The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

Beoordeeld op 10-4-2019
Joshua M.
Process Optimization Analyst
Afdrukken en drukwerk, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pluspunten: The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Minpunten: Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

Beoordeeld op 31-8-2018
Cesar C.
Docente asociado
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pluspunten: Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level
within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Minpunten: One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision

Beoordeeld op 26-7-2018
Stever jose G.
PMO
51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.

Pluspunten: Since we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution.
in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure and make correct decisions to be applied in each case
the collaborative work increased to have a better follow-up of the tasks and be able to finalize or inform some deviation in time of each project
The support of the provider was very specialized for when we had to resort in some cases to the implementation and uses of the platform.
a great functionality was to be able to create project templates without having to go through the process of creating formulas within each file, something that is optional for each use but in ours we had formulas applied to be able to measure specific calculations that we needed.
Roi's early measurements were accurate in a high percentage which helped to clarify the landscape of the project area.

Minpunten: It is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution.
Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind.
It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.

Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size

Beoordeeld op 6-5-2018
Israel jose A.
Hydraulic Engineer, MSc Geological Engineering (Oil and Gas prospecting)
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.

Pluspunten: For any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and costs to complete the daily project managing tasks, provide baselines, and formulate all the necessary estimations. The Gantt Chart provides a graphical overview of the whole project and combined with the reports and striking graphics make it easier to understand and present the planning and evaluation strategy. If not the time to start a project from the scratch MPP comes with a very powerful set of templates. Indisputably MPP becomes an ideal first choice for any project manager.

Minpunten: The first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it by yourself by dedicating hours and discipline. In the other hand, you need to consider the size of your project and company, and considering that it is a monthly subscription (including access to the cloud) that you should pay for every user, it can end up being relatively expensive at the end of the month. The integration with externals apps is null so you need to do it manually. And well, there are some formatting issues, is really complicated sometimes and printed results are not always what is expected.

Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common resources

Beoordeeld op 25-2-2018
Hessel F.
PMO
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The benefits to the organization have been phenomenal! Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked. Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level. We found it easy to use although there was a bit of a learning curve. We had a challenge on implementing as, for some reason, there was a bug in MS Project. It took about six months to stabilize the site but once it was stable, the problem didn't return. For those who are interested, in our case it was due to not having service pack 2 installed. The challenge once we started using it, was to get management to appreciate the fact that accurate, real time reports could be generated and that they would be of immense benefit to them. It took a while until they realized it but once they did, the idea took off and requests flowed in for more views (reports) showing different aspects of the data. We use the product to track tasks of resources located outside the IT division which was also an innovation that needed time to be absorbed. The philosophy had always been that the team leader was assigned the task and that he/she would delegate it to the team members. With the browser version, resources could see their tasks, update % complete and the project manager could instantly see what was happening. This turned team meetings into shorter, more focused events as there was no need to review tasks.

Pluspunten: I like the way you can use it for managing resources. It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity. I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project. I also use this resource assignment ability to slice and dice data so that I can see slipped tasks, tasks that have not started, tasks with no deadlines, grouped tasks per release etc. The sky is the limit! The web-based facility means that resources can see their tasks without needing to have MS project installed on their computers and they also don't need to have any knowledge of MS Project. This makes it easy to deploy in a big organization where there may be budget constraints.

Minpunten: It hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones. Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges. * You can't send messages to resources from within tasks
* There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note.
* You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file.
* After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions.
* the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.

My experience in Microsoft PPM, a tool for the control of Projects in an efficient way

Beoordeeld op 19-6-2018
Jose de jesus R.
Gerencia de Área Plataforma Tecnológica
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I would recommend it extensively because it is useful to the final user, to be able to know the tool before it can be acquired and to know the opinion of a true user who takes advantage of each component every day, I am very pleased to participate in this program and thus contribute my experience.

Pluspunten: Generally within the environment where I perform this tool is very useful, because your way of organizing work is excellent, to me as a professional in the area of technology adds incredible benefits, allows me to see tasks in a single presentation, resources, project execution times, remaining time, as well as progress, at the management level it has the advantage of making the most accurate decisions regarding reallocation of resources, time and other elements that intervene in the projects that I control from my area. It is great as all the work team that is under my charge is integrated to the use of this tool and we can be synchronized under the same objectives of the institution.

