Implementing and Using Schoolbox

Beoordeeld op 20-11-2019
Julie S.
Learning Director
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Schoolbox has been an excellent LMS for what we were looking for. We wanted a product that provided virtual learning spaces and it does this well.

Pluspunten: Schoolbox is easy to use for staff, to set up their pages, and for students to use. It is facilitating a shift in practice, initially for assessment, and now we are focusing on how it can enhance learning. Parents regularly access student assessment information via an App.
The company provide good service technically, and are open to listening to teachers and schools as to what they want to improve the product. In the few years we have been using it, many initiatives have been added in response to school and teacher feedback. They also run an annual Meetup conference for users which is very useful as well.
The company supported the school through the implementation process and their ongoing product support is very good.

Minpunten: We find the Markbook facility useable but inflexible. We can't set up subfolders which is how we have previously worked with another Markbook. This is the feature staff find most frustrating.
Technically, it has taken some time to smooth out the link between our SIS (PCSchool) and Schoolbox. Getting the two software systems to talk to each other has been a technical challenge. It is now working relatively well, but we do not have a live connection which would be possible if we used Synergetic. The fact that we have to do manual updates is time-consuming and a bit frustrating for the ICT team. Note though that the issue is more with our SIS than a fault of Schoolbox.

Bringing the community together

Beoordeeld op 12-11-2019
Cherie N.
Director of IT
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Schoolbox allows us to have a single platform that all users within our community can engage with. Instant delivery of curriculum content, feedback and results means we can enrich our learning environment with minimal impact of teacher admin overhead. Our notifications, news and alerts can be delivered more dynamically and with audience targeting we can reduce the white noise of all community news blast outs.
The product is always evolving with innovative approaches to classroom delivery.

Minpunten: The product does not include a lot of typical administrative features (permission structures, capacity management, deleting). Documents within the system are not dynamic. It is upload and download, which seems a little archaic in the modern collaborative world.

Schoolbox has transformed learning, teaching and communication at our school.

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2019
Kate M.
Leader of eLearning & Innovation
E-learning, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are merging dozens of online systems and several communication channels into one place. We are minimising numerous risks (for example, loss of intellectual property and loss of class time) by using Schoolbox. My College has nothing but praise for Schoolbox! Now we have it, we cannot imagine life without it.

Pluspunten: There are so many things to love! Schoolbox has positively changed our entire culture of our College. Our communication has been dramatically streamlined. The thousands of parents in our community receive their messages from one point and are happier than they were when we used a SharePoint instance. The ability to bring all of the online systems that we use to one place (our Schoolbox instance) is saving us time. Schoolbox allows us to create templates of our pages, and so our community know where on the page the information they are looking for is no matter what page they are viewing. These two factors alone have saved us thousands of hours in our classrooms. Our staff love the fact that the courses are saved and reused from year to year. They love the drag and drop nature of content creation and the fact that the existing work can be dragged into Schoolbox. It means that they do not have to start everything from scratch. They can still use the content that was existing before we went into Schoolbox. Of course, they are also using the new implementation as a way to audit the existing content and refresh it as they need to. The ability to offer secure group spaces to our extra-curricular groups such as student clubs and parent groups is a feature we have never been able to provide before. Finally, I have to offer praise to the Schoolbox Support Staff who work hard to support us in making our Schoolbox instance very successful in our College.

Minpunten: The administration area can take a little while to learn. It is a very complex area. However, only superusers use this space, so most users never have to deal with it. There is a lot of support available to assist superusers. Schoolbox Support staff and the Professional Services Team are only a phone call away if I ever need help.

Schoolbox LMS

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2019
Paul M.
Learning Management System co-ordinator
Schoolleiding, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: This company actively cultivates a very personalised relationship with the company which has enabled them to continually evolve as the needs of their customers grow and change. This high level of responsiveness continually makes a good platform better.

