Streaming for the masses

Beoordeeld op 23-8-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Summer Intern
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use OBS as a recording and streaming for personal, freelance work, and volunteer work.

Pluspunten: OBS is an extremely capable piece of broadcasting software capable of anything from basic recordings to broadcasting on platforms such as Twitch.tv, YouTube, Facebook, or even to a custom streaming server. Configuring OBS is very easy for beginners, with many basic configuration options and even a setup wizard to help you get stream settings configured in minutes. However, if you are an advanced user, there are many options for setting up recording, ingest settings, audio, and hotkeys. Because of the wide range of configuration available in OBS, anything from basic screen capture to professional-level broadcasting using multiple scenes, video sources, and effects are possible. Because of the popularity of OBS, there exists an abundant supply of tutorials, guides, and user support that will help resolve any issues you may encounter when configuring and using OBS.

Minpunten: OBS is still currently being developed, so there may be some features that are not implemented or minor bugs. Because of these issues, OBS may not be the best tool for critical applications compared to similar, paid programs. Additionally, the open source nature of the product means that there is not an official support channel to go to for proper, professional assistance.

Anyone Can Become A Broadcaster

Beoordeeld op 21-2-2019
Michelle M.
Musician and Producer
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am relatively new to live streaming - I didn't even know something as sophisticated as OBS could be obtained for free! It's not necessarily newbie-friendly. You are expected to kind of know what you're doing or at least go read up on the processes. There is a ton of support in the way of user groups, online tutorials, mountains of user-created videos explaining how things work, and there are lots of add-ons and some pretty cool forks of the project as well (a fork is a branch off from the original open source program that's being developed in a slightly different direction). I play in a band and we recently began live streaming one show a month and OBS has been instrumental in this project.

Pluspunten: Open source and still free, supported by 3rd parties, lots of great informational and instructional videos on YouTube because this software enables anyone to create online broadcasts, so yeah, they're gonna be on YouTube, lots of integrated extras, runs on some less robust computers.

Minpunten: The only problem I have experienced that wasn't user error or learning-curve related is that I own more than one Chinese import action cam and OBS identifies them both as by the same name (because they have the same internal components) and if the software, or the cameras, or the computer gets turned off and back on (power outage, cable comes loose, you take a break and Windows updates and reboots your computer while you're asleep) OBS cannot re-identify these cameras reliably and often gets them mixed up. It is possible that the computer identifier for these cameras is where the lack of distinction comes from, but it's annoying enough that I have since gone to using only one hardwired camera and everything else is IP cam to eliminate this problem of constantly having to guess which iteration of "UVC Camera" is cam 1.

The go-to for broadcast management!

Beoordeeld op 31-5-2019
Sean U.
Streamer
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I stream on Twitch.tv as a side-gig and OBS is my go-to program. Its easy to use and free. Managing subscribers can seem like an overwhelming task for someone new to the business/hobby but with OBS its simple and free.

Pluspunten: - OBS is an extremely easy to use program, very intuitive.
- OBS makes managing subscribers and donations easy and simple
- Being a free program, you cant beat that.
- There are loads of tutorials online where you can learn some very cool things.

Minpunten: - When first managing your subscriptions it can seem overwhelming but that is just a fleeting feeling that soon fades with experience.

The best tool for recording your screen

Beoordeeld op 23-10-2018
Stefano S.
Software Tester
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use OBS almost on a daily basis for work, and even more often for personal purposes. At first I had some trouble setting it up, but after a few minutes it's really straightforward. I can now record my entire screen in its original resolutions, with no watermarks, completely for free. Honestly

Pluspunten: The product is completely free, with no limitations. You can immediately start recording from multiple sources at once, with a fairly nice amount of customization in terms of the options you have. File formats, encoding, streaming, and so on. You can also create your own shortcuts to start streaming/recording. More functionalities are also available for users who need more control.

Minpunten: Shortcut seem not to always work on the first hit, and some users might find it difficult to use the more advanced functions. Sometimes records a blank screen when trying to record over videogames or other programs running in borderless fullscreen.

Great For First-Time Streamers, Okay For Veteran Streamers

Beoordeeld op 26-7-2019
Jenna D.
Graphic Designer
Grafisch ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've used OBS for the past several years, and while it's a great piece of software that helps you stream on Twitch and YouTube, it does have some pretty big flaws. One being if you don't have an up-to-date, in other words "newer", computer that can handle this software eating up your memory/RAM while streaming, be prepared for any possible computer crashes that will potentially happen.
I've since moved on to software named "Streamlabs OBS", which is still technically OBS but I found it didn't crash my computer as often. For what reason, I have no clue. But just to be safe, I won't be using regular OBS on my new computer just yet.

