A great way to build a blog or whole site quickly but it takes work to get the best out of it.

Beoordeeld op 26-6-2018
Ricardo P.
Creative Director/Director
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Wordpress allows me to run a successful business building websites quickly and cost effectively. The various plugins and extensions have allowed me to create services of my own which I provide online.

Pluspunten: Probably the best thing about wordpress is it's flexibility. You can build a beautiful site, blog, shop, or pretty much anything on the platform. The version you install is pretty plain but there are probably a good 100,000 free and paid for plugins that allow you to extend the functionality of the software. The version I use all the time is the self-install version which for anyone with a little technical knowledge and a willingness to learn will be a quick straightforward process to get up and running. Once installed you can quickly set up pages and blog posts combining photos and pretty much every type of media you like. If you like to code, you can get your hands dirty and change everything. If not you can stick with pre-made themes and tools. Another huge pro is the astounding amount of free information and tutorials available online so if you do have a problem, someone will have already had the same, fixed it and explain how you can do it too.

Minpunten: So wordpress is free but you will need somewhere to host a site which can be a cost issue depending on the volume of traffic you expect. If you are not willing to learn how to set up the system and work methodically then it's probably not for you. There are some technical skills to be learnt so if that's not your bag then it's probably better to keep away or you'll end up getting frustrated.

WordPress Evolves, Adapts and is Lovingly Wrapped

Beoordeeld op 13-12-2019
Vernessa T.
Freelance Writer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Initially I was searching for a way to create and save tech-related notes, then link to relevant others, and search the entire pile. That was years ago (and I found some other software more suitable to that task). WordPress creators listen to the community that develops with it and the end users. So it has continued to evolve and adapt to the way the community uses and wants to use it. Over the years WordPress has served my needs as a blog, front page for a static website, content management system and ecommerce platform.

Pluspunten: WordPress evolves, adapts and is lovingly wrapped around by a caring community of coders, developers, techies, and users alike. I began using WordPress before it was worthy of a full integer (it was like version 0.4!). I was impressed with it then even though I used it as a storage place for tech-related notes. I watched it evolve from a mostly blog engine to an enviable content management system. And adapt from being primarily in the purview of hobbyists to become a serious tool in the business realm. I remain impressed by (and grateful to) the community that creates for it, tweaks and supports it, and teaches others how to achieve the results they're seeking.

Minpunten: Oh the woes associated with upgrading! I've had a few because while the software will always warn you to backup and backup and know what you're doing, it can't foresee every possible thing that can go wrong. So it will sometimes break things. Or some ill-coded plugins will bork your site when you upgrade WordPress. My other least favorite thing about WordPress is the WordPress Plugin Repository. I don't think it is designed well enough to rule out bad actors (who create crappy pieces of software that causes problems for your WordPress site). Finally, although I applaud WordPress for finally figuring out a way to "edit in place," I don't think Gutenberg is the answer.

The Essential Web Platform for Flexibility and Depth

Beoordeeld op 22-11-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Director of Enrollment Services
Hoger onderwijs, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: WordPress is terrific. It gives us a platform where we can combine plugins and themes that speed up or automatically accomplish many otherwise-tedious tasks, but gives us options through plugins or back-end editing to add whatever functionality or customization we need. It is an exceptionally powerful open-source platform. Our only complaint is that the wide variety of options sometimes means that even simple tasks require a tremendous amount of involvement and decision-making. But these are few and far between.

Pluspunten: WordPress offers unmatched depth of customization
WordPress also offers a wide variety of attractive prebuilt themes, templates and simple front-end builders
The documentation and support is freely available and extremely helpful
The plugin store includes helpful information about each plugin to assist users in making choices about modifying their website

Minpunten: With great customization comes density of options—some tasks are excessively complex to achieve
Some utility tasks are offloaded to plugins, which necessitates a never-ending search for the right plugin to accomplish a basic task

About as you would expect from a software that's leading an industry it wasn't designed for

Beoordeeld op 6-7-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Product Developer
Internet
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
2/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was able to develop custom websites (landing pages, as well as sites with more in-depth content, managed by an editorial team) that our customers were then able to fill with their own content and that would let them perform basic management tasks on their own.