Pluspunten: The platform brings together many systems that we previously maintained separately. For example, calendar, news, communication, teaching resources, gradebook, assessment calendar and collaborative tools are now in one place. This has significantly streamlined workflow for everyone but is also a lot more intuitive and has allowed us to create stronger systems. For example, online submission of due work means that all work can be submitted electronically on the one day, is automatically checked for plagiarism, feedback can be delivered and fed back immediately and marks entered automatically into the gradebook. There is also much greater oversight on an individuals total workload and the ability to more effectively manage this. The platform has significantly changed some core workplace systems and in some cases has positively impacted on the culture of "how things are done". It's a "one stop shop" for school communication, collaboration, grading, resources, assessment and feedback.

Minpunten: There are still some areas of the gradebook which we would like tweaked for the platform to work ideally for us. In an LMS with such a wide scope, there will always be some features which are not 100% tailored to an individual school's needs. Over a 6 year relationship, we have found the company to be wonderfully responsive and adaptive to the needs of the users and are confident that this area will soon be addressed by the software engineers.

SchoolBox Review

Beoordeeld op 4-11-2019
Greg A.
CIO
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: SchoolBox has become our Learning Management System, our staff Intranet as well as our communications portal to our parents and other community stakeholders.

Pluspunten: The ease at which the software can be configured, customised and used. The drag and drop style of adding components is something end-users are able to do themselves. It is an off the shelf prodcut purchased that was able to replace a number of bespoke, complicated solutions previously used. We had rapid on-boarding of staff due to it's ease of use.

Minpunten: There is nothing specific we dislike about the software, they all have there quirks and sometimes the way things are done don't always suit how users want it to work.

Schoolbox for Secondary

Beoordeeld op 30-10-2019
Jason B.
Head of Information Systems
Hoger onderwijs, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: With the implementation of all new software solutions, planning is key and Schoolbox demonstrated their ability to perform this in the most efficient manner.
From the server configuration templates to the necessary training involving the relevant staff and estimated time it would take to meet production, all went as planned.
The management interface is fairly striaght forward to use from administrator's point of view and once staff training was completed, courses and class pages were produced in a reasonable timeframe.

Minpunten: Initially, the rollover process with a little cumbersome given the way we had originally implemented and linked our class pages with courses.
We have streamlined this process and staff are now self sufficient with this.
Some of the integration with Synergetic was also limited but this is expanding year by year and now we have most of the student information being accessible in SchoolBox.

Schoolbox: A modern solution to managing complexity in schools

Beoordeeld op 30-10-2019
Ian H.
Head of Professional Practice and Learning
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Success in the introduction of an LMS is dependent upon the quality of the product and the quality of leadership and implementation. The product has to be good but I suggest you prioritise leadership and implementation. You will have a better experience and outcome with a good product and excellent implementation than you will with an excellent product (however that might be judged) and poor implementation. I think Schoolbox is a very good product and we are doing our best to achieve an excellent implementation - it is not a small undertaking.

Pluspunten: The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. We have only just started out with Schoolbox but already I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent opportunities to learn from company representatives and from the experience of colleagues in other schools. The software itself has enormous functionality, spanning a wide range of school operations. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to mange complexity in schools.

Minpunten: The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder. That concept and process lacks a bit of 'stickability' for busy teachers so it is important to support teachers through training. Once teachers have a grasp of this aspect of Schoolbox, there is no stopping them.

Out of the box School wide Learning Management System - Easy to use and engaging for all clients

Beoordeeld op 30-10-2019
Jonathan B.
Director Senior Schooling
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall I have been happy with the product. It has achieved most of the goals we set as a project team for our LMS we went were searching to upgrade. There are some problems with it but there are with all systems. We rolled out to our whole community (approximately 1400 students + 200 staff + parents) at once and have experienced some hiccups and concerns but overall the system and the support team at SchoolBox made the process relatively easy.

Pluspunten: The ease of use for storing information that is shared with multiple students across multiple platforms. The customisation of the product allows us to use only the features that we want and to trial those features that are new to the LMS during different releases. The best thing about SchoolBox is the network of users who regularly problem solve and develop solutions in a collaborative way.