Pluspunten: OBS has great streaming quality and a fairly easy set-up when it comes to the layout of your streams. Layering webcams, backgrounds/borders (if any), images, and notifications to name a few! It makes you feel very at home and eased into streaming, especially if you've never streamed before and are a little overwhelmed at what the process might entail.

Minpunten: My biggest gripe with this is is that it's not good for older computers. On an older computer that may still run Windows 7 (unless you did the upgrade, but it will still have this problem), OBS takes up so much memory/RAM to the point where if you have anything else running at the same time, it's only a matter of time before your system crashes and restarts.
A system more updated in the past few years, or even just a gaming computer system will give you a better and smoother stream, but most people can't afford this kind of luxury. It's disappointing to say the least, but for someone like me that does like to stream, it was worth the money to upgrade to a newer system and start to do more streams.

Twitch affiliate OBS review

Beoordeeld op 12-8-2018
Alex E.
Student
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, OBS is a fantastic product that I recommend to anyone wishing to stream on PC. They have plenty of features and options to choose from. The broadcasting is great, and I will continue to use and recommend this product.

Pluspunten: I love that OBS allows me to stream on twitch.tv. However I also love that OBS allows me to twitch on other platforms if I decide to leave twitch as well. I enjoy using the many features of OBS including the "Live" function as well as the "Record" function. This means while livestreaming I can also record for use of the footage later. The computer options for OBS are plentiful too. You can set your overall settings to either use more CPU or less, depending on the quality that you want to stream. Overall, for being a free software, I would highly recommend OBS for anyone trying to get into PC streaming.

Minpunten: OBS has its occasional crashes. These crashes don't often produce an error report and especially during the middle of a stream/recording can be a hassle. Another downfall to OBS is that sometimes it is the cause behind server to broadcaster communication meaning that your stream will go down simply because OBS is communicating with the platform correctly.

A Streamers Dream!!!!

Beoordeeld op 25-3-2019
Blake E.
Application Developer
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was using it for streaming, and let me have a great experience. I will not switch to any other program for a long time.

Pluspunten: Open Broadcast Software has allowed me to stream from my computer to people on twitch. It is a lightweight application that allows the user to record, stream, store and so much more. It is very easy to use and if you are looking to stream, would highly recommend it! You can stream in great quality, depending on your internet. Set up multiple scenes for easy transitioning and change the window you are capturing by 2 clicks. Streamlabs has built a more streamlined version of this as well, which makes streaming even easier.

Minpunten: It can be tricky figuring out how to use some of the features but a simple google search is more than enough.

OBS The streamer's friend

Beoordeeld op 13-6-2019
Michael H.
Content Creator
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I started using OBS in 2015. Live streaming required a broadcasting software solution, and I chose OBS because it was FREE. I have friends who use a competitor to OBS. OBS has the ability to totally customize your stream settings. You can mute and unmute your microphone(incase of a sneeze), you can turn on and off your webcam feed. When you are customizing your stream's layout and look, OBS makes it easier with a live preview window. OBS is the best FREE option on the market for internet based broadcasting.

Pluspunten: The thing I like the most about OBS besides the fact that it operates as intended, is that it is absolutely FREE.

Minpunten: OBS's user interface is not as friendly to use for the beginner, but with the wealth spring of knowledge on the Internet, driven by the fact the it is FREE, you can learn how to achieve your desired action or effect.

All-In-One Solution For Screen Capture

Beoordeeld op 27-5-2019
Gian angelo D.
Copywriter & Marketing Strategist
Marketing en reclame, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I really loved OBS especially because it's pretty much free and includes almost all the services you need. If you're casting online for a course or a conference or even for your gaming, OBS is one gigantic software that deserve a top spot for those who need screen capture software.

Pluspunten: Making a course? Doing a podcast? Making a video resume? Streaming your game? OBS can do it all and with a little setup, you can make it look great. There are unlimited ways for you to mix and match what you want to appear in your stream and at the same time, it can also be used as a regular video screen capture software. It's a small but effective way to record or cast your computer screen (or with some tinkering, your console!) online or on-video. I've been using it for a long time for my personal projects and OBS has never let me down yet.

