Helpt Nederlandse bedrijven al 15 jaar
bij het vinden van de juiste software

Blackboard Collaborate reviews

Over Blackboard Collaborate

Deze volledig opnieuw ontworpen oplossing voor webconferenties is ontworpen voor het leerproces en stelt werknemers in staat om overal en altijd aan opleidingsvereisten te voldoen.

Meer informatie over Blackboard Collaborate

Pluspunten:

I enjoyed using Blackboard as a student of a local community college.

Minpunten:

I teach at a community college and recently switched to Collaborate for my class. I teach adults who are able to handle most technical issues, but collaborate has been very frustrating to deal with.

Beoordelingen van Blackboard Collaborate

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,1
Klantenservice
4,1
Functies
4,2
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,2

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

7,7/10

Blackboard Collaborate heeft een totaalscore van 4,2 van 5 sterren op basis van 439 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Blackboard Collaborate eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (439)

Britt
Student in Nederland
Research, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overzicht

4,0 6 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Ik heb goede en minder goede ervaringen met Blackboard. Ik ben erg positief over de vele functies en het overzicht van mijn cursussen. Er zijn zoveel knoppen en wegen om ergens te komen dat dit het soms wel lastig maakt om dingen terug te vinden. Ik vind vooral de problemen met de microfoons heel vervelend. Wellicht is dat aankomend studiejaar beter.

Pluspunten:

Overzicht in al je cursussen. Je hebt een software programma waar alles wat betreft studie op terug te vinden is. Op blackboard is een plagiaatscan en cijferbeeordeling voor docenten te vinden, maar je kan ook colleges terugkijken, vragen stellen, oefentoetsen maken en videobellen met klasgenoten.

Minpunten:

Blackboard is een groot programma, het is lastig om dingen voor het eerst (terug) te vinden. Daarnaast zijn er vaak problemen met de microfoons van studenten en is dat soms lastig op te lossen.

Noxolo
Noxolo
Tutor and Student in Zuid-Afrika
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Administratie, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Collaborate Personal Experience

5,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Pluspunten:

I love that one can teach, create and manage sessions, get grades and have online training and seminars.

Minpunten:

I don't like that sometimes the number of people who can attend an online session is limited (it was 250 personnel) and that it crashes.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate Review

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Blackboard collaborate is a straightforward tool that is very effective for educational purposes.

Pluspunten:

As a university student in the COVID-19 pandemic, blackboard collaborate was a complete necessity. I used this app everyday for at least 2 years while navigating through classes, webinars and even exams. It is a great app that is geared toward hosting larger groups. This software is easy to use and the interface is very interactive. It allows for screen sharing and even fantastic features that allow the host to give attendees impromptu multiple choice quizzes. The break out room feature is also beneficial in managing larger groups. One of my favorite features is the promotion of asynchronous learning by providing recordings of meetings and classes. The icons are also very easy to use, even for first time users.

Minpunten:

Blackboard collaborate needs an extremely strong internet connection to run smoothly. Other than that, the app is quite reliable.

Mahlaga
Librarian in Zuid-Afrika
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate in Higher Education

3,0 2 weken geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Blackboard Collaborate is a great product. Minor additions are required to make learning management easier.

Pluspunten:

It allows for a variety of events such as meetings, virtual classrooms and conferences with larger audiences.

Minpunten:

The table of contents in the module object does not have active links that allow students to seamlessly jump from one item to another. Students are required to use the forward and backward arrows to get to a section in the module. This situation wastes time and can be frustrating on a slow internet connection.

Mark
ADjunct Professor in VS
E-learning, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate

4,0 4 maanden geleden

Pluspunten:

The integration of collaborate within the Blackboard LMS means that a third-party program, such as Zoom, is not required.

Minpunten:

It can, at times, require more resources than what older systems might be able to handle.

Wassim
Associate Professor in VS
Computernetwerken, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate: Video Conferencing Embedded into the Blackboard LMS Platform

4,0 7 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Very great experience. Has been using it with Blackboard for conducting video lectures and office hours in my online and face-to-face university courses.

