OpenStack - A open-source software platform for cloud computing.

Beoordeeld op 18-2-2019
Gurleen K.
Software Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I am working with the OpenStack IaaS from past many years and it surely increases the software delivery speed. The unified management helps in tracking the CloudForm cost. We can also control our resource accounting to the compliance of the product.

Pluspunten: OpenStack is a open-source software platform used for cloud computing. Rackspace Hosting and NASA mutually launched it in 2010. OpenStack architecture is simple and easy to understand and implement. The Heat orchestration provide an ample amount of template to implement the main service pipeline. It simplifies the control for managing the large amount of computing, storage and networking. Dashboard gives the complete infrastructural view and gives the platform to administrate the things in the single web interface. Managing the virtualization of storage, CPU, memory and other resource is easy with using IaaS.

Minpunten: Public, Private cloud distribution work more efficiently but it needs huge time to setup according to your infrastructures requirement and same time we need for the upgrade of service or product. The other thing I least like in it is management of containers should be more simple as it is one of the most useful feature of OpenStack.

The revolution in the Cloud

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Prasuk J.
Development Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Whatever could be done is being done by openstack foundation. A plenty of projects are being ran under the Openstack foundation, be it core services like Network, Compute, Storage or additional services Containerization, Microservices everything is here at openstack.

Minpunten: The Openstack being opensource has a lot of things to be done yet the contributors are put a lot of there efforts for a fully stable Openstack.

OpenStack provided a great integration with our RackSpace products already in place!

Beoordeeld op 18-1-2018
Gregg C.
Project Manager
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: The scalability of the cloud environment is a great feature. OpenStack and RackSpace work to get you a cloud environment that can store all your data and handle many users working in the environment.

Not skilled in the cloud--Rackspace helps this.

Beoordeeld op 16-3-2018
Robert R.
Senior Director
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: We didn't have the necessary staff or know how to operate a cloud platform. The technology of clouds can be daunting but Rackspace made it simple to use.. It is a good product for the money.

I use openstack every day

Beoordeeld op 13-3-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Cloud Developer
Telecommunicatie, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: It's very easy to use and highly scalable.

Minpunten: It requires some degree of familiarity with the command line.

Tested different cloud management platforms

Beoordeeld op 31-7-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Co Founder
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: The biggest pro of OpenStack is that it's an open-source cloud management platform. - Great performance and scalability.
- New features on a regular basis such as High Availability with Cyborg and support for vGPU.
- Very active community around this product.

Minpunten: Cons:
- OpenStack is difficult to start with and has a steep learning curve.
- CloudStack is not easy to setup and configure, my recommendation would be to find a good class and safe a lot of frustration.
- Documentation needs work.
- As there's a million of different configuration options and features I would advice anyone to carefully reviews if OpenStack is the right product for your use case.

Great cloud computing service

Beoordeeld op 30-11-2018
Chanuka P.
Student
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Application development need this service.

Pluspunten: The application has user friendly interfaces for everyday tasks and virtual machines for computational tasks. Also it provides fast and accurate results on virtual machine processes.

Minpunten: This can be bit slow when the application have to perform high IO operations. And this may not be suitable for small businesses. Also the application is difficult to understand for any new users.

Awesome

Beoordeeld op 18-5-2017
Alex A.
Solutions Architect
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: A huge pro with this software is that it is better than AWS. And it is open-source as well as easy to use.

Minpunten: A con with this software is that it is not available as on premises. That is the only thing I can think of at this time.

Great IAAS

Beoordeeld op 1-12-2018
Jason T.
Associate
Farmaceutica, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Open source software that virtualizes servers to save costs and space without need for a data center

Minpunten: Latency and time to retrieval could be faster than it is now