Dynamic and Interactive Reports

Beoordeeld op 4-10-2018
SAP Business one Consultant
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: If I need dynamic, impressive reports, SAP crystal reports is very flexible and offers many solutions to various requirements

Pluspunten: 1. Depending on the report requirements, Crystal reports has great capabilities to allow you to create all kinds of reports. You can place images, forms etc using OLE.
2. It allows a user to define multiple data sources, making it flexible when transferring to different platforms.
3. It allows a user to conditionally suppress sections within the report which enables certain parameters to be checked in certain sections of the report.
4. It enables the drill-down feature which allows the final user of the report to drill down further within a report to view more specific details.
5. It can do complex queries and allows a user to incorporate SQL statements in a flexible manner.
6. A user can create sub-reports, group selections and easily format various sections of the report in order to achieve different requirements.
7. It allows format parameters to be used easily and flexibly e.g. one item on the report can be bolded and displayed in italics due to specified parameters.
8. Supports different types of data sources e.g. HANA, MS SQL, Excel etc

Minpunten: 1. For a new user, it might be challenging to create new reports and one might not fully utilize most of the features.
2. Graphical features such as charts are not as enhanced as in other reporting tools.
3. Development of complex reports might take a bit of time depending on the user's experience level
4. When you export a report created with crystal reports to excel, there is a lot of distortion depending on the excel format. It will take a lot of trial and error and eventually, the data on the report is hard to edit on excel.
5. It might crash often after a software update.

Crystal Reports Helps Companies See Through To Their Business Info

Beoordeeld op 19-11-2015
David D.
Report Developer
Computersoftware
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Learning Crystal Reports is only part of the educational process for learning Business Intelligence Reporting. You need to have the fundamental ability to become familiar with how a business operates, how it uses information. You need to be able to translate a company's requirements for managing and and acting on information to the technical organization and structure of its data systems. To be a successful report developer you need to be able to speak both languages. There are some great resources out there for Crystal Reports professionals, such my own Crystal Reports group on LinkedIn, where developers meet and share ideas as well as where employers and recruiters come to find them. There is also the Crystal Reports Users Group Crystal Users group, both hosted by Yahoo Groups, which have been serving and supporting Crystal Reports professionals for over a decade. Plus many web sites, online tutorials, video tutorials, skills training and more. Just don't forget that there are two sides to Business Intelligence Reporting - and Crystal Reports is only one of them. Crystal Reports is a highly featured and flexible business intelligence tool that has been around for over 2 decades. It is database independent, meaning you can develop reports against just about any database or structured file format, from Microsoft SQL and Oracle, to flat file to text file to spreadsheets to anything for which you can access via ODBC, DAO, XML, OLE DB, JDBC and many more protocols. Crystal Reports integrates seamlessly into SAP BusinessObjects Enterprise products as well as other SAP data management products. Reports can link tables internally within the design template, or developers can build their own external SQL Queries, views, stored procedures or universes and build their reports off those data sources. Crystal also allows developers to script their custom own SQL-based query in the Database Editor. And if your data source changes, Crystal provides tools for mapping your existing report over to the new similarly structured data source. Record selection formulas can help filter out unwanted data to improve the efficiency of report performance. Crystal Reports has a highly flexible report design editor that features multi-pass linear data processing, allowing analysis to be performed while reading records as while printing records. Data may be grouped or sorted based on raw data or on formulas that can analyze and manipulate record data for customized processing. Crystal Reports allows developers to create virtually any kind of data-based report, from tabular column listings to data-driven letters to charts, cross-tabs, free-form and (pre-printed) form-fitting solutions. Extensive summary functions, running totals, and a rich formula programming language (Crystal also supports Basic syntax) provide unlimited opportunity to manage and manipulate raw data for analysis and presentation to the customer, be it a management report, operations report or customer-facing report. With sub-reports, it is possible to link together tangentially Connected Data sources, expanding the opportunities of publishing relevant information onto a single page or report. Individually formattable multi-section detail, page and group headers and footer sections allow the developer to play with suppression, paging and other formatting options and formulas. Crystal Reports is a WSIWYG design tool, allowing you to see what you are doing as you do it. Whether you use the the grid or guidelines with the Design Tool, or the size and alignment tools with the Preview Tool, Crystal lets you create the report as you want to see it. You can integrate external images, files, or even BI products, such as Crystal Dashboards (Xelcius). Through the use of parameters, reports can be designed to include user input in the record selection, formatting and operation of the report. Reports can be generated for printing, export to Adobe Acrobat, to Microsoft Excel or many other formats. Crystal can also be easily linked into 3rd party applications through XML, Java, Visual Studio or other APIs. Crystal Reports can also be easily delivered through the Crystal Reports Server or the Business Objects Enterprise Server, providing a hosting platform for both scheduled automation and on-demand report generation.

