Microsoft Visual Studio reviews

4,6 (2.820) Schrijf een review!

Over Microsoft Visual Studio

App- en game-ontwikkelingsplatform waarmee ontwerpers apps kunnen ontwikkelen, bewerken en testen met behulp van verschillende tools en technieken.

Meer informatie over Microsoft Visual Studio

Pluspunten:

A It's feature-rich and provides strong and seamless integrations with several other products from the Microsoft family.

Minpunten:

The newer versions do not always have an offline installer and its a pain to have to download the app again onto a new PC.

Beoordelingen van Microsoft Visual Studio

Gemiddelde score

Gebruiksgemak
4,3
Klantenservice
4,2
Functies
4,6
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,4

Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling

8,8/10

Microsoft Visual Studio heeft een totaalscore van 4,6 van 5 sterren op basis van 2.820 gebruikersreviews op Capterra.

Heb je Microsoft Visual Studio eerder gebruikt?

Deel je ervaringen met andere softwarekopers.

Reviews filteren (2.820)

Mikhail
CTO
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Helpful developer tool

5,0 11 maanden geleden
Bijschriften in het Nederlands beschikbaar in de videospeler
Bryan
Software Developer in Nederland
Schoolleiding, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Microsoft Visual Studio Review

4,0 5 maanden geleden

Pluspunten:

Het is een makkelijk te gebruiken software met een mooie prijs kwaliteit verhouding

Minpunten:

Het valt op sommige vlakken wat tegen en hier zou wel een verbetering nodig kunnen zijn.

Anshita
Anshita
Programmer Analyst Trainee in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Visual Studio Review

5,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Pluspunten:

VS code is really fast and efficient to use. It offers large variety of extensions which enhances productivity. VS code allows you to run commands, build, test and debug your code without leaving the editor. It also supports git integration allow you to perform version control operations directly within the editor. It is free and also open source which makes it best among all code editors.

Minpunten:

I didn't find anything that I don't like about VS code.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Vertalingen en lokalisatie, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

"Visual Studio Code": A Versatile and Collaborative Code Editor Empowering Developers.

5,0 vorige week Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Overall, Visual Studio Code provides a highly versatile and efficient code editing experience. With its extensive language support, rich extension ecosystem, powerful debugging capabilities, and collaborative features, it empowers developers to be productive and work effectively. While some users may encounter occasional performance issues, the overall experience is highly positive.

Pluspunten:

Visual Studio Code for its extensive language support, rich extension ecosystem, efficient code editing experience, powerful debugging capabilities, and collaborative features that enhance productivity and teamwork.

Minpunten:

Occasional performance issues with Visual Studio Code, especially when working with large codebases or using certain extensions.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Powerful IDE but memory hungry

3,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I love to write code using the Visual Studio Integrated development environment (IDE) software. Visual Studio (IDE) is powerful but with great power comes great responsibility. That is where the software lacks. Its memory hungry and slows down the system after long use. The latest release version of the software is 2019 which is what I have been using for now. However, the most stable version was in 2017. It hardly crashed on me or made my system go to its knees. There are few kinds of editions available for this software like Developer edition, Enterprise edition, etc. that one can subscribe to depending on the need. However, the subscription cost is more than average compared to other IDEs.

Pluspunten:

a) It's feature-rich and provides strong and seamless integrations with several other products from the Microsoft family. b) One can develop any kind of application written using any kind of technology through this IDE be it .Net, Java, JavaScript, etc. c) The software is easily extensible through extensions that help one integrate third-party components easily. d) It has an intelligent auto-complete sensor that provides accurate suggestions for the variable names you try to create, libraries you try to add into the current code class file, and even tells you all the dependencies of the class in a very easy to read format. e) There are individual wndows for each kind of tasks like examining the current project and solution, examining the tests written for the application, checking the variable watches, compiler output, errors, etc to name a few. f) The UI can be customized to one's heart's content. The windows can be arranged as per the needs, multiple windows can be grouped into tabs for easy navigation. g) It's even intelligent to suggest ways to improve the performance of the application that you are trying to create and how to make the project solution load faster.

