Gemiddelde scores

  • In totaal
    4,2/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3,4/5
  • Klantenservice
    4/5

Over Drupal

Open source content management system (CMS) gebruikt door enkele van de grootste websites zoals The Economist en het Witte Huis.

Meer informatie over Drupal

316 reviews worden weergegeven

Jason H.
Web Developer
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 29-7-2019

"Drupal is a fantastic CMS"

Opmerkingen: I like it a lot but because of their update cycle it should only be used on projects that have a lifespan of 5 years or less.

Pluspunten: Views is the best thing about Drupal. Pre-Views, Drupal is a decent CMS, perhaps a bit more logical than WordPress, but with a lot less users it's hard to justify it. However with Views, you can make advanced applications with a pretty easy to learn interface. It's really, really close to a visual programming language, although there are still some things you'll need to break out the code for. I also really appreciate that most of the modules don't make too many assumptions. With WordPress, I constantly have to fight against styling and strangely formatted HTML inserted by plugins, and that's less common with Drupal modules.

Minpunten: It requires a fairly beefy hosting setup and a good caching setup to perform well. I also strongly, STRONGLY dislike that sites created five years ago now HAVE to be rebuilt, or they are not secure. That may be fine for enterprise, but it sucks for someone who makes lots of small sites for small businesses. Platforms should be supported for at least ten years IMO, the web has been stable for a while now and there's no good reason to force complete rebuilds. WordPress does this better and manages to continually keep sites upgradeable without a rebuild.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 29-7-2019
Bryan B.
Owner
Managementconsulting, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 21-10-2019

"Drupal 8 is my go to for Website Development"

Opmerkingen: One of the most significant of business problems that I am solving by using this software for my consulting business is being able to provide a secure and stable website. The software itself informs me of when updates to the software or modules are available and those updates have always been painless and easy to implement. Similarly, creating websites for clients has also been easier with use of the Drupal 8 software as it reduces the need for repetitive tasks that tend to be associated with either creating websites file by file or the use of some of the other CMS software solutions that are available. I have also found that installing and setting up client websites using the Drupal 8 software is much easier than some of the other CMS software solutions that I have used in the past.

Pluspunten: One of the things that I like the most about this software is its reliability and flexibility in being able to adapt to the various needs of businesses wishing to have an online presence.

Minpunten: Throughout my use of this software, I can not truthfully think of anything that I don't like about this software as it has significantly improved over the past seven years.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 21-10-2019
Yana P.
QA
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-6-2020

"Best web-site builder that I've used"

Opmerkingen: Really easy to use and has nice user friendly design.

Pluspunten: This tool is amazing if you want to create a web-site but you don't have strong programming skills. It has many options, configurations that help to create the web-site that you want to create, also it helps to manage your site Admin dashboard where you can do any manipulation due to your site.

Minpunten: there are no cons, I think it is the best site constructor that help to save time, dont require strong technical skills and create good quality web site.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-6-2020
Aníbal M.
Programador
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    3/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-6-2018

"Powerful but difficult for the user, it can be improved"

Opmerkingen: In my work I managed to complete the development of a project with this software, our team was congratulated by our bosses and the board of directors is very happy with the results, we are currently in the quality testing phase, I hope that soon Drupal can be launched in the production environment On a personal level, I see it as an option to do independent work, so I can obtain many benefits.

Pluspunten: What I like most about Drupal is that it is free, you can make a complete implementation without investing money in software, we have chosen to implement only free software, so we have done it without cost, I like the possibility of being beyond the simple The content of the administrator has options for future developments, it is easy to install and its use is quite practical, I liked the fact that it has a nice and worked administration interface that makes it easier to explain to users how they perform their tasks. Daily within the application, the English-speaking community is numerous, which helps with some problems that may arise along the way. I think the system of blocks that has at the moment of structure the content within the page makes it relatively pleasant, we have taken a project to its final phase with Drupal I can say that we have done well.