Minpunten: For someone experienced in business intelligence, databases or programming, Crystal Reports is relatively intuitive, though it will take time and experience to learn how to fully leverage every feature. There are included tutorials that teach the basics, but real world situations often defy the simplicity of the provided solutions. There are plenty of third-party resources from Yahoo and LinkedIn groups to user support web sites and video, instructional and printed training materials. Crystal is not something that the home user can jump into. The license is relatively expensive and does not include a database server, database or other data source. Licensing for enterprise environments can get pricey quickly. While many employers hire report developers directly, there is a large community of professional report developers who work contracts, either independently or through contract employment agencies. In most cases, the employer provides the licensed Crystal Reports tool, but if a company has only infrequent report development needs, they may expect the consultant to provide their own copy of the software. SAP is really not set up for supporting the individual, however, preferring to engage the company in business-licensed products. Crystal Reports has incredible flexibility but their are limitations, mostly in formatting. Working with lines and boxes is not as flexible as, say, Microsoft Word. Charts and graphs have many features and options but they can be difficult to try and force your data to conform to the usage requirements. Graphics cannot be edited in-template, and some image formats are not supported (though you can easily convert an image to a supported format). The design tool can have issues with orphaned text at the bottom or the top of a page. While you can include comments in formulas, there is no ability to provide comments to the actual data, static, calculated value or other objects within the report design. Rules applied to the selection and manipulation of data can have unexpected results, leading to manual troubleshooting of report design and database queries. Like any piece of template design software, there are bound to be situations where you want to do something a certain way that is not supported by Crystal Reports, which can lead to frustration. But there are usually ways to think outside of the box to accomplish what you want. Crystal Reports is getting a little long in the tooth. While still one of the worlds' most popular reporting tools, It hasn't received a major update in many years, while Microsoft's SQL Server Reporting Services as well as open-source and other business intelligence competition products have grown in popularity, and it shows. The user interface and feature set hasn't significantly changed in quite a while. Of course, it was already pretty rich and complete, but it lacks the feel and finish of many current generation software products. There is also no version available for the Apple Mac, which means no support for iOS devices. Some feel that SAP doesn't see the Crystal product line as the best place for its R&D investments, pushing more data analytic based products such as Web Intelligence. I think there is room and demand for both and wish SAP would wow me with an upgrade that would transform Crystal Reports into a new generation of business intelligence reporting that sets the bar for everyone else.

Crystal Report Review from the company Controller

Beoordeeld op 16-3-2019
Brittany C.
controller
Bouw, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The most difficult problem to overcome is the necessity to be logged into the database in order to run a report.

Pluspunten: Our industry based software comes with a limited scope of canned reports and Crystal has proven to be a great supplemental reporting program. When our software falls shorts, Crystal offers many solutions. Upper level management, executives, and owning partners love how they can drill down into the finite details the Crystal reports can be built to display. And our data analysts use very detailed reports with minimal formatting exported as excel documents to create a plethora of pivot tables and other analytics including profit margin information and auditing information. I also like that the formulas are more similar to excel then other reporting syntax I have used.

Minpunten: Anyone who has built a Crystal report from scratch can tell you it can be difficult to link tables and other data source issues can cause major problems with the information. Some of this difficulty comes the complexity associated with the software tables linked to the crystal report data source of course... but I do not think the average user can pick up the syntax very easily. And I have found that advanced formatting and cascading parameters can be a major headache.

Picture perfect reporting tool

Beoordeeld op 30-3-2019
Raghavendar N.
Sr. BI consultant
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use this for some of the reports where user is looking for a particular report but not for data extract. Well, most of the reporting is done on Universe and WebI, based on the need we also use Crystal reporting. We have multiple options for defining the formula, including mathematical and logical functions. We can use advanced data analytics and visualization in the new version but not yet explored by me.

