Blender - Design your own dream

Beoordeeld op 15-10-2019
Supun S.
Student
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: If you are a beginner for the design industry and looking for free software with maximum features, Blender is the software that you are looking for. You can learn it free through free video tutorials and also you can use the software for free. Everyone can download and use this software. Therefore now you can make 3D designs or animations as your hobby. At first you may feel uncomfortable with the software but when you have a good practice with the software with the time, this will be great software for your need.

Pluspunten: Blender is one of a best 3D designing and animation software I had have ever used. Since I did some 3D designing and animation projects in last few years, Blender helped me a lot on that. Most important advantage of this software is that the software is open source software. Therefore we can use all features of Blender fully FREE. There are no trials, demos, activations etc. Just download, install and use it freely. Setup of the installer is small in size. Other than 3D designing and animation, Blender can be used to do architectural works, video editing, VFX (Visual Effects), 2D designing and animations and much more graphic and animation related things. Blender can be used to make small computer games also. Many features are included in Blender to make a creative design or animation for the designer. Some of the features are texturing, UV unwrapping, rigging, simulation (fluid, smoke and particle), sculpting etc. Lot of works inside the software is designed to do with keyboard shortcuts to make the working process easier. There are many free video tutorials made for Blender in YouTube and many other websites (i.e. Blender Guru). Therefore Blender can be learnt yourself without any expense. No any prior knowledge about designing is required. You can begin from zero level with blender.

Minpunten: As Blender is multi-purpose software for design field, this can be little bit complicated for the beginners. It is very hard to access some functions through mouse pointer by going through drop down menus at every time. Since Blender has lot of keyboard shortcuts, we have to practice them. Then the functions can be accessed quickly. There are same keyboard shortcuts for different works when blender is running in specified mode. This can be a mess in beginning. There are some laggings can be seen when the software is doing CPU/GPU intensive processes like rendering and simulating, but it is rare. These types of bugs are fixed through newer updates. Blender does not have a powerful rendering engine when comparing with famous 3D animation software.

Opinion from Blender use who has 5 years of experience

Beoordeeld op 22-11-2019
George T.
Freelancer
Design en ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I have been working in blender for over 5 years, i am an interior designer and blender gave everything i wanted in this field : Redering, modeling, lighting, materials.... Blender has everything for me to work on a big projects. I started working in blender and i think ill never change it, maybe i will add some but i will never change blender to other 3D software.

Pluspunten: Blender is Open-source software which is Free which is very important thing if you compare it to other softwares. Blender can give you same result as paid softwares. In this program you can make a lot of things, you can : Paint, 3D models, Sculpting, Video editing, Rendering, Animation and many more things.
Blender has it's own Rendering engine so you don't have to buy it and trust me it's very good even if it's free.
Development team is putting their heart in this product and you can see it in their daily builds, it gets better and better.
Community is amazing, you can find many groups, forums and websites dedicated to blender and blender users, there are alot of plugins and models too. you also can use models from other softwares by simply importing FBX or OBJ file format in blender scene.

Minpunten: It's not an industry standard and ill try to explain why.... Blender is new program and lately it got better that's why many people don't use it, they think that it's a free program and they don't look at it seriously, also many big companies already have stuff which work on Maya or 3Ds max and they don't want to get a new team member who works in blender, because big companies make big projects, every team member is making his part in this project and if one of the team member uses different program, he/she could not use others assets, materials, lighting and many other stuff.... to cut a long story short, Blender is not industry standard because many people don't use it and they still use 3Ds max, maya or any other software.

The most powerful creation program for the buck (Blender 2.8).

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2019
Christopher H.
Artist / Designer
Design en ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Blender has helped me solve numerous design problems as well as visualization problems.

Pluspunten: Honestly I cannot overstate how powerful Blender (2.8) is. The fact that it is a FREE FOREVER program just absolutely blows my mind. Whatever you image yourself doing, whether it be : creating a 3D model of a person or object, creating 3D environments, creating 3D OR 2D animations, sculpting, sketching out ideas, creating photorealistic images/scenes, creating textures, lighting effects, on and on and on, THIS is the program for you. Once you learn the software (and there are tons of resources out there for that) the sky is the limit. NO, the sky is easily attained, it's your IMAGINATION that is the limit!

