IBM Notes email client

Beoordeeld op 4-4-2018
Candace E.
Google CS First Instructor
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: IBM Notes formerly known as Lotus Notes offers a collaborative email client. IBM Notes has integration of various business functions such as calendar, email, contact lists, and messaging. IBM Notes has archival options and file sharing capabilities. With the professional download of IBM Notes the administrator has the option to customize the user interface by modifying the view of the mailbox window. IBM Notes interfaces with company's server and intranet which makes communication between networks such that downloading files; are user-friendly. IBM Notes offers the following products; Traveler; mobile email, Sametime; messenger, and Domino; notes server.

Minpunten: IBM Notes has 9 versions of the email client with errors regarding saving a Lotus Document varying across operating systems. Reports of frequent crashes during general startup of IBM Notes. Crash reports of general startup after logging into Sametime. Depending on the size of the company and the maximum amount of the band width, loading may be exceptionally slow and may "hang" or create a "lag" within the opening of the client. Updates of the software are to be completed by the administrator or user which may take time away from productivity.

IBM Notes it's a powerful collaborative client that needs to be rebuild with new framework

Beoordeeld op 5-2-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Senior System Engineer
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
1 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
2 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I work with Notes from 10+ years and I loved it. Right now the development made by HCL has restarted the engine so i'm confident Notes will have a better future. This review is based on what i've seen until V10, we will see something better for sure at the end of this year with V 11

Pluspunten: Notes could be considered a standard. It's available from 20+years and today you could open and use application build 10 years ago without any issue: this is insane. If you have learn to use Notes 10 years ago and you have to use it today , don't be scared, you will be able to use it in a seconds.

Minpunten: Starting from version 8.x IBM has decided to base the full client on eclipse framework and this was a big mistake that have almost killed the product. 8/10 years later, we are on version 10 where we have decent performance because SSD and modern CPU but the client performance of last years has pointed customers in other directions. Another cons is Notes is not easy to be used : if you have to use it on your company plan also education.

Learning Gap

Beoordeeld op 19-9-2018
Wesley S.
Head Of Information Technology
Luchtvaart(maatschappijen), 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I was an admin and user.

Pluspunten: Notes was a requirement at Zodiac Aerospace. We used it for the Database Workflows and Email. I really liked the way you could setup workflows and attach them to an email workflow. This was handy. It was definitely easier to give someone access to another mailbox than Outlook.

Minpunten: It is Notes. The standard email is outlook, and so a lot of times the emails you get wouldn't show up correctly. There were a lot of limitations on Notes. It had to have it's own mailbox on Android devices. It caused a gap in my learning of the new outlook.

IBM Notes Review

Beoordeeld op 8-3-2019
Prem V.
Systems Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It is very helpful in setting a professional mailbox for users but not suitable for file collaboration for large number of users

Pluspunten: Many features are available to organise and differentiate emails. Supports multiple database which can support data inputs from forms submitted by users and collaborating with other users

Minpunten: Archive of old emails may become corrupted when they reach larger sizes, it is recommended to split archive into smaller files.
The search function may take longer for larger database

The safest and most robust way to manage my Email

Beoordeeld op 5-7-2018
Doriann M.
Analista de Sistemas
201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: For a while I was a user of IBM Notes and with a little effort I got to know it thoroughly and I can say that it is a powerful application like few others and capable of achieving great things if we take the time to use it. The organization and security of my email tray is excellent using Notes

Pluspunten: IBM Notes provides an enormous level of security and robustness to manage your mail tray without loss of information, providing the best functions to organize incoming and outgoing emails. In addition, their collaborative options are very useful when working as a team

Minpunten: The interface is very rudimentary and it is a little complicated to get familiar with the program. It is difficult to get some options among the hundreds it have and that is why it is difficult to know the program completely.

It is a good alternative

Beoordeeld op 16-5-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Senior System Engineer
Chemicaliën, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Management is little complex. It is working different then Outlook. Address book integration is useful. We integrated with Exchange mail servers.

Pluspunten: You can update IBM Notes mailbox database remotely with admin console. When you changed mailbox database IBM notes returning to new visual GUI.

Minpunten: Notes needs to user file to open application. If you loose the user file Admin have to give you a new file. Admin must keep a copy of all users files.

