Helpt Nederlandse bedrijven al 15 jaar
bij het vinden van de juiste software

Over Ellucian

Bied de technisch onderlegde schoolervaring die de studenten van vandaag verwachten. Versterk hun toekomst en die van jou.

Meer informatie over Ellucian

Pluspunten:

I frequently use reports for tracking open invoices and running payments. I like that the system is dynamic in that it updates quickly when another user is making a change.

Minpunten:

Integration with other products can be very glitchy at times. It takes someone with serious knowledge to be able to navigate that process.

Beoordelingen van Ellucian

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
3,2
Klantenservice
3,5
Functies
3,5
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
3,2

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

5,9/10

Ellucian heeft een totaalscore van 3,6 van 5 sterren op basis van 84 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Ellucian eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (84)

Timothy
Timothy
IT Project Manager in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pluspunten:

It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Minpunten:

Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

Mark
CIO in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Good product. . .maybe?

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Neutral to negative. Massive additional costs during deployment, a tendency to confusion among the supposed "experts" around how basic pieces of the software worked, forced third party software changes that were unnecessary and expensive, and a quote that was clearly lowballed with the expectation that we'd end up paying on the back end for additional products that we didn't know were needed made this whole process less than good.

Pluspunten:

We liked the idea of a connected suite that worked with most of our existing software.

Minpunten:

The consultants were very much at odds with each other and added confusion to the process. It also turns out that it didn't work with our existing software even when the vendors were listed as compatible on the Ellucian partner site. It also turns out that some of our 3rd party software would have worked, but we were told that it wouldn't. In the end the confusion and lack of understanding/ability from Ellucian consultants cost us tens of thousands of additional dollars during our deployment.

Cassaundra
Assistant Registrar in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Literally the Worst

1,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: On top of clunky, unreliable system is a virtually non-existent customer service/support team. You can post/reference questions to/by other users, but other than that you basically just get the 900 page technical manual and have to figure it out yourself. If you have a home-grown system and are considering making the switch to Ellucian--don't! Just wait a couple years for another company, like Workday, to develop a SIS that makes sense. Ellucian is a dinosaur.

Pluspunten:

When Ellucian's products were first released--decades ago--they were cutting edge. Banner, their SIS (Student Information System) quickly became the industry standard for enterprise databases on college campuses which transformed the way higher education leaders use data to make informed decisions. Their products continue to be effective for large universities that have every module of Banner installed, i.e. have their entire campus from registrar to bursar to admissions running on an Ellucian solution. When used "out-of-the-box" it does its job, not easily or beautifully, but gets it done.

Minpunten:

It's as if Ellucian (and their strongest competitor PeopleSoft) got comfortable once they dominated the market and just stopped trying to make the actual user experience better. They put on large, fancy conferences and have great branding, but using their systems is a NIGHTMARE. A different programmer designed every form/screen/section so they all function differently. Where two clicks should do, fourteen are required. The bugs far outweigh the features. Something breaks more often than it doesn't. It's awful, but they have us trapped because no one else can compete with them. Sometimes I think it would all be easier if we just used Excel to track student records! Since our school implemented Ellucian products 5 years ago, to the tune of millions of dollars, we've had to add 2 new positions in our office just to handle the tech components. And don't even get me started on what happens when you attempt to customize their products. Endless headaches.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

University Accounting

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall we are very satisfied with Ellucian. It provides our business and finance team books that are used for easy reporting and a clean UI interface.

Pluspunten:

I have been a user of Ellucian banner for over six years and have been through countless updates. The product keeps improving where I think things are already good, and is quick to address current issues. Our organization loves the fact that we can use a web based version as well. Additionally, the UI is very clean and I can understand what is affecting our balance sheet, income statement, ect., all at a quick glance. Finally, the reports that are generated from Ellucian are very helpful and make it so I can create accurate reconciliations.

Minpunten:

The one problem we run into with Ellucian is that training to use the product is difficult. Many screens have specific acronyms to access them, which is hard for people to remember. However, they have introduced a search function that allows you to use words and it acts more like a google search, which is helpful to find what you need.

Neisha
Neisha
Marketing Administrative Assistant in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian for Community College

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: In the beginning I had to constantly keep my list of instructions handy if I wanted to enter a requisition for a purchase order, now its easy because I've done so many. Practice makes perfect!!!!

Pluspunten:

I liked how you can add features, customize it for the needs of the institution. I work for a small college and we don't need all the extra features that the larger colleges might implement.

Minpunten:

It can be a little difficult to navigate for the beginner. Unless the user knows what they want there is a chance of getting lost. Ive been using the software for about 4 years now and i sometimes get lost or have to search for specific information. There is no menu with a list of options. So I guess what I'm saying is that it would be nice if it was more user friendly, easier to navigate.

Mark
Mark
Director of Operations & Data Management in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian SIS does what it is designed to do, store data in a standardized manner.

3,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Standardized data. Student lifecycle data storage. Central hub of data for all things related to the student, their experience, and relationships.

Pluspunten:

Easy to use and navigate. Validation tables prevent data from being entered incorrectly. Standardized data means consistent reporting outputs and expected values. Covers the entire lifecycle of the student journey so the Ellucian SIS is set up to be the storage space of all student data.

Minpunten:

Difficult to customize and add fields to the SIS if business processes require it. Can feel overwhelming for new users to learn the system. Very limited ability for most functional users to create their own reports. Usually need to involve report writers with SQL report writing ability. Reporting on multiple areas of the student journey can be difficult when needing to see multiple screens and forms.

