Altaro VM Backup

Altaro VM Backup reviews

door Altaro Software

Set it and forget it

Beoordeeld op 21-5-2019
Jarret S.
Operations Manager
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I backup 1 host with 5 virtual machines on it nightly.

Pluspunten: I like that it runs my backups nightly and only notifies me when there has been an issue.

Minpunten: For a novice with virtual machines like myself, it can be a bit overwhelming initially. I know it is designed with people with far more expertise than myself in mind.

It really does what it says on the Tin!

Beoordeeld op 22-1-2020
Si T.
Systems Engineer
Computernetwerken, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The whole experience wrapped up is just - Good!! We had a situation causing us to move away from another backup vendor due to issues (not being able to depend on a backup to simply do its job causes sleepless nights after a while). We installed Altaro VM Backup, configured it - all in 15 minutes, including set-up of the email alerts and left it for the evening. Next day - Emails are usually our first encounter as to what occurred overnight - They were all Green! Seriously - a big wow from us! 7 Virtual Machines all backed up successfully and in a time window that seriously made me look twice. The compression and the speed of backups - wow!

Pluspunten: I have a few things I like - but the most nicest thing: The user interface on Altaro product always seems so simple, and logical. Being in IT support, I dread those times when it takes 20 minutes to work out the GUI or interface to try and restore a file or check a backup log.

Minpunten: OK - Not being funny - I'll have to come back to this question, because I struggle to think of something I really don't like right now.

Why we moved from a competing software to Altaro backup software.

Beoordeeld op 9-8-2019
Shlomo F.
Manager
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: While we are a smallish company, we have a pretty large virtual environment, mostly for development and testing purposes. We currently house about 80 VMs and have at our disposal about 60 TB of disk space. We were unhappy with our current backup software and started looking for alternatives. Altaro was chosen as the replacement software primarily due to their exemplary support services, fair pricing structure and a rich set of features and functions. As a software company ourselves, we are very aware and sensitive to the level of support that comes with purchasing a software. Altaro offer 24/7 technical support, and they are very good at resolving issues and answering questions.

Pluspunten: Extremely easy to install, configure and get running. Within 15 minutes, all the Hyper-V hosts and the VMs were recognized and ready for backup. A non-experienced junior employee can get the product up and running. User GUI is very clean, clear and intuitive. We managed to perform all the tasks without reading any instructions. Altaro is fast, very fast. The first time we performed a full backup, there was concern that it completed too soon, and that the backups were not usable. But we restored to a test drive and they all checked out.
The incremental backups with deduplication are even faster, taking only a minute or so per VM.
The Deduplication compression is very good. We are currently looking at over 80% savings of space. The price is right. They have a very fair pricing structure for both licenses and support services and offer discounts and incentives when needed. Offsite backup feature easy to implement. Using their offsite server setup file, any computer within the intranet/internet can become an offsite backup location. Consistently improving their offerings. With every new release of the software, clients are introduced to new features and functions, many of which have come from the clients themselves. They listen to the client’s feedback. Exemplary support services. One of the few companies that offer 24/7 support staffed with senior technical resources. We have always been able to receive support and assistance almost instantly.

Minpunten: Too sensitive with error codes from storage devices. In cases that other products complete the backup and restore, Altaro fails due to minor errors reported from storage devices. I wish they would complete the backup and just add a warning that there was an error code reported. Using a new storage device resolved the issues in our case. No support for defining many backup JOBS. You can only define one primary and one offsite backup source, and each VM can only belong to these 2 sources. It would be nice to be able to backup a VM multiple times, to multiple primary sources, each source with different location and retention policy. This can be achieved only by a many to many relationship between VMS and Primary/Offsite sources. I was told this may be coming out in the next release.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 12-8-2019

Thanks for reviewing Altaro VM Backup - we really appreciate it. We confirm that the support you require for backup jobs will become available in v8.5 of the solution, scheduled to be released later this year.

Easy to use and it works

Beoordeeld op 16-1-2020
Posh G.
IT Manager
Groothandel, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are very happy with Altaro as our backup solution. We have been using Altaro over 2 years on all our hosts. Pricing is far better compared to other similar backup solutions in the market.

Pluspunten: We are a medium-size organization with Altaro installed on 6 hyper-v hosts. Experience has been great with Altaro when it comes to backups of all our VMs and restoring data/files. Very easy setup and administration even a nontechie can get this set up in less than 15 minutes. GUI is very intuitive and gives you all the information required. Cloud management console makes it easier to manage and receive alerts from anywhere. Support is great and always very helpful in resolving issues promptly. 5 stars!!