Minpunten: Despite being a great tool for project control, there is no way to measure the productivity of the work team or individually, this would help a lot or a lot to give the incentives to achieve jointly, departmentally or individually, even more when you want to highlight the merits of the team. Likewise, the cost of this tool for a medium or small company would be difficult to acquire or would be underused since in small environments the management of the projects would not have as many elements.
However, I am very pleased with the kindnesses I have found in it.

The best project management tool in the industry!

Beoordeeld op 7-10-2016
Hans L.
Account Supervisor/Project Manager
Marketing en reclame, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether you are working on projects in different fields such as IT, Marketing, Finance, Construction, etc. As long as I can remember, MS Project has been helping me deliver projects successfully. It's a software that is ideal for collaborating with my team and it aids in effective planning as well as allocation of resources. Probably the best feature of this program is the resource management aspect of it notably the workload tracking with everyone involved (team members, client, and vendors). I normally use the Gantt Chart view since this is the easiest to work with and most common as well. I don't think I've ever worked with an easier software that can do simple changes such as linking multiple dependencies. In addition, this is more visually intuitive and you can easily manipulate the shape and colors of the bars (this is very helpful when dealing with multiple tasks). Overall, this software is definitely one of the top ones out there. It takes a lot of practice to get used to it but having templates (especially the ones specific to your company/industry or whenever you are working on similar projects with identical deliverables [ease of use = tasks are populated]). One good advice for people who are interested in project management: learn this software early one if possible. I know many universities teach the MS Project basics.

Pluspunten: Ease of use, visually presentable (especially when dealing with many tasks), most common software in the industry

Minpunten: It takes some time to learn the software so it can be intimidated to new users

MS Project Review

Beoordeeld op 15-12-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Software Engineer
Horeca, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
2 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: With Microsoft project Manager my company can complete weekly and monthly milestones; we are changing our web-based applications for Hospitality Business Intelligence tool and using Microsoft project Manager we can accomplish deadlines and make our product better and clients happy. More and more issues are getting resolved faster with using Microsoft project Manager because we can tackle those daily tasks at hand. Microsoft project Manager is easy to share the project within our organization and anyone can edit it.

Pluspunten: Microsoft project Manager is one of the best suitable software for getting customizable reports for any project. I am able to create milestones, goals, and set timelines within my department at work to complete daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly tasks. If in an event I have to move a task over Microsoft project Manager can determine automatically how long the milestone will be completed based on the due dates and timelines. Microsoft project Manager comes with the Microsoft Office Subscription, but that is only if you purchase the full or pro version. Moreover, Microsoft project Manager makes projects organization very easy and quickly make positive impact is business problems and management.

Minpunten: Microsoft project Manager can take time to learn and get adapted to different features of the product; Secondly, the product is pricy Microsoft project Manager does come standalone, but included in the pro version of Office is actually cheaper, the standalone can cost a lot.

I think it is a very efficient software, it has been an indispensable tool to plan my projects.

Beoordeeld op 24-5-2018
Lilians C.
Especialista en proyectos de inversión
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It has brought me many benefits, among them it has allowed me to plan my projects in a faster way, since with this tool I can take control of the execution time and the budget with a clearer and more global vision, it has been a tool for me great utility and has more functions than those used daily.

Pluspunten: The software has several advantages, mainly it organizes my projects in a more complete way, because before using it to my Excel plans, with the difference that Project has daily the progress of the project with graphs and diagrams for a faster analysis, Without exceeding the available budget, also plan from small to large projects with the great advantage that I can link them or work them separately. I find it interesting that the project control allows to save the line of the original project to compare it with the modifications that are made in time. On the other hand you can save the file in other formats to facilitate printing.

Minpunten: In my personal opinion Project is not easy to use for beginners, initially I found it a bit complicated for the basics of the program, even for other more advanced functions it should be easier, for example at first I did not understand because Project sometimes my activities with a duration in decimals even when I assigned him the full day. I think it could be used by students as a tool to plan their activities so that later in the professional field they are more familiar with the software, but for that it must be more user friendly.
On the other hand, I think that its biggest disadvantage is that the activation of the license is a bit expensive.

It ensures the full management and productivity of the projects.

Beoordeeld op 24-7-2019
Susan A.
Sr. Manager-Business Operations
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: For me , it has already saved me tons of time and allows me to be more productive and able to manage the projects in a quicker way. We can easily mold a rough draft of our work into something much more valuable and viable with the help of this tool. It has allowed me to perform various operations of managing my tasks in a much better way.

