Helpt Nederlandse bedrijven al 15 jaar
bij het vinden van de juiste software

Cherwell Service Management reviews

Over Cherwell Service Management

Een platformprovider van innovatief IT-servicemanagement en assetmanagement die de wereld van IT beter wil maken.

Meer informatie over Cherwell Service Management

Pluspunten:

You can easily configure and create Incidents and Change requests; easy to use workflow and very well integrated with Microsoft active directory.

Minpunten:

The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

Beoordelingen van Cherwell Service Management

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,2
Klantenservice
4,3
Functies
4,4
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,4

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

8,4/10

Cherwell Service Management heeft een totaalscore van 4,3 van 5 sterren op basis van 163 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Cherwell Service Management eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (163)

Douglas
Douglas
IT Tech Support Specialist in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Very effective ticketing system

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Cherwell Service Management has been a very effective ticketing system for our operation. It rewards inquisitive users who have some experience with SQL queries. It integrates with our email system, so we end up receiving and answering email inquiries from our user community through the Cherwell interface. It gives good reporting, and good statistics, although the reporting requires some effort to access. It has been a good system for my organization

Pluspunten:

Customization of searches; use of an SQ-like search format to build queries that can then be saved and reused

Minpunten:

Requires some level of training in order to increase personal customization. Occasionally have multiple people working on the same tickets, so some tickets get resolved with ineffective solutions while others are working on them. Reporting requires some effort to access.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Great product with high upside

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall the process with Cherwell has been great. The product is fantastic with very few hiccups.

Pluspunten:

This product allows us to customize it in a way that makes it so we can bring all departments within the same system (finally!).

Minpunten:

Implementation and additional integrations can be difficult (as with any product).

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Standard functionality but horrible UX

2,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We use Cherwell as a ticketing system for the help desk as well as change management system. The user interface is challenging, to say the least. There are frames within frames that have to be scrolled through separately to see all of the information. The text box containing the user's message is so small, it show the tiniest portion of the message. To expand it, you have to pop open a new window, which automatically inactivates the main window so you have to trick the system in order to see multiple tickets at once.
The emailing functionality is clunky - the initial email you send to a customer uses one link but replies after that need to use a different "email" button that is oddly hard to find. When a customer sends a reply, the ticket displays in a different color, but that is the only notification. So if they send multiple messages, you wouldn't know unless you fully open the ticket and that is cumbersome.
There's an inactivity timeout that may not apply to everyone, but it's a hassle. The system times out after an hour of inactivity but it isn't consistent - sometimes it will run for days with no activity and not sign me out and other times it's at 60 minutes on the dot. Also sometimes when I'm logged out automatically, it doesn't actually log me out so when I try to log back in, I'm locked out.
Overall, with the current UX, it would have to be the cheapest option available for me to recommend it to anyone.

Pluspunten:

Help desk tickets are tracked Released changes are tracked

Minpunten:

User experience Look and feel of the software Search functionality Notification process Inactivity timeout

Cliff
Java Software Engineer in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Consumentendiensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

High level of accurateness and flexibility

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Cherwell Software offers one ITSM product which is aimed at companies with medium and high level of maturity. If you are interested in integrating a flexible and adjustable solution in your organization, then Cherwell Service Management is exactly what you require.

Pluspunten:

The company has expanded its ITOM capabilities and supports a wide range of third-party integrations and extensions. For instance, the example of such a platform can be Exchange Mergeable Application. In a few words, this application gives various opportunities for third-party developers to host their applications. In general, the vendor pleases us with the new program’s opportunities and abilities rolling out pretty frequently. We have given our preference to Cherwell Service Management because of its great visualization capabilities, user-friendliness of the program’s interface, powerful reporting, etc. With its help, our team has automatized numerous processes and tasks. The platform pleases with its accurate dashboards and incredible search abilities.

Minpunten:

The company has a tendency to reassign account people. Maybe, the reason for that is the high speed of their self-development, who knows. But still, it may cause little difficulties. Where we see problems with Cherwell Service Management is that this program requires a lot of computer memory to run correctly. In addition, the program will be a real pain without a strong infrastructure from your side. What’s more, this solution does not have any web version.

André
André
Systems Administrator in Brazilië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Chemicaliën, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A good and reliable ticket management system

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Good experience, the ticket management, the SLA tools, the filter tools, the access control and the idea of cloud based solution are very good differentials compared to the other solutions on the market, also it is reliable, on these 3 years using the solution, I could not remember any interruptions. Last but not least, the possibility to customize the solution, going through the development directly on the code is awesome, if the company has a programmer or a devolopment team, it can be totally customized for the company.

Pluspunten:

It is reliable to manage your tickets, the SLAs, the escalation plans, everything works perfectly right. Therefore, the option to use the asset management is pretty interesting as well and you can access it from anywhere without you have an infrastructure, it is totally on cloud. Another plus about the software, is the possibility to customize it, according to your company, if you have an development team.