Minpunten: Little sensitive to storage device errors. However, nothing to concern about as it usually gives you plenty of information to troubleshoot the issue. Support is great from Altaro in resolving them quickly and efficiently.

Poor Support and issues with disk space

Beoordeeld op 8-3-2019
Ricardo B.
CEO
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
3/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
2/5
Functies en functionaliteit
1/5
Klantenondersteuning
3/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We use Altaro to backup our hosts with hundreds of VMs. We are now migrating to a different plataform, due to the lack of support to ReFS and the other limitations stated above.

Pluspunten: Easy of use. It take some time to learn the software schema, but after that, it is very easy to use on the day to day experience.

Minpunten: Support is almos informal. There is a ticket number, but the follow up is poor. Chat is almost always offline. About disk space, the backups keep groing indefenitely, even if the VM has not much updates. The optimization tool to recover space does not work properly, takes too long to execute, while it runs, it blocks ALL backups funcionality and at the end there is almost no space freed. There is no limit for backup space per VM or per storage. You need to always keep following up the disk usage. There is no support for ReFS, what is a shame for a software that runs on Windows Servers and ReFS has been around for a while already.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 18-3-2019

We are sorry that your experience with our support team has not met our usual high standards. Our support team prides itself on the great feedback it receives from customers, so feedback like this really does stand out. We answer support calls within 22 seconds on average and follow up email tickets within 2 hours on average. Our customers have the option to use chat or phone for quicker responses, our chat is online 24 hours a day.

Do email [email protected] with more information about when you were dissatisfied, and we'll be glad to investigate further.

Your backup repository will grow only if the VM has new data - our deduplication and CBT make sure of that. Re the optimization tool, we are working on a better backup format that uses the freed-up space more efficiently. We're sharing your feedback about no limit for backup space as a feature request - thanks. Our recently launched `Mount Virtual Disk' option allows users to grab their backed up files from ReFS partitions.

An economic tool that brings quick results.

Beoordeeld op 16-11-2019
Zuzana B.
Staff Software Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
3/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: It has its advantages because it is still a powerful product, the speed in relation to the price is an economic advantage for the organization, its capacity is good however we have taken very into account in relation to safety, so we have limited the use of According to the level of data backup, it is generally used for fast backup.

Pluspunten: One of the advantages that this software has offered in the company is that it offers fast restoring at a low price. Recovering a server can be done in a very fast way, the whole process is basically intuitive so it adapts to any type of user from the more advanced until the principinate, since it does not have so much complexity in terms of its use.

Minpunten: At the security level, its administration does not have any authentication mechanism, some applications in terms of storage generate small errors but not of such complexity.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 18-11-2019

Thanks for reviewing Altaro VM Backup.

With regards to your security-related request, we understand where you are coming from and recommend that efforts are made to tighten the OS security layers in this case. If a hacker were to gain admin access to the server, this means that they would have access to the backup data with or without the Altaro console We agree that having restricted access to the console would be a great feature, and in fact have discussed having granular access for different users - however, we cannot offer an ETA for just yet.
Currently, our primary recommendation here is to strengthen password policies for accounts that have server logon access, and restrict access through the OS layer itself.

Easy to use backup software!

Beoordeeld op 4-12-2019
Pim P.
System administrator
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We solved a lot of issues regarding to serers being down. We mount the VM in another Hyper-V environment and the customer is ready to work again in minutes. While we restore the complete work-environment from the cloud.

Pluspunten: - File granular restore
- Restore from mounted VM
- Offsite copies external device
- Offsite copies in the cloud
- Replication

Minpunten: Sometimes the UI speed is somewhat slow. When restoring on file level, the selection of the disks goes somewhat slow.

The best VM backup

Beoordeeld op 2-5-2019
Aaron G.
Owner
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Pluspunten: We have been using Altaro VM backup for about 4 years now and our experience has been exemplary. The compression and deduplication feature is phenomenal, I never imagined I would be able to keep 3+ weeks history retention and still have my backups take up less space than my VMs themselves. The offsite server is also a huge bonus, absolutely free, just pay 3rd-party hosting and storage fees and put the server wherever you like. Their support is top-notch.

Minpunten: Cost can get a little high if you have a lot of hosts, but still worth it and still less than most other options

Altaro

Beoordeeld op 19-11-2019
Mike P.
System engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
3/5
Gebruiksgemak
3/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Backing up incurs fewer errors than competing brands (that we have this far used)

Pluspunten: Ease of use and management for adminsistrators. The display of all backed up nodes made ease of determining which backups were successful quite simple.