Pluspunten: Microsoft Project Management offers the most easy and viable solutions to sort out our daily routines tasks and implements a total calculated solutions for our projects. We can input the required info and get the detailed and visually aid solutions for our projects. We can easily view progress better, collaborate in an efficient way. We can easily set out tasks and keeps a thorough surveillance of our work. It allows us to make decisions independently.

Minpunten: In order to gain full advantage of this tool, one should have a fine knowledge of using this tool. So it requires a training and sound knowledge of operating the management tool. Just because of its complex operations, one can have difficulty in operating it. The overall license purchasing expense is a bit higher and it gets bit difficult for us to measure the overall productivity of the projects.

PPM is a powerful tool for program management

Beoordeeld op 5-8-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Business Owner
Publieke zaken, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: As a Program Manager I used MS Project and Portfolio Management full suite of product quite extensively. I managed multiple projects ranging from small to large projects. Our network spanned across multiple groups domestic and global. Our initial project only used MS Project in the early stages until the full suite of PPM was available. Projects were easier manage and it helped us stayed within budget. The tools were not as easy as I anticipated to integrate, however with the right planning I’m sure it can be integrated fine. It’s important that the program team is knowledgeable about all the capabilities so it can be used in their projects. We used the entire portfolio in all our programs.

Minpunten: Setting up the entire system is not as easy as I had hoped. It took several iterations in order to get the right process in place and to make sure the program team are properly trained to utilize all the features that are available with all the tools. All tools must be integrated correctly. It’s best to plan and take your time setting it up right.

Microsoft Project, Good tool for an average budget

Beoordeeld op 8-6-2017
Amy F.
Project Manager- Global IT Operations
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: For the cost per licence and the ease of use, Microsoft Project is my go to tool for Project Management Software.

Pluspunten: Most business have some form of Microsoft Suite, Project doesn't come in the standard suite but so adding additional licenses for Project is more cost effective than most Project Management Software. Because it is a Microsoft product, the user interface is like most Microsoft products, so learning how to navigate around Project doesn't take a lot of time. There is so much to this tool. You can do small and/or large project on it. The capabilities that it has are endless, you really can do a lot with this tool.

Minpunten: It can be a complex tool, when I first began using Project I had a manager working with me on the Project and helped me get used to Microsoft Project. She had been using it for years, so she had a wealth of knowledge that she shared with me. Without her help, I do think it would have taken me a lot longer to get used to it and be able to use it to its full ability. That being said, the tool can do so much more than I ever thought it could.

It is simple and easy to use help for portfolio management of projects and everyday tasks.

Beoordeeld op 23-6-2018
Frimny A.
Personal docente
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: The most I like about the software is that it is a programming tool that offers a flexible local or online solution for the management of project portfolios and day-to-day tasks, it is easy and simple to use and facilitates the management of the projects. You can work with columns and rows, graphics and other integrated tools, necessary and useful to give you better view, organization and presentation to our project portfolio. You can work together or as a team with another server. It also allows us to capture and evaluate project ideas, make decisions and easily model different scenarios inside or outside of an organization. In general, it is designed for any user either with little experience in programming or with great knowledge, since it costs a good technical support and easy to understand aids. It can be used from any mobile device.

Minpunten: Somewhat difficult to handle for non-expert or non-trained users in the area, previous knowledge is needed to be used as other software. No productivity can be measured and the cost of the license is expensive.

Another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it.

Beoordeeld op 6-4-2018
Richard C.
Maintenance Mechanic
Automotive, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall I would recommend that app, I have been able to put together a rough draft of a project quicker, saving time stress and can edit it to the likeness of my team quicker. Also, while using the software I have been able to view the project and show the process when asked. This tool helps us to administrate, develop and design projects of our company. Good analytical tool

Pluspunten: This is another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it. I love the filtering abilities, I am constantly using them for zooming in on what is critical whether in a meeting or working individually to update the schedule. This app provides you with templates and shortens the time you spend on putting things in place. What is also good is that you can focus on the depth of the information you are sending out rather than throwing something together and it does not appear professional and the information is missed. You can also invite your team into the project as well.

Minpunten: What I would like is an easier way to set up reports. I like that there are a lot of great features, but they are not as user friendly as some of the other Microsoft Project features. You will need to invest more time in getting trained, because they do look very helpful once you know how to set them up.