Minpunten: Literally the ONLY negative I could state about Blender 2.8 is the learning curve. Blender in general (2.79 or 2.8) has a steep learning curve, BUT, and I cannot overstate this: once you do push through the beginning learning stages you will be massively rewarded with the power to create so many things.

Good for beginners, not very good for pros

Beoordeeld op 12-12-2018
Salvador S.
First Grade Engineer
Fabricage van elektrische/elektronische producten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
3/5
Functies en functionaliteit
2/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am an enthusiast of 3d animation, Blender was the first animation software that i learned.

Pluspunten: The commands for move the point of view and perspective in the plain of work are very comfortable. It has the option of show multiple views at the same time.

Minpunten: Is hard to reach the level of detail and quality that people is used to watch in these days animation, that's why I consider this software like a tool for learning the concepts of animation.

Fantastic program with ZERO budget

Beoordeeld op 11-10-2019
Hamid S.
Game Developer
Computergames, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am personally glad to choose this software for my 3d pipelines.

Pluspunten: It's the best program for Modeling, Animation, UV and Texture and also Video editing.
It's light software but very powerful and feature-rich.

Minpunten: It does not correctly import some FBX file formats that come from other software like Maya or 3d Max (It has a parenting problem with objects that are the child of a bone element).

Blender

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2019
Betty M.
CEO
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Blender software is a robust tool that its capabilities are numerous, I am not sure any user can harness its features and functions completely. I am still on the learning curve hoping to become a pro in 3D animation.

Pluspunten: As someone who loves to learn a new skill, I decided to go for 3D modeling skill I search the web for the best software to learn 3D, I was surprised to see the large community Blender software has on the web, with positive reviews, then I surprise to know that the software was completely free to use and there are lots of free tutorial on the internet to teach a beginner to pro level.
Blender software has a lot of features and tools packed together, in terms of game engine integrated within the software, video editing, and advanced modeling tools.
All these amazing features are available for free in the blender software.

Minpunten: Blender is not widely accepted or used in the video game industry, unlike its big rival Maya that is the industry standard.
Blender interface is a bit clunky, thanks to Blender version 2.8 that brings some good and simple look to the overall interface.

Blender

Beoordeeld op 6-10-2019
Lloyd R.
programer
Computergames, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: with blender 2.8 i has been able to make a few things for my game

Pluspunten: Blender is free to use once you learn how to use blender you can make all types of things for your games

Minpunten: It takes some time to learn how to use and a-lot of its options are hidden till you need them

An Amazing Toolkit for Anything 3D

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2019
Joel L.
Library Assistant
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use Blender to create 3D models and animations. Blender's wide toolkit has made it something I come back to time and time again with projects that I need to complete.

Pluspunten: Blender does almost everything. It contains the tools for 3D modeling, animating, sculpting, texture painting, game development, visual effects, and more. It's also free, making it a great resource for anyone interested in 3D work to pick up.

Minpunten: Blender has a ton of features, and with those features comes a lot of learning. Blender can be a difficult program to learn and has an insane amount of keyboard shortcuts that you can memorize.

Blender- A free tool for easy and quality 3D asset creation.

Beoordeeld op 31-10-2019
Osakpolor O.
Tutor
Schoolleiding, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use Blender to teach a little of 3D assets creation and also the basics animation to my students. It has been a great tool since its free and lightweight in file size.

Pluspunten: It is free and open-source. its small file size is something to really love. with a customizable UI that lets you take on the UI layout of other similar software which is great for those switching. Its development community is dedicated to its improvement and have really been adding more features and improvements over the years.

Minpunten: It doesn't have full development features in its release as compared to the likes of other industry standards so the use of add-ons and plugins becomes a must.

Best Design and Animation Platform

Beoordeeld op 23-9-2019
Sahan H.
Software Engineering Trainee
Luchtvaart(maatschappijen), 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall Blender is the best 3D modeling software. It is really helpful for designers. But it feels difficult if you are a new user. So you need to practice always.

Pluspunten: Blender is an amazing software that helps to design animations. It has powerful 3D graphics and various tools for designers. I used Blender software in my 2nd-year University project. We can create superb animation through the Blender software. We can start from the beginning like shapes and end with an amazing output. It has lots of inbuilt tools that help to create your work. Also rendering speed and quality is much better than the other products.

