Helpt Nederlandse bedrijven al 15 jaar
bij het vinden van de juiste software

Over LibreOffice

De app waarmee je elk Microsoft Word-document, Excel-spreadsheet en Powerpoint-bestand kunt maken, bewerken en bekijken.

Meer informatie over LibreOffice

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice Math: it's basically a math support useful for writing formulas, and can be used as an integration for the Writer module. Useful if you don't use any LateX or LateX-based software.

Minpunten:

I hate the fact that I've hesitated so long to actually try LibreOffice.

Beoordelingen van LibreOffice

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,3
Klantenservice
3,9
Functies
4,2
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,7

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

8,3/10

LibreOffice heeft een totaalscore van 4,3 van 5 sterren op basis van 2.186 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je LibreOffice eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (2.186)

Justin
Justin
Senior DevOps Engineer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great alternative to Office with compatibility getting better all the time

5,0 3 jaar geleden
Bijschriften in het Nederlands beschikbaar in de videospeler
Ali
Ali
Server Administrator in Marokko
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best free open source Office suite tools

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Great tool that i like to use every day, very fast and lightweight compared to Microsoft office or other office productivity tools.

Pluspunten:

After OpenOffice got acquired by Oracle, the source code was forked under the name LibreOffice which turned to be a better more reliable project, independent from any for profit companies that may end up sabotaging the development of this great productivity suite tools that are great alternative to Microsoft Office. The suite include the following tools : LibreOffice Calc - Spreadsheets creation, editing and management tool best alternative to Office Excel LibreOffice Writer - Document creation, editing and management tool best alternative to Microsoft Word LibreOffice Impress - Presentation creation, editing and management tool best alternative to Powerpoint LibreOffice Base - Database creation, editing and management tool best alternative to Microsoft Access LibreOffice Draw - Vector graphics Creation, editing and management tool, alternative to Adoble illustrator, Microsoft Visio, Inkscape... LibreOffice Math - Math documents creation and management tool.

Minpunten:

Macro function is not that reliable yet, and although LibreOffice is open source it seems the development of the project is very slow, very little functions or UI changes are added after every release.

Ron
Ron
Project Manager in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Excellent for small businesses!

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, LibreOffice was a very nice and useful tool to have in the office, before transitioning to GSuite. The features in LibreOffice are more powerful than GSuite, generally speaking, and there are far more use cases. However, the likelihood of incompatibility or data corruption when transitioning between LibreOffice to other similar software is a little bit higher, even if it can be negligible. That said, it is still a fantastic choice of software, and it's up to you to determine whether or not the pros balance out or exceed the cons. I believe it's worth a shot!

Pluspunten:

The software mimics Microsoft Office quite a bit, so the learning curve is very small. Being that the software is free and open source, it's an excellent ethical addition to the workplace especially during a time where pirated software can be frequently found in the small business world.

Minpunten:

Compatibility between MS Office and GSuite can be dicey sometimes. Most use cases are fine and not worth worrying, but if you do a lot of work with importing and exporting data and need a consistent way to edit/parse it, LibreOffice may not be your best initial choice for the workplace. LibreOffice can also be slow depending on your computer; a lot of the stuff that is trivially quick to do in a program such as Excel can be a little bit of a crunch with LibreOffice's equivalent.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

An alternative option to Microsoft 365 products

5,0 2 maanden geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: I've been using LibreOffice as an alternative to Microsoft 365 products since they are not available on Linux. LibreOffice is really good, the performance is great and does all necessary functions.

Pluspunten:

The software is easy to install, it's light and fast, the interface is similar to other similar products, all features are easy to find.

Minpunten:

Some feature icons are too small in my opinion.