Minpunten: There is considerable time being spent trying to ensure the product talks to our school wide administration system. Having said that we knew this would be an ongoing problem on both vendors sides and were prepared for the delays that are occurring.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 1-11-2019

Thanks very much for your feedback and review Jonathan. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete this and provide such valuable feedback. It's been a pleasure working with you and your school and we look forward to continuing the service and support. Always feel free to reach out when you need us. Thanks.

Schoolbox helps make learning personal

Beoordeeld op 27-10-2019
Victor D.
ICT Manager
E-learning, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Schoolbox as a Learning Management System has made and is making Continuous Reporting a reality. Being able to mark attendances directly out of Schoolbox, which integrates with our SIS, and being able to maintain Pastoral Records and communicate with parents from the LMS means that Schoolbox is being used by many teachers as a 'one stop shop'.

Pluspunten: Schoolbox is designed from the ground up to be intuitive, allowing the novice or the seasoned digital pedagogy practitioner to jump in and building learning activities and courses. In particular, the Schoolbox team listens to its user base when planning its product development road map: this has led to a feature set that supports personalised learning, including rich assessment rubrics, student self-reflection and feedback, modified assessments, social learning, as well as a survey tool that supports Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Minpunten: The support for Learning Analytics and the analytics around teachers' use of the product is still fairly nascent. One has to instead look to third party tools to provide this capability.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 1-11-2019

Thanks Victor for your review and for taking the time. We've had a ball working with you, your team and your school thus far!

We are very keen to continue evolving how Schoolbox reports on student learning, as well as integrations into external reporting systems.

We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Schoolbox Review

Beoordeeld op 25-10-2019
John T.
ICT Director
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Schoolbox is now a critical platform solution for our business and educational needs. Without it we would not be able to operate efficiently. This has been a system that has grown and developed in its sophistication with us and our journey into the digital learning space.

Pluspunten: Our Schoolbox instance is fast, reliable and readily available. Our School has been able to embed Schoolbox as our Learning Management System, Community Portal, Continuous feedback and is now our main communication platform. The support of the software (both technical and professional learning) is timely with high resolution success. The team is knowledgeable, friendly and responsive.

Minpunten: We have had extensive requests by our school community to allow for printable reporting functions - specially in the Grades and Feedback modules. Feature requests on the core components can be time consuming as the process involves a voting system by other Schoolbox customers for buy in. Being a long term customer and user of the system we find ourselves more advanced than other School's who may not be ready for other feature request changes.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 1-11-2019

Cheers John for your helpful feedback & review. We're always listening to our schools and their requirements in reporting on student learning. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Thanks for taking the time to review us John!

Forward thinking

Beoordeeld op 23-10-2019
Benjamin R.
Coordinator of Technology and Innovations
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As mentioned above, the customer support is excellent. A registered user can call the support team and be onto a human working on a solution with almost no waiting on hold. The owners and management are approachable and willing to discuss changes even if their original opinions differ with the customers. They have built solid partnerships with other service providers and are always looking for additional partners.

Pluspunten: - customer service is excellent. They are always able or willing to work to resolve an issue
- their road map is inspiring and focuses on the educational benefit of using an LMS
- willing to customise the base product for a fee
- not afraid to share data location in the schema

Minpunten: - supporting custom work. After paying for custom work to the base product, any future releases on the base product may impact the custom work. This incurs an additional cost on the customer to adjust the custom work to meet the changes. Please note Schoolbox is very clear about this before agreeing to any custom work.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 11-11-2019

Hey Benjamin. Thanks so much for your awesome review and for taking the time to complete it and provide this helpful feedback. As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We are grateful that schools like Meriden are partnering with us to build custom features that enhance your unique requirements, while inspiring improvements to the product's core feature set, for all schools to benefit from, as we journey down our feature roadmap. Thanks again for supporting us. We're looking forward to continuing working together. Cheers.