Minpunten: It is not easy for beginners. You need at least basic knowledge of the workflow. The software is very good for 3D animations but you need to have more practices and knowledge of tools.

Blender 2018 Review

Beoordeeld op 14-11-2019
Mphatso S.
Makerspace Assistant
Design en ontwerp, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use blender a lot in my work at College to make online products to help provide features to the patrons in our makerspace to help them find tools and crafting items quickly. Most recently, i used blender to make a 3D map of the space and it served my purposes extremely well because of the ease of implementation especially for low poly models and also the different lighting options that allowed me to make the final render output as close to the overall aesthetic of the makerspace as possible. It is an amazing product and it is always fun to use and play around with the hundreds of different options to get a final result that over delivers on quality.

Pluspunten: I started using blender when i was about 13 years old. It was one of my first experiences in 3d rendering and animation and i was immediately struck by all the things you could do and all the amazing things you could. In its latest iteration, i love the extreme ease of use as well as how fast and easy it is to switch between special tools and be able to see all my options in a very uncultured but intuitive space. It also has a huge amount of packages and to allow a user to do work ranging from paper craft model preparation to Virtual Reality Scene creation in minutes. Right now i use it for 3D printing and VR experiences and especially love the packages that help me make sites like this: https://enter-tech-room.glitch.me/ . I also love most the different types of 3D file formats you can export and import and how you can package everything (animations, textures and skeletons) into single compact files like glb files which are especially useful for VR products.

Minpunten: Blender's large library of packages and open source nature can be both great but also very overwhelming. If you are a beginner there is so much you need to learn to be able to make any descent 3D models or satisfactorily edit a model you found elsewhere and make it ready for use in another system. The huge number of tools it has can also be pretty intimidating and if you don't want to go 100% into 3D design can seem like a waste of time to use because they require a lot of practice given how precise they are. This was the biggest barrier for me especially before the latest release that has made it seem a lot more user friendly but it still has a quite a fair barrier to entry.

Blender - Blending Open Source and Functionality

Beoordeeld op 21-10-2019
Michael A.
Owner
Grafisch ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use Blender on a daily basis to design 3D models of objects found in historical dig sites. I also use Blender to tweak the designs of others from many of the popular online modeling communities.

Pluspunten: Blender is free. It's open-source and has an active developing community that works hard to keep the software as up-to-date as possible with today's fast pace. I primarily use Blender to design 3D models for later printing and the built-in tools for model design work wonderfully.

Minpunten: If you're looking to create 3d movies, be prepared for work. The open-source nature of the software is also a downfall if you're looking to create fully immersive 3d worlds. Plugins and scripts are required for more expansive work, and finding the right plugin is a hassle in itself.

Blender has it all for a studio or freelancer on a budget!

Beoordeeld op 6-9-2019
Jason P.
owner
Publiceren, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Over the years I have used Blender to create 3D graphics and animation for short films and print projects. Mostly these days I find myself using its capabilities as a motion tracking software to add motion graphics to advertising. And occasionally I will also use the software to aid my illustration work. I have also used Blender as a video editor in a pinch, however it's not my main as it's still far easier and faster (not to menton feature rich when it comes to AUDIO!) to use a dedicated video editor like Vegas or Premiere.

Pluspunten: Blender can do almost anything the major software packages can do and then some; in fact, it's quite reassuring that major studios have publicly announced that they use it too. Blender is 3D animation and rendering software; it's video editing and motion graphics software; and it's even a 3D game engine. There's also a ton of support online for the software, in terms of tutorials on Blender's official website and through 3rd party channels (eg youtube videos, and blog sites.) Also, I like that Blender is FREE!

Minpunten: Because Blender is so feature rich, basically the "swiss army knife" of 3D software, it can be a bit confusing, if not frustrating, to switch between editing modes. Also, although it's gotten better over the years, the layouts can be quite different from version to version as more features are added, meaning that time can be lost reacquainting myself with the interface that could have been spent working.

The amazing free 3d suite

Beoordeeld op 8-9-2019
Paweł C.
Lecturer
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As any 3d package, Blender has a learning curve, but depending on your needs and interests, you can learn and use it for architectural visualization, video processing with motion and camera tracking, creating models for different purposes (e.g. 3d printing), 2d and 3d animation, visual effects and others. I've used it to create 3d models, to make short animations, to add visual effects to videos, among others. Overall an excellent package that is free to use and is actively developed (and a happy user like me is likely to make the occasional donation).

