SQL Monitor

SQL Monitor reviews

door Red Gate Software

Outstanding product which is constantly being improved.

Beoordeeld op 20-6-2018
Robert F.
Sr. Database Administrator
Vermogensbeheer, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It does the work I would need to do myself.

Pluspunten: I was on the beta test team and have seen the product grow from a very basic monitoring tool into one that puts nearly anything I would want to look at, right at my fingertips. Not only am I warned when conditions are getting ugly, I can very quickly figure out why! But the most importantly thing about the product, is the development cycle. They are constantly fixing and improving it with updates/patches nearly every 2 weeks.

Minpunten: I want to preface this with nearly all updates go without a hitch, but ... With such an aggressive release schedule, testing is obviously limited. This only happened once in the 10 years of the product, but I was one of the casualties. There was an update that left a transaction open in a version of SQL Server, that was a few releases back. You do this with software that does a lot for a long time, and things start to break.

DBA's review on Redgate SQL Monitor

Beoordeeld op 21-11-2018
Edwin D.
SQL Sever Engineer
Detailhandel, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
3/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Get a good overview on what's going on on your SQL Server estate and narrow down potential problems up to the milisecond. Teamleads are getting more and more excited once they run into trouble and are able to pinpoint a most certain bad process!

Pluspunten: Gives you deep insight on the database and (SQL Server) instance level to check out the health of your entire SQL Server Estate in near real time.
Quickly drilldown to reported potential problems, such as long running queries, analyse actual queryplans and get recommendations from that as well.
Many possibilities to configure alerts and notifications way down to individual processes, jobs or at a higher level like database or server instance ... They have a superb support crew and are introducing new features and functionality at high speed, realy listening very closely to users for feature requests ...

Minpunten: Takes a while to get a good understanding of what you're looking at, but once you watch the onlne videos or documentation it's a great asset in monitoring the SQL Server estate.

Great way to monitor your servers

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2019
Chris R.
DBA III
Publiceren, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: SQL Monitor has been very useful in detecting server issues before they become a huge problem. I've been able to track down and correct issues that wouldn't have been noticed otherwise using this product.

Pluspunten: I love the customization of alerts and the email feature that goes with them as well the ability to see all servers' health at a glance on the Overview page. Creating custom reports is also a handy feature.

Minpunten: The initial setup and the adding of servers was not easy and required some hit and miss before getting it right. The default settings for alerts are set a bit too high for our system and I had to lessen them to avoid mass email alerts. Also, and it may already exist, it would be nice to choose to ignore offline databases.

Visually nice, otherwise not my bag

Beoordeeld op 15-11-2018
Glyn A.
DBA
Verzekeringen, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
2/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Nicely presented stats and metrics, easy to use tool

Minpunten: Not very many benefits really if you know what you're looking for already and have existing more central monitoring tools.

Great Monitoring Software

Beoordeeld op 6-11-2019
Joe S.
Sr. Software Release Manager
Rechtspraktijk, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: -Easy to set up.
-UI is easy to navigate
-Great insight on database issues
-Alerts are very configurable

Minpunten: -When you put servers into categories, the category name doesn't fully display on the dashboard.

Great tool!

Beoordeeld op 6-11-2019
Scott P.
Development Team Lead
Voedselproductie, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Easy to use, great interface design. Lets me see the status of our servers and investigate historical problems.

Minpunten: Still some missing config options around alarms, but Redgate is improving it all the time.

Best tool to have for developer using SQL server

Beoordeeld op 6-3-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Software Engineer
Bankwezen, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Save hours of code debugging time by allowing to intercept calls to database.

Minpunten: Searching of objects can be improved I.e window keeps refreshing to tough to find objects.

Another Handy Product from Redgate

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2019
Christine D.
Sr. Database Administrator
Financiële dienstverlening, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: SQL Monitor is easy to use and handy for monitoring multi server environments

Minpunten: I have never been fond of the interface.

Fantastic solution to monitor SQL

Beoordeeld op 27-4-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Trader
Financiële dienstverlening, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: Gratis proef
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: No one wants to deal with a server crash because you're out of memory on the disk; or some new process was introduced that is slowing down the database; this tool make it so you are no longer caught off guard.

Pluspunten: Great tools to monitor the size of databases in relation to their disk size and to figure out which tasks/scripts are truly impacting the database. The free trial was very helpful to try these functionalities out.

Minpunten: The price tag for a single server was a bit steep; but the free trial helps alleviates concerns.

RedGate knows SQL

Beoordeeld op 23-10-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Product Manager
Magazijnen/opslag, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
3/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: SQL Monitor is just one tool we use to monitor database performance. The alerts are easy to setup and we use it for our primary alert system. While we do have other tools (SolarWinds, New Relic), this is one to keep in the toolbox.

Pluspunten: -Very easy to setup
-Equally easy to navigate
-Can setup alerts to proactively notify the team of any issues rather than continuous monitoring
-One of the best user interfaces for SQL monitoring available

Minpunten: -There are more robust solutions (such as New Relic, Solarwinds, and Azure functions)
-No other cons... for what it is, we will continue to use this with our SQL Toolbelt.

Great tool to keep an eye on your SQL servers

Beoordeeld op 14-2-2019
Adrian T.
Infrastructure Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use it to keep an eye on our SQL servers.

Pluspunten: A tool that can help proactively monitor your SQL server and fix problems quickly. Easy to use, one control panel.

Minpunten: I don't it supports anything else but Microsoft SQL server.