Notes is complete , robust and secure

Beoordeeld op 29-8-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Senior System Engineer
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I work on notes from 10+ years and it stable, robust and secure. No, after IBM sell it to HCL i expect to have a lot of improvements during next month and releases.

Pluspunten: HCL Notes is complete robost and secure without parargon to his competitor. Another pro Notes support local replica to permit offline work with differential sync.

Minpunten: Notes it's not easy, the gui maybe looks a little bit outdated. Another cons it's the weight of the current client

Great all around software

Beoordeeld op 10-4-2018
Jaime D.
Document Controller
Vervoer/over de weg/per spoor, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Great all around program

Pluspunten: This is a great software - not only can you use it for emails it is capable of supplying many different database software all in the one place - it is timeless

Minpunten: This is an all around great program which incorporates email and endless databases and I can't think of a single con to this software

Notes Review

Beoordeeld op 17-5-2019
Carlo T.
IT Manager
Financiële dienstverlening, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Ease of use and plenty of space available for email storage. Mailboxes and calendars can be shared among colleagues, for us this functionality is very useful.

Minpunten: Sometimes there are delays in receiving e-mails and the search (especially if using the client installed on the PC) does not work well.

excellent client and mail server, totally recommended

Beoordeeld op 7-8-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Desarrolador de Software (Implantacion de SCADA)
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It has helped me a lot in my work with the large number of incoming emails and the quick response in the backup of the information

Pluspunten: It is very powerful both in the system in general and in its database and is easy to use

Minpunten: for me it has no disadvantages because it is a very complete software

Achieve the free flow of a document that needs the authorization of several sources with IBM

Beoordeeld op 2-4-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
operador
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The server offers platforms for platforms, which include Windows NT, Windows 2000, Windows 2003, Windows XP, Linux.
Notes is a communication system that allows sending emails and managing calendars and ideal agendas for the approval and distribution of documents.

Pluspunten: What I like the most is sending emails and managing calendars and agendas, sharing databases with information, such as documentary bases, procedures, manuals or discussion forums.

Minpunten: Domino applications can be accessed through the Notes Client, through a web browser such as IE, Firefox or Safari and mobile devices, they should implement a larger system with new access routes to the application.

My experience with IBM Notes has been good overall. I do feel like it is starting to faze out though

Beoordeeld op 6-2-2018
Zach M.
Systems Administrator
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
5 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld

Pluspunten: I like most that Notes allows you to have Databases inside of it and give you the ability to manage them easily.

Minpunten: I like least that the software has a lot of bugs and will have frequent client crashes which in turn makes the software look bad.

A desktop program for work-related mail and calendar management

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2018
Mike W.
IT Tech
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: A client-server mail client which incorporates email and schedule elements to organize your work-related items. many features include out of office and Signatures.

Minpunten: Connection issues to the server. Username and passwords are a bit of a hassle. The mail has a hard time refreshing the mailbox for new mail. The Out of Office won't let you select certain days. ie. If you worked only 4 days a week.

Lotus Notes Review

Beoordeeld op 2-4-2019
Takunda M.
ICTM
Management non-profit organisaties, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
4 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use notes to host our shared databases as well as for email purposes.

Pluspunten: The ability to handle vast databases on one workspace as well as the ability to share the workspace among different users.

Minpunten: LN is not a light as other mail applications

Good, robust communication system

Beoordeeld op 23-9-2019
William B.
Industrial Engineer
Magazijnen/opslag, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It has been a great experience using IBM Notes for work communication.

Pluspunten: I like that IBM Notes is very easy to use for someone who has never used the software before. Easy to send emails, schedule meetings, etc.

Minpunten: There is nothing fancy about the software but I don't believe it is missing anything crucial. Simple and effective.

Great for starters

Beoordeeld op 15-10-2019
Robin M.
Project Accountant
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: I liked it because of Sametimes functionality mostly and the stationary emails

Minpunten: The look and feel are rather antiquated compared to other programs

Former Lotus Notes - Enterprise grade email

Beoordeeld op 27-9-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Human Resources Operations Manager
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The other two major contestants (GSuite and Outlook) are better looking and have the same tools as IBM Notes (collaboration, office, browser).

Pluspunten: Enterprise grade, secure and fast set up, the integrated browser and the ability to build simple workflow applications.