Minpunten: The first thing that comes to my mind about what I do not like about Drupal is the cache system that has sometimes driven me crazy, it serves obsolete content and there are many conflicts when different users need to edit the same article, another problem is that there is failures in some buttons of the administration, sometimes the buttons do not perform any action, I had problems because sometimes the functionality of uploading an image or a pdf file fails when they are large, I think Drupal is designed for programmers and not for people without experience In the area of information technology, this could improve, the Spanish-speaking community has fallen short, it is difficult to find documentation and quality help in my mother tongue, I feel that Drupal is staying a bit behind in terms of extensions If there were more, it would be more attractive for more people.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-6-2018
Reece S.
Developer
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 6-4-2020

"Best For Developers"

Opmerkingen: An incredibly powerful CMS which is good for websites of all sizes. Although not as simple as other CMS out there, once you're familiar with how it all works you're pretty much unstoppable. There's nothing you can't build with Drupal. It has a thriving community with thousands of powerful extentions.

Pluspunten: I love how developer orientated this software is.

Minpunten: Can be a little hard to learn when you first start out.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 6-4-2020
Geverifieerde reviewer
Information Technology Major
Hoger onderwijs, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    2/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    3/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    3/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    5/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 8-2-2020

"The rival to Wordpress that does not want to win the fight"

Opmerkingen: Drupal is very different. It tries and tries to be better than WP but nevertheless it is still the tool for the specific people who are fed up with WordPress and want to try anything but doing "another wordpress website"

Pluspunten: I like the functionality Drupal offers and the different approach to things. It is a nice try and the features such as security and performance that come with drupal as well as the tool for multisites are amazing and they work very nicely.

Minpunten: Drupal is nowhere near being a beautiful tool. It is pretty hard to learn and not easy to customize. Partially because the shortage of new integrations and new developers joining the community. It's hard to fight wp, but I really like that drupal tries and I believe it will always will but will never get there due to its audience limitations.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 8-2-2020
Geverifieerde reviewer
SENIOR DEVELOPER
Computersoftware, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 16-5-2019

"DRUPAL DEPLOYMENT"

Opmerkingen: I have generated multiple content management systems with DRUPAL, it is a great ally for the developer because of its easy connection with thousands and thousands of plugins, it also allows the generation and creation of them from native php

Pluspunten: It is easy to generate its deployment in production and testing environments

Minpunten: It is not a complaint but sometimes when making a modification the cache is not cleaned immediately and you should wait

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 16-5-2019
Michael H.
Marketing Director
Consumentenelektronica, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    5/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4-2-2020

"Great for users who are more advanced"

Pluspunten: I like the flexibility of the modules and themes.

Minpunten: There seems to be more a learning curve compared to other CMS. There's also not as big of a developer community.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4-2-2020
Francis M.
Web designer
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    2/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    3/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    3/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-3-2020

"Old and not good looking"

Opmerkingen: This product is more a related to create a blog website, is outdated and you can easily screw the configuration and you will need to create a new project from scratch if you haven't made the proper backup

Pluspunten: Setting up is not that hard but requires a little of web developing in order to installing regular users wont be able to use it, it creates the datase and interface very quickly, has the multilinguale option available, you can customize your logo, and turn on and off a many of the feature that it has on it in the back end.

Minpunten: I can be hard to use, it requires to see a few tutorials but they are very large and library of templates seems limited, the overall appearance is old, and some translated features had fail to in the end up product

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11-3-2020
Geverifieerde reviewer
Owner
Marketing en reclame, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    7/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 29-5-2020

"Powerful open source CMS"

Opmerkingen: We have only used Drupal a couplle of times as in most cases we found it too complex

Pluspunten: Drupal is a powerful open source CMS with enterprise level functionalities. Best suited for higher level projects

Minpunten: Compared with other popular OpenSource CMSs Drupal can be much more complicated and requires higher development skills

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 29-5-2020
Joaquin V.
Web design & developer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27-7-2018

"One of the most robust and secure Web CMS in the market"

Opmerkingen: The security of having a tool that allows me to deal with almost any web project that requires content management, scalability and security.