Whole-School Learning and Engagement Platform

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Anita M.
LMS Consultant
E-learning, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was the project lead required to recommend either a new virtual learning platform, or extensive upgrade costs to the previous product. After contacting and visiting numerous schools in Queensland, I was convinced of the value Schoolbox offered. Almost two years later, teachers and students are embracing Schoolbox and looking forward to what lays ahead, particularly in whole-school communications.

Pluspunten: There are three standout features of Schoolbox:
1. It is an all-in-one solution for teaching and learning, staff intranet and school communications
2. It is an Australian product, built by Australian educators for the Australian school market
3. The Schoolbox community is highly skilled and generous with their knowledge

Minpunten: Queensland curriculum compliancy remains an issue

Schoolbox Review - The Scots College

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Paul L.
Director of ICT Services
Schoolleiding, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very good. I recommend Schoolbox all the time (they should pay me for it...)

Pluspunten: In a nutshell it covers two birds with one stone for Scots. It's our LMS (Learning Management System) and our Intranet/Portal for communications to all campuses (8) and users. Most other educational software packages are either/or whereas Schoolbox is both and both core areas are great for Scots (well developed).
That's it.

Minpunten: Not much I can put here. I like it. They could focus on completing some of their modules a little better but most of them are great. It gets better and better with every update.

Makes my life as a Teacher so much easier

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Natalie R.
Digital Innovation Specialist
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It is an extension of my teachers arm so my experience has always been positive

Pluspunten: A very intuitive LMS that requires minimal training at all levels of ability. To me it is a one stop shop for all teaching and learning matters and eliminates the use of other software's.

Minpunten: Unable to copy and paste homepages in the backend.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 13-11-2019

Hey Natalie. Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! Thanks for taking the time!

Copying content can lead to some headaches. On one hand you make it easy for users to replicate existing content; on the other hand you make way for spawning large amounts of duplicate content that's unmaintainable; and then face that common problem where 10 copies of something makes it near impossible to tell which copy is most up to date/current/accurate etc a nightmarish situation that decreases search effectiveness, reduces content value, and makes management of a system harder.

We recently improved page templates to allow for adding more content inbuilt inside them. Templates will help solve 90% of cases. Hopefully we can deliver more improvements to templates in future.

You can also use the 'alternate source linking' ability where you have one master version and reference that master version many times, which when update will update all references.

Thanks for the great support

Schoolbox - the LMS for Citipointe

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2019
Ben D.
CIO
Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We love that Schoolbox listens to its clients and strives to implement those features schools are chasing.
An agile company that is adept at setting and communicating its priorities to clients, whilst staying true to its core business.
A reasonably smooth implementation and roll out over the past couple of years, and looking forward to working with Schoolbox well into the future!

Pluspunten: We like the ease of use for students, staff and parents.
Customisation of the dashboard for various audiences.
Relative ease of management for staff and administrators.
Powerful communications tool for community.
Allows students access to curriculum and extra-curricula information anywhere, anytime.
Allows the College to provide relevant messaging to parents.

Minpunten: Permissions structure does not always allow full administrative control. eg. sometimes easy for staff to accidentally delete an item which requires Schoolbox to restore.

Schoolbox - connecting my learners and challenging my pedagogy

Beoordeeld op 30-10-2019
Alison S.
Head of eLearning and Research
E-learning, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Schoolbox is a great company to deal with. They are responsive and timely in attending to issues, and I really appreciate their focus on improving their product. They actively listen to their customers and the forums on the Help site provide a wonderful avenue for users to find support, to generate ideas, and to feel that their voice is being heard by the company.

Pluspunten: I really appreciate the philosophy behind the software. Schoolbox as a company is working hard to provide schools with sound pedagogical practices, not just gimmicks. As a teacher, I particularly appreciate the ability to track student learning and keep records of that learning through the Course Outline. I love the surveys and polls components for feedback on the learning process, both for students and for my own reflective practice. As an administrator of the platform, I particularly value the connectedness that can be built for the school community through targeted and individualised notifications and groups. All stakeholders, whether they be staff, students or parents, are getting a bespoke experience with information that is relevant to them.