Minpunten: Its UI can feel very antiquated compared to the simple clean UIs that are used by market leaders. Great functionalities but not groudbreaking, is focusing more on technical abilities (DB Management) than user friendliness.

End user

Beoordeeld op 7-8-2018
Clarissa M.
Data management
Medische apparatuur, 10.001+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: Sametime, scheduling meetings internally.

Minpunten: Not vastly used with contractors making instant communication and calendar looking up challenging.

I love Lotus Notes!

Beoordeeld op 9-7-2018
Max R.
Customer Success Manager
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
5 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: I love the stability and the fact that you can have local replicas of everything on your computer.
It never freezes like Outlook does when trying to reach the server and is very sturdy.
The browser integration and spreadsheet integration is very good as well.
It handles attachments like a beast and calendar features are great.

Minpunten: The interface CAN BE a little rough around the edges depending on your version and the template that you use. You need to be somewhat an advanced user to be able to maintain it.

It does the bare minimum and it is functionally intuitive

Beoordeeld op 24-7-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Data Science Extern
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
4 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It lacks some features other email clients have but it works just fine.

Pluspunten: I like that the UX and functionality is really intuitive and simple. Setting up signatures and meetings is pretty easy to figure out.

Minpunten: I really dislike that I did not have the ability to sync the calendar with any other calendar. Being able to sync with google calendar would have been the most convenient.

It is time for IBM Notes to end.

Beoordeeld op 16-11-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
Recreation Coordinator
Overheidsadministratie, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
2/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I really do not like this software. I came from another organization that uses a much more modern toolset for office and business management and the difference was striking. I know its in the works to evaluate and update to another program and cannot wait for this happen. It really impacts the quality of what we send and don't send and our integration and project management abilities as an organization that needs those to be seamless. It CREATE barriers for business rather than reducing them.

Pluspunten: I do not like IBM Notes. I do not find any pros. I could say that, IBM Notes does have a somewhat clean interface... not perfect though... and you can create databases of information and it is integrated.

Minpunten: It looks like it is from the 90s. It does not allow easy picture insertion into emails or other files in general. Emails sent from it do not look good and do not look like what I sent originally. There are too many clicks needed to get to certain pieces of basic information. Group emails and management is horrible. The calendar is unwieldly.

Multi functional software

Beoordeeld op 24-9-2019
Jaime D.
Document Controller
Spoorwegmaterieel, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
3 / 5
Klantenondersteuning
3 / 5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It is a good multi functional software although it is slightly outdated now

Pluspunten: I like that this program will allow users to have their emails in the same place as numerous, useful databases including holiday booking

Minpunten: This is a little out dated now but still a useful tool. many people haven't heard of it as they rely on Outlook

Functional

Beoordeeld op 1-2-2019
Rolando S.
Real Estate Broker
Vastgoed, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
4 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: IBM notes allows you to archive. It allows you to have a organized workspace. I like the chatting tool sametime, very useful.

Minpunten: I dislike the fact that is not possible to attach a message into a new one. In my opinion it is not friendly.

Doesn't work well for a software license library, knowledge base, or help desk.

Beoordeeld op 5-8-2018
Geverifieerde reviewer
ICT Service Desk Analyst
Kunst en nijverheid, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
3 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
3 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: It is quick to save and update information, such as ticket comments in the help desk module. IBM Notes is a local application and not a website.

Minpunten: It is difficult to keep track of tickets. You cannot sort tickets or add columns to the overview screen. You can't see when a ticket was last updated in the overview screen. You cannot communicate to users through the help desk module. Searching is poor - For example, if I wanted to find a user in the Address Book, I have to type in their full last name, not just the first few letters of their last name.

IBM Notes Review

Beoordeeld op 5-9-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Marketing Associate
Detailhandel, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
1/5
In totaal
2 / 5
Gebruiksgemak
2 / 5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Did not see many benefits other then an old company relationship was the reason why we even held on to notes in the first place.

Pluspunten: Notes is one of the most archaic ESPs out there. I am very shocked that it is still in use to be honest. It is nothing more than a serviceable email platform.

Minpunten: Old interface, archaic functionality, always crashed. Things that normally would take seconds seemed to take minutes on minutes.