Hagen
- in Noorwegen
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Not for everyone, but great that it's there

3,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: It's not easy to specify LibreOffice's niche, and it depends a lot on the technical abilities of the users. For scientific publishing and documents there is LaTeX. Technically also for presentations, but I didn't bother so far. For notes, simple text-based collaboration and even website publishing I recommend markdown. For posters and flyers use InDesign. All of these require more or less experience and reading documentation. I think LibreOffice fills the gap for those who just need a general-purpose Document processor from time to time or use it's web-based version by Collabora to collaborate. While these people could use Google Docs or Microsoft Office as well -- and I even recommend them from a usability perspective -- these come with a significant hidden cost, given the dependencies on Microsoft Windows in the one case and the unclear situation around "telemetry" in both cases, aka. they might spy on your documents, which is potentially problematic. If your documents contain personal or company-internal information -- they almost definitely do -- think twice if you might want to bite one of the other sour apples: Spending time on learning a more specialized tool, getting used to LibreOffice's okay but suboptimal usability, building specialized web-based applications for your use-case, or automating those people who spend their whole day in Excel-Sheets.

Pluspunten:

Well, obviously the main argument to use LibreOffice is that it's released under a free license and therefore free to use, in general. But aside the zero price, LibreOffice plays an important political role that affects companies all over the world: Microsoft Office is the undisputed market leader in native Document software, which effectively keeps people and organizations from switching to free operating systems, since it's dependent on either a Microsoft operating system, or an even more expensive macOS. Given the previous monoculture in this space, the importance of LibreOffice as a free alternative, that can be made to run on any operating system and even be used web-based is outstanding. Writer and Calc, the most important ones, are not perfect but usable pieces of software I would recommend to my mother. The worry about file format incompatibilities with Microsoft Office seems to be much less of a problem nowadays. And I would recommend you anyway to use free document formats inside your organization and PDF Forms (LibreOffice Writer and Draw help you with that.) and HTML sites for everything that leaves the house.

Minpunten:

Bad experiences mostly come from LibreOffice Impress. It works for me to create simple presentations with simple animations, which is everything I need. But even that is kind of annoying: Creating a blank slide involves changing the "Master Background" which is apparently decoupled from the slide layout, which is as unintuitive as it gets, and often starting an itemized list creates arbitrary bullet sizes, indentations and font styles you have to take care of.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

An alternative to Microsoft 365

4,0 2 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: I've been using LibreOffice on Ubuntu because Microsoft 365 products are unfortunately not compatible with Linux, so I use LibreOffice, which is pretty useful and life saver.

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice is a simple and fast software, provided with a similitar interface from other similar products, several features, it's free and doesn't need paid subscriptions, it's an optimized software.

Minpunten:

The interface is similar to how all features and tools are organized, the thing is that this interface seems to be pretty old, like a 2014 UI.

Zuhairah
Zuhairah
Marketing Communications Specialist in Maleisië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Internet, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Free office suite

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: It save some of my budget for my software costing as this software is free to use either or work or personal purposes. They may not have have all the premium feature that bigger software like Microsoft Office has, but they still has their own strength.

Pluspunten:

The best feature with LibreOffice is the flexibility of the document format that can open other software document format like .docx or doc. It is very important because it will not change the document layout and placement of the text or table. It is free to use and using open source which it will receive constant update from user to upgrade the software.

Minpunten:

This software is full of bugs and things to be fix. The auto-save feature is not as reliable and i have experience my document is crashing and the auto-save can't recovering the document back to the last save point. I had to create the document back from the start and it is consuming so much time.

Jessica
Customer Service and Product Manager in VS
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Libra office is a great software for company to utilize

5,0 3 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: It has been easy to use. Easy to transition. Has a lot of similarity features of Microsoft office, and because of that was not difficult in transitioning. We have had a very pleasant experience thus far, and would recommend it to any small business.

Pluspunten:

I like the fact that it works can compatibility to Microsoft Office. Our previous documentations are mostly in Microsoft so when using Libre office, it was easy to transfer everything over.

Minpunten:

I haven’t found anything that I do not like about this software

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

LibreOffice as a Productivity Tool

4,0 7 maanden geleden

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice is a good option for Linux users who need office tools. LibreOffice is free to use and has many great features that can provide your needs in daily activity.

Minpunten:

LibreOffice needs to add more features to its product and also there's a problem with compatibility in file extension in LibreOffice. LibreOffice is not the best option if you do a work with multiproduct such as Microsoft or Google.