Pluspunten: Wordpress makes it very easy for editorial staff and / or your customers to create and manage their own content for their own websites, leaving only theme design & development and development of special business functionality up to you. The process of which is also helped by the vast amount of plugins available for the platform. It's easy and efficient to create custom themes & functionality for Wordpress based websites and support is never far away thanks to the massive adoption-base it has.

Minpunten: The fact that Wordpress, at its core, still wants to be about blogging hinders its development. If it was reworked with the integration of custom content types & landing pages in mind, development of websites that aren't blogs (which is probably the majority of websites Wordpress is powering at this time) would go much easier.
Its underlying technologies, which feel like they're stuck in the days of PHP4, are also not nearly up-to-par with modern software development frameworks and environments. If you want to change the way a store-bought theme displays some values, you have to manually edit the theme's files, which you have to do over and over again if you update the theme, because Wordpress' hooks for software developers just won't cut it for most customisations.
Wordpress also doesn't have any concept of MVC-like (or any other) patterns for managing code & assets and it also lacks native support for any kind of build-system like grunt, gulp, or webpack.
In short: Wordpress is held back by its blogging roots and its resilience to acknowledging more modern approaches to web development.

Still the best and getting easier

Beoordeeld op 30-12-2019
Steve M.
Director of Digital Marketing
Management non-profit organisaties, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use WordPress to power a surprising number of content sites, many with more than a thousand articles (the largest site has over 10k total pages). This is a huge blessing from where we were just a few years ago with an expensive, development-heavy, closed-source behemoth.
The one thing we really don't intend to use WordPress for is the e-commerce area. We went with a special-purpose platform for that because we didn't want to cobble-together a ton of WooCommerce plugins.

Pluspunten: We use WordPress for more than ten websites, the top three of which have more than a million visitors per month. So, with the right hosting platform, WordPress can be "enterprise". What I like the most is that we've been able to train more than 50 content producers to easily use the system. There is so much self-help training (just not from WordPress itself, all 3p) out there that you can pretty much teach yourself anything. We especially like the SEO courses that all have modules about WordPress--that's crucial because trying to do SEO yourself, without good tools and processes, is a huge time sink. WordPress has so many plugins that you can find anything almost anything you need.

Minpunten: The greatest strength, the extensibility through plugins, is also a huge weakness. The "batteries not included" model means that you will spend a lot of time selecting, managing and updating plugins. This is still easier than coding site features yourself, but the all-in-one approach of competitors like Wix or Squarespace is pretty attractive if you don't want to configure a bunch of disparate pieces of software.

WordPress had been awesome

Beoordeeld op 28-12-2019
Emeka O.
Digital Marketing Trainer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've been using WordPress to build websites for my business and also for clients. Also I train people on how to use WordPress, thereby generating revenue for my business. I love WordPress so much because of its ease of use, stability, and large community. Also that WordPress is free to use is very beautiful.

Pluspunten: I've been using WordPress for about three years, and it's been amazing. I like a whole lot of things about WordPress, and those things includes: 1. Short learning curve: unlike other Content Management Systems (CMS) I've used, WordPress have a very short learning curve. It's beginner friendly, and even those without prior knowledge about website designing using CMS can get over it in just a few hours. 2. Ease of Use: Using WordPress to design a website is very easy, and you can build a website in 30mins or less. 3. Free to use: WordPress is an open source CMS, and is free to use. 4. Availability of Support: WordPress works with themes and plugins, and the developers of the themes and plugins I've used had been supportive. 5. Availability of free themes and plugins: There is a huge database of amazing free plugins and themes to get one started immediately. 6. Huge community: WordPress have a whole lot of user base, and this had led to a large number of both online and offline communities. Finding solution to bugs is easy due to the availability of those supportive communities. 7. Ease of managing WordPress websites: Managing WordPress websites is very easy compared to some other CMS I've used. One only need to login to the admin dashboard, and from there the website can be managed easily. One can post contents and edit already existing ones without having to go to the Cpanel of the website hosting account, or using File Transfer (FTP) softwares.