Minpunten: You have to login to the local console to do a file restore. This would significantly increase the time for a granular file restore.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 20-11-2019

Many thanks for reviewing Altaro VM Backup!

We appreciate your comments about file restores. As it stands, only the Restore as a Clone option is possible via the central multi-tenant Cloud Management Console. However, we will be adding the Granular Restore and Sandbox Restore features to the Cloud Management Console in an upcoming version.

Reliable, easy to use, affordable backup software for your VM environments

Beoordeeld op 5-11-2019
Anton G.
IT Consultant
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Backup is important. Reliable backup that automatically does integrity checks and send notifcations for failures/problems is also great.

Pluspunten: Ease of use and reliability. Easy to setup and supports backing up to a large and growing list if backup mediums. Ready for offsite and cloud backups on Azure, etc.

Minpunten: The requirement for Windows is unfortunate but does provide for an easy to setup and maintain system.

Altaro VM Backup

Beoordeeld op 21-2-2019
Dale B.
Support Desk Engineer
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We have reduced the average time of recovery for a failed server. Clients appreciate that we can recover their business servers within a few hours instead of a few days.
We have been using Altaro VM Backup since v. 4 I think. I was impressed with the early version and have specified Altaro VM Backup as our standard for Virtual Machine environments.
The addition of the Cloud Management Console and integration with ConnectWise is a big plus.

Pluspunten: Setup and configuration is fairly quick.
Restore options allow for a granular file level from a VM image backup.
Ability to restore to different host.
Ability to copy an Offsite backup to remote location.
Support for Cloud storage sites for off site backup storage.
Speed of recovery time on a failed host. Able to restore a VM to new host within a couple hours.
Compression and de-duplication saves storage space on backup media.
Product support is excellent. Usually able to solve errors within the Support Chat. Support is always ready to answer even the simplest question to help us out.

Minpunten: The local management console is not password protected.
Limited explanation of error messages in the software.
Setting up network connections to NAS storage can sometimes fail with cryptic error message.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 25-2-2019

Thank you for reviewing Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it!

We do understand where you are coming from here, however, efforts should be made to tighten the OS security layers in this case. If a hacker gains admin access to the server, this means that they have access to the backup data with or without the Altaro console.

We agree that having restricted access to the console would be a great feature; in fact, we have discussed having granular access for different users but we cannot offer an ETA for this just yet.

Currently, our primary recommendation here is to strengthen password policies for accounts that have server logon access, and restrict access through the OS layer itself.

Best backup tool for that amount of money

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Petr Š.
System administrator
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I use altaro backup for few years now, started with the free licenses for 2VM environments and with every new version there is bunch of new features (like CDP, replication for example).

Pluspunten: The biggest reason for use of Altaro VM Backup is the price. For reasonable money you can get full package of virtual machine backup tools. Now it is even cheaper (for small environment with 2-3 virtual machines) with Altaro MSP program, for like 5 bucks a month per VM you get unlimited plus license - such a great deal!

Minpunten: The only cons in some cases is no option for Hyper-V host backup. I know, it is necessary in like 3% of cases, but still, if you are part of the 3%, you have no chance with Altaro and you have to use another app for host backup. I was a bit disappointed with new limitations of free license - no retention policy available, no immediate backup notification to email in V8. But anyway - you can now always jump to MSP program for really small money.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 1-3-2019

Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup.
We actually do have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM.
That said, it will not handle hypervisors, the Hyper-V Host should not have anything aside from VMs running on it, so normally a one-off or periodic backup using Windows Server Backup should be enough to cover your needs, as the data that is changing is inside the VMs themselves, which Altaro VM Backup is backing up regularly.
We have a more detailed blog article about this here if you're interested in further reading:
http://www.altaro.com/hyper-v/hyper-v-backup-strategies-dont-worry-management-os/

Altaro Backup - The Only Way to Go

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Dirk B.
IT
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are a small IT services company and we use it to backup all of our clients servers. It has come to the rescue on several occasions. From a "borked" Windows server upgrade to an partially encrypted server we have been able to restore the clients server/data with little or no loss of data. It makes us look like heroes. We have tried other solutions and none give us the all the features that Altaro has at a reasonable cost.

Pluspunten: - the ability to boot from backup is a life saver. On more that one occasion we have had to boot from backup after the clients onsite IT accidently "borked" their SQL server. With boot from backup the client was able to continue working while the software completed the restore of the VM in the background.
- offsite backup allows us to store the nightly backups from our clients at on offsite location, with this feature we no longer have to pickup and return drives on a daily basis to our client locations. Not only do we save time, but we are able to charge for the service and save our clients money on the costs of a daily hard drive rotation.