Aubrianna
Music Teacher in VS
Schoolleiding, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Liber Office Use

5,0 2 weken geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Liver Office is functional and useable. I still use it upon occasion, especially since running out of drive storage on Google Drive.

Pluspunten:

Libre office takes some navigating after using other document programs, but it works well once you figure out the ins and outs.

Minpunten:

Sometimes changing formats could be difficult, not being used to Libre Office as much- but it wasn’t long until I figured things out.

Cédric
Responsable IT in Frankrijk
Computernetwerken, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Libre Office

4,0 vorige week Nieuw

Pluspunten:

It is a complete and lightweight office suite.

Minpunten:

The graphical interface seems quite old and basic.

Aaron
Pastor in VS
Religieuze instellingen, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Good if not Better than other office products

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I use this product to prepare my weekly lessons and lectures at our church. I use it for writing welcome letter to visitors and a variety of other things for my ministry.

Pluspunten:

I like not having to pay for a monthly subscription to use a software I use every day. This software allows me to use files from other word processors and office suites without having to worry if I will be able to open them or not. I don't understand why the bigger companies have gotten so greedy with these monthly cloud services when little guys like Libre can offer the same capabilities at a fraction of the cost.

Minpunten:

The only gripe I have of the software is: 1) I don't like how the track changes is automatically applied to documents that were from other platforms 2) It may have it, but I have yet to find a label maker on the software.

Karla Brigitte
University Intern in Ecuador
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Farmaceutica, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

LibreOffice: Free and Powerful Office Suite for All Your Needs

4,0 vorig jaar

Opmerkingen: During my internship in the pharmaceutical product development and research department at the University, LibreOffice proved to be a valuable tool. The suite of applications, including Writer and Calc, allowed us to create scientific reports, analyze data, and present findings effectively. The compatibility with Microsoft Office file formats ensured seamless collaboration with colleagues using different office software. LibreOffice's intuitive interface and robust feature set made it easy for us to generate high-quality documents and perform complex calculations. As an open-source solution, LibreOffice was particularly beneficial for our budget-conscious research department, providing a cost-effective alternative to commercial office suites. Overall, LibreOffice played a crucial role in our daily operations and contributed to our productivity in the pharmaceutical research field.

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice offers several notable advantages. Firstly, as an open-source software, it is free to use, making it an accessible option for individuals and organizations with budget constraints. The suite includes powerful applications like Writer, Calc, Impress, and Draw, providing comprehensive solutions for word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, and graphic design. The compatibility with Microsoft Office file formats ensures seamless collaboration and easy migration of files. Additionally, the user-friendly interface and intuitive features make it easy to create and edit documents. The community-driven development of LibreOffice ensures regular updates and improvements, keeping the software up to date with the latest standards and technologies. Furthermore, the availability of LibreOffice on multiple platforms, including Windows, macOS, and Linux, allows users to work across different operating systems without compatibility issues.

Minpunten:

While LibreOffice has many advantages, it also has a few limitations. One of the primary concerns is the compatibility with complex Microsoft Office files, especially those with advanced formatting or macros, which may not render perfectly in LibreOffice. Additionally, the user interface of LibreOffice may feel less polished compared to commercial office suites, requiring some adjustment for users accustomed to other office software. While the community-driven development ensures regular updates, the pace of new feature introductions may be slower compared to commercial alternatives. Furthermore, the availability of technical support for LibreOffice may not be as extensive as that offered by commercial software vendors.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A worth replacement for commercial suites

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I used for several years Openoffice and moved flawlessly to LibreOffice. Also if I have an institutional license for Office, I only use it in few occasion when I have to work on extremely macro-configured documents to be shared with colleagues. I daily work with LibreOffice, I appreciate the alternative to commercial suites and love to support it!

Pluspunten:

It is free, it has a wide support and development, with improvements and bugs correction. I cannot but support FLOSS (free libre open source). It has all the major features of other more expensive suites, and I prefer so much its interface compared with Office... There are a lot of free extensions to configure the app at your taste, and a strong community to rely when looking for support.