Minpunten:

a) The IDE takes a long time to load and once it's fully active with the project solution loaded, it really takes up a lot of RAM making even a good and powerful system slow down in the long run. b) The IDE crashes occasionally, especially when you do a lot of debugging using it. However, when the app restarts after the crash, it does give you the option to recover the last saved work. So that's handy. c) The menu is way too vast and it's easy to get lost in them trying to find out a certain option. Thankfully there is a global search box for the app to quickly type and find the option you are looking for. d) The updates are released quite frequently. Since each update is large (> 500MB), its takes a while to update the software thereby interrupting your work.

Fredrick
Freelance in Papoea-Nieuw-Guinea
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

My favourite IDE

5,0 3 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Visual Studio is a very powerful IDE with lots of functionality and its versatility. I am still sticking with it today because it serves me well. If you are programmer who programs or wants to program in more than one programming language, this IDE is for you.

Pluspunten:

Firstly, the best feature is that it work seamlessly with various programming languages so you can have only one IDE to do all your coding from various programming language. The inbuilt command window is as great as the default command prompt in any computer. It has lot's of extensions plugins library to used. Auto suggestions with intelliSense. It is a very powerful and versatile tool.

Minpunten:

To set up a virtual environment can be a little tedious or daunting should I say for junior programmers but I would say it is better than most IDE out in the market.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best Editor so Far!

5,0 4 weken geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: I'm use VS Code on a daily basis and Its user-friendly interface, cross-platform support, extensibility, and debugging capabilities are some of the qualities that make it a popular choice among developers.

Pluspunten:

The best part is it is compatible with all the major platforms be it Windows or macOS or Linux. Secondly it has git integration with it which allows developers to perform git operations within the editor.

Minpunten:

It consumes significant amount of memory while working with large codebases. Although VS Code is typically known for its fast and responsive performance, some users may experience slow-downs or increased resource usage when running it concurrently with other applications, which could cause their computer to operate sluggishly.

Chamseddin
Chamseddin
HR Implimentation Specialist in Tunesië
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Directiekantoor, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Powerful and unique functionalities

4,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Visual Studio was very important in some products that i developped with a small team.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft Visual Studio is easy to use, is comprehensive with integrated development environment (IDE) that provides a wide range of tools and features and the same software.

Minpunten:

Sometimes in old desktop Visual Studio lags or starts to run very slowly so i need to restart my PC.

Sanjay Rao
Sanjay Rao
Senior Software Developer in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Powerful Development Environment with Drawbacks

4,0 vorige week Nieuw

Pluspunten:

Robust development tools for multiple languages and platforms.User-friendly and feature-rich integrated development environment (IDE).Extensive range of extensions for customization and productivity.Strong community support and resources.Seamless integration with Microsoft tools and services.

Minpunten:

Resource-intensive, impacting performance on less powerful machines.Steep learning curve, especially for beginners.Large installation size, requiring significant disk space.Primarily targets the Windows platform, limiting availability for other operating systems.

Josiah
Josiah
Design Director in Colombia
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Design en ontwerp, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

a powerful and efficient tool for software developers

4,0 vorige maand Nieuw

Opmerkingen: It has improved the quality of the code we produce thanks to its debugging and static analysis features. It has also facilitated collaboration among my team thanks to its integration with version control tools and its ability to share projects and configurations.

Pluspunten:

The best thing about Visual Studio is its wide range of integrated features and tools that make the software development process easier. From code debugging to project management and integration with version control tools, Visual Studio makes everything easier and more efficient.

Minpunten:

The tool can be a bit cumbersome and slow on resource-constrained systems, which can affect productivity. Also, some of its features can be a bit complicated to understand and use for those who are new to the platform.

Michael
Michael
Software Developer in Duitsland
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 5.001-10.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

One of the leading IDEs

5,0 2 maanden geleden Nieuw

Opmerkingen: I used Visual Studio for years and liked it very much.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft Visual Studio is sure one of the leading IDEs in .NET development. It offers a lot of tools to support the development process, like code suggestions with intelli sense and also database tools. It has a modern and clean user interface.