Minpunten: It is very hard to point out anything I don't like about WordPress. The only turn off of some sort for me is that some WordPress themes and plugins can be expensive. This is not a big issue as there is almost always an alternative.

One of the best website managers out there

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2019
Juan pablo A.
Installed Base Manager
Managementconsulting, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It has been a very good experience to get to know wordpress and use it. It has granted us a great tool to manage websites, blogs, communities and landing pages. There is a lot of tutorials and information around, you just have to have the will (and/or time) to keep updating.

Pluspunten: WordPress is one of the best website managers and content creators. It has tons of templates, addins and is supported almost everywhere (even if you want to install it locally). We have used our website with WordPress for more than 4 years and everytime we need to update or upgrade it, is as simple as to look for a new template, create a backup, install the template and customize it a little bit and in less than a week (sometimes even days) we have it up and running

Minpunten: The con I could find on Wordpress is that it can sometimes be difficult to keep an eye on the new versions of everything you install. There are updates for the theme, the addins, the plugins, the connectors, etc. What we have agreed to do is to always look to minimize the addons we select for our website to keep this controlable but there is always some antispam addin or comments addin you will eventually need. And sometimes, with the updates, you can get your site broken.

There is a reason it is the most commonly used

Beoordeeld op 13-11-2019
Justin S.
VP of Marketing
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've been on teams that have built and managed sites doing tens of millions of visits a month on heavily customized instances of WordPress, all the way down to personal pet projects that get single digit visits a month. It's the only CMS I consistently recommend.

Pluspunten: The ecosystem built around WordPress is second to none. Every front end developer is familiar with WordPress. There are multiple plugin options for just about anything you could ever want to do. Most importantly, it's open source and therefore free. Some people are deterred by open source, but WordPress powers a third of the Internet, it isn't going anywhere.

Minpunten: It can be a bit of a pain in the butt to do certain things. For example, if you want to use it as a CMS for a larger site and not just a blog, the out of the box configuration needs customization. Also, they recently switched to a fundamentally new way of doing things "Gutenberg" and it is not without its warts. Over time this will improve.

WordPress overall review

Beoordeeld op 2-11-2019
Site A.
Web Developer
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: - I can't miss out on the chance to recommend WordPress to anyone. You kind of don't "re-invent the wheel" anymore (coding from scratch). It helps me save time and energy in creating a website for my clients rather than creating it from scratch. WordPress is generic, meaning it suits the need for any kind of website you may want to create (blog, eCommerce, portfolio, organizational, etc)

Pluspunten: - Using WordPress is one of the easiest and fastest ways to set up a website without the need for extra cost for an experienced Web Developer.
- WordPress being a free Content Management System (CMS) handles a lot of things for you. For example Security, Performance, File uploads, Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and many more.
- As a part-time Freelance Web Developer, I can actually create any category of a website for my clients, ranging from personal to blog to eCommerce to organizational without having to code anything from scratch. This saves me a lot of time and energy.
- It is widely used and very popular, powering millions of websites. This makes it easy to have online assistance just by Googling the technical issue you face.
- WordPress comes with free and paid website templates that can be integrated directly and has thousands of plugins that permits me to add more functionalities to my clients' websites, all these without coding. Some of these added functionalities include contact form submission, user registration, accepting online payments, newsletter and many more.
- It is so easy to customize or update content found on any webpage of your website.
- One of the greatest features of WordPress is the ability for multiple admin users to be able to work on the website with their accounts created and their roles defined as it is the case in our company (our main university website is powered by WordPress)

Minpunten: - WordPress requires a database to run.
- WordPress is widely used (powers millions of websites). This makes it vulnerable as a security flaw could be discovered and exploited by malicious individuals.