Pluspunten: If you have to face the development of an intranet or a medium or complex web project, Drupal is definitely one of the options that you have to consider. It is open source backed by a large community that has been committed for years to a project that is characterized by its flexibility and security. Drupal provides a robust content authoring platform and is capable of handling large numbers of users with clear rules and permits. One of the bases of Drupal is its system of modules. Eventually, almost any functionality you may need can be added to the system through modules (built based on PHP, JavaScript, HTML and CSS). And yet, I bet you will not even have to develop it, because surely it will already be available among the immense amount of modules that the community has contributed during these years (especially for version 7). The theme system is another of the important element. If you do not need to develop your own interface from scratch, you can choose one of the large number of free themes available and adapt it to your needs, being able to even configure many features without modifying the source code. Certainly, it does not seem like a very intuitive method, but once you understand it you can implement almost everything you need. In its latest version, Drupal has been almost completely modernized; it has discarded many failures that hindered its performance and have included in its core many important functionalities that were contributed by modules.

Minpunten: Drupal can be difficult to deal with for non-developer or technical profile users. Depending on your objectives, the learning curve can be considerable.

The fact of being an almost module-dependent system for most of the functionalities can force you to deal with many configurations, compatibility issues and workflows when you want to implement complex functionalities that may even need several modules working together. As I see it, this is not necessarily a negative thing, but rather the cost of the flexibility and power it gives you.

If the design and the appearance are important in your project, you will have to put a little more effort into the work; unfortunately, many of Drupal's graphic themes do not look as fashionable or in trend as those of WordPress, which is still the leader in this section. It is possible to achieve it, but you will have to dedicate time or pay for it.

As the number of modules and the database grows, the performance of Drupal may be affected, so it is important to learn to keep it in shape and updated, activate the cache and continuously evaluate the relevance and usefulness of each of the added modules. Although it has been greatly optimized with the arrival of Drupal 8, it is not something that should be neglected in medium and large projects.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27-7-2018
Daniel K.
Owner/Admin
Internet, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 30-11-2017

"Drupal has Evolved into a Great CMS"

Opmerkingen: Peace of mind, in regard to security. With a bit of customization, it makes managing web development projects much simpler and more productive. Releases like Thunder and Lightning hold the potential to become ever-better 'jump starts' toward the ideal CMS for publishing collaboratively.

Pluspunten: Open Source GPL v2.0 or later = no license fees, ever. That's hard to beat, but the fact is that it's the better solution (even if it wasn't free). I've used it before, constantly revisiting; hoping it could be what 8.4.x is now. Know that "Enterprise Level Security" doesn't make it bulletproof, but that there are scores of highly skilled folks constantly pouring over every aspect of this software, with each component required to complete stringent testing before it gets a pass -- using experimental modules 'n such can reduce these benefits, soOo... do your homework. Biggest Pro? It isn't Wordpress. If properly installed and maintained, it's one of the best possible solutions. That's why so many government agencies, or even governments themselves, have built upon Drupal. I have 500+ active domains, and have used Drupal 100+ times or more. It's been our best choice, in most cases.

Minpunten: Documentation is sorta thin, which is often the case with major releases of open source software solutions, but it isn't that difficult to find answers: People often answer others that have encountered similar problems. The 'steep learning curve' isn't such a hard climb, since there are countless videos and tutorials out there... it's easily worth the trouble, even if you have no background in programming of web development. Installation could be made far simpler (e.g. the 'trusted host configuration' should be set up by the installer itself). But, it is hard to complain when -- sorta ashamed that I haven't put in the hours it takes to affect these changes I'd like to see. Manual (and frequent) updates are a bit of a pain, but it sure beats software that isn't being so actively developed as to require updates. Or, worse still, have nobody watching what the others offer as plug-in. Again: It's hard to complain without having put in nearly the time that countless others have (we all oughta give back, when/where we can ~;-)