Pluspunten: Blender is an extremely versatile package that offers all the functionality for 3d and 2d animation, 3d modelling, video production and more. It's a giant in the open source world, a world which doesn't always deliver quality. The funding and development model and the engagement of the community ensure steady development that integrates all the latest technologies in the world of computer graphics. It's become a serious competitor to professional (and expensive) packages such as Maya, 3dsMax, Houdini etc., offering in one package a wider range of tools than many of the commercial solutions. It's also very fast and (relatively) lightweight, runs on all major platforms including Linux, and - last but not least - is completely free. Free of charge, and free to distribute and modify.

Minpunten: Although the software is constantly and dynamically improving, there are a few usability issues and some users, especially new ones, may find some things counter-intuitive. This has improved greatly with the current 2.80 milestone edition, but there are still some quirks that require getting used to and don't always make for a 100% smooth experience.

The Blender

Beoordeeld op 28-4-2019
Ishara M.
Graphic Designer
Afdrukken en drukwerk, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The cutting edge screen and absence of dials and catches is something that will look incredible in pretty much any new or old kitchen. This is an incredible preferred standpoint of the blender over different blenders in the market since stylish designs are satisfied considerably more in such a manner.

Pluspunten: The Blender In the present society and in this present day and age, an ever increasing number of people are veering towards an intense change in their ways of life, electing to go sound rather than enjoy some time ago prevalent shoddy nourishment, cigarettes and liquor kinds of way of life. Along these lines, there has been an undeniably intense interest for items and gadgets that can effectively advance such restorative ways of life.
When one thinks about the expression "sound way of life", something he will undoubtedly consider is organic product shakes and smoothies. In pretty much any shopping centre or foundation financially accessible out there, one will undoubtedly run over a smoothie or organic product shake stand, slow down or shop that offers new beverages which have a high nutrient and mineral substance. So as to think of these invigorating beverages, be that as it may, it is significant to have the ideal devices.
One of the apparatuses most basic in preparing the ideal natural product shake and blender for a solid way of life is obviously the correct blender. At present day, a standout amongst the most exceedingly looked for after and most sought after blenders are the blender.
IF we would quickly go over a survey, it would not be hard to comprehend why the celebrated blender is viewed as the highest point of the line blender among blender clients the whole way across the world. Each blender has numerous highlights that permit the client tremendous favour

Minpunten: Survey locales that this specific blender has a shorter yet more extensive compartment that can fit all the more effectively away areas, for example, cupboards and cabinets. This enables clients to stock the real gadget pretty much anyplace they may please without agonizing over the space that will be involved. Usefulness insightful, the Blendtec blender utilizes three strength engines, making this blender run more grounded and more intensely than most other purchaser blenders out there.
Blendtec blender audits obviously call attention to that the blender can undoubtedly crush, whip, blend or mix essentially any and each fixing out there. Regardless of whether it is dry merchandise like nuts, raisins, prunes or wet items like fluid squeezes and milk, the blender demonstrates a general preferred standpoint to over basically any blender. Indeed, even entire organic products can be effectively mixed by this gadget.

Maya and 3DS users? Please read about an amazing 3D model/animate/print alternative

Beoordeeld op 21-3-2019
Ralph G.
jack of all trades at art studio
(Bioscoop)films, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Our initial interest with Blender was sparked by its price: free. Autodesk's fee structures are not too bad if you are a power user, but the cost of having software seats for employees while they are learning is really a pain... so we started exploring Blender. Pretty quickly we discovered that it offers what we needed from the Autodesk products and more. We have come to appreciate the drag-and-drop compatibility with the Unity game engine, and we use it extensively for 3D printing. I think it makes for an easier and quicker ROI to get employees started with Blender -- mostly to see which of them are able and interested in attacking the learning curve. The fact that Blender is free is no longer the primary attraction to us, but it certainly allows us to work with new employees and with contractors around the world who appreciate the same attributes.

Pluspunten: Blender is an absolute Swiss Army knife for 3D modeling, animation, painting and video compositing/editing. It is free, and open source. After experience with Maya and 3DS -- which we admittedly liked very much -- we have moved to Blender exclusively because of its awesome selection of tools and add-ons. We use it for creating animations, 2D art, sculptures and 3D printed items.