Pluspunten:

The integration of Blackboard Collaborate with the Blackboard LMS makes it very easy to conduct video chat sessions with course participants for the sake of online lecturing, tutorial sessions, or office hours. Collaborate has more or less all the features available in dedicated video conferencing tools such as Zoom or MS Teams with the ease and flexibility of using it from within the Blackboard LMS.

Minpunten:

Some performance lagging in voice has been experienced on slow network connections. The number of participants is not the cause of this but probably the media tuning algorithms to smooth the lags cause by intermittent Internet connections.

TeHilla
Student in Jamaica
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A Necessary Platform in the Face of the Decline of Face to Face Classes

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I love blackboard collaborate. It saved my education during the pandemic. The most useful feature for me is the ease of access to recordings. Unlike other platforms, the recordings are stored directly on the platform and do not require the host or lecturer to directly send the recording to participants. The platform is so easy to use and mimics the structure of a real classroom.

Pluspunten:

Ease of Navigation User friendly Multiple avenues of communication (video, audio and live chat) Break out rooms options for group collaboration during classes Ability to schedule and create multiple classes that can be conducted simultaneously without disrupting each other Hands up feature Polls Recordings available

Minpunten:

Initial learning curve as the platform is not similar to others that’s i’ve used before.

Diego
Staff Writer in VS
Mediaproductie, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Workable, but lacking in reliability

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Great for large groups, has enough features to keep up with the competition including: breakout rooms which work great, screen sharing, whiteboard for demonstrations, moderating for a smooth meeting flow. It's somewhat easy to use, so that's always a plus.

Minpunten:

My biggest problem is reliability and stability. The software has crashed on me quite often, even with a robust and very capable laptop. For a software that's supposed to make collaboration easy, these issues are big drawbacks for me, and it's why we switched back to our original software.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Classroom Video conferring

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: my overall experience of Blackboard Collaborate is good

Pluspunten:

As opposed to web casting and video conferencing software, Blackboard Collaborate has interrogations and features that are specifically designed for engagement with the learners/audience

Minpunten:

I am a new user of the Blackboard Collaborate's license so far nothing to complain about. Although the budget for this product is more expensive than our previous option

Kahlil
Student in Jamaica
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Understanding Blackboard Collaborate

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: The overall experience is good as the demands form the software are being met

Pluspunten:

The software is suited for online classes. The software has what is described as two factors authentication prior to sharing sound and video

Minpunten:

The bandwidth needed to participate on this platform is high therefore a strong network connection is needed to actively participate.

Destiny
Student in VS
E-learning, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard

4,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Pluspunten:

I utilized Blackboard for school. It is a great resource for online learning as it is easy for professors to post assignments and information. It is also a great tool to collaboratively work with your peers. I was utilizing Blackboard at the peak of COVID when everything shut down. Blackboard allowed me to continue my education and still obtain the necessary information to succeed in my academic journey.

Minpunten:

Blackboard is a bit more confusing to utilize than Canvas. It does take some getting used to however, the more you log on and explore, the easier it gets.

Anvita
Anvita
Tutor in VS
Schoolleiding, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate is Good for Online Classes and Assignments

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall I enjoyed my experience with Blackboard. I liked the simplicity of responding to scenarios my professors posted and the option to reply to threads and individual posts from my peers with whom I had to interact with. I think Blackboard is very convenient for professors and for students alike, but that it can improve on some of its user friendliness and provide a neater and more efficient messaging platform and visual layout especially because not all students or instructors are necessarily computer savvy.

Pluspunten:

I used Blackboard Collaborate for several years in graduate school. What I liked most about this software was the simplicity of utilizing the conversation threads. There was nothing too "fancy" and the layout provided simple 'reply' and 'reply all' buttons. Each week we were required to answer questions about a scenario, and reply to other students' remarks as well. It was easy to see which posts did not have replies yet so that we each student got a change to have a reply. I think if this information wasn't provided on the main screen many posts would be overlooked, and I liked that the layout was clear on who posted and who replied, especially when professors emphasized replying to posts that had fewer or no replies already. I also liked that there was a messaging system built in, so we could communicate with our fellow students and professor within the website while working on assignments.