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 30-11-2017
Madhu S.
Grafisch ontwerp, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 10-9-2017

"Phenomenal software"

Pluspunten: Drupal has seven main Pros: 1) It's uses a very flexible system of modules. You can use Drupal modules to add new features to your site. For example, the Membership module lets you add member based services, the Video modules lets you host video clips, while the Commerce module lets you add shopping features. Each modules is made up of smaller modules, which ensures you only activate the bits you need for your project. Best of all, you can mix and match the modules to create things the original module designers might have never considered. For example, combine the Commerce, Membership and Video modules to create a paid for membership site of training videos. 2) It's very layered. In Drupal, system code lives in one layer, code to do with appearance (e.g. CSS, HTML) lives in another separate layer and custom modifications live in another separate layer. This makes it very easy to change things. For example, you can change the entire layout of your site without having to modify the original content to adapt to it. 3) It's free Remarkably, the core technology and all these modules are available for free. There are some themes that you have to pay for if you want to change the look of your site, but you can make your own themes and there are number of free themes as well. 4) Great user support Drupal has a good support network of dedicated and helpful users who are willing to provide plenty of free help. There's also free training videos on YouTube. 5) Plenty of updates Drupal releases minor updates on a monthly basis which address any of bugs or security concerns that crop up. There are also major updates every 2-3 years, which radically change the functionality of the core system. 6) Portable code Most code can easily be transferred between sites. Hence, if you create a function on one site, you can move it to another without having to re-do it all from scratch. 7) Don’t need strong coding skills Drupal's module system means you can easily achieve a lot without needing to know how to code. It might not look and function exactly as you want, but it will be a decent effort.

Minpunten: Drupal has 2 main set backs: 1) It can get very complicated The down side of all the flexibility, is that there are often 10 ways to do one thing in Drupal and it's not always clear which method is best. Often the only way you can find out is through experience. Which means your early Drupal projects might not be as good as they could be, as you cut your teeth on learning which methods are best for you. 2) Your code won’t last forever. Every 2-3 years, Drupal releases a new major update which radically changes the functionality of the site. The plus side of this is that it makes Drupal better. The downside is that you will often have to completely re-write your custom code. Because these major updates change everything, you will often need to install new modules to replace old ones. Essentially you have to rebuild your site (thankfully all the content can be transferred over). Upgrading isn't a requirement. But after a couple of years, the older versions of Drupal are no longer supported. So if building a Drupal site, expect to redo it from scratch it in 3-5 years. Hence, it's not really good for projects which only have a budget for minor changes each year.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 10-9-2017
Adam H.
CEO
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2019

"Drupal is a premium enterprise solution"

Opmerkingen: We have been using Drupal for over a decade and regularly check it against other products in the field. We still believe this open source project is one of the best on the planet.

Pluspunten: Drupal provides a huge amount of power in a Content Management System. The latest version Drupal 8 is enterprise level software available as open source so while it is free to download and use, you will need a professional to get it doing everything you need. That said, with the right help - you can pretty much do anything online with Drupal. There is also an amazing community to access who will do what they can to help.

Minpunten: Drupal does require Drupal experts to get the most out of it - if you are new to software and software development, you would be wise to get a consultant or Drupal development company to help. This doesn't come cheap, but it does give you huge amount of power to design and develop exactly the website or software that you want.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 3-11-2019
Stephen U.
IT Manager
Landbouw, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5-12-2017

"Drupal is a CMS that can do it all."

Pluspunten: The best part about Drupal is that you can do anything and the best functionality is either in Drupal core or a free module at Drupal.org. There is a misconception that the learning curve is difficult. In comparison, achieving the basic needs of a brochure website are the same in all of the top CMS solutions. Aside from comparisons, the best tool within Drupal is Views. You can create lists and grids of data that can then be sorted, filtered, and altered in so many ways without adding any additional modules. Of course you can extend views and provide even better data lists or different view types but the ability to display and work with items that reside in the system is unlike any other system.