Andrew
Associate Director in VS
Schoolleiding, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Used to be better

3,0 9 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: 5-8 years ago Ellucian was a solid product and worked great but since being forced to move to the cloud the quality just isn't the same. Part of this could be all of the changes the Department of Education has implemented over the past couple of years and in that regard Ellucian is doing a good job of adapting.

Pluspunten:

When the financial aid module is working it does a pretty good job of what we need it to.

Minpunten:

Now that we are in 'the cloud' customer service has taken a nosedive and it takes forever to updates installed.

Lisa
Lisa
Student Services Technician in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian User for 15+ years

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Since our college gained access to the web-based version of Ellucian (we call it Colleague at our school, too), it has been a lot easier to use.

Minpunten:

I wish the help feature and other help documents were a little easier to follow. We used to have a gentleman who worked in Admissions & Records that would make PowerPoint presentations and quick guides to help out the Ellucian users.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Consolidates all of my educational needs in one place

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Ellucian has made it easy to consolidate all of our educational needs and resources, from billing to grades, in one easy to navigate space. Students are able to find what they need with ease.

Minpunten:

It is beginning to look a little dated in comparison to other sites in general, but as a tool for higher ed it is still fully functional and acceptable.

Jennifer
Jennifer
Banner Business Systems Analyst in Canada
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

It's hard to be vanilla

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pluspunten:

I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Minpunten:

Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Access your university from your pc

3,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pluspunten:

This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Minpunten:

If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

Ashley
Director of Admissions in VS
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian works well as a student information system.

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

The software houses all of our student information and IT finds securing the database reasonable for higher education. Though Ellucian, we are able to recruit, register, and maintain financial aid records for students. Our HR office also uses it to house employee and faculty information.

Minpunten:

Many of the screens take excessive commands to get through. There are three or four extra steps every time you want to pull a transcript, run an evaluation, or register a student for classes.

Connie
Prospect Research Coordinator in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Easy to use

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pluspunten:

It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Minpunten:

When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian builds products then takes away support

1,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Terrible. Would not recommend for free, let alone the price we pay.

Pluspunten:

We use Banner part of Ellucian. It is effective to get large amounts of information into the system. It is effective is being our online filing cabinet.

Minpunten:

The program is very difficult to use, to navigate through. It is impossible to use on mobile, literally impossible.

Cyrus
Application Developer/Analyst in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Higher Ed and Ellucian

4,0 7 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: As for an ERP it works they continually develop products that do well but then should have been tested or better yet more thought should have been thought through before deploying to customers.

Pluspunten:

offers multiple products gives great support

Minpunten:

Cost: is more costly than some of its competitors Deployment of newer products to end users could be smoother

Jeneshia
Service Desk Analyst in VS
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Colleague by Ellucian (Student)

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

As a Colleague Support and User, the number one thing I loke about this particular software was the ease of use. It flowed easy for both users and students.

Minpunten:

As an Admin using this software, I found that the update process was very complex and time-consuming.

Caroline
Caroline
Reigstration Specialist II in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian review

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

It’s fairly easy to use but you do need some training on learning all the acronyms they use.

Minpunten:

Every time they do an update to the product it seems to disrupt the flow of our production because every one is so thrown off the changes.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Internet, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Improves education experience

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Minpunten:

I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

Leland
Professor in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer
Bron: SoftwareAdvice

Poorly structured. Poorly maintained. Poor.

1,0 8 maanden geleden

Pluspunten:

None. Its a sloggy product, designed with no consideration to the user.

Minpunten:

No redeeming qualities. Repeated crashes during most critical time in student advisement and registration.Undermines the ability of our institution to function professionally.

Larry
Larry
Assistant Director of Institutional Research and Information Management in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

It gets the job done

3,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Fully operational ERP, many different tools and options

Minpunten:

The company itself is the worst. Their customer service is abysmal.

Rik
Server Manager in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Ellucian Colleague

3,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: All Student Information and tracking, payments, HR, etc.

Pluspunten:

It did pull several systems together under one umbrella

Minpunten:

Every time I turn around, they want more resources over and above the original specs

Brian
Admissions Coordinator in VS
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Banner SIS through Ellucian is a solid piece of software

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: A place to store student data for access across campus.

Pluspunten:

Banner allows us to store all of our student information in a campus-wide database in an easy to access system.

Minpunten:

The Banner interface by Ellucian SIS is difficult to navigate and complicated to edit. The interface is not the easiest to use and is a big detriment with this software.

Jessica
Sr admin in VS
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Recruit

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Implementation of Recruit allowed us to upload applications from a csv file. Our previous software did not have this capability.

Minpunten:

It doesn't work as well as ellucian told us it would. The functionality and communication to our CMS does not work well. The implementation also took much longer than expected.

Syrine
Analyst in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great Higher Education Tool

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

I liked the fact that it could house both student and faculty information at the same time. In addition, it allowed you to input information for instructors and move them around if necessary. We used the Banner by Ellucian software and it was useful for our needs

Minpunten:

Nothing to note. It is good for meeting the needs of an institution.

Reginald L.
Reginald L.
Program Coordinator in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great Tracker

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

With the new implementation of the Graduate College student tracking has become a higher priority. With this software our department is able to track students from start to finish. We house the most graduate students in our college and it’s been a hassle to maintain . But this program was able to help us identify what was holding students up (Thesis). After this we made changes to our requirements and also implemented a milestone tracker which has help every single student.

Minpunten:

I have no cons so far. Everything has been great on my end.