Minpunten:

What I liked least about Blackboard Collaborate was that if I wanted to message my entire class, I would have to individually click every student's name, and then click the "To" button in order to add them as recipients. It was honestly time consuming and extremely frustrating as a graduate student because it wasted so many minutes every time, especially because I would often forget to actually click "To" after I manually clicked a student's name, so I wouldn't realize they weren't added into the message and would have to start over. This was unfriendly for users, especially for graduate students who need to focus on their assignments and communicating to their peers rather than trying to remember if they did the two-step clicking process for every single student rather than having a simple "select all" option! I don't know why there was no select all option to add the entire class when this is a platform universities often use for online classes and assignments. One more thing I did not like about Blackboard was that the layout was a bit confusing and not user friendly. It took me a while to get used to the flow of the website which felt unorganized and a bit scattered. I could see this being more of a problem for older graduate students who aren't used to adapting to various website layouts with many links to each class and each assignment stacked upon each other in an overwhelming way.

Lauren
Teacher in VS
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer
Bron: SoftwareAdvice

I've been using this for years, and love it, but it has major issues

4,0 8 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Blackboard Collaborate is such a great option for online teachers. We use it to meet with students and present lessons live on the computer. I use it weekly. It is seamlessly integrated with PowerPoint. The features are neat - you have lots of controls as a moderator. You can allow students to speak, use video cameras, type, draw, add pictures to the whiteboard, etc. You can set how many students can be speaking at once. You can mute them by taking away tools. You can create breakout rooms. You can play all sorts of media. You can remove students who are not behaving. You can lock the room or allow attendees in late. I've met with anywhere from 1 to 700 participants. You can make permanent forcing slides and make sure that students can't do anything without a teacher being present, but there are downsides to those functionalities as well. The app is really great. It is limited, and simple, but I've never had a problem with it.

Minpunten:

The major thing I dislike is the "exception error" that I get CONSTANTLY. Basically, BBC can only handle so much data. Because it can't tell which participant needs what, it actually has to save and stream anything within a certain time period and send that out to everyone in the room. So, it really bogs the room down. It is just saving a TON of data at any given time. We've had to create separate rooms for back to back sessions instead of hosting them in the same room for this reason. It'll give an exception error if you try to do too much with too many people in too small a timeframe. Don't try to host a session over a wireless hotspot unless you have unlimited data. One session cost me like 2 gigs of data. Recording can only be done in the main room. If you need to record in a breakout session, you'll have to figure something else out. We use Snagit for breakout room recordings. The administrator panel is very confusing. I'm really tech savvy and I have a hard time navigating. It is definitely not intuitive when it comes to setting up new rooms and adding moderators. The permanent forcing slides are good. No issues there. However, what a pain to set up -- it just makes no sense. I wish it was easier to figure out how to do that.

Santino
Student in Jamaica
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Online Learning Platform

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

A great software for large class groups with features geared towards teaching and learning. The option to record meetings and save to the cloud makes it a great platform for creating pre-recordings for classes. The breakout room feature makes it easy to manage large groups by separating them and visiting each group individually. The amount of control provided to the host over the features is great for class management.

Minpunten:

For sessions to run smoothly the internet connection has to be extremely fast. The bandwidth requirement for use of this software is very high and causes students to disconnect frequently. The platform can glitch at times and may require a restart before normal use can be resumed.

Robert
Robert
Head Of Strategic Marketing in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A good platform but could improve

3,0 vorig jaar

Opmerkingen: My general experience is relatively good in the web version, something excellent about it is that the classes are recorded and can be used according to your time and availability, what I don't like is that they don't develop their smartphone apps well, since today it is more comfortable to access from the mobile. It is a good platform but it needs to improve its smartphone version.

Pluspunten:

The web platform is intuitive and well organized, the menus are well positioned, I like that you can add multiple files, formats, Doc, pdf, YouTube links among others, in addition to its system to detect plagiarism.

Minpunten:

What I don't like about blackboard is that the app for iPhone does not have all the tools that the web version has, this makes it not fully functional, there are apps from other learning platforms that have a more detailed app, another negative point is that it does not have an internal version for streaming video, it is totally uncomfortable since it gives you a link that is only compatible with safari and cannot be used in other browsers such as Google Chrome, in conclusion the app has to have a better adaptation to provide a good user experience.