Minpunten: To make the most out of this software, you really have to study the features it provides. There's a steep learning curve for those who are not tech savvy however, once you learn everything there is to learn, it gets easy and efficient.

Best Streaming Service

Beoordeeld op 16-9-2018
Charles C.
Network Manager
Entertainment, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: My experience with OBS has been fantastic. They're actively updating their program and their support has responded to be within a reasonable time.

Pluspunten: There is so much to love about this software. OBS offers so much versatility. You can switch from advanced and basic settings so you can completely customize your experience. I have used OBS and OBS multi-studio for over 4 years. Both programs are fantastic. The best thing about this is that you can stream, record and even do both at the same time.

Minpunten: The only con I can think of is that this program requires you to know a good amount about how streaming works in order to get the absolute best settings. Even with that said, it shouldn't deter anyone from giving this program a chance.

The standard in recording / streaming software.

Beoordeeld op 16-4-2019
Leroy F.
Gameplay Commentary Broadcaster
Omroepen, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: OBS is the software I use to create recorded and live stream gameplay commentary videos on a regular basis (something like over 250+ videos now spanning from 3-4hrs per video average). So pretty awesome reliable free software.

Pluspunten: *It's open source which means free unless you can and want to support financially or get premium support (or support full-stop, not sure if that's a thing with OBS).
*Does everything all the other free or paid options do (that matters anyway).
*Very reliable overall.
*Pretty flexible and getting a few important updates of late.

Minpunten: *Might still be a little difficult for some people compared to others.
*Open source software can sometimes take longer on average to have major updates / features.
*Still pretty easy to crash if you do certain actions too quickly but thus generally easily to avoid although you can get nervous switching scene collections mid stream for instance.

My go-to choice for live streaming

Beoordeeld op 25-7-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Streamer
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: The general usability of the software overall, especially when paired with StreamElements.

Minpunten: Rare crashes, settings reverting, and some minor complaints about the user interface sometimes being a little finicky when trying to set it up just right. The biggest issue I've had with OBS is it has a habit of crashing when I'm switching scenes via Studio Mode.

Free and relatively painless

Beoordeeld op 30-7-2019
Jason H.
Worship and Arts Pastor
Muziek, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, I have found this program to be dependable. It runs every week, and I have not had to troubleshoot anything in the program in over a YEAR. That alone is commendable for a program that I run on a weekly basis. I run apple products that need more hands-on management than this program. The interface is not as sleek, but it gets the job done. Give me a little more control over audio and video syncing, and some transition effects, and I would be slamming the #5 stars across the board.

Pluspunten: IT IS FREE. May all of my complains and frustrations with this software be safely tucked under the umbrella of a customer who is pleased at the end of the day with a product that is reliable and costs him nothing. That is a miracle and I believe that it is getting easier and easier to use. I love the fact that once I have everything set up in the back end of the program, I can get going with one click. I use this program to record and live-stream our Sunday morning services at Church. On the off-chance that the wifi goes down or something, the ability to continue recording to an external drive has saved us on more than one occasion. It handles the basics such as screen sharing, adding logos, and even some basic audio input options very well. Overall, I am extremely pleased and it made the ability to live-stream in a church of 200 people affordable and attainable.

Minpunten: Set-up was a long process of educating myself with very little reward and no long-term application for the knowledge that I gained. There seems to be certain settings that you need to select for different types of streaming. Having to wade through numerous youtube videos in order to find what I needed specifically, was not fun. I would love for this software to develop presets for different purposes. Most all gamers tend to used the same presets with some variation depending on their individual internet speeds. Why not have a preset for gamers and another preset for bloggers, or live-streamers? I don't think it would take much and with a few basic questions, the program could do a lot of the heavy lifting that makes the back end of OBS a pain to work with.
Additionally the interface, while more intuitive than most open-source programs, does leave something to be desired. I often have to click through all of the setting options in order to find specific settings that need adjustment. Also, I have been running into issues with syncing external audio with the video during live streaming. The video buffer seems to be inconsistent, so the audio and video will start out synced and randomly get out of wack.

Best broadcasting tool!

Beoordeeld op 19-7-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Database Operations
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I started with Twitch 4 years ago, i was streaming with several video games and quality, audio, graphics setting is totally amazing.

Pluspunten: Configuration of live broadcast is super easy, interface is quite easy to understand everything and go live in very proper connection. I tried many of broadcast software however OBS ve been always suitable one for me because never had any freezing issue or lagging stuff. Not familiar with these problems at all, thats why I totally reccomend everyone if you go live or do any kind of broadcasting. And super healthy for your device because of low CPU usage, it doesn't make your device to get overheated which is the most important part in streaming.