A solid choice for a easy to use CMS

Beoordeeld op 3-12-2019
Michael H.
Web developer
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Websites now usually require at least a basic level of content management, and for a free, easy to use option, Wordpress more than fits the bill. A site can be up and running within a few minutes, and thanks to the vast array of free, or cheap, themes and plugins available, most customer requirements can be met quickly and simply. The sheer amount of extensions can mean that Wordpress sites gain a lot of bloat, so it's always worth keeping everything up to date, and uninstalling plugins that are no longer useful.

Pluspunten: It's free, and very easy to set up. There is a huge amount of plugins and extensions available to cover almost any requirement. It's relatively easy to use for non-computer savvy users.

Minpunten: It can get very bloated very quickly. Some plugins may conflict with others. Options are sometimes hidden in places that are not immediately obvious.

WordPress, the great paradox!

Beoordeeld op 16-1-2020
Jack L.
Director
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
2/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Overall, I'm pretty happy with WordPress. I've learned to work around the flaws, and though things can generally take longer than doing things on a static HTML website it's still usually a pleasant experience. There are times I'd like to stab my server in the SSD because of the frustrations I've experienced, especially when a boss or customer wants something done immediately and WordPress itself is being difficult. I'd still recommend it, but use the Classic Editor plugin as soon as you install it.

Pluspunten: WordPress makes a lot of things very simple. The ecosystem it offers in terms of plugins and themes allow for infinite extension and improvement, and can take a very simple site to a level of ridiculousness in terms of functionality. Adding and extending WordPress is also fairly straightforward, especially for technical people like myself. Their documentation and API allow for easy addition of new features via plugins and child themes, and this alone is why so many people love using WordPress. For a shopping cart, there's WooCommerce, also created by Automattic.

Minpunten: Automattic have made some terrible decisions about Wordpress over the past few years. The Gutenberg editor is a travesty of magnificent proportions and the fact that the platform uses jQuery 1.12.4, which is flagged by every PCI-DSS scanner in the world as vulnerable, is pretty much unacceptable. Automattic also created WooCommerce for Wordpress. WooCommerce is a fantastic platform, though also flawed in a number of respects, for selling things, but what use is that when every single merchant services provider says your PCI security scan failed because WordPress is using an archaic version of jQuery? Overriding WordPress CSS can be a real nightmare too, though a lot of this is down to the WooCommerce and theme designers.

Best Content Management System in the World of Web

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2020
Umair B.
Manager
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use WordPress for all my Websites, I teach online so I am using a LMS (Learning Management System) theme, which makes my work very easy. I can create courses and share my best knowledge with the world with the help of WordPress. I have also an E-Commerce Website where I am selling the products. Very important that I have added few payment gateways including cash on delivery. I am also running a personal blog where I write on different categories. So overall I am 100% satisfied with WordPress.

Pluspunten: WordPress is the best CMS. I am using WordPress for my own websites and also for the clients websites. There are several free and premium themes that we can download and install in our Website. I purchased Divi Package, so that API i can use for any website. WordPress is very easy to use, where you can build a website without the knowledge of Programming Languages. In the directory of WordPress you can find different layouts of themes like with one sidebar, two sidebars and even without the sidebar. There are thousands of Plugins which makes your life very easy, by Installing and activating these plugins you can save your time and the things will execute in your website within few minutes and seconds. If you are running an E-commerce business then it's also very awesome, because with the help of Woocommerce Plugin you can make your E-commerce website. You can control your online E-commerce business in such an easy way, where on your website selling and managing the products will be very easy with the help of WordPress.

Minpunten: If you are using free Theme, so there are few things that you can change only from the Theme Editor. For Instance if you want to change something in the header of your website, then you will edit header.php File. So according to my experience this is only the thing which difficult for the beginners, because they don't have programming knowledge also.

Versatile with plenty of options!

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2020
Jeremy V.
Development Manager
Geestelijke gezondheidszorg, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Wordpress is extremely easy to use in comparison to some other website softwares. You can make a basic page for a business or blog in a matter of hours and have it up and running. There are quite a few themes that it is very likely the design you want has already been created.