Josh
Senior Advisor in VS
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard- Buyer Beware

3,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

This program is used for all of our training, mentoring, Advisor meetings, and round tables; as such, I appreciate the versatility of the program in my organization. Screensharing is easy to use, as are video and audio chats. Creating a test in Blackboard is a very cool feature I learned about recently and I’ve been trying it out to make tests for my mentors. Moderator tools, such as turning off chat, audio and video help prevent any possibility of cheating amongst Advisors. I really like the whiteboard feature as well, and myself and my mentors and team mates alike enjoy making silly messages or posting clip art from the internet.

Minpunten:

Blackboard has crashed on me quite a bit, as it has on many others in my organization. Connections errors happen quite often. Sometimes, the collaborate file we download gets randomly corrupted and we have to figure that out on our own and re-download a fresh copy. There isn’t much troubleshooting on their website for the issues we face, and sometimes IT is as clueless as we are on how to fix it. The interface for Collaborate is severely outdated, and needs a fine tuneup. We were excited to learn of an iPhone application for Blackboard, and then we downloaded it and not only has it not been updated in years, it was extremely dated and lacked basic functionality like screen sharing, video, whiteboard and moderator tools.

Ajay
Ajay
Course Assistant in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A Lack of Good User Experience

2,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: My overall experience with Blackboard has been unsatisfactory. I have used blackboard for 4 years and the terrible UX design of the website still remains. On top of that certain aspects of the website do not function well such as the text box where students can type there answers inside of.

Pluspunten:

Blackboard is sufficient when it comes to completing assignments, taking exams and posting on discussion forms. It is simple to see what your grade is in the class and what assignments you have to complete.

Minpunten:

The user experience of this software is subpar. The main course page of the website needs to be redesigned. The design of the page is bland and there is a lot of unused space on the website. The text box that students use on Blackboard is terrible. The autocorrect of the text box is unable to recognize a lot of words and claims that it is not a real word and gives a red line underneath. There are also multiple times where pressing the spacebar does not work and you have to click out of the box and click back in in order for it to work again.

Lee
program coordinator in VS
E-learning, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Blackboard Collaborate (Ultra) has improved over the past year or so. Being able to set up all of my chat sessions for the course in advance is most helpful and I do utilize the recording option with every chat so that my students can refer back to the recording for clarification, demonstrations, and/or in case they missed the live session. Being able to successfully share my entire screen is a must and I am so glad that they were able to update that feature. I have used other live (virtual) chat meeting programs, but Blackboard Collaborate also allows the students/attendees to raise their virtual hand when they have a question (not all other programs have that feature), and during an online class chat it is very important for students to be able to get the instructor/presenter's attention without verbally interrupting them.

Pluspunten:

Blackboard Collaborate (Ultra) has improved and now I can share my entire screen with my students without the image erroring out or showing repeated screens that trail off into infinity, which means I no longer have to switch from application to application and can seamlessly share any program or document as soon as it is opened.

Minpunten:

The ability to detach or un-dock the text chat box and move it around to a different location while sharing my screen during a live chat would be most helpful. When you are using two monitors and focusing on one it would be great if the text box could be shown in a more convenient spot so I could see it at the same time.

Christina
Sales Assistant in VS
Schoolleiding, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Very Useful Technology!

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I liked using Blackboard being able to stay on top of all my grades while staying on top of my assignments is a huge help. Thanks to Blackboard it has made me be a better student.

Pluspunten:

I enjoyed using Blackboard as a student of a local community college. I found that it was really easy to use and one of the best programs I had ever encountered! It was so important to me to be able to learn not only in class, but also at home. Being that I had not been in classes in some time it sometimes took me longer than my classmates to understand, and learn things. I was able to use Blackboard at home and they had many different activities that would help you get extra practice from flashcards, quizzes and labs that you could use to help you better understand the curriculum that was being taught that day!

Minpunten:

Sometimes down for scheduled banner maintenance so was not able to access my grades or assignments when I needed to. Thankfully I was always informed of any maintenance beforehand so I was able to see the information needed before it was down! (Not usually very long at all though!)