Minpunten:

The modularized installation is a bit overwhelming.

Ambika
Ambika
DSA problem setter intern in India
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Features of vs code

5,0 vorige week Nieuw

Opmerkingen: I am using vs code from past 2 years as a ide and development purpose and it's very nice platform for development.

Pluspunten:

The extension provided by bs code are very usefull.

Minpunten:

There is nothing to least like about vs code

Dinupa
Software Engineer in Sri Lanka
Computersoftware, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Overwogen alternatieven:

Software Development Environment for High-Quality Software

5,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Perfect for freelancers and one-person businesses, especially for websites and web-based applications. Reduce the amount of work your IT team has to do by purchasing lower-cost computers. Your library includes a variety of enhancements and modules that make it easier to manage the material. Simple user interface combined with feature-specific design.

Pluspunten:

We develop a variety of software types, including online applications, web services, web-based programs, mobile applications, and websites, all inside a single visual studio environment. During projects with a large number of deliverables, we can leverage Visual Studio's single installation to do a variety of activities. We can initiate debugging with a single click and proceed through each step to determine where and why the issues arise. We might easily add things like CS or HTML that we require. Additionally, it is simple to integrate with the database.

Minpunten:

Its size is out of control, and it takes an inordinate amount of time to install. When transferring files from one application to another, project data is often corrupted, and errors are not unheard of in the process. It is vital that the sample file's permissions be changed so that anyone can write into it without being denied access.

Lakshita
freelancer in India
Entertainment, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Microsoft visual studio user review

5,0 6 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Working on this project with Microsoft Visual Studio has been a great experience overall. I have been able to quickly learn the fundamentals of the program, which allowed me to quickly become more proficient in its use. I have been able to develop code faster and with more accuracy than I ever could with other development environments. The comprehensive debugging tools, the integrated source control and the ability to deploy projects quickly have all been great assets, allowing me to create projects in a timely and efficient manner.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft Visual Studio is an integrated development environment (IDE) created by Microsoft to help developers create software applications. It provides a range of tools and features that make it easier for developers to create powerful applications quickly and efficiently. The features I like most about Visual Studio are the high-level debugging and refactoring capabilities, the IntelliSense feature that simplifies writing code, the integrated unit and integration testing tools, and the ability to integrate with Azure DevOps. The user-friendly graphical user interface makes it easy to use, allowing even novice developers to quickly understand how to use the software and become productive in a short time.

Minpunten:

Microsoft Visual Studio Software is a powerful tool for developers, but it does have its drawbacks. One of the areas where I feel that it lacks is in providing an intuitive and user-friendly interface. Despite the extensive documentation and tutorials, it can be difficult to navigate the software and understand what tools are available and how to use them. Additionally, there can be a steep learning curve in getting used to the many features offered by the software.

Ebrahim
Ebrahim
Software Developer in Zuid-Afrika
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

It just gets better and better

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I started coding with Visual Studio 2005 and now work on a daily basis on 2012, 2015 and 2017. What I have experienced with Visual Studio is consistency and stability. Each new version looks and functions pretty much the same, so there's no real learning curve each time you upgrade(If you know how to use 2005, you will have no trouble with 2017 or later versions). Over the years, debugging performance has also improved, which is another plus for me. From 2015, Team services connects quite nicely as well and the actual loading of Visual Studio for the first time has improved greatly over the years.

Pluspunten:

Since 2007, I have used Visual Studio for all of my app development. It is indeed the best tool I have ever come across. Possibilities are endless, from legacy WinForms apps to Web Apps and services, Visual Studio is able to provide you with an easy to use, stable and reliable platform to build your apps on. I am a C# developer who uses it every single day. Built-in features like code-completion and code validation makes it easy for even the beginner to learn. Since Azure came along, deployments have become even simpler, whether published directly, or through Source Control. Another cool thing about Visual Studio is that with every new version, new tools are introduced and new types of projects as well. This makes all of those projects that used to take days to put together, a mere selection of a project type and all of the initial code and structure is generated automatically. Then there's the debugging tools, Nuget, Server explorer, Team explorer and the list just goes on. All of these tools and features in Visual Studio makes it the most powerful of its kind in my opinion and I am sure many others. Microsoft also introduced Visual Studio Community Editions a few years back, which makes it even easier for newbies to start their development careers hassle free.