Minpunten: About my 3-stars rating for ease of use: None of the 3D modeling and animation applications are easy to use if you do not have a background in those disciplines. I consider Blender to be 5-star ease of use... but on your first day with it, you will be confused. Fortunately, there are lots of tutorial videos on Youtube, and from Blender. Blender has a relatively regular update cycle, so you will always want to look for tutorials based on the version you are using.

Powerful open source 3-D graphics software and editor that rivals commercially available tools

Beoordeeld op 31-8-2018
Ray A.
Research and Cultural Consultant, Editor/writer, interpreter.
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
2/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, Blender is a very powerful tool, that can be used for video editing. However, because it is designed to be a 3-D graphics tool which also has video capabilities, it is not the easiest tool to use. I continue to remain intrigued by Blender and in a year or two will revisit it's video editing workflow.

Pluspunten: Blender is used by professionals around the world. Because it is open source and has such wide usage and effort behind its development, it is very unlikely that Blender will ever fade away. Using Blender for your projects ensures long-term access to your files and you'll accumulate skills that will be useful well into the future. I used Blender only for video editing so I cannot comment on its other features. Strong video editing capabilities - it is relatively easy to import footage and to make basic cuts, move footage, and add basic fades and transitions. To simplify the import of video clips, install the Kinoraw Tools addon.
It offers a good way to import media clips through the file browser. The Kinoraw tool will allow you to import all files in the browser, or
This plugin adds features that allow the user to select large numbers of small clips and snap the selection to a designated clip. It also allows selection by type of clip so its easy to grab all of the sound clips to export to an audio editor. The plugin also includes an "inverse" selector to select everything except the currently selected clip. The Kinoraw tool also includes a convenient fade-in fade-out tool accessible in the Strip menu option

Minpunten: After reading and watching many tutorials on using Blender for video editing, I hoped to rely on Blender exclusively for video creation.
While Blender indeed offers powerful video editing features, the average person will not find it easy to use.
Blender cannot automatically detect resolution and frame rates so if you have video from different cameras and wish to edit these different resolutions files in the timeline in Blender, you will encounter numerous problems. Software should be able to detect these various settings automatically and make necessary adjustments or at the very least, warn the user that the clips are incompatible and guide the user through various fixes. There were too many other problems with trying to edit a 2 hour film and I eventually gave up and moved to the open-source video editor Kdenlive. Regardless of my experience, many users in fact rely on Blender for video editing and enjoy the process. Maybe you will find it to be the best tool for you.

It is my Go-To software to do any complex graphics and animation work.

Beoordeeld op 12-7-2018
Tushant M.
Freelance
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: This is one of the core softwares that I use, being cost effective (that is, "Free") as well as powerful in a single package! Not only do I save a lot of money by sticking to this I also make significantly more without having to rely or specialized software just to get the job done. My workflow has also improved, and I'm able to quickly create prototypes, edits and complete works of art with a single tool.

Pluspunten: I've used Blender for over 8 years now, and it has rarely failed me. Being the jack of all trades, it not only possesses quick modelling and animation tools, but it also has a powerful shader system as well as the ability to sculpt. It can even be enhanced to limitless degrees with add-ons, and recently there has even been the Armory3D Engine that can help create games with it. I also rarely find myself having to rely on any external video editor because Blender's internal VSE often gets the job done for me, even though it can take some time to know one's way around it. Plus, I'm in love with Blender's modular interface, allowing me to customize it depending on my situations as I see fit.

Minpunten: Sadly, despite the modularity of the interface, it can feel a bit cluttered and confusing to get around at times (an issue which will likely be fixed by the time version 2.8 comes around), and due to its unconventional way of handling things, it can be a little harder to learn. Also, because it's a jack of all trades, one may expect it to be a master of none, which can be plain to see while sculpting, being not as powerful as ZBrush nor as stable when handling heavy meshes. Its compositing, too, while a welcome addition to quickly customize one's render, can feel very unintuitive at times. There's also very limited and imprecise means to control image sequences as texture option which often bothers me, but the fact that it even has that feature to begin with is something I that makes me turn a blind eye to this last point.