Minpunten: There are a couple of integrations that probably don't work as well for us yet. The similarity check isn't comparable to another product we currently use; this presents some difficulties in getting staff to move to Schoolbox, but other features counteract this.

A useful integrated virtual learning environment

Beoordeeld op 11-11-2019
Katie M.
Leader of eLearning
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Schoolbox has been a positive rollout at our school. Three years in and all teachers and students are using it daily for class and assessment work. A lot more collaboration happens between teachers and with teachers and students. Support has been very strong and the Schoolbox Meetups for customers have been useful and well-planned. We are about to add parents in as users and are looking forward to using even more of the softwares, capabilities.

Pluspunten: Smooth Live Integration with our Student Information System (Synergetic)
Customisable - we branded and named it using our colours, etc.
Support is very good
Embedding video and google slides particularly useful.
All required pedagogy tools are there.
Easy to make visually interesting

Minpunten: The Course management is difficult for an average user to understand so really requires top-down control.

Schoolbox delivers for student centered learning!

Beoordeeld op 1-11-2019
Deborah H.
Director, Education Consultant - LMS Implementation and Development
Schoolleiding, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: We are finding that Schoolbox is helping our client schools improve consistency and quality in curriculum delivery, assessment and feedback to both students and their parents. It is also providing a community portal that only only delivers news and events, but keeps parents in touch with their child's learning, due dates, results and co curricular schedules....all in one place. The interface can be customised to suit the branding of the individual school, which is a bonus!

Minpunten: Some of the information and data system integrations and set up processes were a bit tricky initially, but they provided plenty of support.

The software every school must have

Beoordeeld op 23-10-2019
David C.
Director of ICT
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It solves our communication and teaching and learning needs right across our College from K through to 12.

Pluspunten: Schoolbox provides end to end communication with the entire school community. It provides a place for teachers to distribute learning resources of all types to students. The product is constantly evolving and improving to what is a stable offering. It is easy to use and the support and developer teams listen to customer feedback and aim to work on further improvements and innovation.

Minpunten: There is not a lot I like least about Schoolbox.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 1-11-2019

Hi David. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We love working with you and your schoolloving the support from you and your team. Cheers.

Schoolbox - An effective LMS for schools of all sizes

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Nicolas C.
Acting House Dean - Mooney House
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, Schoolbox has allowed us to develop effective teaching and learning, marketing and communication strategies. This has allowed us to increase our reach with sharing information and increasing engagement.

Pluspunten: Schoolbox has allowed us to develop and roll out a platform that provides a one-stop-shop for students, staff and parents. The support staff are incredibly supportive, responding to requests in a timely and helpful manner. Their commitment to customer support is one of the best I have ever encountered. Through their open communication channels, we have been able to request features and services that find their way in to future releases. The ability to quickly embed a variety of resources has allowed us to create an engaging instance that has received much support from all key stakeholders in our school.

Minpunten: It's hard to identify any cons, but for us here in Queensland, I felt that Schoolbox was a bit slow to provide software changes to facilitate changes to the senior schooling system. With that in mind though, our Account Manager and various support staff were quick to provide assistance when we requested it.

A great partnership with a team that actually cares about their customers.

Beoordeeld op 3-5-2018
David H.
Director of Learning Technology and ICT
201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use this software for so many purposes, more than what we originally thought. We can communicate to students and parents regarding news, projects, due work, markings etc.

Pluspunten: The product owners and developers have always been very clear with how they see their product growing and how we can influence and feed in ideas and features. Even through rapid growth they have still remained true to their vision which convinced us to sign up 6 years ago.

Minpunten: There are quite a few settings in the admin panel that need better explanation, for us who have been using the system for a long time we know them but new users might be overwhelmed. That said, the more granular the settings the more you can customise it for your own environment.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 11-11-2019

Hey David. Thanks for spending the time to provide such a great review and great feedback. We've loved working with you and your team thus far.