Minpunten:

For certain project types, certain versions of Visual Studio work best, so I often switch between 2012, 2015 and 2017. I found that 2012 works nicely with older(.NET Framework 4 and below), 2015 for all recent apps, while 2017 works better if you need to debug Azure Websites. Other than that, the IDE has stayed pretty much the same, which is awesome. Nuget packaes sometimes have issues, but I don't use them that often, so I am not really affected negatively by that. The initial install of Visual Studio 2015 and above are web installers, which takes even longer than older versions, so I dread new installs, but after the install, all is good.

Waqas
Data Scientist in Duitsland
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A user friendly versatile tool for software programmers

4,0 2 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: We are AI based solutions provider and often our work is in python. So far all my modules are written with the help of VS code. It allows me to write code in javascript and java aswell. Configuring files and creating, altering jsons are easy. Before switching to VS code I always had problems of finding multiple language support and graceful code formatting within a short time. VS code has solved this problem.

Pluspunten:

Installation of third party tools, possibility of live code share session and support for several langauges are the most impactful features in my opinion. The product is also relatively easy to use only if you use it frequently have spent sometime to learn about the features like formatting, searching files, functions and text, resolving dependencies etc. Nevertheless it was easier to integrate the product with our business use case.

Minpunten:

The product is somehow sometimes not easy to go around for example to search for files and to search for specific text inside all files is bit confusing, the interface sort of works the same way. Also when dealing with ASCII doc files or tabular form files, there are always 3rd party extensions that are required. Excel files are difficult to format (zig zag columns) but however they only be viewed in a user friendly way. Specifically for python there are sometimes problems with the kernal, even though the right kernal is selected, yet the code fails to run and restarting vs code with the right kernal helps. The same is true for running jupyter inside VS code.

Luis
Web Designer / Developer in Colombia
Computersoftware, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

one of the best code editor out there

5,0 5 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Visual Studio Code is a feature-rich and user-friendly code editor that has received positive reviews from many developers. Its simple interface and strong integrations make it a popular choice for a wide range of programming tasks, and it offers a wide range of customization options to suit the needs of individual users. Some users may find it to be a bit resource-intensive, and the default color scheme may not be to everyone's taste, but these issues can be easily addressed through the settings. Overall, Visual Studio Code is a reliable and widely-used code editor that has earned a positive reputation in the developer community.

Pluspunten:

I have been thoroughly impressed with the capabilities of Visual Studio Code. Not only does it have a simple and user-friendly interface, but it also offers a wide range of integrations that have greatly enhanced my workflow. I rely on this tool regularly for analyzing and fixing code issues and have found it to be particularly useful in identifying and correcting compiler errors before building. Additionally, the syntax error highlighting feature has saved me countless hours of debugging by catching mistakes in real-time. In short, Visual Studio Code has proven to be a valuable asset to me in my work as a developer, and I highly recommend it to others in the field.

Minpunten:

Visual Studio Code can be a bit resource-intensive, so users with older or lower-spec computers may experience slower performance.While Visual Studio Code supports a wide range of programming languages, it may not have as many features or plugins available for niche or less popular languages.Some users may find the default color scheme to be a bit harsh on the eyes, although this can be easily customized in the settings.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 10.000+ werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

"Streamline Your Development Process with Microsoft Visual Studio: A Comprehensive Review"