Brand new look

Beoordeeld op 21-12-2019
Aleksandra S.
Freelancer
Kunst en nijverheid, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: In 2019 Blender changed a lot, making the software easy to manage. UI became simpler and more intuitive and the general design changes made it so much more viable as a professional 3D program. I have used it over the years for small projects, although they always took quite long, as the learning curve was extremely steep and for each small project there had to be hours of research. Coming back after the new version was released, I have reached my goals quite easily, effectively reducing time spent on each project.

Pluspunten: Blender's UI is clean, elegant and intuitive. Its features are on par with those of professional 3D suites, which makes it a free alternative to industry's most known programs. The performance is quite good, considering I've been using it on a low-end PC and besides some issues with particle system, there's no considerable lag or stuttering. Plugins, extensions and user-created content makes it easy to customize and prepare for any 3D work and environment.

Minpunten: As the new version changed the software, the available guides and tutorials are mostly outdated, making it a bit harder to find a good learning source, as the changes were so drastic that simple commands or keybinds no longer work. Due to that some problems require reaching out to the community, which may not respond within the time constraints a professional may have.

Blender is the first professional 3D program that I use and I still prefer it!

Beoordeeld op 18-4-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Creative Agency
Grafisch ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Blender changed my perception of the 3d modeling programs that at first seemed cumbersome to me I never thought I could use it, and I still use it today for art and visual designs. So for me it is 100% recommended.

Pluspunten: I love talking about blender, without a doubt it is one of the programs I love the most and the ones I work with the most since I dedicate myself to 3D design, one of the most incredible things about this program is that it is free software, it is free, It was difficult to start using it since there are millions of explanatory tutorials, it has a super friendly platform and it allows me to reach the desired results, from the beginning that I have started to use and until now it has evolved with me, I can import and export objects, work by nodes and export in video and image formats, also synchronizes with several of the programs I use and that is fascinating, any computer runs it normally depends on the complexity of the final product, I can sculpt and create different physics and I have engines of incredible rendering in my case the one that I use the most is cycle.

Minpunten: Blender is a lovely program, however it could account for some things that could be improved: one of them is that blender at first scares, although its platform is friendly, it can seem very complicated when you enter it, since you get lost with many options in the workspace, sometimes it does not work well with the polygons of more than 4 sides, which makes the modeling experience a little limiting and if it depends on the complexity of your modeling, your PC can support it when creating a very complex modeling or not.

Expansive Functionality, Great Interface, and FREE

Beoordeeld op 5-9-2019
Amanda J.
Multimedia Designer
Design en ontwerp, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Working with Blender has been amazing. As part of in an in-house design team, I wanted a way to innovate and learn something new, so I started small with things that could be worked into our advertising like rolling dice, a spinning football, bowling ball/pins collisions, and scale models to learn the system. Later, we purchased pre-made car models and then textured, customized, and animated them to advertise specific vehicle giveaways. It's really wonderful to have a program you can build and expand upon independently without formal training or a huge initial investment.

Pluspunten: As a graphic designer who dabbles in 3D, I much prefer the interface of Blender compared with Maya or Cinema 4D. Navigation is intuitive, and while the learning curve is naturally steep for any program of this caliber, the shortcut system made a lot of sense to me from the beginning. I also really loved using nodes in Cycles render to change the texture and lighting of various objects. Really lovely, subtle results.

Minpunten: Sometimes it was tricky to know exactly how big something was, or how things were attached, but I would chalk that up to user error, similar to being an amateur in Photoshop and just not knowing where to look for a function or how to organize your layers logically.

One of the finest 3d software out in the market

Beoordeeld op 12-9-2019
Ayon S.
Filmmaker
(Bioscoop)films, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Blender is FREE!!! and as they say, it will always be... So you are at no risk, it took sometime for me to get used to it, although I'm still learning, it has been a rewarding experience. Thanks to those wise people who decided to keep it FREE and open source yet Blender is so powerful that many professional studios has started implementing it into their workflow.
Today Blender is like the Swiss Knife in the world of 3D, excelling in every departments of it.

Pluspunten: Blender, at present the name itself gives relief to all those aspiring 3D and VFX artists, who feel crippled by the price tag that comes with Maya, Cinema 4D, 3DS Max, etc. Blender is capable of doing most of the 3D and Animation works one will ever need for FREE....!!!! This is absolutely hard to believe at first. A free and open source software might give a vibe of being compromised or cut down versions, but not Blender. This software is a beast in its field, providing everything from 2D animation, VFX design, 3D Modelling, Character rigging, Landscape Design, Texturing, Compositing and what not. The latest version 2.8 is a massive update which has a redesigned interface turning Blender into a beautiful and intuitive piece of software plus has a lots of new features making the overall process much easier for anyone from beginner to professionals.