Pluspunten: Wordpress offers the most options and built in plugins if you are willing to pay. With how broad the use of wordpress is there are also plenty of resources online to help you build and expand your webpage. You can edit your site and get it up and running in a matter of hours.

Minpunten: When you are starting out on wordpress there are features and plugins are are only available at higher priced points. Unfortunately you have to pay for the entire year so there is not much flexibility in terms of trying things out for a short period of time before committing.

Wordpress - Must Use for Your Website (Business or Personal)

Beoordeeld op 6-1-2020
Brian L.
Manager / Memeber
Entertainment, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use it for my own business site and for client sites. It is my go to and the best experience possible out there and I have tried a lot. Consider that it covers everything:
1. Well suited and coded for SEO with supporting plugins.
2. Lot of security plugins which are necessary, effective and you need to use as it is a very popular platform and thus lots of hackers are interested in it.
3. Works congruently with Social Media platforms.
4. LMS / Drip Content / Paid Gateways - it's plugin for all that.
5. Ecommerce - Woo has that cover with a massive amount of plugin and options to get what you want done.
WP just does it all and very effectively, I can't imagine using something else. Plus with the community support and the ecosystem, you'd be a full not to in the majority of cases.

Pluspunten: Top 6 - Reasons to Use Wordpress (I'd write more but ran out of space) 1. The code is already there. Coming from a corporate design background (Historically I was an online marketing director and creative director). It is a massive relief not to have to rely on a programmer to get the functionality we need for a top performing and efficient website. 2. Design wise - there are a number of templates out there that you can easily utilize and manipulate to get the look and feel your brand supports. Sure there is a learning curve but it isn't too steep for most and you can use freelance sites or in house designers to get over that at a fair price. 3. Community - Wordpress powers over a third of the site online and is massively supported and well documented. 4. Plugins - There is a plugin for that. Believe it! If there is not know you can manipulate one that is already out there or have a developer create it for you. 5. Price - Wordpress is free and the plugins, extensions and premium themes are 90% of the time very reasonably priced.. 6. Independent and Yours - If you build an independent WP site (not on wordpress.com but on your own site and installation) your site can exist for years without worry on what WP is doing. This is massively important because if you build your site on Wix or Squarespace or any like them (heaven save you if you build a "site" on Fbook, that's terrible), and they change their system it can ruin your site. Ultimately they own your site not you.

Minpunten: The new Gutenberg blocks - As an experienced WP user I don't like it. Probably would not affect a new user. I've disabled it with a plugin so all is well. Speed - WP can be slow if you overload it with plugins and extras. You have to keep an eye on that and take measure to make it fast (which is totally possible, just consider it part of the build).

As simple or as featured as you need it to be

Beoordeeld op 12-12-2019
Shayne P.
Chief
Kleding en mode, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very happy that I have switch to wordpress for its woocommerce plugin. It makes running a business more viable and not as limited as when using an all in one CRM/eCommerce solution.

Pluspunten: It allows for amazing scalability as you grow your blog, site, or business. You are provided a great simple tool to get started and create the site you need. With a huge library of options in plugins to expand the capabilities and themes to curate the brand image displayed. It is the building blocks that can really help anyone build what they would like.
Best of all, what you build travels with you. You can change domains, host servers, themes, and everything can be migrated or backed up so you can bring your site over. Even if you scale up to have a dedicated server, you can maintain the design of your site.

Minpunten: It can be a bit daunting with its capabilities, it doesn't hold your hand and you are required to research your own solutions and contact theme/plugin developers for help with issues. Finding incompatibilities between plugins can be a bit draining at times when something just doesn't seem to be working.

Wordpress Enables Entrepreanerus to Create and Manage Their Own Website

Beoordeeld op 10-12-2019
Scott L.
Owner
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
1/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Wordpress should be your first web building choice if you are brand new to building for small business, and especially for blogging on a .com domain, where I use the platform integrated very easily through GoDaddy. Wix and Squarespace are easier to get up and running, but can't touch Wordpress for increased functionality as your skills grow. If you are with GoDaddy as your host, integration with WordPress is a no-brainer. Ive created sites from scratch for two of my businesses, a non-profit, and a band. They each use seperate templates and have individual features, so it's not one size fits all on the templates and features.