5,0 2 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: Microsoft Visual Studio can help businesses solve a variety of problems related to software development, including:Inefficient development processes: Visual Studio offers a range of features to streamline the software development process, including integrated version control, testing, and debugging tools. This can help businesses save time and resources, and reduce the risk of errors and delays.Difficulty collaborating with team members: Visual Studio includes built-in collaboration features, such as version control and pull requests, which can help teams work together more effectively and reduce communication and collaboration barriers.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft Visual Studio is a powerful Integrated Development Environment (IDE) that offers a wide range of features to support software development. Some of the most impactful features of Visual Studio include:Code editing and debugging: Visual Studio offers robust code editing and debugging capabilities, including intelligent code completion, syntax highlighting, and real-time debugging.Collaboration and version control: Visual Studio includes built-in collaboration and version control features, such as Git integration and pull requests, making it easy for teams to work together on projects.Cross-platform development: Visual Studio supports development for a wide range of platforms, including Windows, iOS, Android, and more, allowing developers to easily create applications for multiple devices and operating systems.Extensibility: Visual Studio offers a wide range of extensions and add-ons that can enhance its functionality and support a variety of programming languages and frameworks.In terms of ease of use, Visual Studio is generally considered to be a user-friendly IDE, with a clean and intuitive interface. The platform also offers a range of resources and tutorials to help developers get started and make the most of its features.

Minpunten:

While Microsoft Visual Studio is a robust and versatile IDE, there are a few features that some users feel are missing or could be improved. Some of these include:Better support for remote development: While Visual Studio does offer some remote development capabilities, such as SSH and Remote Debugging, some users would like to see more advanced remote development options, such as the ability to run and debug code on remote servers.Improved performance: Visual Studio can be resource-intensive, and some users have reported performance issues when working with larger projects or on lower-end hardware.More advanced testing and debugging tools: While Visual Studio offers robust testing and debugging capabilities, some users would like to see more advanced tools for performance profiling, memory debugging, and other specialized testing and debugging scenarios.

Shawn
Financial Systems Data Analyst in VS
Juridische dienstverlening, 1.001-5.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Visual Studio Functional and Extensible; Great for Integrating; Can be hard to troubleshoot

4,0 vorig jaar

Opmerkingen: Visual Studio helps me complete my job by being a robust, extensible IDE. I can automate and integrate a lot of processes and manage data flow fairly easily and in a reproducible way. Some projects can take me around an hour at this point. A good portion of routine tasks are easy. Doing completely new-to-me tasks can take more research on how to implement, but it just depends if that's a VS thing or the coding language I'm using. Troubleshooting scripts inside of a package can be harder than scripting and debugging on another tool (that is build specifically for that coding language only), but it's such a versatile IDE that it makes up for it.

Pluspunten:

VS integrates extremely well and quickly with the Microsoft Stack. I use it to automate the flow and manipulation of data between internal and external sources, mostly with SSIS, and it works great. It is extremely easy to connect to data sources, fairly easy to add external DLLs (in my case I use WinSCP with SFTP), and easy to create a workflow. The IDE for my solutions comes with built-in, drag and drop functions that do common operations so that you don't have to manually code everything. This makes development quick and highly reusable. Visual Studio is a little clunky, but just has so many features. It is very quick to run and test, and for things like website development it comes with it's own Express version of a server. It can handle many different coding or development functions. Overall it's extremely helpful and I couldn't do my job without it. And the Community edition is free; even though I have a Pro subscription, I don't think I need it. Community edition covers everything I need.

Minpunten:

When installing VS, you have to know what extensions and plugins you need. VS has a library and you can install a lot, but you have to know what you're after and how to use it. I would say that because of it's completeness and everything it packs in, Visual Studio takes a while to load initially compared to lighter weight IDEs. It also takes a long time to install (over 30 minutes), and uses a lot of disk space. This is not light weight. It can also take some time to process, depending on what you're doing. It has frequent updates, but the small version updates are not needed and I don't see what new bug fixes or functionality they provide usually. It's ok with forward compatibility, but not backwards compatible. This is important - You can't develop in VS 2019 then open it in VS 2015 or any prior version. Also when upgrading your solutions, it usually works, but sometimes doesn't. So you may have to manually re-install some DLL, dependency, or change code for newer standards. I would be cautious in updating your solutions and make sure to have a backup. Once you get used to the load time and know the tricks about solution compatibility and other versions, it's actually very comprehensive in the capabilities it provides and integrates fantastically with the Microsoft Stack. The only other downside it that troubleshooting scripts can be difficult with the error messages provided; for what I do, I think the error messages could be more descriptive.