Minpunten:

I find weak the image management in Write, and the lack of recording presentations in Impress (the latter not really relevant in a daily workflow).

Praveen
Praveen
Electrical and electronics engineer in Duitsland
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A free and powerfull office alternative to microsoft office products

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, this is a great software suite for office. There is hardly anything that you can find fault in and it offers almost everything that is offered by the premium options. On top of everything else, it is completely free. It is a truly great software and I recommend it very highly. You might end up never paying for an office suite again.

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice is a full suite of office software including products for editing documents, presentations, spreadsheets, databases and vector graphics that are on par with what other competitors offer. On top of that, it's completely free! Even for commercial use. It's compatible with all microsoft file formats such as .word , .ppt etc. Although this product is free, you will not see advertisements and there is no hidden paywalls. There is a great team of developers behind it which ensures you are constantly updated with the latest features that are on par with premium softwares such as those from Microsoft. The user interface will be not what you are used to if you are switching from Microsoft office, but it's not a deal breaker as you will quickly get used to it.

Minpunten:

There is no cloud storage available if you relied on cloud syncing capabilities of your previous office suite. But this can be easily solved by manually uploading your documents or setting up something like Dropbox or Google Drive for your computer. There are also less templates compared to Microsoft Office but you have the option to find and manually install them from the internet.

David
Retired in VS
Medische apparatuur, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Microsoft Office alternative worth checking out

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We originally chose LibreOffice because it seemed to be the closest to which we were familiar. My wife (long-term MS Word user with a Master's degree) struggled finding the functions she needed as opposed to how she did it in Word and got very frustrated. We tried it for probably a month before switching back to Office 365

Pluspunten:

All of the fairly simple functions of MS Word are here, too. Even some of the medium-complex functions are included if you know how to find them. Never really got as far as needing the advanced functions so not sure about those.

Minpunten:

We had some compatibility issues with other documents created in MS Word or other apps and then discovered that the version we were using had some goofy defaults that allowed this compatibility to happen (as I recall).... it cleared up after we adjusted the settings but it probably shouldn't have been this way.

Hafizah
Hafizah
Assistant Manager Business Development in Maleisië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Telecommunicatie, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

More than just a free software

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

The software provides everything I would expect from an "office" software package. It's light, which is terrific if you're running it on a PC with an outdated processor or limited RAM. Also, this software has the feel of "earlier" MS Office editions, so if you're seeking for something similar, this is an excellent option.

Minpunten:

I suppose the user interface might be a little more current; some people enjoy it, while others dislike it. It doesn't bother me. Although you can't expect flawless for this price, I don't have any concerns or dislikes with this software. Overall, a fantastic product that i enjoy using it.

Nairoby
Nairoby
Consultor in Venezuela
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Telecommunicatie, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Use makes the expert

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

- For those who do not know, is the competence of Microsoft Office, open source and I can say with complete certainty that it is very good and can perform almost all the same, if we are casual non-advanced users. - It is easy to install, intuitive and easy to use, it is multiplatform, it comes in different languages, it has a portable version that can be carried on a pendrive. - Currently I use the version Version: 5.0.1.2 and although it is free, I do not have the freedom to update it in the pc of my work. - A great advantage of LibreOffice package tools over your competition, is that I can export to PDF or HTML without installing anything additional, as it is included in your menu. - It is important to familiarize yourself with the format in which the documents are stored as it can be confusing when sharing with another person, usually sent in .odt or in the case of Cal I send it .ods and if by chance they tell me that they can not open it, because what I do is recommend that you download LibreOffice before converting it. - You can make tables, insert images, graphics, make macros, bring templates by default for trades, communications, cards, curriculum, all tools are compatible among themselves, from my point of view has greater variety in fonts. - If you want to start in the world of free software, the first step is to install LibreOffice.

Minpunten:

LibreOffice allows you to open a .doc, an .xls, but it is possible that something will move or something will be unraveled at the design level, the content will be there but something can be distorted. Cal has its limitations in terms of macros, the number of columns, has few styles of graphics compared to Excel. The documents in LibreOffice seem to be slower to open.