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Financiële dienstverlening, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Classic Software for Universities to Manage Courses

4,0 vorig jaar

Pluspunten:

Blackboard is the veteran of online course environments for universities. The platform is versatile and offers the integration of many services, such as file upload, grading, assignment submission and interface customization.

Minpunten:

At the beginning, the platform's functionalities can be a bit overwhelming and navigation can be confusing.

Michelle
Program Director in VS
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great Product

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: It is a great tool that I previously used for snow days to keep learning going in my classroom but now I am using it for all my online classes and it has been a great tool that the students and I use to continue our classes.

Pluspunten:

It was easy to set up a virtual classroom within my Blackboard classroom. It is easy to upload your power point presentations to present lectures, it has a polling feature where you can ask live questions and get immediate feedback as the students answer the question. It has a whiteboard feature that you can write and draw on for equations or flow charts.

Minpunten:

The product works only through google chrome so if a student does not open it in Chrome then they will not be able to get into the virtual classroom.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Worked with Blackboard for several yrs obtaining two degress as an online student.

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I have used Blackboard across the years in different educational facilities as an online student. It has been non-problematic and I've achieved to college degrees and would recommend to anyone looking to set-up a learning environment.

Pluspunten:

I like the ease and setup of the course in blackboard. The layout is super-friendly in terms of finding your course materials, your email, instructor information, or accessing discussion boards. As a student in different schools, I found blackboard worked pretty much the same way, no issues in attending my live class sessions or taking my tests.

Minpunten:

No cons regarding blackboard from a student's stance. It is really laid out where anyone can log in and find their way around after a brief tutorial.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
E-learning, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great teaching/training tool, but lacking on data and accessibility

3,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: BBC has some nice tools and features, but in order for this to have real value additional features and improvements are needed.

Pluspunten:

I like the BBC teaching tools and features (drawing tools, image captures, breakout rooms, etc.). This is a great tool for the classroom setting and virtual training events. I also like the teleconference bridge feature.

Minpunten:

There are many frequent technical issues, often making it impossible to access. Audio can be tricky at times as well. It's not great for use as a marketing tool, especially due to the fact that it requires downloads to access. The other major issue is the lack of attendee data or ability to easily capture or store participant engagement data.

Mandy
Owner in VS
Cosmetica, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Smooth Experience as a User + Learner

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Using Blackboard Collaborate has made my experience as a student much simpler by organizing all of my deadlines, upcoming assignments, announcements and grades in one location, and gives me the option of viewing that data by class or as a whole.

Pluspunten:

I've used Blackboard Collaborate for years as a higher-education student and appreciate how customizable and flexible the software is. From discussion board capabilities to automatic quiz grading, embeded videos, and easy-to-find tutorials on the way the software operates, using Collaborate has always enhanced my experience in higher education courses.

Minpunten:

I would appreciate it if Blackboard would automatically save discussion board replies that were written, but not pposted, as a draft. Many students I've interacted with, along with myself, have written a lengthy discussion board reply in Blackboard only to lose internet access or be interrupted, and come back later to find that their reply was lost.

Ben
President in VS
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

A lot or promise, but classrooms need to change for this to be that useful.

3,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: This software extends learning beyond the bounds of a normal classroom, and opens up opportunities for new forms of learning.

Pluspunten:

Blackboard Collaborate is accessible from most device types, which is helpful when dealing with larger classrooms, and and technically-challenged professors. The platform is also accessible for students with language and physical needs, which really extends the lecture opportunities in ways not really available in a real classroom. Also, unlike some other LMS programs, Blackboard Collaborate doesn't try to reinvent the wheel when it comes to features and user interaction. Much of the functionality feels similar to existing and common software that users will likely be familiar with, so the learning curve is not steep.

Minpunten:

Blackboard Collaborate can be slow, awkward, and suffers from the same sort of limitations as other digital conferencing tools. Yes, there are features not dependent on real-time, two-way communication, and it can function without all users on board, but it can't replace many normal lecture/class use cases. That means that educators and administrators have to think of new curriculum and instruction plans just to use the software. This is not so much a technical fault as it is just a limitation of the concept.