Minpunten: Blender offers a massive set of features which comes with a learning curve. This might hold you for a moment but when you see what amazing things other people are creating with Blender, you will force yourself to learn the software and once you get hold of it, it will be so unbelievably rewarding that you will never regret learning this fantastic friend who will stay with you for ever, for FREE!!!!

Packed Full of Features with New Interface

Beoordeeld op 23-7-2019
Kurt M.
Consultant
Kunst en nijverheid, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
2/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
1/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I started to use the product when it was in version 2.78. The new interface of beta 2.8 is so much better and helps me sculpt better.

Pluspunten: Blender continues to be my goto digital sculpting tool. I use it for making reliefs and then 3D printing them. The software tool works perfectly for what I need to do. While it can create 2D animation, detailed game characters along with the backgrounds, and turn them into movies, I use it for its sculpting capabilities. The new candidate version 2.8 makes using the product so much easier and puts all of the features where you need them. It seems there is some new trick or capability that I did not know. It is going to take a few more years to master it entirely, but I enjoy the process. The very best thing about this product is that it is free, but the development team does truly appreciate contributions. There is a world of training videos, add on products and textures that can be purchased. While I have not used Zbrush or Mudbox, the product delivers excellent quality sculptures. If you are new to digital design work, this is the perfect product to start with.

Minpunten: The product has a very steep learning curve. Those that really know how to use it are the ones using it every day. It just takes time and a lot of practice. After a while of not using Blender, it takes some effort to remember the short cuts, processes, and nuances. I recently purchased a small Wacom tablet and pen to help me become more productive but still trying to make it work for me. If you are looking to make a career out of digital design, you may need also to learn Zbrush or Autodesk products.

One of the best free 3D modeling softwares in the world today

Beoordeeld op 29-9-2018
Arianna S.
3D Modeler
Beeldende kunst, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: This is the 3D modeling program I use. I use it with a texturing software and a rendering software and sell my 3D models I make with it. It has helped me grow my business of making 3D props for game developers.

Pluspunten: The thing I like most if the ease of use after fully understanding what everything does. It looks intimidating and complicated if you're a new user of blender, but after looking at a few tutorials of what you want to do in it, whether it be animation, character modeling, prop modeling, whatever it may be, it becomes easier to do and to understand. You do have to learn a little bit on your own, but as far as I have been using it, since 2015, I haven't ran into anything I can't do without a little bit of googling.

Minpunten: The thing I liked least about this software when starting out was, as I said in the pros, it is intimidating to look at when being a new user of the software. It stressed me out when I didn't know where to begin, however, this was easy to get over with some googling and a little bit of tutorials that didn't cost me a lot of time, for a big payout after I learned the software.

Blender: Free To Use Yet Powerful

Beoordeeld op 8-5-2019
Samuel T.
Chief Executive Officer
Grafisch ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Blender is a great software to be candid, this makes it a very powerful software to you. With my 2 years experience, I can say it’s worth trying out and I will definitely recommend it for anyone into 3D animation or Video editing as a profession, while I keep using it as well.
With the software, you’ll be tempted to learn new renderings and update your skills.

Pluspunten: For a powerful software, Blender is Free to Download and Free to Use, which is amazing and surprising compare to other softwares.
In past two years, I have learn to use Blender for 3D rendering, videos editing & creation.
The software has a great user interface, with a lot of exciting features, Blender stand out among others. Lot of free video tutorials to help users to learn the features or work on a specific 3D rendering.
I’m presently learning to create Video Game Animations and Blender is a great tool, even though this isn’t an easy task, but the software is very helpful and tutorials are right there to help.

Minpunten: For a powerful software to work perfectly, you’ll need a powerful hardware to handle it. I started using Blender in 2014 with a low end PC, it was frustrating, the PC gets heated up quickly especially when rendering. After changing to a high end PC, I’m able to use Blender comfortably without worrying about overheating.
For a beginner, this isn’t a very friendly software to use. I learnt most of the basic features using video tutorials and googling. The features are great but can be very confusing unless you are already familiar with them.