Minpunten: With so many options available to you, the learning curve comes with learning how to best use the best module for the job. There may be 5-10 modules that achieve a result, but in the end, there may only be one module that does it exactly how you want it. So the complexity is in the trial and error of having multiple options. So you may waste time working through the complexities of a module and realize that was not the main intent of the module or it doesn't quite do everything you wanted. This is worth it to me though as I will then be able to understand how different modules can be used in different ways to perform different functions.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5-12-2017
Patrick M.
Director, Marketing Technology
Marketing en reclame, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10-6-2019

"The best open source CMS"

Opmerkingen: Well over half of my agency's digital business id conducted through Drupal websites and applications. We have used it with great success on anything from small, basic websites to full-scale business-critical applications.

Pluspunten: My favorite part of Drupal is that it is really built to be more of a platform than just a CMS. To see what I mean, look up e-commerce platforms on WordPress, Joomla, or basically any direct competitor. You will find many options available that do things slightly different than each other. In Drupal, there is really only one option, and a slew of submodules to build out the functionality you need. This results in a much more stable, secure, reliable and consistent platform. Second is the community. Everyone is on board with the idea of keeping it a platform and working together to make Drupal a great, modular CMS. Support, tutorials, documentation, and basic question/answers are readily available.

Minpunten: The upgrade paths between major versions is historically challenging. Drupal has promised to correct thing going from Drupal 8 to 9, but it is not yet available to confirm. As with any open source tool, you do have to be sure to keep up with any and all security updates to maximize security.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10-6-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Consultora de Comunicaciones
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    4/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4-1-2019

"Ideal for collaborative work in corporate media"

Opmerkingen: My overall experience with Drupal has been good, I prefer it as a manager and portal design before others, the only thing that happened is that the platform fell when a news had many entries at a time. We manage a news page and its content search engine is very effective and reliable. And the roles of the users, to execute changes in the page are very useful, in addition the trace is faithful.

Pluspunten: It is an ideal software to edit a corporate communication medium among several collaborators, the allocation of roles to each user, allows the levels of publication and approval to be faithful and thus errors are avoided, as well as assigning or changing roles in the users. It is very easy to use, and the variety of features it brings allows you to alternate with designs and templates, which are very easy to edit and move, without the need to make new purchases or downloads. The drupal community is very knowledgeable and willing to help solve problems. In addition, security levels are higher than other content managers.

Minpunten: For those who are starting a web page and do not have programming knowledge, it can be difficult to find a lot of modules, but once you take the rhythm you can have a different page in both look and feel and functionalities. It also tends to hang when there are many entries at once to its database; or the server goes down.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4-1-2019
Geverifieerde reviewer
Product owner
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    8/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 22-8-2019

"Great software made by a great community that uses and enforces best practices"

Pluspunten: With Drupal, you can make almost anything you can imagine even (and mostly) complex sites/apps without the need for starting from scratch. This is possible because of its great (in terms of quality and size) community and contributed modules. Some features I like the most of Drupal: - Myriad of contributed modules
- Security
- Possibility to work with several environments and replicate a site/config/contents from code
- Great documentation, repositories, issues... everything you need in one place
- Backend allows managing most of the tasks using a great user interface
- Multilingual
- Community
- Encourages and enforces best practices
- Possibility to perform most actions from command line
- ...

Minpunten: It has a steep learning curve
Last 8.x version requirements are quite elevated

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 22-8-2019
Abhinav K.
Sr Software Integrator
Computersoftware, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 28-3-2019

"The new era Content Management System."

Opmerkingen: Drupal is easy to maintain by non technical person. The theme customization is one of the best feature as it provide the flexibility of editing the website as per your need. The Open-Source code help in to understand and audit the code of the Drupal. My overall experience is good with this CMS as it becomes the administrator or site owner first choice as it's easy to maintain once setup.