Minpunten: - trivial, but it would save a step if when upgrading the software it would uninstall the old software for you. Currently you have to remember to manually uninstall it first then install the new release

Excellent Set-it-and-forget-it Software

Beoordeeld op 19-2-2019
Steve B.
President/CEO
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are really happy with the software. We've resold and recommended it to a few customers of ours. We've been using it ourselves for years. It's by far the best backup software we've used. We love how we set it up and then it just works like clockwork. I wish there was some way it could set up a method to alert you from the cloud ONLY when it was supposed to backup but didn't for whatever reason. We keep the failures and success e-mails coming in because we need to try to cross reference to make sure certain backups were a success and that it didn't just go offline, or the e-mail alert stopped working - and the backup stopped working. I also wish it could monitor the hardware as well...so it could tie into DellAlert and send that to the cloud...so it could be a total backup and monitoring solution for us. For now though, it does the primary job of efficiently backing up everything.

Pluspunten: Reliable, Easy to set up, and Efficient. We also love how it dedups data and how it can alert you when a backup fails.

Minpunten: I did not like how the upgrade required us to create all the backups all over again requiring us double the storage space. That requires some juggling. But after a few successful upgrades, we cleaned house and had it back to normal.

Back up you can trust

Beoordeeld op 22-5-2019
Chris G.
Owner
Computernetwerken, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Altaro products are terrific products that do their job. I have used their backup for a long time and it has work without fail for me. It has saved my but more than once. I have had hard drive fails and encryption virus that it has saved me from. It is well worth it.

Pluspunten: This software is one you can set and forget and it does its thing without fail.

Minpunten: Its not let me down yet. It took me a bit to get the interface, but it wasn't terrible. I am bad about not following directions though.

Great VM Backup Software

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Steve F.
IT Director
Voedselproductie, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: We are backing up Hyper-V and VMWare VMs and the overall experience has been fantastic. We had virtual Exchange Servers that needed individual message restores, and this software was able to handle granular restores as well as the entire VM backup. Love this product!!

Pluspunten: The ability to back up both Hyper-V and VMWare VMs under one application, with options for scheduled offsite backups and the option to run scheduled tests for past backups.

Minpunten: Sometimes the error messages can be hard to decipher, although I did not take care of the available support options.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 1-3-2019

Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup.

Indeed we are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to in order to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario.

However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- and in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!

Affordable and easy to use backup solution with outstanding performance and stellar support!

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Norbert G.
Head of IT
Omroepen, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: So far Altaro has helped us to perfectly protect our large growing VM population (500+ VMs) with ease.
The overall performance is more than impressing and the deduplication/compression is outstanding.
Last but not least the fair pricing and the simplicity of the licensing model is very much appreciated.

Pluspunten: Ease of setup and handling
Nicely streamlined workflow and appearance
Perfectly supporting Hyper-V clusters
Backup speed
Compression effiency (extremely good compression (around 80%) with ultra-low cpu footprint
Stellar support!

Minpunten: Major version updates often introduce not only new features (...), however so far the support team was always able to help out quickly. Some optimizations could be made to ease the management of large VM populations (500+) Default settings should be customizable throughout (e.g. Schedules, Retention Policies)

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 1-3-2019

Thank you for you reviewing Altaro VM Backup.

We'll add your vote to this feature request - thanks!

Easy to use out the box!

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Ryan H.
IT Infrastructure Engineer
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The sandbox functionality is fantastic. Really helped with troubleshooting a corrupt VM.
The in-app support has always rectified any issues within 30 minutes, which is far better than any SLA based support from other third parties.
Extremely cost effective - was even able to trial with 2 licenses indefinitely to ensure the backup was bomb proof. Once we saw how reliable Altaro was, we purchased immediately.

Pluspunten: Straight forward step-by-step design.
In-app software chat support.
Frequent QoL improvements.
Quick and easy implementation.
Hassle-free, worry free backup.

Minpunten: The software is so good for VM's that we wish it had hardware functionality.
It'd easily compete with major vendors like Symantec for physical backup.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 1-3-2019

Many thanks for your review -- We actually do have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers later this year, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM. We will keep you posted!

Backup bang for buck

Beoordeeld op 19-2-2019
Alan M.
IT Manager
Research, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: I've been using it for over five years to back up my virtual machines. It's a great product and I only wish I could back up my branch domain controllers with it. It's never let me down.