Minpunten: For beginners, perhaps it might be little difficult to understand some advance features because you gotta have some time to understand other functions as well. Some crashes happened during streaming but this is nothing to comparing benefits of software and since it is totally free to use.

OBS is great for streaming on PC

Beoordeeld op 14-3-2019
Tyler C.
Streamer
Computergames, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've used OBS on and off for multiple years with streaming. I stream mainly video games but it's been great for other things I've streamed to friends. It's got great features to tie into Twitch, as well as many streaming assistance platforms have plugins for OBS. I've never had any software related issues with it, even with Daily use for around (3) months. It did exactly what I needed it too, and even allowed me to setup a very nice green screen behind me for better quality streaming with ease.

Pluspunten: - Easy to use once you understand it
- Tons of guides online
- Awesome plugins to popular streaming platforms

Minpunten: - Looks a bit dated
- Can be confusing with layers / layouts if you don't look up guides

OBS review

Beoordeeld op 17-7-2019
Austin B.
Youtuber
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: The pros of OBS are: - Easy to use and understand. A lot of the features are explained on the OBS site and once read up on they become easy to manage and change to get the right settings for your set up.
- Connects to various streaming platforms. You can set up streams for different sites that allow that service, for example Youtube and Twitch. Simply set up the connection and once done simply start the stream.
- Can record videos. If you also choose to do so you can also use OBS to record videos and upload them later to Youtube or whatever service you prefer.

Minpunten: The Con's of OBS: - Disconnections during stream. If you have not set your OBS correctly, or their is a problem with the service itself, you will not be able to stream to any of the connections you may have established. Making it harder to keep on track with streaming schedules when there is a problem.
- There is not an easy in-built way in the software to automatically determine the best settings for you to use. You have to search online and find out for yourself, as well as through trial and error.

Feature Packed

Beoordeeld op 12-3-2019
Edgar S.
Service Desk Technician
Financiële dienstverlening, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall OBS has been great, it does what i want it to do, whether it be streaming or recording. It does it all!!!

Pluspunten: Let's start off by saying that this software is FREE, while the saying "You get what you pay for" is a valid statement, i think OBS is feature rich for the cost of 0$. You can link up all the different streaming platforms and customize the streaming, recording settings based on what you want. I was actually very surprised how in depth this software was for being freeware.

Minpunten: No complaints on my end, i haven't run into any issues with it lately, i am a happy user!

Simple and straight forward for more advanced streaming

Beoordeeld op 15-2-2019
Travis G.
Senior Instructional Multimedia Designer
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Great overall experience. I use this time and time again and have had no issues versus any paid-for program!

Pluspunten: I used to use one of Adobe's products, but when support for that got dropped, I had to find something easy to use and inexpensive. OBS fit that bill perfectly. It's simple enough to allow me to select my streaming destinations easily, but also allow me to use my professional capture devices. As long as the computer can recognize it, it can be loaded into OBS and used as an input source. I typically use a switcher for my streaming productions, but for times when I had to cue up other multimedia files, I can load those right into OBS and switch to them outside of the switcher easily. Very flexible software! Not having to use an external recorder is a life saver too. I can just select start streaming and start recording and now I have my clean file to work with later if anything happens with the stream. I also like being able to see my stream health right on the screen very clearly as well.

Minpunten: Not much! I haven't hit any issues with streaming to different sources, and if anything, maybe had some issues with stream health, but that's an internet connection thing and I'm guessing OBS can't work magic and give me unlimited bandwidth.

The Standard For Twitch Streaming

Beoordeeld op 6-4-2019
Joshua T.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Internet, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Once I got it set as I like it, it's been great. Everytime I stream it's literally "go live" and I'm up and running. I can count on one hand the number of times OBS has crashed during a stream.

Pluspunten: It was pretty quick to get up and running with streaming, this was something I've wanted to do and this was the software that was widely used and after using it I can see why.

Minpunten: While it was quick to get setup and going at a "basic" level, the more advanced stuff was a little tricky but doable. I wish they had better tutorials on this stuff, such as adding "current song" playing or adding/moving alerts.

Great application for screen sharing and live streaming

Beoordeeld op 20-4-2019
Jason A.
Self Employed
Design en ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've been wanting to engage with my social media more through live streams. OBS has allowed me to do these live streams, record them so that I can archive them later, all while allowing me to keep a professional presence on these accounts, and being free. While there is no official customer support, their forums are very active. if you are having a problem, you can get a solution within hours. I was considering XSplit but I didn't want to cough up the monthly fee.