Pluspunten: Templates create functional and informative websites with modern looks, CSS, and a plethora of aesthetic options. Once a template is chosen, it's easy to implement and adjust a look that you like, such as where the menu bar(s) will go, whether you look more like an informative site, an E-Commerce site, or a simple blog, which is the default. Numerous plug-ins are available to help with basics like site analytics, form creation, mailing list cultivation, and E-Commerce integration. To get something up and on the web, you can literally be worldwide in less than an hour.

Minpunten: While I recommend this for not just beginners, but even intermediate web site builders, there are some things that are irritations, rather than complaints. One is that the numerous templates can always get your started, but with only a few of the most basic templates, most require some sort of payment to become fully functional. You don't need that functionality until you do, and at that point, you are pretty married to the design you have built upon that template. I would recommend doing A LOT of research before installing any of the plug-ins to make sure they also will produce what is promised without fee. I am not trying to say that everything should be without cost, just that it's only through trial and error that you spend some time with something before finding out it won't do what you thought it would do without that fee. In customer service, the software itself doesn't have much if any tech support other than online tutorials---you are much better off going to youtube to find out how to do something.

Wordpress ease of use, highly functional, great software!

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2019
Karmon W.
Artisian/Designer/Blogger/Influencer
Kunst en nijverheid, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As an influencer and artisan I needed something with the best ease of use to deliver my content easily and quickly and this is the best in my opinion. Everytime I use this product I find something new I can do with it! 5 stars

Pluspunten: Wordpress has been a go to source for me, mainly for my blog but there is so much you can do ! The templates are amazing and just like all of wordpress very user friendly you dont have to know how to code to use wordpress. Visually pleasing and so many plug ins to take your blog or online shop, real estate listing site or forum or heck even a scheduling plug in, so many additional things you can add or use to make using wordpress an amazing experience! Ilove the fact that also if you have your own website you can manage and moderate all your content or if you have more than one blog mange those from a dashboard all on one spot! The analytics are all right there also and being able to breakdown site traffic etc is a must. This is a must have and if you research even more you'll see all the amazing ways you to can use this little gem!

Minpunten: I'm gonna have to stretch on this one as I dont really have alot of complaints so if I had to list any would be making sure to look for updates and that us a stretch lol I love wordpress!

Content Management Champion

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2019
Clemens A.
Business Development Manager
Computersoftware, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I don't think there is a website, shop or blog that WordPress can't help create. I'm running a podcast and multiple forums on this and I couldn't be happier.

Pluspunten: It's mindblowing how powerful WordPress is, considering the fact that it's free. I would go as far as to say that this is only part of the reason for its success, as some 60% of all CMS-pages are built using WordPress: there's a whole universe of plugins, free and paid, the interface is foolproof and the results are only limited by your own capacities.

Minpunten: It can be overwhelming at times. Especially if you are looking for a plugin to, say, have a grid on some landing page, there are some 40 providers who offer similar looking solutions, varying between free and expensive. In fact, the price and the quality of the plugins aren't necessarily related.

Great for Beginners to Advance and everywhere inbetween

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2019
Tamara S.
Web Developer
Marketing en reclame, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Wordpress is a community, believe it or not. They want to see people connecting, growing, and sharing new information to make it be the best open source platform out there. They are constantly trying to grow and for such a big company, they really try to keep their conferences cheap so anyone could attend. Which I give them alot of respect for. Anything that uses code will have its troubles. And I hope in the future I can help contribute to the code to help it be the best it can be. Its an open source and I want it to stay that way.