Pluspunten: Easy to use, easy to setup
Regular updates
Ability to replicate entire servers to Hyper-V host in hot site
Very space efficient
Exchange mailbox item level restore
Competent support
Priced competitively

Minpunten: Doesn't do physical machines: if it did physical machines to tape libraries as well as disk I'd use nothing else for backup
Support doesn't cover all time zones: there's sometimes a delay in getting assistance

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 21-2-2019

Thanks ever so for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it.

I wanted you to know that we will soon be providing backup of physical machines and will notify our customers and followers about this in due course.

We're also now starting to provide 24/7 support.

Altaro is a fantastic product at a reasonable cost and does just what we want in a solution.

Beoordeeld op 28-2-2019
Joseph B.
Information Technology Officere
Financiële dienstverlening, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The any issues we have with our backups using this solution are almost always a problem with Microsoft shadow copy or something similar interfering with Altaro. Everything else is golden.

Pluspunten: The speed of backups and compression/de-duping are phenomenal and the features available are fantastic. I love being able to send my backups to an offsite location and not having to worry about data volume, and I love being able to pull files at will, and spin up backed up clones to test for or locate issues. I've also come accustom to great new features being developed for nearly every new release.

Minpunten: -having to start the backup chain over again between version upgrades
-having to rely on Microsoft's shadow copy, which fails every now and then

Solid product for backing up Hyper-V VMs

Beoordeeld op 22-5-2019
Steve C.
VP of IT
Management non-profit organisaties, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: The software is constantly being updated, which is good to see. It is solid and robust. I have had several events where I needed to restore individual files or emails, and it has worked perfectly. I also had one server that hard-crashed during a Microsoft update. Restoring the system was fairly quick.

Pluspunten: The software can be setup and automated in a set-and-forget method. I have it email me status reports so I know if there's an issue. It just works.

Minpunten: When you first open the UI, there is a slight delay while it checks for your license status. If you try to do certain functions prior to the software confirming you are licensed, you will be notified you're running an unlicensed version - minor heart-attack the first time that happened! Now I just wait a few seconds.

Altaro review: small business, 2-4 hosts

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2019
Patrik M.
Owner/Director
Animatie, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
4/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Very good. Have been able to restore objects very easily when needed.

Pluspunten: Stability and high amount of good features.

Minpunten: Hard to diagnose errors as an end user. However, the support is easy to reach via chat at most office hours.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 1-3-2019

Thank you for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We are working on more detailed error messaging, and we are putting efforts into publishing additional KB articles which error messages can link to so as to provide a `next step¿ for each error scenario. However this is not always possible and sometimes we simply do need to look into further logging to provide further recommendations and solutions -- in those cases you will of course find our team ready to help, quickly!

Great and reliable backups so I am happy with the product.

Beoordeeld op 18-7-2018
Alexandre G.
Network & System Administrator
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
4/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4/5
Functies en functionaliteit
4/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Peace of mind that my backups and my client's backups are well executed.

Pluspunten: Ease of use of the product, it is not a problem to use it for the first time and figure it out by yourself.
Quick and reliable backup
Possible to backup locally and externally.
Quick support team.

Minpunten: Limited database and active directory recovery fonctionnality.
There is not version of the product that can be used for a physical machine to back it up completely.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Altaro Software op 25-7-2018

Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate your feedback. We are working on backup for physical servers and look forward to rolling that version out shortly.

Integral part of our Data Protect Program

Beoordeeld op 13-3-2019
Russ H.
IT Director
Detailhandel, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: Meets our business needs perfectly. Highly recommend..

Pluspunten: We use a layered approach to both Security and Data. Using a Hyper-v environment we have all our assets immediately available through an emergency Hyper-V replica server. Both the main and replica get backed up regularly using Altaro Backup. That is THREE extra levels of protection! Now the LATEST BEST edition
they can give a FIFTH layer of another Replica Hyper-V/Altero Backup Server!

Minpunten: Licensing is a little bit of a pain point, no the cost, just how to maintain licenses.

No better software for the money

Beoordeeld op 31-5-2019
Blue P.
Consultant
Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer 
5/5
In totaal
5/5
Gebruiksgemak
5/5
Functies en functionaliteit
5/5
Klantenondersteuning
5/5
Waar voor je geld
Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling:
Niet waarschijnlijk Zeer waarschijnlijk

Opmerkingen: From day one I found this so easy to use compared to other products. Right out of the gate it worked and did its job with no issues. When the time came to need it to save me it did not fail. You will not find a better product for such a good price point.

Pluspunten: From day one this software just gets better and more features added for a great price point. It is easy to use and reliable. When an issue does happen support is a great help and it too just gets better over time as this software and company have evolved.

Minpunten: I have none this does everything I need it to and more.