Rajatkumar
Android Developer in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

LibreOffice - A genuine helper

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: My organization generally follows linux principle to work upon. Opneness of code and development in open source technology like Kubernetes, java, python. Our primary os is Ubuntu. For that reasons, LibreOffice is a natural choice for Office work and collaborative report generations. Overall happy with my choice as libreoffice as it is not expensive as MS Office.

Pluspunten:

It is freely available. It supports the Windows, Linux both environment. Adaption of notebook bar recently is very helpful in organizing menus and choosing tasks. Most important tool for me as a report maker of whole day work is .. Export to PDF. Portable format support. Rapid and active development of this project is plus one point here. zotero plugin support for libre-office is undeniably useful for researcher and uni students open server collaboration facility is useful for online collaborative work support for wide variety of extension and file format makes it a desirable choice. some small suggestion box and tools are implemented very well targeting the need of end user

Minpunten:

some issues are regarding formatting.. several times you get a faded document once you open an MS Word document here. There is compatibility issue with respect to MS format and The document foundation format. ODF formats are not widely acceptable due to dominance of Microsoft Office products. Recent changes in interface are good. but need more of that to match with modern era

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Research, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Does most things. Does them easily. Does them for free.

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I have used LibreOffice for years in tandem with Microsoft Office -- largely to do work on personal systems that did not have Microsoft Office licenses. Keeping the limitations of LibreOffice and it's compatibility with Microsoft Office in mind, I have run into few issues using it in this capacity. In many ways, I prefer the more traditional outlook of LibreOffice to Microsoft Office; while Microsoft is switching its software to primarily using cloud-based saving, LibreOffice does not make the maddening assumption that the user will never want to store a file on the local system. And as LibreOffice is regularly updated, I am certain that it will continue to get better, rather than more annoying to use.

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice is actually a suite of software products. That said, the biggest pro of the entire suite is that it offers virtually all of the functionality found in the Microsoft Office suite at none of the cost. This review focuses on Writer, Calc, and Impress as those are what I use. Writer, in particular, spares no feature I can possibly imagine needing for standard word processing tasks (such as writing reports). Unless there is a specific feature in Word that is needed for something -- what that would even be, I don't know -- Writer does the job just as well. Similar points to Calc and Impress -- although the differences can be a bit more glaring in those cases. Still, for most users in most contexts, the LibreOffice suite is more than suitable. Plus, on Linux, it's really your best and only option.

Minpunten:

Navigating the GNUsphere can be a little weird for the uninitiated. For the user reading this review, you likely have knowledge of what you're getting into -- or at least a strong enough interest in using Office software for free to figure it out. However, the code behind formatting rules in Writer, as an example, differs from that of Word even if the actual formatting rules are the same. So sending a LibreOffice-generated document to a colleague using Microsoft Office can sometimes lead to strange formatting problems and additional work. In the case of Calc and Impress, users will likely find that the features simply do not stack up to those offered in Microsoft Office's equivalents. Particularly with Calc, equivalents to certain advanced formulas found in Excel may not exist, or may not operate in the same manner.

Dorothy
Subprioress / Vice President in VS
Religieuze instellingen, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Excellent Quality, Price Right

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We are a small women's monastery and don't have a big budget, so we look for inexpensive but dependable ways to keep costs low. LibreOffice certainly does this. I would recommend it both to individuals and organizations.

Pluspunten:

LibreOffice is similar to MS Office, enough so that moving from MS to Libre is seamless. Impress (Powerpoint equivalent) works well for slide presentations--and I also use it for desktop publishing. The only function it lacks for that use is text flow from column to column, which I always found troublesome anyway. I've been doing newsletters in Impress for many years and recommend it. I also like Libre because from the beginning it could read .doc and .docx, whereas MS Word has only been able to read open document formats like .odt since 2010. So collaboration with those who use MS products has always been possible, because Libre has always had the ability to save in MS formats. Back when PDF editors were not common, I used first OpenOffice Draw, then LibreOffice Draw to edit PDFs. I find Calc, the spreadsheet part of Libre, good to work with except for one function which I mention below. LibreOffice is open-source software, meaning that anyone who has the skills can contribute to its development. And although The Document Foundation, which manages the development of LibreOffice, always appreciates donations, the software itself is free of charge.