Pluspunten: Drupal is new era most popular content management system written in PHP, HTML5, JS and CSS. All the build-in templates come with the feature of responsive site. The new enhanced admin panel is easy and adaptive for user. The quick edit option make it up-to-date on the go. Drupal's large community make it more powerful as it easy to find freelancer Drupal developer and a number of plugins to make easy to integrate the number of feature to our site. All popular hosting site give on-click installation for Drupal which make it easy to deploy and maintain.

Minpunten: Popularity come with the vulnerability, as Drupal is one of the most popular CMS, which brings the vulnerability with it. Drupal continuous work on the area of vulnerability but you have to manual work on patch and also need to check the plugin functionality after each patch and update this process should be more automatic.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 28-3-2019
Anita R.
Project Manager
Internet, 201-500 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    3/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 5-3-2019

"Drupal – a cozy platform for websites creating "

Opmerkingen: Drupal is a great opportunity for non-technical users to publish content to website on their own. There is an uncountable number of themes, which you can use for your website. Drupal updates each month, so you can be sure that each day people work on improvements. I recommend using Drupal. It is a reliable and flexible platform. The level of security is pretty high. But the most important thing is that Drupal will help you to create a professional website without coding. Do not doubt. It worth using it.

Pluspunten: When I started using Drupal, I understood why so many government agencies used it. It is really robust. I like that Drupal propose a lot of different modules like video, membership, commerce. Thanks to them you may add new features to your website. What is important – each module have submodules, which help to add only those blocks which you need. But the best is that you may combine different functions of different modules.

Minpunten: I wish Drupal admin panel was more modern. Everything is too sharp and “grey”. When started using it for the first time, it did not seem to be very intuitive, but I got used to it quickly. Also I dislike that there is no simple drag-and-drop builder. It still takes not little time to create a new layout. I worked with WordPress for several years and must admit it was a little bit easier to navigate. Maybe the reason was that WordPress has fewer features than Drupal, but still.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 5-3-2019
Nathan M.
Automotive, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 24-3-2016

"Powerful CMS with enormous flexibility but an uncertain future"

Opmerkingen: I've been using Drupal since version 5, in 2007, and I rely on it for approximately half the sites I manage. It's enormously powerful, can be customized in any conceivable manner, and offers a vast array of modules and themes, most free. This power and flexibility comes at the price of a complex codebase, however, which can be slow to render and subject to database corruption. Drupal also suffers from a fixed release structure with dramatic architectural changes between releases, meaning that updating heavily customized Drupal sites to new major versions is not much less involved than adopting a new CMS framework altogether.

Pluspunten: You can do anything with Drupal. Some things are even easy: setting up a basic blog is trivial, plenty of options are available for turnkey themes, and many third-party modules exist to rapidly turn Drupal into a solid framework for everything from e-commerce to social media aggregation to academic collaboration. When it works, it works well, and caching modules exist for every version to defray some of the CPU overhead generated by its large codebase.

Minpunten: Drupal's development community has opted for a fixed rather than a rolling release structure, which means admins performing major version updates incur a steep upgrade penalty in terms of changes to add-on options, basic code, and theme engines. From version 6 to the new version 8, Drupal has changed virtually everything, and as a result, many deployed users linger on increasingly insecure older versions, while many module developers and third-party integration teams have abandoned Drupal altogether as a result of the ongoing investment necessary to stay abreast of codebase changes. Finally, Drupal's own documentation is fragmentary and often self-contradictory, which can make educating oneself extremely time-consuming.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 24-3-2016
Jeremy K.
Owner
Design en ontwerp
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    5/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-3-2018

"Working with Drupal is a balance of unbridled freedom and future-proofing frustration."