Justus
freelancer in Qatar
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
Bron van de reviewer

"Comprehensive and Intuitive Development Environment: A Review of Microsoft Visual Studio"

4,0 5 maanden geleden

Opmerkingen: In general, my experience with Microsoft Visual Studio has been positive. It is a comprehensive development environment with a wide range of features that can be used to develop a wide range of applications. The code completion and IntelliSense features have been particularly useful, as they have saved me time and reduced the number of errors I make. The debugger has also been very helpful in finding and fixing errors in my code.While Visual Studio can be resource intensive and may have a steep learning curve for new users, I have found it to be a powerful and useful tool for developing applications. The customization options and the ability to extend the IDE with additional functionality through extensions have also been helpful in tailoring the IDE to my specific needs. Overall, I would recommend Visual Studio to developers looking for a comprehensive and feature-rich development environment.

Pluspunten:

Here are some pros of Microsoft Visual Studio that I liked:Wide range of features: Visual Studio includes a large number of features that can help you develop a wide range of applications. It supports many programming languages and can be used to develop applications for Windows, iOS, Android, and the web.IntelliSense and code completion: Visual Studio's IntelliSense and code completion features make it easier to write code quickly and reduce the number of errors you make.Debugging tools: Visual Studio includes a powerful debugger that can help you find and fix errors in your code, saving you time and improving the quality of your final product.Source control integration: Visual Studio integrates with popular source control systems like Git, making it easier to track changes to your code and collaborate with other developers.Extension marketplace: Visual Studio has a large marketplace of extensions that you can use to add additional functionality to the IDE, allowing you to tailor it to your specific needs.Customization options: Visual Studio includes a number of customization options that allow you to tailor the IDE to your specific needs and workflow.

Minpunten:

Here are some cons of Microsoft Visual Studio that I identified:Complexity: Visual Studio is a comprehensive development environment with a large number of features, which can make it overwhelming for new users. It may take some time to learn how to use all of the features effectively.Resource intensive: Visual Studio can be resource intensive, especially when working on large projects. This can make it slower to use on older or less powerful computers.License cost: Visual Studio is a proprietary software, and a license is required to use it. This can be a significant cost for some users, especially if they only need to use a small subset of the features.Limited platform support: While Visual Studio can be used to develop applications for a wide range of platforms, it is primarily geared towards Windows development. Some users may prefer an IDE that is more platform-agnostic.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Financiële dienstverlening, 2-10 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

The Gold Standard for IDEs

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Started using visual studio because it was the only IDE a particular vendor had support for. Quickly tried to find more excuses to use it. The intellisense, code-folding and beautification defaults are much better and work much more consistently than any other IDE we've used. We use quite a number of different IDEs, but VS intellisense has been one of if not the biggest productivity enhancement we've had from a single feature. It's amazing how much better done intellisense is in VS than most other products. It particularly makes a big difference for people who do not have extensive backgrounds writing on particular projects, because it saves a lot of documentation lookups if the design is done well and api documentation is included (we require this to maximize benefits here). More than from a utility perspective, vs intellisense is so responsive it's FUN... which we think accounts for more benefits (again esp for people who are less familiar w/a codebase, cause it shortens the learning curve). Visual studio is also very good at staying up-to-date with latest apis and techniques. Obviously you probably want to be a user of microsoft's API stack in some way (.net), but you can code in most major languages with it. The primary drawback is that it does not presently play well with linux OS. There are some efforts to improve this-most noticeably visual studio community. Community is cross platform but not full ide (and doesn't use same VS intellisense).

Pluspunten:

Intellisense is off-the-charts fast. So quick, it can make coding feel like a video game. The most-widely-integrated IDE- plugins for everything. Compatibility between express and full visual studio makes it easy for full-fledged developers to work on same project/product with entry devs, interns, and even open-source.

