Solid Development Platform

Beoordeeld op 13-8-2019
Tim C.
Marketing Director
Civiele techniek, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, this is the best open source site development solution I've used. The learning curve is a bit steep in terms of creating a fully functional enterprise-level site, but a casual user can get a small, good looking and flexible site up and running in a few hours.

Pluspunten: Very easy to maintain and manage with decent flexibility. It also makes use of very reasonably priced add ons through a user marketplace.

Minpunten: Upgrading versions in recent years has become a somewhat harrowing experience. I'd actually suggest not upgrading until you have a compelling reason; say, for instance, you want the functionality of a new add on or theme or the installed add ons stop working correctly.

Great for end-users and developers

Beoordeeld op 9-8-2019
Jordan S.
CTO/Co-Founder
Internet, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Love it as a developer and I love providing Concrete5 powered websites to my clients. Doesn't get too much more ideal than that!

Pluspunten: I love to provide Concrete5 powered websites to my clients for many reasons. In particular though, the in-context page editing abilities of Concrete5, easy-to-use dashboard, customizable theme styles and extensibility through the Concrete5 marketplace make it a tool that suits a WIDE range of needs.

Minpunten: My only dislike with Concrete5 is the lack of native e-commerce functionality built into the CMS. If Concrete5 and/or the C5 community were able to develop some simple e-commerce functionality (much like woocommerce) I think C5 could re-gain some market share from other CMS tools in the industry today.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van concrete5 op 13-8-2019

Good news, there is ecommerce for concrete5 here:
https://github.com/concrete5-community-store

concrete5 - The Best of Breed CMS

Beoordeeld op 1-8-2019
Jeremy R.
Web Developer/Director
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: For me as a developer, concrete5 is a great base to build almost any project on. The extremely powerful attribute system lets you add custom categories so you can reuse tried and tested code for free. You can even add your own custom attribute types which can pull from other data sources. The built in user management system, complete with support for Oauth is one less thing you have to code.

Pluspunten: As a user, I love the in page editing features of concrete5. You simply click the edit button, click the content you want to edit, type in the content, save, publish and you're done. No messing about with the dark recesses of a hidden control panel. All that you need is right there in the page.

Minpunten: As a developer, the documentation is sometimes quite a way behind the product itself or doesn't actually exist at all. This can be frustrating because the underlying architecture of concrete5 is built on the best of breed open source components, and to do things correctly without modifying the core can take time to figure out. It's usually pretty simple once you've figured it out though.

Hands down best cms / framework

Beoordeeld op 16-3-2019
John E.
Lead web developer
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Even for complexly applications it's usually my preferable platform even over frameworks as it provides the functionality of a framework yet still provides additional functional that is almost always useful regardless of your use case.

Pluspunten: The system is architected using modern object oriented php. It's very easy for front end devs to create websites from mocks that are intuitive to edit for end users using the cms. It provides a foundation similar to a traditional framework for more complex applications with enterprise level permissions and features out of the box. Extending the cms uses an intuitive pattern allowing changes to persist thru updates to the software. It promotes professional programming design concepts and favors traditional programming design patterns over strict convention. The editing experience from a end users standpoint beats drupal, wordpress and joomla hands down. The security track record is impeccable as well contrasted to other cms systems.

Minpunten: Off the shelf plugins are limited but the plugins that are available are properly vetted and less likely to be insecure than wordpress. Developer docs are lacking but if you have a good understanding of php it's easy to follow the code as it follows industry conventions and concepts and theming is a breeze.

Probably the best CMS

Beoordeeld op 31-7-2019
Ed B.
IT Manager
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I have been using Concrete5 for over 10 years and cannot see me switching to any other CMS

Pluspunten: - You can achieve absolutely anything your customers require with retaliative ease.
- Happy customers
- The community are always available to help and you can easily communicate with the lead developers.

Minpunten: The lack of development documentation can cause a few issues.

Great CMS for 80% of websites on the web.

Beoordeeld op 29-7-2019
Wayne S.
Owner
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Concrete5 ease of use for the end user, is its clam to fame. Simple to learn on page editing and the ability to build out more complex pages.

Minpunten: From a development stand point, concrete5 can be hard to use for 3 or more developers on a project. There is no syncing process between local development environments and remote environments this can cause issues on large projects. Also scaling the CMS for very large project (250+ plus pages) might be an issue however, that is more of dev-op issue then a CMS problem.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van concrete5 op 30-7-2019

Thanks for the great review Wayne,

We regularly use bitbucket/github to collaborate with large teams on concrete5 projects and it works very effectively. We've also got sites that are serving well over 10m page views per month by just turning on full page caching and storing some assets in S3, all very easy with concrete5.