Minpunten:

There is one function which may not be missing in Calc, but which for me is more difficult to use than the same function in MS Excel. That is searching for and deleting duplicates, for example in a mailing list. I wouldn't say it's intuitive in either software, but easier for me to figure out in Excel. The only other thing I can say that can, but doesn't always, make for difficulties, is if you are collaborating with a group using mixed operating systems, e.g. Linux and Windows. The versions of LibreOffice for each of these OSes are just slightly different, as one might expect. A certain amount of alertness is necessary when one OS sends a document to another--occasionally formatting can change when opened in Libre on a different OS. But we have not found that to be a big problem although we have used a mix of Linux and Windows for many years.

Alessandro
Student in Italië
Machine- en installatiebouw, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Free, open source, versatile and super compatible Suite

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I'm a student and use Writer and Calc on a daily basis and Impress and Base when needed be. They are easy to use, free and compatible with many OS and programs (you can also open .doc documents from Word of the Office suite, for instance).

Pluspunten:

As mentioned in the title, this software is free, is open source and can ran on every O.S. (be it one of the countless Linux's distributions, Windows or Mac OS). One thing to notice is that this is a complete Suite, not a single software. In fact to my knowledge 6 software are included: - LibreOffice Calc (spreadsheet): it's your daily spreadsheet companion and I think it's actually neater than his cousin from the Office suite... I mean its design is a bit simpler but I like some little things, like having the default shortcut for "save as" as a simple ctrl+shift+S. I mean, everything is about where I would expect it to be. - LibreOffice Writer (for formatted text documents): it's got everything you need for well formatted text documents with images. Set you own style, choose everything bout your text, from font and color up to the detailed hyphenation parameters, write what you need then export your file in pdf if needed be. - LibreOffice Impress (for presentations with slides) - LibreOffice Base (for databases): I don't have that much to say about this module as I haven't used it a lot but from my experience it seems to have all the basic functionalities and is intuitive enough - LibreOffice Math: it's basically a math support useful for writing formulas, and can be used as an integration for the Writer module. Useful if you don't use any LateX or LateX-based software. - LibreOffice Draw (for simple computer graphics): can't say much since I don't think I have ever used it

Minpunten:

- About LibreOffice Math: I've hardly ever used though since I find LateX based software a lot more useful and intuitive in case I need to write many formulas and integrate them with the rest of the document... I might reevaluate this module in the future but for the moment. - About LibreOffice Writer: if your document is too long and has many images, the programs gets a little slow, especially when saving (it gets up to 10 seconds for documents of about 50 pages and a good number of figures), so when I use it to write my classes' notes I usually fragmentate them in more than one document. Overall you can create very nice documents but if they are too big and you have a little bit of time I would suggest to use a LateX based program (as mentioned above). - About LibreOffice Calc: I have noticed that if you make many copies of a sheet with graphs and apply some changes, sometimes it doesn't update everithing right away... it looks like, as for writer, very large documents are not (yet, who knows about future versions) advisable.

Oliur
Oliur
Marketing Manager in Bangladesh
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computernetwerken, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A free and powerful office suite for both business & personal usage.

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: My overall experience with LibreOffice has been fantastic. Prior to using this, I used to use Microsoft Office, which is a bit pricey for personal use, but when I discovered that LibreOffice can do all of my work perfectly and deliver exactly what I want, I switched to it and saved some money in the process. It is quick and easy to use, and it includes all of the necessary tools, such as the ability to edit any document in Word, create a spreadsheet in Excel, or create a Powerpoint presentation. As an open source, free, and powerful office suite, LibreOffice is one of my favorites.