Minpunten:

While they have made some improvements here (w/regard to visual studio community edition), the full visual studio IDE doesn't run on linux (at least not without VM, wine or jumping through a lot of hoops).

Oshadha
Oshadha
Junior Software Developer in Sri Lanka
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Informatietechnologie en -diensten, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best Coding Software for "Real" development work!

4,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: I've started coding with Visual Studio from 2014 - 2015. Between this time our university offers us the 2012 version. So we have used to it. When first time I familiar with Visual Studio, It was difficult because there is a lot of options and a lot of features to select. but day by day I'm used to Visual Studio 2012 version and I have realized It's not difficult to familiar that I felt because of there lot of options for doing a lot of things. Then I felt it's amazing. Then I moved to work with 2015 version and now I'm working with ASP.Net and C# with 2017 version. When considering all the previous versions with the latest version, this one is awesome.
The best thing is Microsoft now release Visual Studio for free download. This is a very valuable thing for programmers and developers who are beginners and pro level people. And also Microsoft maintained year by year and users never switch to another IDE after an update because of everyone like it.
Our company depends on Visual Studio for developing, updating and maintaining our products. It's the secret of growth of our company and this everything because this application is ROI(Return of Investment).
Everything isn't the best and the best one can have some faults. Like this, I have to say something about because Visual Studio is very heavy software and this needs more ram because with heavy extensions it will become slow.

Pluspunten:

Visual Studio has a lot of features. The first thing that I'm like is ease of use. And also it's support for multi-language support. When I'm developing a completed project with front-end and back-end I'm able to use both of languages in Visual Studio. So visual studio has full stack development capabilities. Integrated with the database is easy because structured are predefined and we can implementations easily. And also if we have to implement more than one project for a one-goal we can create that project under one solution. Every project has Microsoft support and can be used Microsoft products and services to link with projects. Support for MVC architecture. And also Remoting, .net.core, class libraries, WPF is the few of best features Visual studio offers for users. And users can use source control plugin integration like GIT, TFS etc. This application has good performance and stability.

Minpunten:

Users have to spend high cost for Enterprise License (vs Professional) Too many version to select before use like Enterprise, Community, Professional, Ultimate, etc. Memory and CPU consumption may be high sometimes. Officially came up with basics themes.

Ryan
Ryan
Software Architect in VS
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Religieuze instellingen, 501-1.000 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

First Rate IDE

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: The biggest benefit I get from Visual Studio is the ease of getting a new project up and running. This is a flagship project for Microsoft and it's apparent because they continually find ways to make it more useful which translates to quicker, more efficient code and project delivery. I would be crippled in my day to day responsibilities without it.

Pluspunten:

I've used various flavors of Eclipse and IntelliJ on Java projects but I look forward to working in .NET because in my opinion, Visual Studio is a superior IDE. There are so many great features that it's impossible to enumerate them all but some of them I like most are: 1- Projects can be cleanly contained within solutions (a feature Java IDEs don't support) 2- Cleanly integrates with NuGet for package management (doesn't require wacky XML updates like Maven) 3- Has the best code completion and auto-suggest of all IDEs 4- Comes pre-built with so many useful starter projects so it's easy to hit the ground running without a lot of setup 5- It offers a myriad of extensions 6- Its easily the best IDE for writing against CLI languages but is also an excellent environment for writing in Python and other scripting languages 7- It cleanly supports various source control solutions (TFS, Git etc.) 8- It does a really great job of providing a one stop shop for managing cloud and database assets right in the IDE 9- Provides excellent support and design time feedback for unit testing 10- Provides excellent collaboration capabilities I could go on and on. I love Visual Studio.

Minpunten:

There's really not much to dislike about Visual Studio. It has so many features that it can be overwhelming knowing where everything is and how to make the best use of them. But unlike many other IDEs, I feel like Visual Studio is the most intuitive from that perspective too.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, Zelfstandig ondernemer
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Best software for Developers

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Visual Studio is considered as Microsoft’s contribution to the open source world and they have once again
delivered exactly what their customers want. I am someone who isn’t an expert in coding and I had used a
couple of different IDEs previously. The process of using a new IDE is all too similar. In the beginning, you’re very uncomfortable not knowing what function is placed where in the software and in the next few days, you start to get a hang of it but my experience with the visual studio was completely different. I was expecting the same confusion as I started using it but everything in the software was so user-friendly. I immediately felt like as if I had used this software before and I knew where all the basic functionalities were.