Pluspunten: Wether you are an avid blog writer or a web developer. Wordpress is a flexible, open source platform for building a website to your needs. I use wordpress on a daily basis for building websites for clients. I know your basic code (HTTP and CSS) but wordpress is coded using a PHP code. The beautiful thing about wordpress is that it can be used by absolute new beginners for free or be a platform that a company used it to build websites for their clients. Wordpress believes strongly in being an open source platform in other words, their information, code, and resources are open to the entire public. Which is what I believe makes it thrive. Anyways..I am not a big techy. I am new and growing. But wordpress allows for things like 'page builders' to help build a website without having to know code. My favorite page builder is Elementor. Also if you have never gone to a wordcamp st louis or just a wordcamp I would highly recommend it. Its an amazing conference that wordpress puts on. The tickets are super cheap for an entire weekend of sessions that include SEO, building your brand, the latest news on wordpress, building websites for people with disabilities, and so much more. They also have venders there such as Elementor, Woo Commence, Siteground hosting, Yoast SEO, and so many others that are dying to give you free t-shirts, discounts on plugins, and all kinds of merch for free. The community is awesome and I had a blast.

Minpunten: When wordpress does an update to their core files you need to make sure you website is always backed up. It can break your website (rarely happens but I can). I wish when they put out their newest wordpress files, that you could revert back to the last one in case the new one is corrupt.

Great Platform but Latest Update Needs Work

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2019
Tracey R.
Content Specialist
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've been using WP for a number of years now and, on the whole, I've always had a pleasant and enjoyable experience. I found it easy and intuitive to use when I first started to use the platform and navigate its features. I use it both personally (for my own blog) and professionally, and it gets the job done, so it's a great platform to use if you're a first-time blogger, etc. If you are just getting started with a blog, you can do a lot for free. I would highly recommend WordPress, but I am disappointed with the new update - it really has made publishing content more frustrating, which is sad, because on the whole, it's a great platform!

Pluspunten: I've always been a fan of WordPress. Lots of free features, great themes, easy-to-use (although after the update ... read my comments below!), ability to add in a number of plugins. I've never had any major issues with the platform, and publishing content is relatively effortless. They also have tooltips to help you navigate the platform, but the onboarding process could be improved :)

Minpunten: Since their latest update, I've found that the platform has come with a number of problems that weren't there before. I also prefer the previous way of composing posts as opposed to the new version. For a more trivial example, when editing hyperlinks, the page will always bounce back up to the top after you've edited a specific hyperlink, and then you'll need to scroll down again, often losing your place, etc. Overall, the UI just doesn't seem as user-friendly to me as it was before, and I've found it frustrating at times to get content published quickly because of small little things that make it more time-consuming to push content out. There also seems to be issues with certain plug-ins now. Onboarding, once again, could be better for this updated version.

JNM Rise WordPress Review

Beoordeeld op 2-12-2019
Joshua M.
Founder / Principal Design/ Consultant
Machinebouw, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: As stated above, I really enjoyed working with this software. I mean truly, web design has now become a great side hobby of mine and using intuitive software such as this makes it a very pleasurable experience.

Pluspunten: I consider myself to be a tech savvy guy, but when it came to web design my creativity seemed to falter. WordPress provided me all the solutions I needed to build a website I felt would attract customers and allow my team and I to build a website that represents us, and how we see our company. It was ease of use like I hadn't experienced trying to code other websites, and to be perfectly honest I was disappointed when our website project had ended simply because I was enjoying interacting with the software so much.

Minpunten: I can honestly say from my experience working with WordPress and past experience with other software that there really weren't any cons. The tools allow for "drag and drop" functionality which was huge for me as much of what I added were video or pictures of our products. Additionally, the suggestions provided by the software were great to have, and even better was the fact there are so many communities out there with people who use WordPress regularly and who are able to offer some great ideas on site improvements.

A Standard for websites, especially for small to medium businesses

Beoordeeld op 26-11-2019
James L.
Owner
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
3/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: After a shaky start, WordPress has become one of our swiss army knifes. We opt to use WordPress much more often than we used to. Why? Because customers expect more and want to pay less. As a result, we do less all-custom website builds than we used to, and use WordPress as the starting point. With other build tools out there, our workflow has sped up considerably and we can complete websites in less than 1/3 the time that we used to.