Pluspunten:

I've been using Libre Office for quite some time, and it's one of my favorite free tools. It's simple and easy to use, and it works on all major platforms, including Mac, Linux, and Windows. It integrates all of the major office tools, such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, and is extremely fast and accurate. The most important feature is that it is completely free in comparison to Microsoft Office. It can also handle all types of office files with ease, which I appreciate. Its simple interface and feature-rich tools allow you to express yourself and increase your productivity. The Libre Office suite is a fantastic office suite.

Minpunten:

LibreOffice, in my experience, is a great way to save money over Microsoft Office while still getting all of your work done. But I've noticed that it doesn't cover all of Microsoft Office's features, but it still gets the job done, so there's nothing to complain about. Also, I'm hoping they'll fix the compatibility issues and add all of the files that make up an entire office suite so that anyone can convert to LibreOffice. LibreOffice is a great tool and it helps in my personal & business works.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Detailhandel, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Why subscribe to a tool when you can own it

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Used WordStar, word Perfect, Ms Word and a handful of others. While this may not be as shiny, it can be as powerful and eventually as good. I am loving the open source and public domain type products that don't fleece you with subscriptions and having to pay extra for all the features.

Pluspunten:

After learning the specific alternatives to the icon tools and key strokes, this has been as good as the other brand's alternative

Minpunten:

A slight learning curve, but not really a problem.

Ubed
Verification expert in India
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer

"LibreOffice: A Comprehensive and Free Alternative to Microsoft Office"

5,0 vorig jaar

Opmerkingen: LibreOffice is a solid and comprehensive alternative to proprietary office suites like Microsoft Office. It offers a wide range of features that meet the needs of most users, including word processing, spreadsheet editing, presentation creation, and more.LibreOffice's open-source nature also means that it has a large user community and is constantly being improved and updated. However, it may take some time for users who are accustomed to other office suites to adjust to LibreOffice's interface and features.Overall, if you're looking for a free and feature-rich office suite that is compatible with multiple operating systems, LibreOffice is definitely worth considering.

Pluspunten:

Pros:Free and open-source: LibreOffice is completely free to download, use, and distribute. It is also open-source software, meaning that the source code is freely available for anyone to modify and improve upon.Cross-platform compatibility: LibreOffice runs on Windows, Mac, and Linux operating systems, making it a great choice for people who use different platforms.Feature-rich: LibreOffice comes with a comprehensive suite of productivity tools, including a word processor, spreadsheet editor, presentation creator, and more. It also offers advanced features such as PDF import and export, macro recording, and compatibility with multiple file formats.Customizable: LibreOffice is highly customizable, allowing users to adjust the user interface, keyboard shortcuts, and menus to suit their preferences.

Minpunten:

Cons:Limited cloud integration: While LibreOffice offers some cloud integration options, it is not as robust as other office suites like Microsoft Office or Google Workspace.Compatibility issues: Despite its efforts to support multiple file formats, LibreOffice may still encounter compatibility issues when opening or saving files created in other office suites.Learning curve: Users who are used to other office suites may need some time to adjust to LibreOffice's user interface and features.Limited support: While LibreOffice has a large user community, it does not have the same level of professional support as other office suites.

Jayne
Jayne
Consultant in VS
Management non-profit organisaties, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

reliable, powerful, essential

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I'm a consultant with nonprofits and work with clients all over the world, most using Microsoft products. We've been able to work together, sharing files and editing each other's work, very easily. Sharing files is a substantial part of my work, so it's essential I have a reliable tool.

Pluspunten:

What I love about this software is that it's free and of high quality. It looks and feels like any word processing, slide show presentation or spreadsheet software, including Microsoft's office products. It does everything I want it to do in terms of producing documents, creating presentations and crunching numbers. I can open old files created in other programs relatively easily, and I can save my material as a Microsoft file, which my clients usually prefer.

Minpunten:

The support documentation is lacking, and the support forums often aren't helpful to those of us who are not software programmers and coders. I'm an end-user and need help focused on someone that is simply using the software for everyday office tasks - but often, I cannot figure out how to find that help. Also, saving a file as a Microsoft file often affects the layout - not in a good way. There also seems to be some accessibility issues - I created files for a client who told me this, but she couldn't easily explain what the problem was.