Pluspunten:

Microsoft visual studio is developing software which is one of the most fully featured IDE right now in the market. It is preferred by developers from all over the world and has the ability to create all kinds of computer programs, websites and mobile apps. Name: Visual Studio Developers: Microsoft Written in: C++ & C# Operating System: Windows 7 or later Type: Integrated Development Environment License: Freemium It is a fantastic IDE that simplifies the work of the developer and it helps save a lot of time. It is greatly appreciated for the performance of its Debugging and IntelliSense tool. There are a lot of extensions available that improve the features of visual studio.

Minpunten:

The code compilation error messages are sometimes very misleading that leaves the developer unsure of what the exact issue is. The errors are shown before and after the lines which can cost a lot of time and attention of the developer. Another con would be how expensive the software is compared to its competitors who provide similar services for a way lower price.

Alastair
Alastair
Mobile App Developer in VK
E-learning, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

Visual Studio - A clever, free and intuitive IDE ideal for C# use

4,0 3 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: Overall, my experience with Visual Studio has been very good. It integrates fantastically with my source control solution and it is free as I am using the Community version, which is packed with enough features for my needs. For small to medium size projects, it's hard to go wrong with Visual Studio, particularly the Community edition.

Pluspunten:

What I like most about using Visual Studio is its Intellisense feature, as well as its ease of using shortcuts. Firstly, the Intellisense feature predicts what will follow any given word or line of text in your code, thus making development a lot quicker and easier. Secondly, it is fairly easy to create custom keyboard shortcuts for different uses (such as commenting and uncommenting code, mass renaming of variables and objects in scripts). It is also fast to compile and easy to debug via intuitive breakpoints - you can click on any area of your code to lay a breakpoint, making debugging easier.

Minpunten:

What I like least about this software is its interface. While there could potentially be ways of customising the interface more to your liking, I focus on writing code while using it, not customising my interface. As such, the UI can feel a bit clunky and cramped when focusing on exclusively writing scripts, but this may be able to me mitigated given enough time setting up preferences. Also, I dislike the file size and download time of the installation and executable - for an IDE, it takes up a few gigabytes of space on the drive and takes a long time to download.

Claudio Ivan
Claudio Ivan
Full-stack Developer in Mexico
Geverifieerde LinkedIn-gebruiker
Computersoftware, 11-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 2+ jaar
Bron van de reviewer

A grate ide for almost everything

5,0 4 jaar geleden

Opmerkingen: It is quite simple to use, you enter to visual studio web page select the option that you want, if you need a full free version go to community version, if you need more support or a custom tool (I real think the community is excellent) you can buy a license which include more tools for you.
The big thing here is, visual studio supports a lot of languages, programming languages, also you can get (for free) different versions of the ide if you need some retro compatibility whit tools or old projects. In the user interfaces there is no much to say, is clean and easy to understand, you can check the hotkeys, if you need remove some buttons from toolbar or change hotkeys for others you can do it on tools/options and customize. Finally, the best of visual studio is the really big uses that you can give it, for example, use the .net core for create a web page, if you don’t like .net core you can also use angular; looking for a little help making games on unity, you can use c# for the logic and debug it with visual studio or if all of this is much for you and you only want a simple desktop program you of course can do it (or mobile, remember xamarin if you are interested on it).

Pluspunten:

As a generic IDE for many languages and purpose, i really think that the oportunities for the tool are huge. You really can do almost everything that you propuse. It one of the IDEs with the best customization ever, can select the clasic mode, the dark theme, persolize your hotkeys only to say some. You can get a huge amount of tools by nuget, and configure your projects whit many git tools.

Minpunten:

Perhaps the user interface between mac and windows version can be a little tricky if you work with both.