Pluspunten: I like how you can switch between each "scene", each of which can have different layouts, and sources (cameras, text, screens, and the like), and fade or cut between them with different transition times. I also like how easy it is to monitor audio and adjust audio levels from different audio sources.

Minpunten: RTMP (the protocol used for live streaming content to an online service) is a little finicky on some networks, especially company networks which usually block the ports which RTMP uses. While this isn't a problem with OBS itself, it is not very good at telling you why your stream didn't start, and how you could fix whatever problems you may or may not have.

Streaming at it's best.

Beoordeeld op 29-12-2018
Desi A.
Company Owner
Online media, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: OBS is the best if you are new streaming or even a long time veteran. Having different options at the power of your own creativity.

Pluspunten: Everything about this software is amazing. The ability to use different streaming platforms for output, the customization for scene inputs. Getting your stream to the right theme is a big plus.

Minpunten: At first, it is a hard software to understand. Getting the right output settings based off of your own ISP speeds and computer specifications. Once you figure out that learning curve, you will be streaming in no time.

OBS is the best screen recorder for gaming

Beoordeeld op 10-4-2018
Tyler T.
Youtuber
Entertainment
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am able to create crisp, professional looking videos at the low, low price of zero. I also really enjoy learning new features that I can perform with it, which I do almost every day.

Pluspunten: OBS is free which is great, but there are so many good features about this product that it is impossible to list here. What I really love about OBS though is the level of control that it gives you over your gaming videos. You can screen record, while also recording yourself giving a walk through of the game, it looks amazing, and there is no watermark like there is in some "freeware."

Minpunten: OBS is INCREDIBLY difficult to master. Thankfully there are tons of Youtube videos that give you incredibly detailed instructions.

Fairly simple and powerful tools for improving your stream/video's production value

Beoordeeld op 4-1-2019
Joseph M.
Artist and writer
Animatie, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: So far I've used OBS to record instructional videos for some clients and friends, and have also tried out streaming animation work and some games. It's a good simple tool for my uses.

Pluspunten: OBS takes what seems like a daunting and difficult process and makes it simple and straightforward. Setting yourself up to stream on platforms like Twitch and/or record video for Youtube takes a few minutes. For someone like me who knows very little about the finer details of video and streaming, this is great. The ability to create different presets for your streaming and capture is also fantastic, so you can easily switch between "starting soon" graphics, your game or software, full-screen face shots, etc. It has ample tools to set yourself up for a successful stream without hassle.

Minpunten: The OBS interface isn't as intuitive as it could be - as easy as it is to get started, it's not really a "pickup and play" kind of software. I've had trouble getting certain functions to work, particularly in organizing additional elements in a scene, and also selecting my audio source.

OBS is the #1 streaming software

Beoordeeld op 12-6-2019
William M.
Producer
Mediaproductie, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am able to produce, record and even stream content to followers of my site and it is the best solution out there.

Pluspunten: The software is free and works as well as any paid alternatives. It has a variety of features including adding overlays, chroma key for green screen, alerts, and many more.

Minpunten: It can get a little confusing when trying to do complex scenes in the software.

Best video capture software for newbies

Beoordeeld op 1-4-2019
Ronald L.
Content Manager
Internet, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very useful and easy to use. We only found one framerate issue but I'm pretty sure the solution is on the web. Besides that, it's really lightweight, the results are visible inmediatly after the recording is stopped and generates easy to share file formats. The included volume options for mic and desktop audio are all I normally need.

Pluspunten: I didn't need much: record videos for myself and the team of very specific processes. Setting up the app was extremely easy. I loved how the app is very lightway and doesn't take any additional time to process the file: you can see it as soon as you press "stop recording". You're given a lot of audio and video options , as well as the fantastic ability to record the desktop audio which was exactly what I needed. If you eventually need to go beyond that you have filters, multiple input, etc. Only tried once broadcasting in youtube and it was really easy to setup because the interface is really easy and self explainatory.

Minpunten: I noticed an issue when trying to record footage for a very light videogame we're making that even when the game was running fine, the frame was apparently very very low in the resulting video. Never tried again because it wasn't fully necessary to solve. I really miss not having suggestions from the app itself about how to improve the recording quality specially with some software that is very popular to use (like main game engine editors).