Track your progress with MS Project

Beoordeeld op 3-4-2019
Craig P.
Director Of Information Technology
Bouw, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: We use MS Project for progress tracking and scheduling. MS Project allows you to set timelines, track schedules and view/add items that need to be completed before you can move on to the next phase of your project. As things slip, you can adjust your project schedule to accommodate for those changes. Without MS Project, our company wouldn't be able to function without knowing where each project is at and we wouldn't be able to make the informed adjustment decisions as a project schedule slips or speeds up. Also, the ability for us to create project templates helps us get a project off the ground and we can adjust as needed. There is also functionality of a MS Project server and if you are doing multiple projects/schedules and concurrent accessibility and change management is needed, that might be your way to go with this application.

Minpunten: There are an abundance of features and options that are not at first intuitive, so having some dedicated MS Project Training is a must. There are some things that MS Project is lacking and from what I have seen the only other option out there to complete some of these lacking tasks is Primavera. When evaluating software, best to compare them both before making your decision.

Solid solution for project management software

Beoordeeld op 18-10-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Systems Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: One can easily learn how to use Microsoft Project in a long weekend, but utilizing the software in conjunction with proven project management methodology is key.

Pluspunten: Microsoft Project brings a lot of the same design mentality present in its other applications such as templates that provide ease of use for new users. A project can be extremely granular and contain a total breakdown of tasks and resources or merely a high level breakdown of major milestones. Once compiled, the data can be broken out into various views for the pertinent project tasks such as timelines and Gantt charts.

Minpunten: Microsoft Project does have a steeper learning curve than some applications because of the inherent need to understand project management philosophy. You also need to have at least a partially formalized approach to project management otherwise you may find yourself fighting with the software.

Microsoft Project Review

Beoordeeld op 26-6-2018
Francis P.
Sr. Network Systems Admin.
Openbaar beleid, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Project provides interactive dashboards and reporting functionalities. The project managers can also prepare insightful reports and make decisions about project execution and staffing levels. Scheduling features like Gantt charts and prepopulated pulldown menus help reduce training time and simplify the project planning process.

Pluspunten: Easy to use with visibility to chart views makes it easy to plan project deadlines. Like Excel, the columns and rows are simple to add. With this product, the project can be easily manage. The chart views are useful for presentation and report. Another good feature is timeline feature. With that, one can project the duration and tasks.

Minpunten: MS Project is not compatible with Mac OS. It is only compatible with Windows OS. It is expensive. It should be part of MS Office suite. It can be difficult to use if you are not familiar with the product. Training is a must.

Great experiance

Beoordeeld op 7-11-2017
Stephen W.
Enterpise Project Managment Specialist
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: More and more of us are less hardcore waterfall and are moving more towards a Waterfall/Agile hybrid solution. Would love to see the concept of "cards" or "Stories" be part of the project with stages or lists rather than trying to force Agile into a Waterfall tool.

Pluspunten: For me MS/Project sets the standard for all other waterfall project management software tools. Have been using it for many years.

Minpunten: 1. The con is also a plus, but setting resource time estimates is tricky and requires a better understanding of work versus resource units versus and % complete. Added to that is the Task type and whether or not it is effort driven, confuses even senior PM's.
2. Not having an easy interface to update tasks from a Kanban (or Agile) world adds complexities to those us using hybrid solutions. Maybe this one is just that I am not aware of the Microsoft Kanban options however.

The right tool to begin your own project

Beoordeeld op 10-1-2018
Cesar a S.
Overheidsadministratie, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: GetApp
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: This is the best tool for people who are starting to make or evaluate their own project. MS Project with a very simple interphase can adjust virtually to anyone who wants to have a better organization of their activities to begin a project or to make a better decision of the future of their activities. With very simple data like the name of activities, the time for development and the people who will get involved, you can easily start a project and have an idea of how much time would happen to get it and where they would start the limitations or obstacles to develop your project.

Minpunten: The main limitation of MS Project it is that you have to have a middle of high level of administration processes, because a big range of the information that you introduce on the software has a direct relation with a administration and accounting, while this is information be better, your project increase the possibilty to develop. If you do not have a basic administration knowledge you can have some trouble putting the data on the software and maybe the result will not be very effectly or will not fulfill your purposes

Project Plan & Tracking with MS Project

Beoordeeld op 15-6-2017
Priyanka N.
Team Lead
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Excellent Resource Management.
Project plan creation.
Ability to derive cost and effort of a project.