Review on concrete5

Beoordeeld op 30-7-2019
Dimitrios G.
Web Developer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: This content management system is by far the most user friendly system in market. It has a lot of features implemented by default and allows an easy extensibility.

Minpunten: Unfortunatelly the concrete5 marketplace is not in the same level as marketplaces of other products.

The greatest CMS

Beoordeeld op 17-4-2017
Daniel G.
Web developer
Programmaontwikkeling, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As a web developer, two considerations are important when chosing a CMS. The first is the codebase, the quality of the core code. It technically up to date, well structured and the security is up to date.
The second point to take into consideration is the usability for the user of a CMS. concrete5 has a very well thought and designed "In Page Editing" feature which makes it easy also for non experienced users to create and maintain their website easily.
I can highly recommend concrete5 as a very powerful yet easy to handle CMS

Pluspunten: CLean & good code structure, Easy to create a website.

Minpunten: None!

Antwoord van de leverancier

van concrete5 op 17-4-2017

Thanks!

Amazing Website Editing Experience!!!

Beoordeeld op 4-11-2017
Nikolas V.
Director
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Open-Source with MIT License, soure code provided and is free, many blocks available and it can easily be modified to have different look and feel.

Pluspunten: Drag and Drop editor, customization of blocks and layouts is a piece of cake. Really don't think that I would live without this software.

Minpunten: No mature ecommerce package available for this software, there is package but is outdated. It could have an ecommerce package that would but as awesome as the CMS.

Awesome, Professional.....Good for programming dumb like me

Beoordeeld op 1-8-2019
Chatchom J.
VP
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I need a website that is responsive to the customer with choices of theme and concrete5 served it.

Pluspunten: Drag and Drop,
What you see is what you get,
Fast and simple to understand procedure

Minpunten: It consumes a bit too much storage and too little choices of font.

A brilliant CMS solution for the real web developer

Beoordeeld op 17-12-2018
Jamey m. Y.
Content Creator
Internet, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: GetApp
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: If you're a web developer, this is a powerful solution for building a content management system without tricking a blog into being a website and without building a solution from scratch.

Minpunten: It's not as quick to get up and running as say a WordPress site, but the customizability and efficiency of not having to trick the system to do something it's not really made for is well worth it.

Concrete5 Has Lots of Potential

Beoordeeld op 21-6-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Owner
Marketing en reclame, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Concrete5 has made it easy for my company to build sites/blogs for the niches that we market to.

Pluspunten: Concrete5 makes it easy to get a novice blogger on their way to building a content-based website with a short learning curve. Writing and adding photos is pretty simple. One of the cool features is the ability to create a site that also has its own blog, without having to create two different sites or use two different platforms.

Minpunten: Because it's not wildly popular (yet), finding add-ons and plugins takes a bit of work and research. And some functionality just isn't available yet.

Easy, drag and drop type of website creator

Beoordeeld op 26-8-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Content Producer
Verzekeringen, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Concrete5 allows its users a sweat-free creation of a website. It’s versatile and simple. Being a content producer, I am tasked to create websites to promote our clients and their offers. Concrete5 has helped me achieve that goal without the need for coding.

Minpunten: Package is good but outdated. Bugs are also noted a few times. Besides that, it still works better than other similar software. Still gets the job done easily and without much hassle.

Beoordeeld op 13-8-2016
Justin R.
Web & Brand Design
Design en ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: GetApp
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Quality vs price

Beoordeeld op 20-4-2017
Jason P.
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: A developer has to make a living, but some of the much needed add-ons for concrete5 are very expensive compared to other counterpart CMS systems. I like some of the features including active dev forums, but it also still has a lot of bugs and limitations. They just made a huge update not to long ago that really nullifies anything you are running previously.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van concrete5 op 20-4-2017

I'd love to know which add-ons you're referring to? Generally concrete5 ships with far more in the box than most of our competition. Advanced permissions, caching, even bulk SEO tools are all built right in.

The best CMS

Beoordeeld op 17-4-2017
Michele L.
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Opmerkingen: I've been using concrete5 for years, and I've been always happy with it. I love its powerful features, it's simplicity, its flexibility and its user friendliness.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van concrete5 op 17-4-2017

thx