The superuser's admin area certainly does offer a wide range of configuration. I see that in our community Ideas forums that our community of schools are discussing and voting on how our administration area can be presented in an easier way. Hopefully we can improve this area in the future. Thanks so much for the feedback and support. :)

Schoolbox Review

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Adrian D.
LMS Coordinator/Teacher
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Really positive so far. The online tech support is great, I found it much more useful than over the phone.

Pluspunten: It's a very good Learning Management System but also is very good at helping to run a school. The Unit pages and Class pages are particularly helpful for sharing resources. Assessment options are also great.

Minpunten: It doesn't do any data analytics and it's quite clunky to export data. E.g. to get an entire cohort of results you need to export from each class page. Other features that we wanted are currently being customised which is great.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 11-11-2019

Nice work Adrian. Thanks so much for your great feedback. We love discussing the pain points with schools in the hope we can solve these problems.

We've made significant enhancements in the data analytics space over the last year with the addition of the Course and Rubrics markbooks. A lot of schools have expressed their desire to export these markbooks; therefore, we're keen to make this a reality!

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Thanks for sharing. :)

SchooBox

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Liz B.
Service Desk Team Leader
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Integration with Synergetic, linking staff accounts with the parent accounts for ease of access for information in that "role".

Minpunten: The calendar is not as easy or user-friendly as other systems. Not being able to access timetables on the weekend (feedback from Students)

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 12-11-2019

Hi Liz. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide such a great review and feedback. We're always interested in hearing from schools and in helping schools improve our product/services, for getting more out of the product.

You'll be pleased to hear the calendar has had an overhaul in the latest major release v19.1. See the release notes here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2567

We've improved the calendar's list view look/feel (as well as overall), with simpler filtering. We've also added a new calendar event detail page; notifications will now land on this page!

Also in v19.1 we've built a new Assessment Calendar feature, for planning assessments & school events across multiple campuses/years/classes, in 1 view.

This release is about to be available!

Finally, students can quickly see their timetable on weekends by clicking the timetable link in the main navigation. They can even easily check it on mobile!

Thanks again :)

Totally worth the learning curve!

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Brad E.
Secondary Teacher + E-Learning Coach
E-learning, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The experience has been excellent. Bel and Peter have been so helpful and assisted us wherever we needed it. Our staff have come a long way in just over 6 months, and the reception has been excellent despite launching at the busiest time of year. Even those teachers who were initially skeptical of something 'new' have had some wins and are excited to see what can be done with the platform.

Pluspunten: I love the way Schoolbox changed the way our teachers and students think about online learning. Schoolbox has become the actual classroom. The class pages have become their whiteboard and classroom posters, and the course and unit pages have become their live strategic planning documents. It is exciting to see teachers eyes light up when they realize they can do the work once, do it well, and move onto the next thing in their extensive list of things to do.

Minpunten: Coming from a different LMS product, there was a steep learning curve to alter the way teachers were thinking about online learning with Schoolbox (though it has been totally worth it).

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 3-12-2019

Thanks for the wonderful review Brad. Much appreciated!

School box use as a teacher

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019
Jim C.
ICT Coach/Teacher
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Great and easy platform to use and operate

Pluspunten: Easy to use with my classes, especially the collaboration tools available

Minpunten: Not being able to easily copy componments between class pages

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Schoolbox op 12-11-2019

Hey there Jim. Thanks very much for the great review and thanks for taking the time.

Copying content can lead to quite a few headaches. On one hand you make it easy for users to replicate existing content. On the other hand you open up the ability to allow a huge amount of duplicate content that is unmaintainable. You'd face the common problem where you have 10 copies of something without knowing which copy is the most up to date/current/accurate etc., causing a nightmare of a situation that will decrease search effectiveness, reduce content value, and make management harder.

We recently improved the templates to allow greater content options/control inbuilt inside them. Templates will help solve 90% of cases. Hopefully we can deliver more improvements to templates in future.

You can also use the 'alternate source linking' ability where you have one master version and reference that master version many times, which when updated, will update all linked references.

Cheers. :)