Pluspunten: Hierarchical view of tasks, sub-tasks with efforts & resource allocation.
A detailed tabular view via the Gantt chart view .
A task distribution on a calendar view with pictorial representation of tasks via the team planner view.
Ability to assign same task to multiple people and define resource allocation towards each task
Via the network diagram the overall dependencies, flow of tasks can be well understood.
Option to baseline a project to a specific date helps to showcase progress accordingly.

Minpunten: I recommend that the transition between automatically scheduled and manual schedule can be made more pleasant, sometime this results in a lot of conflicts to be resolved.

Managing multiple projects

Beoordeeld op 11-7-2018
Darrus L.
Program Manager eLearning and Modern Workplace
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
Bron: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: MS has not been terribly clear about their current direction forward as it relates to PM software specifically. There seem to be multiple products being pursued with no indication as to where long term commitment from MS will be dedicated.

Pluspunten: An extensive feature set and interoperability with other Microsoft productivity programs gives Project the edge. The myriad of ways you can visualize projects/tasks is extremely helpful and facilitates more clear and concise communication about project timelines both up and down the chain of command.

Minpunten: Project's large feature set also comes with a sizable learning curve for the uninitiated. Training is available but there is little outside of personal support from more experienced colleagues to really convey some of the nuance of using the product.

There is no better project software than MS Project. maybe intimidating but the best never the less.

Beoordeeld op 16-3-2018
Alejandro H.
Networking Manager
Telecommunicatie, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Don't look elsewhere, take a curse and learn how to use MS project and be the best project manager you can be.

Pluspunten: Want o manage a project like a BOSS This is the best, all program, project, task, risk analysis, costs, deviations on time, costs or resources. all you can control all, baseline, GANTT and Kanban displays, reports as you like it. you better take a course or two but once you do it you will manage this powerful tool very well. and if you connect to a Sharepoint/teams platform is another level of organization, not only you are the boss, but also your organization will run the projects so swift you will be amazed.

Minpunten: Complicated, intimidating, and a little pricey but is all worthy. once you tame this beast you are the master of the projects.

It is the most conservative, complete and useful tool for project management.

Beoordeeld op 30-6-2018
Francis carolina L.
Co Editor Chief
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It is a complete and robust software that allows you to control the different phases of a project in progress. This translates into efficient data that allows you to make timely decisions in your company or organization.

Pluspunten: I think that this tool is the most complete and complex of the market. It is the software that best fits the PMP methodologies. It is constantly updated. What I like is the possibility of managing different phases of the project in the same viewing window. You can manage costs, risks, critical routes, human resources and others.

Minpunten: It is a restrictive tool, it can only be used in Windows environments, not compatible with Linux or MAC OS. It can be expensive, but if it is acquired by a large technology company, the cost-benefit ratio is an advantage. The interface is not very friendly when you are using it for the first time. So taking a tutorial, even a basic one, could be considered before you start working with it.

Microsoft PPM offers efficient and timely managed project coordinations.

Beoordeeld op 17-1-2019
Robert S.
Senior Corporate Account Manager
Detailhandel, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Microsoft PPM is equipped with several tools and efficiently designed user-interface with the help of which we can easily track the progress of the projects. Several project aspects can be tracked easily and their progress is followed by all team members. Each member is assigned its own part of work and their progress can also be measured. Daily reports, start/end dates and important alerts makes this software well reliable for project management.

Minpunten: This tool is very efficient in performance. So as we go for negative points there are not much to highlight except for the fact that sharing files to person which are not using PPM could be a real headache. For that we have to export the reports or material in pdf or other formats for sharing. Other than this , PPM could also use more additive tools for finance and business operations of which only basics are offered now.

Powerful tool, but can get overwhelming quickly

Beoordeeld op 13-12-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Project Developer
Bouw, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: All in all, it is a very powerful tool. When used correctly, it really helps to keep all of the information you are trying to track together in one space. It has a pretty steep learning curve and can be overwhelming for many.

Pluspunten: This program has a lot of power. There is a bevy of features available to users that can help track changes, scheduling, project progression and costs. The layout is familiar to users of other Microsoft products, and just about everything can be accessed fairly quickly and easily.

Minpunten: It can be very overwhelming. If you have one person steering the ship with this and everyone else using it to see the results it is very effective. Multiple users on a single project or process can quickly muddle things and there is a need for good management and computer skills to be able to use this software effectively. Nearly always our new users are overwhelmed by the size and power of this program.