Pluspunten: Crystal report are canned report, formatted report for printing purpose, like Legal reports, they has to be printed in predefined format, with cell size/cell width or logo etc. each and everything is modifiable). This tool is picture perfect reports since each thing is customizable. You can connect to multiple databases and send the free hand SQL for querying the data

Minpunten: The security implementation is not good. Since query is done without any middle layer like BO universe, report can bring lot of data, no control on data level security etc. Also, the interface is not as good as Web Intelligence or other reporting components. Look and feel while developing is also not very friendly. Lot of adjustment to be made to make a template. Of late there are no much improvements made and it is costly for a customer to get the report created via a development project.

Powerful and easy to use

Beoordeeld op 12-3-2019
Systems Analyst
Fondsenwerving, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I love working with it and when I retire, I am going to come back as a Crystal Reports programmer. :)

Pluspunten: I love how I can take data from our database and present it in a pleasing way for our users. I have been using Crystal Reports for almost 20 years and find it very powerful. I can build a report very quickly and a few simple format changes and make it look professional. I developed a program to run a series of reports with parameters passed from the program. I can do our month end process in minutes instead of running 100 reports one at a time. So it is great for creating a report and easy to add to a .NET program to be run automagically. Pretty cool!

Minpunten: It can be time consuming to build a complex report with lots of formulas. Not a fault of the software. Just the process is long at times when you have over 100 formulas. It would be nice if there was a feature where you could easily clone a formula and then change it quickly for each situation. Although, maybe in a newer version of CR this might be possible.

I like that it customize the different reports we generate daily and multiple users can view them

Beoordeeld op 1-2-2018
Marsha J.
Support Staff
Publieke zaken, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I like that crystal report is able to customize the different reports we generate daily and multiple users can view them. Also, I like that it allows for multiple users to feed and draw data from these reports. I like that its all centralized in one place with the flexibility of expanding or changing if need be. I am impresses with how data can be formatted with the various options and once you are trained it actually easy to use.

Pluspunten: I like that crystal report is able to customize the different reports we generate daily and multiple users can view them. Also, I like that it allows for multiple users to feed and draw data from these reports. I like that its all centralized in one place with the flexibility of expanding or changing if need be. I am impresses with how data can be formatted with the various options and once you are trained it actually easy to use.

Minpunten: This tool takes time to become acquainted with, fortunate for us some of our guys were already familiar with the tool and was willing to train the other team members. The upside to this tool is once you are trained it is a good tool to use.

A bit of a learning curve, but a life saver!

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2016
Mike G.
Project Manager
Overheidsadministratie, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: My job involves working with similar data that is housed in different databases, both internal and external. Before Crystal Reports, I would pull several reports out of several databases, bring the data into Excel and run pivot tables, vlookups, etc... to be able to see the relations in the data. With Crystal Reports, as long as I have a common data field, (such as a part number) I can combine data from several different sources and run reports based on the related data. This is a much easier method. For example, I am now able to run a single report that shows our current orders, the current inventory available to fill those orders and based on that, make a single order to our vendor for re-stocking. This used to take at least 2 hours out of my day... now it is quick enough that I run the report twice a day and very rarely have stock outtages.

Pluspunten: The ability to pull and parse data from several different data sources and report on the related data sets

Minpunten: The learning curve is a bit steep, but once you set up a report, it can be re-run easily any time and as often as you need, quickly and cleanly.

A wonderful tool for the generation of reports.

Beoordeeld op 13-12-2018
Consultor de Servicio y Soporte
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use SAP Crystal Reports to generate different statistics about the problems and requests in the technological area of ​​the company, allowing to customize each report based on the characteristics and hierarchy of the end users.

Pluspunten: What I like most about this software is that it allows you to quickly transform any data source into interactive and relevant content for different users. Also integrates design, modification and visualization capabilities in different types of applications such as .NET, Java or COM and
allows end users to access and interact with reports through different means such as Web portals, mobile devices and Microsoft Office documents. In general, it is an incredible tool for the generation of different types of reports, providing the option to widely customize each of them.

Minpunten: Given the amount of tools and options that it offers, its handling is sometimes a bit complex, especially for users with little technical knowledge.

A perfect and particular reporting system

Beoordeeld op 2-2-2018
Luca C.
Senior Betting & Online DB Administrator
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Knowledge on reporting systems and different point of view on several platforms.