Pluspunten: Druapl is a CMS that allows the developer to do anything they could want, provided they have the know-how and the time to build it. Plugins are often open-ended enough to allow for developers to plugin into them and continue building until the feature they are looking for is completed. There is incredible value here - while it is free, more premium plugins cost money. The user-base also serves as technical support - plugins are built by users and so they are also maintained and supported by those users. This means that there is a wide range of plugins and people to provide support if you run into an issue. Despite any shortcomings, I do love the product a lot. It's optimistic in the way its' built - very few software let you just have the ability to do anything with it these days. This is still one of those products, and so it should be commended for it.

Minpunten: This is NOT for somebody who wants to build their first website. This is a developer's platform, and some of the ways things are done in Drupal makes it very difficult to just get off the group and build out a website. I mention above the word "Developer" a lot, and that's who this product is really for. If I am aiming this review towards the general public, I would take the ease of use down to 2 or even 1 star for them - it's just not something you should do if you don't have experience building in it. Hire somebody. The other side of the coin in having a wide range of plugins means that there are a lot that are not very good, or are not maintained. They become a security liability. The fact that these plugins are maintained by users also means that there is nobody making sure that the maintainer keeps the plugin working, which can really wreck how a site functions.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 9-3-2018
Shannon M.
CEO
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    1/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 8-5-2018

"Drupal is the most secure and feature-rich CMS on the market. We love Drupal!"

Opmerkingen: I always recommend those that are serious about creating websites that scale build on Drupal.

Pluspunten: With a world-wide collective of active developers, Drupal is the developer's dream. There are a variety of installation profiles to give you a head start. Unlike Wordpress 99% of amazing modules are FREE. Companies like Sony and the White House use Drupal. If you can dream it you can do it in Drupal. The open-source community is helpful and always contributing new models. Because it is database driven you can create complex data sets that can connect with your current tools. When we build sites that need to scale we use Drupal. Great CDN module that works with Amazon AWS for super fast load time.
Drupal allows you to build Enterprise level sites without custom code.

Minpunten: The only con to Drupal is the steep learning curve. It takes some time to become an expert. It is also helpful to find a host that understands Drupal or get some help. A server tweaked for Drupal is the best way to go and not always easy to find. If you know what you are doing you will have no issues.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 8-5-2018
Ben M.
Head of Development Technologies
Internet, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    10/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 31-3-2018

"More than a CMS--An incredibly powerful site building and management tool!"

Pluspunten: It's open source! You can build just about anything with it, and you can do most things right within the user interface. Many things you can do in the UI such as building complex views are quite simple once you know the process, and would require writing complex code or database queries in most other systems. The community is excellent and there are thousands of free contributions. Drupal is great about security releases and about reviewing the security of Drupal core as well as the contributed space. Powerful theming layer using Twig templates in Drupal 8+. Drupal Commerce allows for a powerful e-commerce system.

Minpunten: The admin interface is not always intuitive for non-technical users. There's a learning curve involved with Drupal and many of its major contributed modules. Requires contributed modules for, or just entirely lacks, some features which users unfamiliar with the technical aspects of Drupal might expect. Drupal can be slow compared to some other systems, but its great caching layer mitigates this.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Bron: GetApp
  • Beoordeeld op 31-3-2018
Omar S.
Technical Coordinator
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    5/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27-6-2018

"very capable, extensible web framework, sort of beastly under the hood"

Pluspunten: Can format/present/lay-out a website in almost any imaginable way. Perms and auths allow for easily varied professional/enterprise workflow (versus something like Wordpress that seems intended for SoHo sites). Lots of good features for optimizing complex pages. Scales up well for high-volume. Large community, lots of support options. A whole ton of contrib code offers multiple ways to do most things you might want to do within the context of Drupal.

Minpunten: Very steep learning curve. relatively heavy system requirements. Abtruse jargon/mechanisms. Out of the box, it's not even vaguely ready to use. Newer releases have emphasized gee-whiz features and change-for-change's sake, making internal APIs increasingly complex without adding a lot of value. Drupal8 is a lot more top heavy than Drupal7, and abandoned much of the contrib code base for little practical gain. The common PHP name space combined with many contrib authors can make for code instability, though the community is better at that than it used to be.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27-6-2018