easy. This extension is essential for everyone Providing superb experience Easy to set up and manage from admin side, results a powerful tool to engage your audience. Interaction couldn't be easier. It is very useful to develop our own mobile application without coding.

Minpunten: It is not flexible. does not allow the use of other people's content without permission. App purchases do not work. You can not create games with many complex elements. Unable to add user generated content.

Good for e-commerce websites

Beoordeeld op 3-6-2019
Senior Digital Marketing Manager
Consumentengoederen, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: This was a good platform for our global e-commerce website. We did use a developer to build it out but was easy to dive into and help build out some pages to help the project stay on track with launch. You do have to have some background in websites and coding for some parts but most sections it is easy to plug in in the information. They allow you to handle your SEO easily and create up-selling, cross selling and promotions easily.

Minpunten: I didn't like that there are some glitches but I think that is common for any platform. The glitches do require you to have a developer who is familiar or certified to build websites in Magento.

It is NOT as simple as it seems to be

Beoordeeld op 14-4-2019
Founder
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: If you decided to go with Magento, get ready to work with installing PHP packages, checking your PHP versions, working with XML for any theme customization. Despite all downsides and dependencies/sensitivities of Magento... somehow I still believe that it is a very solid and reliable solution... :-)

Pluspunten: All you need "out of the box" for your e-commerce project.
Clean and modern design.
Good performance of the store front (front end).
Able to handle BIG stores.
API friendly.
Good official documentation.

Minpunten: Very sensitive to PHP versions and packages.
You do need to be a developer in order to get going with it.
Lots of most important stuff is actually done through CLI... so get ready to work with black screen of SSH interface.
Slow admin's interface (back end).
Requires more server resources (it is almost impossible to run a Magento store on a shared hosting; Magento 2 official docs recommend a minimum of 2Gb dedicated RAM...)
I do not like this one, but... real Magento developers are EXPENSIVE... this is not WordPress for you.
Very small official marketplace for themes and plugins (extensions), as well as most of them either do not work at all (the free ones) or way too overpriced (those that do work).

Great software, but needs a lot of effort to make it work well

Beoordeeld op 1-8-2018
Raul F.
Marketing Manager
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: A good working e-commerce website based on open source code.

Pluspunten: There is an opens source version that may work all right. I am not a developer and neither a technician and I could set it up by myself. Even when it takes hard work. There are plany of extensions to give your site the look and feel you want. And works well with multi language sites.

Minpunten: It is recommended for shops that has more than 1 million dollars of yearly revenue. After using it for some years, I see why. I think it can be fine for shops that sell more than 200.000 dollars per year. But it may need to have a developer working on at least some hours per week.