Pluspunten: Excellent reporting system, highly functional especially when combined with the use of SAP Universities (which are in practice a kind of DWH).
I particularly like for his different conception of reporting with the areas subdivided into sections as "groups" that comes out a bit from the concept of a paged sheet but different reasons must be made keeping in mind how the group behaves. Surely one of the best reporting systems. Excellent pixel perfect.

Minpunten: Just its peculiarity of having the sections divided and divisible by "groups", makes the drafting of the report a little more complicated, but it is something that is understood and you can easily manage it by working day after day. For the rest I think he has no particular points to the detriment of his duty and does it well.

Really effective and professional

Beoordeeld op 10-8-2018
Erue D.
IT Consultant
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: This is the traditional reporting tool that is used in many financial organizations. I have used SAP Crystal Reports 12 in my organization. We can design highly formatted reports using this tool. It can connect to multiple data sources such as ODBC, OLE DB etc. We can create reports with different formats such as pdf, csv, txt, xls, etc. We can also create html, xml reports. The price of this tool is also cheap. We can create detailed graphics, instrument panels.

Pluspunten: There are some written exercises based on SAP Crystal Report that facilitate learning.
the integration with the different IDE of development are optimized.
it is compatible with the most popular database administrators, MYSQL, SQLSERVER, POSTGRESQL. and more...
The designer of Crystal is fantastic, drag and drop add-ons to create your report.

Minpunten: I had a lot of problems and spent a lot of time trying to adjust the space between the rows. I hope that in the future, SAP Crytal Report will make it easier.
should block the sizes of pre-established and blocked sheets to avoid leaving the margins.

Software great, sales process a giant fail.

Beoordeeld op 16-8-2016
Paul H.
Programming Manager
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
1 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I received an email for 10% off and thought now was a good time to purchase the product. I ordered it and that went fine, but then I never received my license and download. I contacted customer support and they were awesome, and sent me a temporary license key and the download link! But I still have yet to receive the license key I paid for after two weeks!

Pluspunten: Crystal Reports is the standard for banded reporting. The functionality is amazing and there is almost nothing I can't do with it.

Minpunten: The subscription pricing model sucks. SHould be able to purchase once and get our value out of it.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van SAP Crystal Reports op 16-8-2016

Hi Paul.

Thanks for the review and we're glad you're liking Crystal Reports. I have notified the support team and they have found your order and are addressing the license key issue.

For your other comment on the subscription pricing, we need more clarification on that. Crystal Reports is a one-time purchase. Please follow up at [email protected]

Thanks

Daily Use

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2018
Cami H.
Controller
Groothandel, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: We currently are using the 8.5 version. We are able to use it for almost anything that we can possibly think of with our Oracle software. There isn't too much that we aren't able to filter, twist, and turn to create some sort of report that we are needing. It might take a few minutes to figure out the best way, but we eventually get to something.

Minpunten: The biggest con that I've come across is the exporting of the data into any Excel format. It seems to not carry over the same formats that we've already set in Crystal Reports. Smaller cons are things like maybe being able to filter the same data selection in more than one way or maybe also offering a "Contains" option.

Useful Tool once you know how to use it

Beoordeeld op 20-3-2019
Christina L.
LIS Analyst
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use Crystal Reports a ton. I have tons of reports scheduled to provide end users with statistics and patient data. It makes everyone's jobs easier.

Pluspunten: Crystal Reports lets you create custom reports that allows you to extract data that you need. It is a great tool to drill down to a certain level when you have a large pool of data. I love the fact that you can schedule Crystal Reports through BI, and have them emailed or saved to a network folder.

Minpunten: It isn't always intuitive. Creating formulas can be tricky and some of the functions and operators don't work as you would logically expect them to. Creating a report can be very time consuming.

Still the Champ

Beoordeeld op 23-11-2015
Tony S.
Business Analyst
Verzekeringen
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: There's a lot to like about Crystal Reports, I don't think anything else out there has the flexibility and versatility in terms of data display and formatting. Its strength is paper formatting, it's like desktop publishing software for databases.