Minpunten:

Some features, like the agent to inventory the assets, needs to be bought apart from the software, it is something that would be really useful if it came together with the bundle.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Cherwell ITSM very customizable

5,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: The overall experience has been good, the product is excellent, but you need to invest additional money for the implementation.

Pluspunten:

Cherwell is a robust ITSM, you can customize the forms, notifications, workflows, almost everything.

Minpunten:

You need specific training to configure and implement the changes. Cherwell has partners and you need to contact and contract them for the implementation. They need to improve their content on the web for the recent versions.

Chris
Chris
Applications Analyst in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Very cutomizable, and no coding!!

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Very customizable, and no coding!! Easy to use

Minpunten:

It's a bit buggy and there are some quirks that require adjustments

Amit
Amit
System Developer in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cherwell - A Good Service Management Tool

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall Cherwell is a good ticket management tool, helps in managing daily case loads , reports for overall details analysis and other traction efforts.

Pluspunten:

Cherwell as a ticket management tool gives some good features like groupings, report generations and even timely email sending options which works well for day to day tasks.

Minpunten:

We noticed sometimes the tool crashes but it gets up fast when contacted with respective people who maintain it.

Denise
Denise
Technical Publications Support Specialist / PetroWiki Manager in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

I used Cherwell as a client is enjoyed it

5,0 6 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Cherwell is easy to use and set up. Creating multiple threads for multiple projects is a plus. Its easy with adding or removing participants to the threads.

Minpunten:

Cherwell has no real cons in its software or platform. I have had no issues that I can report. Its just a great software and I enjoy using it.

George
George
Sr IT Consultant in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cherwell is Great

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Pluspunten:

Ease of administration and support when issues arise

Minpunten:

Many options. Difficult to decide where to go next

Austin
Senior Infrastructure Administrator in VS
Financiële dienstverlening, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer
Bron: SoftwareAdvice

Highly customizable but watch for bugs

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: In the grand scheme of things, the software works very well. We are able to tailor it to meet our requirements for separating Incidents and Service Requests without too much of a learning curve. This has allowed us to obtain accurate metrics that were previously unavailable. The ability to customize everything has also opened up options for other teams to use the software instead of relying on email because other ticketing systems are too restrictive.

Pluspunten:

Cherwell gives you the ability to do almost anything you want/need to do. It's built in workflow (One-Step) feature is great for automating repeatable tasks. The extensibility and integration options are also huge benefits. Being able to link into pretty much any other application with a SQL back-end is huge.

Minpunten:

There are quite a few bugs especially when it comes to the browser side of things. Customizing the Customer Portal lacks a functioning WYSIWYG interface and if you're a hosted customer, you have to open a ticket to have support restart IIS services before some of your changes go into effect. This makes creating/modifying a Customer Portal very painful. The Browser Client for technicians is also quite buggy. With the amount of "out of the box" features the software comes with, be very careful.. As some of these features are misconfigured out of the box and require either scouring the whole system or relying on a third party vendor who knows where the bugs are and can fix them. If you ask me, this is just a way to force you to use a consultant for implementation.

Niru
client support analyst in Canada
Automotive, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

CRM Software used for Helpdesk

4,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, cherwell has allowed our team to collaborate on many levels across the organization. We can create,track, monitor and assign problematic cases that come to our helpdesk from clients so we can best assist them and find a resolution.

Pluspunten:

I like how cherwell provides a database of all our incidents created from agents at the helpdesk. This allows us to collaborate and best assist our client with issues that arise. Cherwell service management allows admins to customize dashboards and ticket templates to best cater to the orgainzations needs.

Minpunten:

Fairly easy to use interface, its straight forward however sometimes we experience issues with slowness of lagging. The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

Jason
Sr. User Support Specialist in VS
Detailhandel, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Eerder overwogen alternatieven:

Great product!

5,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Very good

Pluspunten:

Easy to use once you are trained. Easy automation.

Minpunten:

Can be difficult to work around the "codeless" design for those with coding backgrounds

Michael
Director of User Support in VS
Schoolleiding, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best solution... even for the little guy!

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Cherwell is the best solution for ITSSM on the market -- even for small businesses or schools. Cherwell is easy to configure and intuitive to use. Unlike other ITSSM vendors, it is flexible enough to handle anything without needing costly customizations. As a company, Cherwell is like a family. They truly care about their customers and their customers' success. In my experience, this is VERY rare among other ITSSM vendors.

Pluspunten:

Easy to use and customize. Extremely scalable without the need of costly vendor or 3rd-party professional services.

Olivier
Customer Support Director in VS
Verzekeringen, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A cost-savvy tool that you can do anything with (except coffee)

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We needed a new ITSM tool that could do almost everything out-of-the-box, that was customizable, that allowed us to automate most of our regular processes and that didn't cost too much. After comparing most existing tools, Cherwell was the only one that filled our criteria. All of them. Anything you want to do with it can be implemented within days, even hours.

Pluspunten:

It can do anything, it is very customizable, it has an out-of-the-box fully working self-service portal, and my users love it!