Pluspunten: Quick setup, updated frequently, thousands of paid and free plugins. It is supported by ISP's other software, and is customizable to fit customer business objectives and budgets. The API is open, which allows for a great deal of customization and future adjustments to match our customer's changing needs.

Minpunten: Occasional core updates are problematic. For this reason, we wait for some weeks when a new version is out before updating our customers to ensure stability. WordPress could take a little more time to be sure the new versions have better stability before feeding the notice to update to the dashboard. This is a known issue, and veteran WordPress uses all do this.

The swiss army knife for the web

Beoordeeld op 26-11-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
COO
Internet, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Actually I use Wordpress with the Elementor Pro plugin to create website for clients which are not sure what their website look should be, and it works pretty well cause I'm able to make changes with very little effort.

Pluspunten: Wordpress power a lot of websites on the whole internet, so his value is pretty proved on the field. You can build almost anything on it, from simple blogs (which is the CORE of Wordpress) to social network websites, to e-commerce all via his plugins ecosystem which is humongous. Think of something you would like your website to do and there will be a plugin for that!

Minpunten: It's widespread adoption has made Wordpress one of the most hackable system on the planet, so be careful where you host your site and keep it updated!

Blog + Application Framework + Content Management System

Beoordeeld op 26-11-2019
Brad R.
Webmaster/Database Administrator
Schoolleiding, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Using WordPress, we were able to rebuild our public facing website and our staff intranet simultaneously on one installation. And we were about to roll out features and updates at a pace that suited us. In the title, I mentioned Application Framework - WordPress is so extensible and flexible that you can treat it as a framework either apart from or in conjunction with the content management system and blogging engine.

Pluspunten: For starters, the price can't be beat. WordPress is open source, so it's free to use in pretty much any way you need. With most free software, there's no support, but the WordPress community is so massive that you can find help for nearly anything WordPress related. If you're a developer, it's incredibly easy to add and customize features by writing plugins. If you're a designer, you have total control over the appearance of your site with the WordPress templating system.

Minpunten: There's not much to dislike about WordPress. As a developer, I find some of the older APIs to be a bit unwieldy, but most of those are being deprecated in favor of new methods as updates roll out. The new block editor isn't my favorite thing in the world, but it can be disabled if you need.

WordPress Review

Beoordeeld op 6-11-2019
Maria celestina D.
owner/manager
Tekstschrijvers, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The best experience I have with WordPress is that it adapts so well with my needs. I have a small personal blog and if in time I would need to improve it, run a business or monetize it, that can also be done easily without spending so much money because of its flexibility.

Pluspunten: WordPress has made life easier for me as far as blogging is concerned. First of all, it is free and it is easy to use, from managing your content to customizing your website appearance to adding functionality. Because you own and control your website, you can do anything with it that would work best for you.
WordPress has thousands of customizable themes to choose from, both free and paid. As someone who has no knowledge about web design or web building, this has been so useful to me in creating my own website literally from scratch. In WordPress 5.3, it comes with a minimal brand new default theme (TwentyTwenty) which is really cool since I like to keep my personal blog simple.
As for adding content, I can say that WordPress post editor (Visual/Text) works wonders for me, as I much prefer it than the drag and drop type. But should you need a fancy drag and drop feature, chances are you can easily find an add-on that has the functions.
There are also thousands of add-ons in WordPress called Plugins. Plugins are extensions, like apps that you install on your mobile phones. Some plugins are simple while some offer more features and functionalities. Adding new features to your website, or extending its functionality has never be easier as you have the access to install these applications whenever you need to.
This is why WordPress is so popular and bloggers and business owners choose it over other site builders.

Minpunten: I've been using WordPress since 2016 and though it is the best platform that works well for me, it is not perfect. Sometimes I encounter difficulties when customizing themes, but I also get to learn many things. And because you are in control of your website, you are responsible for choosing your web hosting provider, installing updates, making backups and especially your site's security.