Minpunten: There are some weaknesses, export to Excel has never been perfect (although it can get pretty close if you use vertical guides to identify where columns should go). It is so paper-oriented that if you need to make a large layout you have to find a matching paper size -- challenging if you don't have a large-format printer. And the expense of course, not for the Crystal software, but the enterprise server so that others may view and run the reports. Very spendy.

Revolutionized my daily tasks

Beoordeeld op 6-6-2018
Michael G.
Senior Project Management/Business Analysis Consultant
13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: Crystal Reports allowed me to streamline my inventory refresh ordering and my custom ordering process into a single automated report. After setting reorder points in for all of my stock items I was able to get instant reports that tell me when I need to order and avoid stock outtages. At the same time each day, I run my report, save it as an excel file and forward to my production facility!

Minpunten: Steep learning curve, but it is worth it. There is also a dependency on having good clean source data. Crystal Reports may actually point out some shortcomings in your source data and create more work short term.

Crystal Reports - Solid Reporting

Beoordeeld op 20-2-2019
Keith D.
VP, IT
Magazijnen/opslag, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've used Crystal Reports in business since 1994. Each version has improved while maintaining ease and approachability. I highly recommend this software to anyone in need of an ad-hoc or print-ready formatted reporting solution.

Pluspunten: Crystal Reports can connect to a great number of data sources. Data Export functionality is feature rich allowing for exporting to most major file formats. Learning and understanding report creation and layout is very easy.

Minpunten: Sometimes software updates can break functionality so take care in applying them. Crystal Reports is now owned by SAP, so beware of the horrible contractual and licensing agreements that may apply.

Crystal Reports - Enterprise version

Beoordeeld op 10-11-2016
Carl H.
Business Process Analyst
Nutsbedrijven, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Having been a user of Crystal Reports 2008 through 2011, I am a big fan of Crystal Reports. We have now migrated to Crystal Enterprise version and there are some big gains and a few misses with this version. The ease of use for beginners is much greater in the Enterprise version. If you are just starting out, the Enterprise version is a nice package. It features drag and drop capability, easy navigation, and plenty of customization for your visualization. There are still some nagging spots that have not been cleaned up, primarily in the formatting areas. Small things like drawing borders or creating grids are more hassle than they are worth. And if you make a small change in the report it could easily throw off your formatting and you will need to touch all those pieces again. However, the power of Crystal Reports makes it well worth the minor annoyances. It delivers a powerful tool for delivering standard visualizations. It packs plenty of power that can satisfy almost any requirement.

Pluspunten: 1) Ease of use.
2) Clean and standard reporting.
3) Multitude of ways to deliver your reports. Email, ftp, on demand, etc.

Minpunten: 1) Minor annoyances that can crop up out of nowhere; typically involving formatting.
2) For as mature as the product is, it still tends to crash more often than I would like.

Crystal Reports Review

Beoordeeld op 15-1-2019
Ramesh M.
Associate Manager
Computersoftware, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Best class application to build reports , easy and with great features , One of my best development tool

Pluspunten: Lots of features , using it from years and made 500+ reports , simple loving it
Can connect many different databases and support connection providers
supports sub reports , drill down reports and Hyperlink
Conditional formatting and Reports wizards
It's fast and never hangs
Good support even with integration with Microsoft tools
used for creating dashboard , charts

Minpunten: I think it needs some kind of subscription features like SSRS
It's little time consuming to format and align tables ,texts ,lines

Good tool

Beoordeeld op 17-5-2018
Glenn G.
Senior HRIS
Financiële dienstverlening, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: You can connect to any data source: ODBC, Access, Excel, etc
Price is relatively inexpensive compared to other tools on the market
Create complicated reports with the ability to adjust display and format to the level of detail I’ve never seen in a report writer
The ability to schedule reports

Minpunten: Not intuitive – takes a skilled developer to write a complex report
Sharing reports with others
Exporting to excel takes a lot of trial and error sometimes to format correctly

Crystal Reports is an excellent tool for pulling and reporting data.

Beoordeeld op 25-8-2016
Bradley C.
IT Director
Fabricage van elektrische/elektronische producten
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
3.5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Crystal has allowed us to pull data from our system in a much more meaningful way than with our old methods. It also allows us to customize what individuals see on reports, to tailor them to their liking. With our old processes we had a report we would send to a salesman that required around 6 different reports molded in to one within an excel file. This whole process was eliminated and we were able to produce the same results using Crystal.