Minpunten:

The web interface could get some more love. Currently it's a web view of the hard client view, whereas I'd like it to use more of what web browsers and languages can currently offer.

Thomas
Desktop and Network Support Specialist in VS
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Used to track tickets

4,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Track things that happen in the company more easily and understand where resources are being spent.

Pluspunten:

System was easy to implement. Give the ability to track tickets and record when things are going wrong. Shows clearly what was already attempted and allows use to see the time spent per person on a single issue.

Minpunten:

Locking the Description down so after initial creation, it cannot be changed We like this idea, and will take some time/thought to get it right We are concerned that doing this could result in automation processes to stop working correctly, or other onesteps from functioning. Other concerns are auto-populate options for fields potentially breaking. Additionally we're concerned this might pigeon hole us a bit.

Forrest
Developer in VS
Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer
Bron: SoftwareAdvice

Bane of my existence

2,0 5 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I would seriously consider NOT working for a company that uses this software for change control.

Pluspunten:

There isn't anything I DO like about this software.

Minpunten:

It's slow, clunky, looses my actions constantly. Submitting a change request is an arcane ritual of pain and suffering to ensure it gets through all the channels.

Keth
Software Engineer in VS
Groothandel, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

A lot of flexibility & functionality when compared to other top players in this realm.

5,0 7 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We are still in the learning process of all the benefits and about to roll it out and go-live.

Pluspunten:

Ability to make changes to forms is very easy. We can also created and adjust workflow pertaining to incident/problem tickets as well as change tickets, which can all be done without having to recycle services during the off-hours. Such changes to the code are captured in snapshots which can then be easily restored if we discovered something we changed isn't working correctly. ITIL is also built into the tool and yet it can be tweaked to meet our needs. Likewise, dynamic reporting capabilities without having to go to an 3rd party bolt-on vendor. I'll also add that configuration item comes with the product, something we have desired for a long time in order to increase productivity and reduce outages related to our weekly Change Meetings.

Minpunten:

Not too much I don't like. I guess learning the administration portion was a bit overwhelming at first, a lot a material to try to grasp and then apply when those situations arise that require us to dig thru the old memory banks on how to go about accomplishing what is needed. HOWEVER, I'm sure all Service Mgmt. tools are like this, in fact the tool we left was so overwhelming that most of our work had to be contracted out which made it hard to support later down the road.

Anthony
Service Desk Senior Analyst in VS
Bankwezen, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best ITSM Tool Around

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I've used/demo'd several different ITSM tools and Cherwell is by far the easiest to use and admin. My favorite part of this product is the Dashboard Manger. Creating intuitive dashboards has never been easier.

Pluspunten:

Dashboard Management

Minpunten:

Admin tool, could be easier to use. But may also simply be lack of training on my end.

Brendan
Service Delivery Analyst in VS
Consumentengoederen, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cherwell Service Management Is an excellent, scalable ITSM tool.

4,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Cherwell deployment and implementation went reasonably well. More requirements assessment and UAT on the front end would have been better. A great tool for ITSM.

Pluspunten:

The adaptability to different processes

Minpunten:

Some features (printing, reporting) are more complicated than they should be.

Marsha
Asst Director technology in VS
Schoolleiding, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cherwell review

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We have been a customer for 4 years. Ease of use is a big plus. Not losing your customizations after an update is wonderful. We have expanded our package to other departments over the last 4 years.

Pluspunten:

Product being updated to stay current with what is occurring in IT

Minpunten:

None

Jason
ITSM Spec. in VS
Gezondheid, wellness en fitness, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Cherwell Review

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Great Customer Service. Would like to see a responsive web portal. But overall software ease is nice. and Great tool for our organization.

Pluspunten:

ease of use and great customer service

Minpunten:

Responsive Portal an easier to migrate UI from older versions.

Michael
Network Engineer in VS
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

Lacking Service Platform

3,0 6 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: None - honestly am disappointed with this program.

Pluspunten:

The dashboards are pretty neat looking. When it works it can be very smooth and doesn't appear to be "hard" on the machine.

Minpunten:

I wanted to like this product, but unfortunately there are simply much better products out there. - Static windows means you are constantly adjusting your screen when you open tickets (what is this - '98?) - Not as user friendly as you'd expect - "Cherwell Writer" for creating custom reports (metrics, etc) is extremely complex

Katharina
Server Application and Security Manager in VS
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Great product out of the box

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We implemented out of the box and have been able to use the application from day 1 after a 3 week implementation. What is even better is the flexibility of customizing the application in any way and even outside of ITSM.

Pluspunten:

Great out of the box, customizable, code less, great company culture

Minpunten:

Expensive licensing for small companies, can take a while to get issues through at the help desk.

Jason
IT Manager in VS
Milieudiensten, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Easy to use and easy to be productive

5,0 8 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I find the software tool is so robust and easy to customize. Out of the box is great, but there is so much more magic you can do to make your team productive.

Pluspunten:

Ease of use and ability to customize everything