Minpunten: Crystal is pretty intuitive but for the average person it will take some learning to be able to use the software to its full potential. I would say it has a medium to high learning curve. There are also a few annoyances where some windows force attention and will not let you click anything else until you finish that window.

Crystal Reports is the best bang for our buck

Beoordeeld op 8-12-2016
Drew S.
Technical Support
Nutsbedrijven, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Our software uses Crystal Reports. Custom report creation is not terribly easy. It is not terribly difficult. I know we have looked at integrating different reporting options and I think for the money spent, Crystal offers us the best overall value for functionality. There are certain limitations I have run into - for example - I cannot print a "line" on top of a background picture. The only workaround available is to create a "box" and fill it in and reshape it to be a line. This works although my lines are rather fat. Small things like that are frustrating. Otherwise, it is a fairly powerful reporting development tool.

Couldn't work without it

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2016
Micha B.
IT/Admin
Financiële dienstverlening, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Crystal Reports is built into a custom program that we use everyday. Our business couldn't function without it. It generates reports from very large databases and allows for great customization of those reports. We did have some issues after upgrading to Windows 10, but those have all been resolved.

Pluspunten: What I like most about this software is it's seamless integration with our own program and the flexibility it offers us. We are on the cutting edge of our industry and I don't think that would be possible without this software.

Minpunten: No cons

A professional reporting software

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2016
Luca C.
Database Administrator
Computersoftware
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4.5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: I used this software during my previous work experience.
Among the different reporstica tool I used I believe that Crystal Reports is one of the best in terms of usability.
The things I appreciate most of this software is the dynamic division of sections into groups and subgroups, the ability to easily modify the report output even from the view in the preview tab, and editable grid.

Minpunten: Incorporating some reports in web pages I had some problems like misalignment etc.
The designer should be a bit 'improved in terms of appearance and functionality, also the graphs should be more attractive.

Solid if you're in the SAP ecosystem, otherwise takes time to learn. Not beautiful but works.

Beoordeeld op 12-9-2017
Diego A.
Freelancer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The ability to create practical and decent-looking reports on the fly, with little input and specially little document formatting. That is, the program takes care of the padding, spacing, text-formatting and so on for you. It creates the report automatically. The graphs and their many possibilities were specially useful for expressing a point within reports.

Pluspunten: If you come from an SAP background and have used their applications before, SAP Crystal Reports fits quite good on their existing apps. This applies for the usual good stuff that SAP gets right which are, in my opinion, lots of features, support for many formats and just an overall solid product. What I like the most is (which the name implies) the ease of creating reports. You don't need much input to create good looking and orderly reports. Its focus is indeed in reports and the more you use it the more obvious it is. In summary, if you're looking for an application that can handle good amounts of data, structure it and put it in a decent report-page, then this is a good application for it.

Minpunten: The application is to focused on making page-reports which results in a lost flexibility if you want to do anything else. The program has many features, but sometimes they are hard to find since the UI (at least from my version) was kind of unpolished. Everything was there, but was somehow hard to find or not that intuitive. The plethora of 'beautifully' designed apps has indeed inserted a bias in me, which makes me not like the design and UI of this application, however much features it has. It was also not specially quick. It took some time to 'boot' and also some good amount of time for creating a semi-complex report. It supports many interfaces and data formats, however we had to install a driver to connect to our database, which was a tedious problem (though not the program's fault).

One of the Best Business Intelligent Reporting Tools for SME's

Beoordeeld op 25-9-2018
Caroline I.
SAP B1 Consultant
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Crystal Reports helps us have a more detailed look of our company and helps us make informed decisions on what we need to do to improve various components of our business.

Pluspunten: I like that Crystal reports have a very strong capabilities like sorting of data. You are also able to retrieve most of your company' data for analysis using the tool. Crystal reports helps us create highly formatted and detailed reports - much more that what we are able to get from the SAP Business One software itself. Another awesome thing about Crystal reports is that it is that the process of creating reports is easy once you get used to the mechanisms of the tool. For example, once you pull a certain aspect of a specific set of data, yo can reuse it and only change a variable according to your new needs. Crystal Reports are also pretty affordable for small and medium sized companies.

Minpunten: Though the initial purchase of crystal reports can be quite affordable, the tool gets expensive when you need to buy the server which is quite costly but essential for scheduled notifications and other benefits.